DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Asahara discloses an outdoor power machine (Asahara Col 4, lines 16-19 "riding mower"), comprising:
a chassis (2) having first and second spaced-apart frame rails (21);
a front axle assembly (28) removably connected (See Asahara Col. 9, lines 32-36 "attached" and Fig. 6 28 is shown removed) to the first and second spaced-apart frame rails (21, indirectly attached to 261(26)), the front axle assembly (28) interconnecting (indirectly via 261(26)) the first and second spaced-apart frame rails (21) at a front of the chassis (front of 2);
two or more drive wheel assemblies (12) mounted to the chassis (2), each drive wheel assembly coupled to an electric motor (30);
an electrical power pack (not shown, inherent to electric motors 30) configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors (30);
at least one steer wheel (11) pivotally mounted to the front axle assembly (28);
a mowing deck assembly (13) removably connected (See Asahara Col. 6, lines 9-13) to the chassis (2), the mowing deck assembly (13) including:
a mowing deck (also 13) defining an open-bottomed housing, including a top panel and a peripheral wall structure (See Asahara Figs. 3-4);
at least one mowing blade (not shown) rotatably mounted to the mowing deck, the at least one mowing blade defining a cut swath with a cutting side (blade rotation in the direction of travel) and a non-cutting side (blade rotation opposite to the direction of travel);
wherein a size of the front axle assembly (28; See Asahara Col. 9, lines 43-50) is selected based on a size of the mowing deck assembly (See Asahara Col. 6, lines 9-13).
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the at least one steer wheel is spaced from an axial centerline of the outer power machine by a lateral offset distance, the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade.
Takaoka teaches wherein the at least one steer wheel (11) is spaced from an axial centerline (ML) of the outer power machine (10) by a lateral offset distance (F1, F2), the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the one steer wheel is spaced from an axial centerline of the outer power machine by a lateral offset distance as disclosed by Takaoka so as to position the at least one steer wheel within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade and laterally offset the steer wheel from an axial centerline of the outdoor power machine, as taught by Takaoka, in order to improve cutting coverage adjacent the steer wheel while maintaining maneuverability and reducing uncut regions during operation.
Regarding claim 2, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein the at least one steer wheel (11) is spaced from the mowing deck (13) so as to allow free pivoting of the at least one steer wheel (11).
Regarding claim 3, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1.
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the mowing deck assembly includes a baffle assembly having a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define a circular enclosure for the at least one mowing blade.
Takaoka teaches wherein the mowing deck assembly (6) includes a baffle assembly (65) having a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define a circular enclosure for the at least one mowing blade. (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower unit and baffles as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve airflow management and cutting control within the mower deck.
Regarding claim 6, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein:
two or more steer wheels (11) are pivotally mounted to the front axle assembly (28);
Asahara fails to disclose two or more mowing blades are rotatably mounted to the mowing deck, each of the two or more mowing blades defining a cut swath with a cutting side and a non-cutting side; and each of the two or more steer wheels is spaced from the axial centerline of the outdoor power machine by a lateral offset distance, the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of each of the two or more steer wheels is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of a corresponding one of the two or more mowing blades.
Takaoka teaches two or more mowing blades (64; 641, 642, 643) are rotatably mounted to the mowing deck (60), each of the two or more mowing blades defining a cut swath with a cutting side and a non-cutting side; and each of the two or more steer wheels (11) is spaced from the axial centerline (ML) of the outdoor power machine (5) by a lateral offset distance (F1, F2), the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of each of the two or more steer wheels is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of a corresponding one of the two or more mowing blades (641, 643). (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower unit, baffles, and their dimensions as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve cutting performance and promote controlled overlap and airflow within the mower deck.
Regarding claim 8, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the lateral offset distances of the two or more steer wheels are not left-right symmetrical with respect to the axial centerline of the outdoor power machine.
Takaoka teaches wherein the lateral offset distances (F1, F2) of the two or more steer wheels (11) are not left-right symmetrical with respect to the axial centerline (ML) of the outdoor power machine (10). (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the steer wheel dimensions to the axial centerline as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve side cutting performance and optimize weight distribution on the outdoor power machine.
Regarding claim 9, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the two or more mowing blades include a center mowing blade mounted at approximately a midline of the deck in a left-right direction, and approximately a middle of the deck in a forward-aft direction; a left mowing blade mounted to the left of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction; and a right mowing blade mounted to the right of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction.
Takaoka teaches wherein the two or more mowing blades (64) include a center mowing blade (642) mounted at approximately a midline (MLD) of the deck (60) in a left-right direction (D1, D2), and approximately a middle of the deck in a forward-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below); a left mowing blade (641) mounted to the left of the center mowing blade (642) and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below); and a right mowing blade (643) mounted to the right of the center mowing blade (642) and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below). (See Examiner's Note below)
(Note: The prior art reference does not expressly label the deck centerline as "MLD," nor the corresponding lateral distances as "D1" and "D2." However, the deck centerline is clearly depicted in the drawing as the longitudinal midline of the mower deck. These labels are introduced solely for reference convivence and do not represent additional structure beyond what is expressly shown in the reference drawings.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower deck and blades with their dimensions to the deck centerline as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve cutting efficiency through staggered blade overlap, enhance deck airflow management, and promote balance load distribution across the mower deck.
Regarding claim 10, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the two or more mowing blades are positioned in a spaced-apart configuration such that they will not collide with each other in operation; and each of the two or more mowing blades defines a cutting swath, and the mowing blades are positioned such that their cutting swaths overlap in at least one direction.
Takaoka teaches wherein the two or more mowing blades (64) are positioned in a spaced-apart configuration such that they will not collide with each other in operation; and each of the two or more mowing blades defines a cutting swath, and the mowing blades are positioned such that their cutting swaths overlap in at least one direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the blades and cutting swaths as disclosed by Takaoka so as to ensure complete cutting coverage without uncut strips, improve cut uniformity, and reduce mechanical interference between rotating blades.
Regarding claim 11, Asahara discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein:
the front axle assembly (28) is coupled to the main frame rails (21; via 261(26)) and includes a beam (also 28) with a transverse portion extending between a left end and a right end, and a wheel support portion (28a) extends forward from each of the ends; and
The at least one steer wheel (11) is coupled to a forward end of one of the wheel support portions (28a) by a pivot assembly (See Asahara annotated Fig. 9 below).
Regarding claim 20, Asahara discloses a method of modifying the outdoor power machine of claim 1, comprising:
connecting (See Asahara Col. 6, lines 9-13) the mowing deck assembly (13) to the chassis (2);
determining a size of the mowing deck assembly (13; See Asahara Col. 6, lines 9-13) connected to the chassis (2);
selecting the front axle assembly (28; See Asahara Col. 9, lines 43-50) based on the size of the mowing deck assembly (See Asahara Col. 6, lines 9-13); and
connecting the front axle assembly (28) to the first and second spaced-apart frame rails (21) at the front of the chassis (2),
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the front axle assembly is selected to provide one of a lateral offset distance such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade and an axial offset distance to provide a desired axial spacing of the at least one steering wheel from the mowing deck.
Takaoka teaches wherein the front axle assembly (10) is selected to provide one of a lateral offset distance such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel (11) is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade (64) and an axial offset distance to provide a desired axial spacing of the at least one steering wheel from the mowing deck (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the front axle assembly's lateral offset distance, an axial offset distance, and axial spacing of the at least one steering wheel from the mowing deck as disclosed by Takaoka so as to select the front axle assembly to position a lateral width of the at least one steering wheel within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade and to provide a desired axial spacing of the at least one steering wheel from the mowing deck, in order to optimize wheel placement relative to the mowing deck for improved maneuverability and reduced interference between the steer wheels and the mowing deck.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, and 20 above, and further in view of Busboom et al. (US 5845475 A).
Regarding claim 4, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 3.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein at least some of the plurality of baffles are removably attached to the deck.
Busboom teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck. Specifically, Busboom discloses removable mulching baffles (90, 92; Col 5, lines 48-53). Busboom further describes flow control baffles (40; Col 4, lines 3-6, and 68; Col 4, lines 19-20) are adapted to receive bolts, thereby securing each baffle through an opening in the mower deck (26). Fastening via bolts inherently permits selective attachment and detachment without destruction of the components, thereby constituting removable attachment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the flow control and mulching baffles as disclosed by Busboom so as to improve serviceability and operational baffle configuration versatility of the mower deck.
Regarding claim 5, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 3.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein selected baffles of the plurality of baffles are removably attached to the deck; and the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles are removed, the remaining baffles form a flowpath from the mowing blades to a side discharge port formed in the peripheral wall structure, to permit clippings to be discharged.
Busboom teaches selected baffles of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck (26); and the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles (90, 92) are removed, the remaining baffles (40, 68) form a flowpath from the mowing blades (42, 44, 46) to a side discharge port (38) formed in the peripheral wall structure, to permit clippings to be discharged.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the flow control and mulching baffles as disclosed by Busboom so as to improve serviceability and operational baffle configuration versatility of the mower deck.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, and 20 above, and further in view of Conrad et al. (US 20160183451 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein each of the two or more cutting blades is coupled to an electric blade motor mounted to the deck.
Conrad teaches wherein each of the two or more cutting blades (30) is coupled to an electric blade motor (24) mounted to the deck (6).
Conrad states, "The deck 6 provides a sturdy structure for which to mount other components, such as a plurality of electric blade motors 24 having respective cutting blades 30, with each cutting blade secured to the output shaft of a respective blade motor." (Conrad ¶ [0025], lines 1-5)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the electric blade motors as disclosed by Conrad so as to reduce emissions, improve energy efficiency, and simplify drivetrain architecture.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, and 20 above, and further in view of Pierson (US 1853221 A).
Regarding claim 12, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 11 and a beam (28).
However, Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein the beam has an I-shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges.
Pierson teaches wherein the beam (28) has an I-shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges. (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Regarding claim 13, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 12, wherein the front axle assembly (28) is mounted to the main frame rails (21) at the front of the chassis (2) by mounting plates (See Asahara Fig. 6 and 8 below) that extend aft of the beam (28).
However, Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose a web of the beam.
Pierson teaches a web of the beam (28). (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 allowed.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Claim 1 has been amended to recite "wherein the front axle assembly includes a beam having a web; and wherein the front axle assembly is mounted to the first and second spaced-apart main frame rails by mounting plates that extend aft from the web of the beam, each main frame rail being clamped between a pair of the mounting plates and secured with threaded fasteners". This structured amendment was implemented to claim 15, not claim 1.
Applicant argues that neither Asahara nor Takaoka disclose "a scaling relationship between the front axle assembly and the mowing deck assembly" or a "modular front axle assembly that can be interchanged to accommodate different deck sizes." However, the claims do not recite interchangeability of multiple axle assemblies, nor do the claims require a unique modular architecture beyond the recited structural relationship. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation that "size of the front axle assembly is selected based on a size of the mowing deck assembly" broadly encompasses selecting dimensions and placement of axle components appropriate for the size of the mower deck assembly.
Asahara discloses a riding mower chassis including a front-wheel support arm and front crossbeam unit positioned relative to the mower deck and front frames, a mower unit acting as a mowing device having a width substantially equal to the tread width of the rear wheels can be suspended from the front frames and sleeves to adjust the front-wheel support arm. Takaoka further teaches configuring wheel placement and offset relationships relative to the mowing assembly in order to achieve desired mowing performance and vehicle operation characteristics. Collectively, the references evidence that the dimensions and positioning of front wheel/axle components are selected in relation to the mower deck configuration and cutting arrangement (See newly rejected amended claims).
Other References Considered
Additionally, US 20230018540 A1 further illustrates a removable axle assembly secured by fasteners is well-known feature in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674