DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 16 "outer" is --outdoor--.
Claim 3, line 1 is missing --, -- in between 1 and wherein.
Claim 6, line 4 "reach" is --each--.
Claim 6, line 7 "outer" is --outdoor--.
Claim 16, line 1 the "16" referring back to the claim is --15--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Asahara teaches an outdoor power machine, comprising:
a chassis (2) including main frame rails (21);
two or more drive wheel assemblies (12, 30) mounted to the chassis (2), each drive wheel assembly coupled to an electric motor (See Asahara Col 8, lines 59-62);
an electrical power pack (not shown, inherent to electric motors 30) configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors (30);
a front axle assembly (28) removably coupled to the main frame rails (21), the front axle assembly including two or more steer wheels (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) pivotally mounted thereto. (See Asahara Col. 8, lines 9-13)
Regarding claim 16, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 16, wherein:
the front axle assembly (28) includes a beam (also 28) with a transverse portion extending between a left end and a right end, and a wheel support portion (28a) extends forward from each of the ends; and
each of the steer wheels (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) is coupled to a forward end of one of the wheel support portions (28a) by a pivot assembly (See Asahara annotated Fig. 9 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine (See Asahara Fig. 3), comprising:
a chassis (2);
two or more drive wheel assemblies (12) mounted to the chassis (2), each drive wheel assembly coupled to an electric motor (30);
an electrical power pack (not shown, inherent to electric motors 30) configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors (30);
at least one steer wheel (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) pivotally mounted to the chassis (2);
a mowing deck assembly (13) connected to the chassis (2); the mowing deck assembly including:
a mowing deck (also 13) defining an open-bottomed housing, including a top panel and a peripheral wall structure;
at least one mowing blade (not shown) rotatably mounted to the mowing deck, the at least one mowing blade defining a cut swath with a cutting side (blade rotation in the direction of travel) and a non-cutting side (blade rotation opposite to the direction of travel);
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the at least one steer wheel is spaced from an axial centerline of the outer power machine by a lateral offset distance, the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade.
Takaoka teaches wherein the at least one steer wheel (11) is spaced from an axial centerline (ML) of the outer power machine (10) by a lateral offset distance (F1, F2), the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of the at least one steer wheel is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of the at least one mowing blade (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the steer wheel dimensions to the axial centerline as disclosed by Takaoka in order to improve side cutting performance and optimize weight distribution on the outdoor power machine.
Regarding claim 2, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein:
The at least one steer wheel (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) is spaced from the mowing deck (13) so as to allow free pivoting of the at least one steer wheel.
Regarding claim 3, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 1.
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the mowing deck assembly includes a baffle assembly having a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define a circular enclosure for the at least one mowing blade.
Takaoka teaches wherein the mowing deck assembly (6) includes a baffle assembly (65) having a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define a circular enclosure for the at least one mowing blade. (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower unit and baffles as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve airflow management and cutting control within the mower deck.
Regarding claim 6, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein:
two or more steer wheels (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) are pivotally mounted to the chassis (2).
Asahara fails to disclose two or more mowing blades are rotatably mounted to the mowing deck, reach of the two or more mowing blades defining a cut swath with a cutting side and a non-cutting side; and each of the two or more steer wheels is spaced from the axial centerline of the outer power machine by a lateral offset distance, the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of each of the two or more steer wheels is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of a corresponding one of the two or more mowing blades.
Takaoka teaches two or more mowing blades (64; 641, 642, 643) are rotatably mounted to the mowing deck (60), reach of the two or more mowing blades defining a cut swath with a cutting side and a non-cutting side; and
each of the two or more steer wheels (11) is spaced from the axial centerline (ML) of the outer power machine (5) by a lateral offset distance (F1, F2), the lateral offset distance configured such that a lateral width of each of the two or more steer wheels is positioned within a lateral width of the non-cutting side of a corresponding one of the two or more mowing blades (641, 643). (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower unit, baffles, and their dimensions as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve cutting performance and promote controlled overlap and airflow within the mower deck.
Regarding claim 8, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the lateral offset distances of the two or more steer wheels are not left-right symmetrical with respect to the axial centerline of the outdoor power machine.
Takaoka teaches wherein the lateral offset distances (F1, F2) of the two or more steer wheels (11) are not left-right symmetrical with respect to the axial centerline (ML) of the outdoor power machine (10). (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the steer wheel dimensions to the axial centerline as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve side cutting performance and optimize weight distribution on the outdoor power machine.
Regarding claim 9, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the two or more mowing blades include a center mowing blade mounted at approximately a midline of the deck in a left-right direction, and approximately a middle of the deck in a forward-aft direction; a left mowing blade mounted to the left of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction; and a right mowing blade mounted to the right of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction.
Takaoka teaches wherein the two or more mowing blades (64) include a center mowing blade (642) mounted at approximately a midline (MLD) of the deck (60) in a left-right direction (D1, D2), and approximately a middle of the deck in a forward-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below); a left mowing blade (641) mounted to the left of the center mowing blade (642) and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below); and a right mowing blade (643) mounted to the right of the center mowing blade (642) and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (See Takaoka annotated Fig. 5 below). (See Examiner's Note below)
(Note: The prior art reference does not expressly label the deck centerline as "MLD," nor the corresponding lateral distances as "D1" and "D2." However, the deck centerline is clearly depicted in the drawing as the longitudinal midline of the mower deck. These labels are introduced solely for reference convenience and do not represent additional structure beyond what is expressly shown in the reference drawings.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the mower deck and blades with their dimensions to the deck centerline as disclosed by Takaoka so as to improve cutting efficiency through staggered blade overlap, enhance deck airflow management, and promote balance load distribution across the mower deck.
Regarding claim 10, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara fails to disclose wherein the two or more mowing blades are positioned in a spaced-apart configuration such that they will not collide with each other in operation; and each of the two or more mowing blades defines a cutting swath, and the mowing blades are positioned such that their cutting swaths overlap in at least one direction.
Takaoka teaches wherein the two or more mowing blades (64) are positioned in a spaced-apart configuration such that they will not collide with each other in operation; and each of the two or more mowing blades defines a cutting swath, and the mowing blades are positioned such that their cutting swaths overlap in at least one direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the blades and cutting swaths as disclosed by Takaoka so as to ensure complete cutting coverage without uncut strips, improve cut uniformity, and reduce mechanical interference between rotating blades.
Regarding claim 11, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein:
the chassis (2) includes main frame rails (21);
a front axle assembly (28) is coupled to the main frame rails (21; via 261(26)) and includes a beam (also 28) with a transverse portion extending between a left end and a right end, and a wheel support portion (28a) extends forward from each of the ends; and
each of the steer wheels (11; See Asahara Col 9, lines 19-22) is coupled to a forward end of one of the wheel support portions (28a) by a pivot assembly (See Asahara annotated Fig. 9 below).
Regarding claim 14, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 11, wherein each main frame rail (21) is clamped between a pair of the mounting plates (23) and secured with threaded fasteners (See Asahara Col. 8, lines 9-13).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 8-11, and 14 above, and further in view of Busboom et al. (US 5845475 A).
Regarding claim 4, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 3.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein at least some of the plurality of baffles are removably attached to the deck.
Busboom teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck. Specifically, Busboom discloses removable mulching baffles (90, 92; Col 5, lines 48-53). Busboom further describes flow control baffles (40; Col 4, lines 3-6, and 68; Col 4, lines 19-20) are adapted to receive bolts, thereby securing each baffle through an opening in the mower deck (26). Fastening via bolts inherently permits selective attachment and detachment without destruction of the components, thereby constituting removable attachment.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the flow control and mulching baffles as disclosed by Busboom so as to improve serviceability and operational baffle configuration versatility of the mower deck.
Regarding claim 5, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 3.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein selected baffles of the plurality of baffles are removably attached to the deck; and the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles are removed, the remaining baffles form a flowpath from the mowing blades to a side discharge port formed in the peripheral wall structure, to permit clippings to be discharged.
Busboom teaches selected baffles of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck (26); and the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles (90, 92) are removed, the remaining baffles (40, 68) form a flowpath from the mowing blades (42, 44, 46) to a side discharge port (38) formed in the peripheral wall structure, to permit clippings to be discharged.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the flow control and mulching baffles as disclosed by Busboom so as to improve serviceability and operational baffle configuration versatility of the mower deck.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14 above, and further in view of Conrad et al. (US 20160183451 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 6.
Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein each of the two or more cutting blades is coupled to an electric blade motor mounted to the deck.
Conrad teaches wherein each of the two or more cutting blades (30) is coupled to an electric blade motor (24) mounted to the deck (6).
Conrad states, "The deck 6 provides a sturdy structure for which to mount other components, such as a plurality of electric blade motors 24 having respective cutting blades 30, with each cutting blade secured to the output shaft of a respective blade motor." (Conrad ¶ [0025], lines 1-5)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the electric blade motors as disclosed by Conrad so as to reduce emissions, improve energy efficiency, and simplify drivetrain architecture.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Takaoka et al. (US 20160192585 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14 above, and further in view of Pierson (US 1853221 A).
Regarding claim 12, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 11 and a beam (also 28).
However, Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose wherein the beam has an I-shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges.
Pierson teaches wherein the beam (28) has an I-shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges. (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Regarding claim 13, Asahara, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Asahara in view of Takaoka, teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 12, wherein the front axle assembly (28) is mounted to the main frame rails (21) by mounting plates (See Asahara Fig. 6 and 8 below) that extend aft of the beam (also 28).
However, Asahara in view of Takaoka fails to disclose a web of the beam.
Pierson teaches a web of the beam (28). (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara in view of Takaoka with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahara et al. (US 9596804 B2) in view of Pierson (US 1853221 A).
Regarding claim 17, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 11 and a beam (also 28).
However, Asahara fails to disclose wherein the beam has a I- shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges.
Pierson teaches wherein the beam (28) has a I- shaped cross-section, including a web capped by lower and upper flanges. (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Regarding claim 18, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 17, wherein the front axle assembly (28) is mounted to the main frame rails (21) by mounting plates (See Asahara Fig. 6 and 8 below) that extend aft of the beam (also 28).
However, Asahara fails to disclose a web of the beam.
Pierson teaches a web of the beam (28). (See Pierson annotated Figure 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the outdoor power machine as taught by Asahara with the I-shaped cross-section of the truck axle as disclosed by Pierson so as to improve resistance to bending loads while reducing overall material weight.
Regarding claim 19, Asahara teaches the outdoor power machine of claim 18, wherein each main frame rail (21) is clamped between a pair of the mounting plates (23) and secured with threaded fasteners (See Asahara Col. 8, lines 9-13).
Conclusion
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671