DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0078241, filed on 06/16/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR 20210067366 A, June 08, 2021 (hereinafter “Ahn”) in view of Matlock et al. U.S. Pub. No. 6261711 B1, July 17, 2001 (hereinafter “Matlock”).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn discloses a fuel cell membrane humidifier (1) comprising: a humidification module (2); a mid-case (22) having a partition (blocking member 223) dividing an inner space (receiving hole 220) (figs. 2-4, paragraph 0024, 0031, and 0038-0039); a first cap (3) and second cap (4) attached to opposite ends of the humidification module (2) (paragraph 0024); an inner case (210) which is positioned in the mid-case (22) and accommodates a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (211) (paragraph 00028); interlocking member (214) includes a coupling member (214a) and a hooking member (214b). Coupling member (214a) is coupled to and protrudes from inner case (210), while hooking member (214b) protrude from coupling member (214a) and is received in engagement grove (223a) of blocking member (223) (figs. 7-9; paragraphs 0043-0045); blocking member is thereby engaged between portions of the interlocking member and inner case; and a first and second gasket (packing member 23, 23’) which is positioned between the caps (3, 4) and the inner case (cartridge) (figs. 2-4; paragraphs 0033-0034). However, Ann fails to disclose a first gasket which transmits a fastening force between the first cap and the mid-case to the rib; and a second gasket which transmits the fastening force between the second cap and the mid-case to the hook.
Matlock discloses a fuel cell system including a first and second gasket (fig. 7, gasket 110) disposed within a groove (95) and a compressible member (199), wherein sealing is achieved by compressing opposing components such that the gasket (110) and compressible member conform to each other to form a fluid-tight seal (figs. 7-8; col. 3, lines 20-45; col. 5, lines 48-64). Matlock further discloses that components are compressed together, the gasket acts as a pressure source that transmits compressive force through the assembly to create and maintain a seal (col. 5, lines 48-67; col. 6, lines 1-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn’s gasket/packing member such that it transmits fastening/compressive force between the cap and the mid-case to sealing interfaces (including the rib/partition interface) as taught by Matlock, because both references are directed to fuel cell sealing structures and Matlock discloses that compression of gasket is a known and effective way to ensure fluid-tight sealing between interfacing components. This combination would predictably improve sealing performance in Ahn by ensuring reliable closure of gaps and preventing fluid leakage, which is a recognized design objective in fuel cell humidifier assemblies.
Ahn discloses alternate circumferential configurations for coupling member(214a) and hooking member (214b). The coupling member extends in a ring shape along the circumference of the inner case and hooking member similarly extends in a ring shape along the coupling member. Ahn discloses that this ring-shaped construction increases the engagement contact area between interlocking member (214) and blocking member (223) and improves integrity with which inner case (210) and mid-case move together (figs. 7-8; paragraphs 0047-0048). It would have been obvious to retain coupling member coupling member (214a) as a continuous ring around inner case (210) while forming hooking member only at a partial or circumferentially spaced locations. Such a configuration would predictably retain the circumferential support and load distribution provided by Ahn’s ring-shaped coupling member while reducing the material and processing associated with the hooking member, consistent with the benefits Ahn attributes to its ring-shaped and partial configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the rib as a continuous circumferential (closed curve) structure surrounding the outer surface of the inner case, since such geometry is a predictable design choice to provide uniform support, alignment, and sealing around cylindrical or cartridge-type structures.
Matlock discloses that the amount of compressive force applied at a sealing interface may be selected by changing the depth of gasket-receiving groove (95), the size of gasket (110), or both. Matlock provides an example in which the groove depth and gasket size are selected to produce a specified sealing pressure when the plates are compressed together. (fig. 8; col.5, line 65 – col. 6, line 10). Matlock further teaches that gasket dimensions depend upon the design of the particular fuel-cell assembly (col. 6, lines 39-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the width of Ahn’s first and second gasket heads according to the different geometries and force-distribution requirements of the continuous rib interface and the partial hook interface. In particular, it would have been obvious to form the first gasket head associated with the continuous closed-curve rib with a greater width that the second gasket head associated with the non-closed hook. The wider first gasket would distribute fastening force along the continuous circumferential rib interface, whereas the narrower second gasket head would apply fastening force at the localized hook engagement interface. Such relative dimensioning would have constituted routine optimization of a result effective variable expressly identified by Matlock’s gasket size (fig. 8; col.5, line 65 – col. 6, line 10) to obtain the desired compressive force distribution and sealing performance at the respective interfaces.
Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses a fuel cell membrane humidifier (1) comprising: a humidification module (2); a mid-case (22) having a partition (blocking member 223) dividing an inner space (receiving hole 220) (figs. 2-4, paragraph 0024, 0031, and 0038-0039); a first cap (3) and second cap (4) attached to opposite ends of the humidification module (2) (paragraph 0024); an inner case (210) which is positioned in the mid-case (22) and accommodates a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (211) (paragraph 00028); interlocking member (214) includes a coupling member (214a) and a hooking member (214b). Coupling member (214a) is coupled to and protrudes from inner case (210), while hooking member (214b) protrude from coupling member (214a) and is received in engagement grove (223a) of blocking member (223) (figs. 7-9; paragraphs 0043-0045); blocking member is thereby engaged between portions of the interlocking member and inner case; and a first and second gasket (packing member 23, 23’) which is positioned between the caps (3, 4) and the inner case (cartridge) (figs. 2-4; paragraphs 0033-0034). However, Ann fails to disclose a first gasket which transmits a fastening force between the first cap and the mid-case to the rib; and a second gasket which transmits the fastening force between the second cap and the mid-case to the hook.
Matlock discloses a fuel cell system including a first and second gasket (fig. 7, gasket 110) disposed within a groove (95) and a compressible member (199), wherein sealing is achieved by compressing opposing components such that the gasket (110) and compressible member conform to each other to form a fluid-tight seal (figs. 7-8; col. 3, lines 20-45; col. 5, lines 48-64). Matlock further discloses that components are compressed together, the gasket acts as a pressure source that transmits compressive force through the assembly to create and maintain a seal (col. 5, lines 48-67; col. 6, lines 1-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn’s gasket/packing member such that it transmits fastening/compressive force between the cap and the mid-case to sealing interfaces (including the rib/partition interface) as taught by Matlock, because both references are directed to fuel cell sealing structures and Matlock discloses that compression of gasket is a known and effective way to ensure fluid-tight sealing between interfacing components. This combination would predictably improve sealing performance in Ahn by ensuring reliable closure of gaps and preventing fluid leakage, which is a recognized design objective in fuel cell humidifier assemblies
Ahn discloses a ring-shaped embodiment in which coupling member (214a) and hooking member (214b) extend around the circumference of inner case and engaging the blocking member (223) to secure the inner case within the mid-case (figs. 7-9; paragraphs 0043-0045). As with the rib/coupling member (214a) in claim 7 above, the engagement structures are arranged along the outer circumferential region of the inner case (paragraphs 0047-0048). It would have been obvious to form hooking member (214b) as a continuous ring-shaped structure while providing the coupling member as a partial or circumferentially spaced supporting portions. Hooking member performs the engagement and retention function by entering engagement groove of blocking member. Forming hook member (214b) continuously around inner case would predictably increase engagement contact and provide continuous retention relative to blocking member (223), consistent with the benefit expressly identified in paragraph [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure hooking member (214b), corresponding to the claimed hook, as a closed curve surrounding the outer surface of inner case (210) and to configure coupling member (214a), corresponding to the claimed rib, as the non-closed structure.
Matlock discloses that the amount of compressive force applied at a sealing interface may be selected by changing the depth of gasket-receiving groove (95), the size of gasket (110), or both. Matlock provides an example in which the groove depth and gasket size are selected to produce a specified sealing pressure when the plates are compressed together. (fig. 8; col.5, line 65 – col. 6, line 10). Matlock further teaches that gasket dimensions depend upon the design of the particular fuel-cell assembly (col. 6, lines 39-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the second gasket head associated with the continuous closed curve wider than the first gasket head associated with the partial or non-closed rib. The wider second gasket head would distribute fastening force along the continuous hook engagement path, whereas the narrower first gasket head would direct fastening force to the localized rib-support portions. Selecting relative gasket head widths according to the different geometries of the respective interfaces would have constituted routine optimization of gasket size to obtain localized compressive force distribution and sealing performance, as taught by Matlock (fig. 8; col.5, line 65 – col. 6, line 10).
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776