DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5 and 13, the limitation of “the local chambers of each layer includes identical local chamber or are essentially identical” render the scope of the claim indefinite since it is not clear what degrees of similarity is considered to be essentially identical.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “and or each.” at the end of the claim renders the scope of the claim indefinite since it appears the claim is an incomplete sentence and it is not clear what is the statement after “and”.
Regarding claim 9, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation electrical power converter, and the claim also recites in particular inverter, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2,5,9,10 and 13 are further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which essentially identical is interpreted as they have similar shape and a broad range is electrical powder converter is interpreted (inverter is a specific type of electrical powder converter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, and 11- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizui Soichi (JP 2006313054A), hereinafter Soichi.
Regarding claim 1, Soichi discloses a cooling structure comprising several layers and a network of local chambers distributed between the several layers stacked one on another according the a stacking direction, wherein each local chamber comprises at least two apertures of which at least one is in communication with a local chamber of another of the layers (apertures formed by overlapped portion connects two layers above and below), and wherein each local chamber comprises one or several meandering like structures blocking any direct path in the local chamber between two apertures (see figure A).
Regarding claim 2, Soichi discloses (figure A) that each meander-like structure has a curvature around the stacking direction.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Soichi further discloses (figure A) that each meander-like structure includes a first curvature and a second curvature, opposite to or different from the first the first curvature.
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 17, Soichi further discloses (figure A) that the local chambers of each layer are separate from another within their layer, so as to be connected one to another only through at least one local chamber of another layer.(underneath layer)
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18, Soichi further discloses that the local chambers of each layer include identical local chamber or are essentially identical. (two local chambers have essential identical shape)
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 19, Soichi further discloses (figure A and 9) that at least some local chambers of one layer are mirror images of at least one some local chamber of an adjacent layer. (the upper local chambers are mirror image with the underneath local chamber).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 and 20, Soichi further discloses (figure A, figures 9,4a and 4b) that the stacked plates (40a, 40b) respectively forming the layers, wherein each plate comprises holes (gaps defined between two opposite meander-like structure form holes, hence form local chambers) respectively defining the local chambers, of the corresponding layer.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Soichi discloses (figure 14 and background of the art) that the cooling structure (70) is used as a radiator for CPU cooler of a personal computer, a fan (92) is attached to the cooling structure (70). Therefore, the system comprises the cooling structure and a cooling fan to be used in a personal computer, is considered as a power module. The powder module comprising a main body (fan) and the cooling structure fixed to the main body. (the fan attaches to the cooling structure).
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 9 of Soichi
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura et al. (CN 103298317A).
Regarding claim 1, Tamura et al. discloses (figure 13) a cooling structure (30) comprising several layers (31) and a network of local chambers (32) distributed between the several layers (31a,31b) stacked one on another according the a stacking direction, wherein each local chamber comprises at least two apertures (see figure B) of which at least one is in communication with a local chamber of another of the layers, and wherein each local chamber comprises one or several meandering like structures blocking any direct path in the local chamber between two apertures (the meander-like structure is between two apertures).
Regarding claim 5 , Tamura et al. further discloses (figure 13) that the local chambers of each layer include identical local chamber or are essentially identical. (two local chambers have essential identical shape)
Regarding claim 6, Tamura et al. further discloses (figure 13) that at least some local chambers of one layer are mirror images of at least one some local chamber of an adjacent layer. (the upper local chambers the same with the underneath local chamber).
Regarding claim 7, Tamura et al. further discloses (figure 13) that the stacked plates (31) respectively forming the layers, wherein each plate comprises holes (32) respectively defining the local chambers, of the corresponding layer.
Regarding claim 8, Tamura et al. discloses (figures 1 and 9) a power module comprising a main body (14), and a cooling structure (30) fixed to the main body.
Regarding claim 9, Tamura et al. discloses (figures 1,9, 13 and paragraph 39) an inverter comprising a power module (cooling object) and a cooling channel (13) configured to at least indirectly cool the power module by means of its cooling structure (30).
Regarding claim 10, Tamura et al. discloses (figures 1,9, 13 and paragraphs 39 and 43) the cooling channel (13) comprises a cavity having an open side, wherein the cooling channel is fixed to the power module so that the side of the main body (14) comprising the cooling structure (30) closes the open side and so that the cooling structure is received in the cavity.
Figure B: the modified figure corresponds to figure 13 of Tamura et al.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, 13-16 and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valenzuela J (US 20110226448A1).
Regarding claim 1, Valenzuela discloses (figure 3A) a cooling structure (14) comprising several layers (28) and a network of local chambers (30) distributed between the several layers stacked one on another according the a stacking direction, wherein each local chamber (30) comprises at least two apertures (32,34) of which at least one is in communication with a local chamber of another of the layer (28), and wherein each local chamber comprises one or several meandering like structures blocking any direct path in the local chamber between two apertures (see figure 3B, meander-like structure blocking any direct path from 32 to 34 ).
Regarding claim 2, Valenzuela J discloses (figure 3A and 3B) that each meander-like structure has a curvature around the stacking direction. (stacking direction is perpendicular to the plate 28)
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Valenzuela further discloses (figure 3B) that each meander-like structure includes a first curvature and a second curvature (38), opposite to or different from the first the first curvature.
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18, Valenzuela further discloses (figures 3A) that the local chambers (30) of each layer include identical local chamber or are essentially identical. (two local chambers have essential identical shape)
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 19, Valenzuela further discloses (figure 3A) that at least some local chambers of one layer are mirror images of at least one some local chamber of an adjacent layer. (the upper local chambers are mirror image with the underneath local chamber).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 and 20, Valenzuela further discloses (figure 3A and 3B) that the stacked plates respectively forming the layers (28), wherein each plate comprises holes (recesses form chambers 30, wherein hole is defined as a cave or a pit like a hole in a golf ball) respectively defining the local chambers, of the corresponding layer.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Valenzuela discloses (figure 3A and paragraph 2, the use of heat exchanger for cooling a range of electronic devices is known in the art) a power module comprising a main body (15) and a cooling structure (14) fixed to the main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valenzuela in view of Katkar et al (DE 102019205383A1). Regarding claims 9-10, Valenzuela discloses a cooling channel (12) configured to at least indirectly cool the power module by means of its cooling structure.(14).However, Valenzuela does not disclose that the cooler is used to cool an electrical power converter, in particular inverter and a cooling channel that receive the cooling structure in the cooling channel’s cavity. Katkar et al, discloses (figures 1-3) an inverter (KL) that has a cooling structure (WP), a cooling channel (KP) having a cavity having an opening side, wherein the cooling channel is fixed to the power module (the main body DK has an surface OF1 mounted onto the power module) so that the side of the main body (DK) comprising the cooling structure (WP) closes the open side and so that the cooling structure (WP) is received in the cavity of the liquid channel (KP) for a purpose of cooling the power module of the inverter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Katkar et a’s ’s teaching in Valenzuela’s device for a purpose of cooling an inverter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
.
Kitazaki (US 20210190431A1) discloses a cooling device.
Cachon et al. (US 20170030660A1) discloses a heat exchanger module.
Katkar et al. ( DE 102019205383A1) discloses a cooler for cooling an electronic circuit.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763