DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to claims 1, 10,21 and 22 that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, LIM discloses displaying content on a display device, the content comprising a machine readable resource locator (see included but not limited to; fig.2,4,9; page.2,¶0027,¶0034-¶0035,¶0053; in [0034-0035] discloses a QR code distributor or other operator of the computer server system establishes a unique code, in which a web site address or URL is encoded, the unique code is visually displayed on billboards, newspapers, magazines, signs, posters, display screens, product packaging or any other usable location ); accessing content from the location of the resource locator, which content enables further interaction with the content on a one to one or an individualized basis (see included but not limited to; page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045; in [0045] discloses a user for scanning or entering a hardlink code and receiving dynamically-delivered content in response …where the content is a redirection to a merchant web site or the like, the user will immediately be presented with, and may interact with, the merchant web site via the wireless device, and even enter into a transaction with the merchant). Burkhart discloses the resource locator being uniquely generated for a single use (see included but not limited to fig.3; page.2,¶0018, ¶0022,¶0058; in[0022] discloses user-based QR code rotation may be configured to cause a particular QR code value to be displayed for only one (1) person).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LIM with the teaching as taught by Burkhart in order to limiting abuse of QR-code-based offers and/or incentives by the content provider(s).
Claims Status
Claims 1-26 are pending current application.
Claims 23-26 are new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11,17 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0112614 A1 to LIM et al in view of US 2015/0041530 A1 to Burkhart et al.
As to claim 1, LIM discloses a method of creating interaction input based on displayed content (see page.1,¶0008,¶0027) comprising: displaying content on a display device, the content comprising a machine readable resource locator (see fig.2,4,9; page.2,¶0027,¶0034-¶0035,¶0053);capturing the displayed content with a distinct device to the display device (see fig.2; page.3,¶0028,¶0058); extracting the machine readable resource locator from the captured displayed content (see page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045); accessing content from the location of the resource locator, which content enables further interaction with the content on a one to one or an individualized basis(see page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045).
LIM fails explicitly discloses the resource locator being uniquely generated for a single use.
Burkhart discloses the resource locator being uniquely generated for a single use (see fig.3; page.2,¶0018, ¶0022,¶0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LIM with the teaching as taught by Burkhart in order to limiting abuse of QR-code-based offers and/or incentives by the content provider(s).
As to claim 2, Burkhart further discloses wherein the method further comprises updating the displayed content with a newly generated machine-readable resource locator, the newly generated resource locator being generated for a single use, wherein updating occurs each time the content is accessed (see fig.3; page.2, ¶0022,¶0058).
As to claim 3, LIM further discloses wherein the display device receives the display content from a TV broadcast (see page.8,¶0076).
As to claim 4, LIM further discloses wherein the display device receives the display content in the form of a communication for controlling an electronic billboard (see page.8,¶0076).
As to claim 5, LIM further discloses wherein the display device receives the display content from a set top box broadcast (see page.8,¶0076).
As to claim 6, LIM further discloses wherein the display device receives the display content from a one to many broadcast (see page.8,¶0076).
As to claim 8, LIM further discloses wherein the resource locator is encoded in the form of a matrix optical label and extracting the resource locator from the displayed content comprises extracting the resource locator from the matrix optical label (see page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045).
As to claim 9, LIM further discloses wherein the method further comprises entering an input into the device; sending the entered input to a controller; and the displayed content being updated based on the input (see page.5,¶0047-¶0048,¶0059).
As to claim 10. LIM discloses a system for providing interaction input based on displayed content (see page.1,¶0008,¶0027) comprising: a content source for providing content to be displayed; wherein the content source is configured to create the content comprising a machine readable resource locator (see fig.2,4,9; page.2,¶0027,¶0034-¶0035,¶0053); a display device for displaying the content provided from the content source (see fig.2; page.3,¶0028,¶0058); a distinct device to the display device for extracting the machine readable resource locator from the displayed content (see page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045); wherein the distinct device is configured to access content from the location of the resource locator, which content enables further interaction with the content on a one to one or an individualized basis (see page.3,¶0028,¶0031,¶0045).
LIM fails explicitly discloses the resource locator being uniquely generated for a single use.
Burkhart discloses the resource locator being uniquely generated for a single use (see fig.3; page.2,¶0018, ¶0022,¶0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LIM with the teaching as taught by Burkhart in order to limiting abuse of QR-code-based offers and/or incentives by the content provider(s).
As to claim 11, Burkhart further discloses wherein the content source is configured to update the displayed content with a newly generated machine-readable resource locator after the distinct device accesses the content from the location of the resource locator, the new resource locator also generated for a single use (see fig.3; page.6,¶0058).
As to claim 17, LIM further discloses wherein the interaction is provided through the distinct device(see fig.3; page.3,¶0031).
As to claim 21, LIM discloses a content server for providing content able to be interacted with on an individualized basis, the content being for display on a one to many view basis (see page.3, ¶0030, ¶0034), said content server comprising: a storage device for storing content or a receiver for receiving content (see page.2, ¶0008, ¶0030); a receiver of requests for service of content; a serving system for serving the content when requested(see page.2,¶0008,¶0033); wherein the serving system individualizes the content served based on each received (see page.5, ¶0049-¶0058).
LIM fails explicitly discloses a unique code generator for generating unique single use codes; a transmitter of each unique single use code; each request comprising one of the unique single use codes; wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit another unique single use code when one of the unique single use codes is received.
Burkhart discloses a unique code generator for generating unique single use codes (see fig.1-2; page.4,¶0032-¶0033,¶0045,¶0018); a transmitter of each unique single use code; each request comprising one of the unique single use codes (see fig.3; page.6,¶0058, ¶0022,¶0018); wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit another unique single use code when one of the unique single use codes is received (see fig.3; page.6, ¶0058,¶0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LIM with the teaching as taught by Burkhart in order to limiting abuse of QR-code-based offers and/or incentives by the content provider(s).
As to claim 22, is analyzed the same rejection with respect to a content server claim 21.
As to claim 23, Burkhart further discloses wherein each interaction is individualised for each instance of assessing of content using the single use resource locator(page.2, ¶0022).
As to claim 24, Burkhart further discloses wherein the resource locator comprises a unique identifier generated for the single use(page.2, ¶0022).
As to claim 25, Burkhart further discloses wherein the use of the resource locator to access content is combined with a time of initial access of the content to determine the content which enables the further interaction (page.2,¶0018, ¶0022).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0112614 A1 to LIM et al in view of US 2015/0041530 A1 to Burkhart et al and further in view of US 2016/0171486 A1 to Wagner et al.
As to claim 12, LIM and Burkhart fail explicitly discloses wherein the content source is configured to obtain a portion of the content from a content server and to obtain the single use resource locator from an interaction server.
Wagner discloses wherein the content source is configured to obtain a portion of the content from a content server and to obtain the single use resource locator from an interaction server (see fig.1 and 4; page.24,¶0419).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LIM with the teaching as taught by Wagner in order to allows a transaction to be initiated by interpreting the specific machine-identifiable tag.
As to claim 13, Wagner further discloses wherein the interaction server is configured to pass through input received by the device to the content server (see fig.5; page.24,¶0420).
As to claim 14, Wagner further discloses wherein the interaction server is configured to receive an access request from the distinct device based on the single use resource locator and is configured to provide the new resource locator to the content server (see fig.18; page.28,¶0468-¶0472).
As to claim 15, Wagner further discloses wherein the content source is configured to change the provided content when the new resource locator is provided by the interaction server (see fig.18; page.29,¶0470).
As to claim 16, Wagner further discloses wherein the display device changes the content displayed when the change to the provided content is made by the content source (see fig.18; page.29,¶0472).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed. None of the prior art of record, both alone and/or in combination fails to neither discloses or suggests the combination of elements as claimed.
Claims 7 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424