Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claim 43 have been fully considered. The rejection of claim 43 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24, 32 and 36 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 24, 32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 32 and 36 below).
Regarding claim 24, the applicant argues that “Sun relies on legacy communication protocols
rather than a dedicated computing control plane”. According to applicant’s specification, “a Comp RRC can be any generic control plane signaling including current RRC (as per 5G)” (paragraph [0057]), the applicant argument is not supported by the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 32, line 9, “associated with the DU” should read “associated with a distributed unit (DU)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-26, 28-32, 34-38 and 40-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230247418 A1 (hereinafter Sun), in view of US 20200008044 A1 (hereinafter Poornachandran).
Regarding claim 32, Sun teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing
instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next-generation NodeB (gNB) to (Sun Fig. 23; [0627] the communication apparatus 2300 may be a network device, and can implement functions of the network device in the method provided in embodiments of this application.
[0181] A network-side device, also referred to as a network device, is an entity configured to transmit or receive a signal on a network side, is a device that connects a terminal device to a wireless network in a communication system. ... The network device may include a next generation node B (gNB) in a 5G NR system.
[0629] The communication apparatus 2300 includes at least one processor 2320, configured to implement or support the communication apparatus 2300 in implementing the functions of the network device.
[0630] The communication apparatus 2300 may further include at least one memory 2330, configured to store program instructions and/or data. The processor 2320 may execute the program instructions and/or the data stored in the memory 2330, so that the communication apparatus 2300 implements a corresponding method.
[0634] the memory 2330 may be a non-volatile memory. The memory is any other medium that can carry or store expected program code in a form of instructions or a data structure and that can be accessed by a computer.):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a computing task request associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network (Sun [0197] Based on the MEC network architecture, a computing task on the UE side may be offloaded to the RAN side for execution, to reduce computing load on the UE side.
[0198] in the architecture shown in FIG. 3, an MEC management function and at least one MEC computing function are also disposed on a RAN side. It should be understood that the MEC computing function is software, hardware, or a combination of software and hardware that is configured to provide a computing service.
[0199] The MEC management function located on the RAN side may manage the MEC computing function, and manage a computing task (which may also be referred to as an MEC task) to be executed. For example, the MEC management function may allocate a to-be-executed computing task to one or more MEC computing functions, to maximize utilization of computing resources of a system.
[0241] the terminal may request the first network device to offload a computing task of the terminal to the MEC computing function.);
implement a computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) protocol to manage one or more compute radio bearers associated with a distributed unit (DU) (Sun [0205] To execute a computing task, the MEC computing function needs to exchange, with a RAN-side device or a terminal device, related information for executing the computing task, for example, data related to the computing task (which may be briefly referred to as computing task data).
[0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
[0430] The first network device may perform RRC reconfiguration on each target second terminal, to configure a radio bearer of the computing task and a mapping relationship between the radio bearer and the computing task.
[0183] the gNB may include ... a distributed unit (DU). ... in this architecture, higher-layer signaling such as RRC layer signaling may also be considered as being sent by the DU.
Note: Modified RRC protocol for implementing MEC computing function is the computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) protocol; To configure a radio bearer of the computing task by the DU is to manage one or more compute radio bearers associated with the DU.);
select, via the Comp RRC protocol, a radio access network (RAN) computing service function (CompSF) to handle the computing task (Sun [0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
[0219] A first network device determines a computing capability of a first MEC network element, where the computing capability of the first MEC network element is for indicating an MEC computing service that can be provided by the first MEC network element.
[0220] The first MEC network element is an MEC network element deployed on a network side, and the first MEC network element includes an MEC management function and an MEC computing function. The MEC computing function can provide an MEC computing service, and the MEC management function may be configured to manage the MEC computing function. For example, the MEC management function may receive a computing task request from a terminal by using the first network device, and may indicate the MEC computing function to execute some or all computing tasks of the terminal.
[0241] If the computing capability of the MEC computing function is insufficient to satisfy a computing requirement of the computing task of the terminal, but the first network device offloads the computing task of the terminal to the MEC computing function, apparently, the MEC computing function unsuccessfully executes the computing task.
[0242] the first network device may determine a network edge computing capability. In this scenario, an example in which the network edge node is the first MEC network element is used. In other words, the first network device may determine the computing capability of the first MEC network element. In this way, the first network device clearly learns a computing capability of the MEC computing function, to properly allocate a computing task of the terminal, to ensure a success rate of executing the computing task by the MEC computing function. The first network device may actively obtain the computing capability of the first MEC network element, or the first MEC network element may actively notify the first network device of the computing capability of the first MEC network element.)
offload the computing task to the selected RAN CompSF (Sun [0217] a terminal side offloads a computing task to a network side.).
Sun does not explicitly teach receive, from a user equipment (UE), UE context information associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE, the selection is based on the UE context information.
Poornachandran in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receive, from a user equipment (UE), UE context information associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE (Poornachandran [0062] The UE app(s) 305 (also referred to as “device applications” or the like) is one or more applications running in a device (e.g., vUE 121/125). The UE app(s) 305 may be, include, or interact with one or more client applications, which in the context of MEC, is application software running on a device that utilizes functionality provided by one or more specific MEC application(s) 336.
[0063] In order to run an MEA 336 in the MEC system 300, the MEC-O 321 receives requests triggered by a UE application 305. In response to receipt of such requests, the MEC-O 321 selects an MEC server to host the MEA 336 for computational offloading. These requests may include information about the application to be run, and ...other application rules and requirements.
[0065] The application requirements may be rules and requirements associated to/with one or more MEAS 336, such as ... UE identity.
[0048] Requirements of the application can include ... security conditions.).
the selection is based on the the UE context information (Poornachandran [0065] the MEC-O 321 selects one or more MEC servers for computationally intensive tasks. The selected one or more MEC servers may offload computational tasks of a UE application 305 based on ... application requirements. [0065]The application requirements may be rules and requirements associated to/with one or more MEAS 336, such as ... UE identity.
[0048] Requirements of the application can include ... security conditions.).
By modifying Sun’s teachings of receive, from a user equipment (UE), a computing task request associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network with Poornachandran’s teachings of receive, from a user equipment (UE), UE context information associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE, the modification results in receive, from a user equipment (UE), a computing task request that includes UE context information associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE;
By modifying Sun’s teachings of select, via the Comp RRC protocol, a radio access network (RAN) computing service function (CompSF) to handle the computing task with Poornachandran’s teachings of the selection is based on the the UE context information, the modification results in select, based on the UE context information and via the Comp RRC protocol, a radio access network (RAN) computing service function (CompSF) to handle the computing task;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun with Poornachandran’s above teachings. The motivation is providing Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) technologies for supporting mobile User Equipment (Poornachandran [0001]).
Claim 24 recites similar limitations of claim 32, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 36, Sun teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing
instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a user equipment (UE) to (Sun Fig. 23; [0627] The communication apparatus 2300 may be a terminal, and can implement functions of the terminal in the method provided in embodiments of this application.
[0629] The communication apparatus 2300 includes at least one processor 2320, configured to implement or support the communication apparatus 2300 in implementing the functions of the network device.
[0630] The communication apparatus 2300 may further include at least one memory 2330, configured to store program instructions and/or data. The processor 2320 may execute the program instructions and/or the data stored in the memory 2330, so that the communication apparatus 2300 implements a corresponding method.
[0634] the memory 2330 may be a non-volatile memory. The memory is any other medium that can carry or store expected program code in a form of instructions or a data structure and that can be accessed by a computer.):
implement a computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) protocol (Sun [0205] To execute a computing task, the MEC computing function needs to exchange, with a RAN-side device or a terminal device, related information for executing the computing task, for example, data related to the computing task (which may be briefly referred to as computing task data).
[0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
Note: Modified RRC protocol for implementing MEC computing function is the computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) protocol.);
send, to a distributed unit (DU) of a next-generation NodeB (gNB) and via the Comp RRC protocol, a computing task request that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network (Sun [0181] A network-side device, also referred to as a network device, is an entity configured to transmit or receive a signal on a network side, is a device that connects a terminal device to a wireless network in a communication system. ... The network device may include a next generation node B (gNB) in a 5G NR system.
[0183] the gNB may include ... a distributed unit (DU). ... in this architecture, higher-layer signaling such as RRC layer signaling may also be considered as being sent by the DU.
[0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
[0197] Based on the MEC network architecture, a computing task on the UE side may be offloaded to the RAN side for execution, to reduce computing load on the UE side.
[0198] in the architecture shown in FIG. 3, an MEC management function and at least one MEC computing function are also disposed on a RAN side. It should be understood that the MEC computing function is software, hardware, or a combination of software and hardware that is configured to provide a computing service.
[0199] The MEC management function located on the RAN side may manage the MEC computing function, and manage a computing task (which may also be referred to as an MEC task) to be executed. For example, the MEC management function may allocate a to-be-executed computing task to one or more MEC computing functions, to maximize utilization of computing resources of a system.
[0241] the terminal may request the first network device to offload a computing task of the terminal to the MEC computing function.),
receive, from the DU of the gNB, a computing setup or reconfiguration message (Sun [0183] the gNB may include ... a distributed unit (DU). ... in this architecture, higher-layer signaling such as RRC layer signaling may also be considered as being sent by the DU.
[0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function.
[0280] The first MEC network element sends a first task request response message to the first network device, where the first task request response message is for notifying admission information of the at least one computing task.
[0284] After receiving the first task request response message, the first network device may forward the first task request response message to the terminal, that is, send the admission information of the at least one computing task to the terminal.); and
perform a computing setup or reconfiguration based on the computing setup or reconfiguration message (Sun [0293] After the terminal receives the first task request response message from the first MEC network element, the terminal may request to establish a connection to the first MEC network element. After the connection is established, the terminal and the first MEC network element may transmit related data of a computing task (referred to as computing task data below) to each other.).
Sun does not explicitly teach send, a context information for the UE that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE.
Poornachandran in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches send, a context information for the UE that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE (Poornachandran [0062] The UE app(s) 305 (also referred to as “device applications” or the like) is one or more applications running in a device (e.g., vUE 121/125). The UE app(s) 305 may be, include, or interact with one or more client applications, which in the context of MEC, is application software running on a device that utilizes functionality provided by one or more specific MEC application(s) 336.
[0063] In order to run an MEA 336 in the MEC system 300, the MEC-O 321 receives requests triggered by a UE application 305. In response to receipt of such requests, the MEC-O 321 selects an MEC server to host the MEA 336 for computational offloading. These requests may include information about the application to be run, and ...other application rules and requirements.
[0065] The application requirements may be rules and requirements associated to/with one or more MEAS 336, such as ... UE identity.
[0048] Requirements of the application can include ... security conditions.).
By modifying Sun’s teachings of send, to a distributed unit (DU) of a next-generation NodeB (gNB) and via the Comp RRC protocol, a computing task request that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network with Poornachandran’s teachings of send, a context information for the UE that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE, the modification results in send, to a distributed unit (DU) of a next-generation NodeB (gNB) and via the Comp RRC protocol, a computing task request that includes context information for the UE that is associated with a computing task to be offloaded to a cellular network, wherein the UE context information includes an identifier for the UE and security information for the UE;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun with Poornachandran’s above teachings. The motivation is providing Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) technologies for supporting mobile User Equipment (Poornachandran [0001]).
Regarding claim 25, Sun in view of Poornachandran (hereinafter combination) teaches The
apparatus of claim 24.
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the UE context information is received via computing task request received from the UE.
Poornachandran teaches wherein the UE context information is received via computing task request received from the UE (Poornachandran [0062] The UE app(s) 305 (also referred to as “device applications” or the like) is one or more applications running in a device (e.g., vUE 121/125). The UE app(s) 305 may be, include, or interact with one or more client applications, which in the context of MEC, is application software running on a device that utilizes functionality provided by one or more specific MEC application(s) 336.
[0063] In order to run an MEA 336 in the MEC system 300, the MEC-O 321 receives requests triggered by a UE application 305. In response to receipt of such requests, the MEC-O 321 selects an MEC server to host the MEA 336 for computational offloading. These requests may include information about the application to be run, and ...other application rules and requirements.
[0065] The application requirements may be rules and requirements associated to/with one or more MEAS 336, such as ... UE identity.
[0048] Requirements of the application can include ... security conditions.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Poornachandran’s above teachings. The motivation is providing Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) technologies for supporting mobile User Equipment (Poornachandran [0001]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 25.
Sun teaches wherein the computing task request is received via radio resource control (RRC)
Signaling (Sun [0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
[0289] the first task request message in S731a may be an RRC message.).
Claim 38 recites similar limitations of claim 26, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 28, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 24.
Sun teaches wherein selecting the RAN CompSF includes determining one or more resources
associated with the RAN CompSF (Sun [0275] The first task request message is for requesting the network side to execute at least one computing task of the terminal. In this case, the first task request message may include a related parameter of the at least one computing task, so that the first network device properly allocates the at least one computing task to the MEC computing function based on the related parameter. the first task request message may include one or more pieces of information such as MEC computing service type information, resource requirement information.
[0241] If the computing capability of the MEC computing function is insufficient to satisfy a computing requirement of the computing task of the terminal, but the first network device offloads the computing task of the terminal to the MEC computing function, apparently, the MEC computing function unsuccessfully executes the computing task.
[0242] the first network device may determine a network edge computing capability. In this scenario, an example in which the network edge node is the first MEC network element is used. In other words, the first network device may determine the computing capability of the first MEC network element. In this way, the first network device clearly learns a computing capability of the MEC computing function, to properly allocate a computing task of the terminal, to ensure a success rate of executing the computing task by the MEC computing function. The first network device may actively obtain the computing capability of the first MEC network element, or the first MEC network element may actively notify the first network device of the computing capability of the first MEC network element.).
Claim 34 recites similar limitations of claim 28, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 29, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 24.
Sun teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to provide computing offloading
capability information to the UE (Sun [0267] The first network device determines a computing capability on the network side, and may notify the terminal of the computing capability on the network side. In this way, the terminal may properly request the network side to execute some computing tasks of the terminal with reference to the computing capability on the network side.
[0268] The first network device sends first capability information, where the first capability information is for indicating the computing capability of the first MEC network element.).
Claims 35 and 40 recite similar limitations of claim 29 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 30, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 29.
Sun teaches wherein the computing offloading capability information is provided to the UE via
radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Sun [0268] The first network device sends first capability information, where the first capability information is for indicating the computing capability of the first MEC network element.
[0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.).
Claim 41 recites similar limitations of claim 30, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 31, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 24.
Sun teaches wherein the apparatus includes a next-generation NodeB (gNB), or a portion
thereof, that includes a computing distributed unit (DU) (Sun [0181] A network-side device, also referred to as a network device, is an entity configured to transmit or receive a signal on a network side, is a device that connects a terminal device to a wireless network in a communication system. ... The network device may include a next generation node B (gNB) in a 5G NR system.
[0183] the gNB may include ... a distributed unit (DU).).
Regarding claim 37, the combination teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-
readable media of claim 36.
Sun teaches wherein the media further stores instructions that when executed cause the UE to receive, from the DU of the gNB a computing response message that contains output received from a service function to which the computing task was offloaded (Sun [0183] the gNB may include ... a distributed unit (DU). ... in this architecture, higher-layer signaling such as RRC layer signaling may also be considered as being sent by the DU.
[0280] The first MEC network element sends a first task request response message to the first network device, where the first task request response message is for notifying admission information of the at least one computing task.
[0284] After receiving the first task request response message, the first network device may forward the first task request response message to the terminal, that is, send the admission information of the at least one computing task to the terminal.).
Regarding claim 42, the combination teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-
readable media of claim 36.
Sun teaches wherein the media further stores instructions that when executed cause the UE to implement a computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) (Sun [0208] The terminal side and the network side may reuse an existing RRC layer protocol to exchange signaling for implementing an MEC function. For example, some RRC signaling may be newly defined to exchange related information for implementing an MEC function (which may also be briefly referred to as MEC function related information in this specification); or existing RRC signaling may continue to be used, a new information element is added to the existing RRC signaling, and the new information element carries related information for implementing an MEC function.
Note: Modified RRC protocol for implementing MEC computing function is the computing radio resource control (Comp RRC) protocol.).
Regarding claim 43, the combination teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-
readable media of claim 42,
Sun teaches wherein the Comp RRC is to support one or more of:
necessary system information broadcasts for radio frame timing and system frame number (SFN);
establishment, configuration, modification and release of compute radio bearers (Sun [0293] After the terminal receives the first task request response message from the first MEC network element, the terminal may request to establish a connection to the first MEC network element. After the connection is established, the terminal and the first MEC network element may transmit related data of a computing task (referred to as computing task data below) to each other.
[0294] For example, the terminal and the first MEC network element may establish a control plane transmission channel, that is, the terminal may exchange computing task data with the first MEC network element through the control plane transmission channel. For example, the computing task data is carried on an SRB; the computing task data is carried on a radio bearer RB newly defined for an MEC service, for example, an MEC-RB.
[0430] The first network device may perform RRC reconfiguration on each target second terminal, to configure a radio bearer of the computing task and a mapping relationship between the radio bearer and the computing task.
Note: a radio bearer of the computing task is the compute radio bearer.
);
a security function; quality of service (QoS) support;
mobility support; and
detection and recovery for radio link failures.
Claim(s) 27, 33 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Poornachandran as applied to claims 25, 32 and 36 above, and further in view of US 20200296653 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 27, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 25.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the computing task request includes
computing service information that includes one or more of: a computing session identifier, a task identifier, a service identifier, or a service function (SF) identifier.
Huang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the computing task request includes computing service information that includes one or more of: a computing session identifier, a task identifier, a service identifier, or a service function (SF) identifier (Huang [0061] The edge computing system may be exploited by a UE's mobile application 510 located directly in a UE.the UE mobile application 510 may interact with the edge computing system.
[0062] The different functional blocks of an edge computing system (e.g., operations support system 506 or mobile edge orchestrator 508) may be deployed directly at a base station.
[0049] The request may contain parameters that may assist in routing (e.g., offloading) computing and communication resources from the mobile network 409 to the edge computing system 410. Examples of parameters may include at least one of: a network name, that identifies the network domain of the edge computing system;... a mobile application identifier, that identifies the mobile application to be provisioned by the edge computing system; a service steering or traffic steering policy, that identifies the policies applied to the data interface between the user plane and the edge computing system; a session event subscription number, that is the subscription number (e.g., subscription identifier) corresponding to the user plane function selection/re-selection/release operations. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Huang’s above teachings. The motivation is integrating a mobile network with an edge computing system (Huang [0001]).
Claims 33 and 39 recite similar limitations of claim 27 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418