DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 1-3 and corresponding claims 1-10 and 18) in the reply filed on 2/9/2026 is acknowledged. Examiner notes applicant has cancelled claims 11-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knoepfler (5,217,460).
Regarding claim 1, Knoepfler discloses a microanastomosis forceps (a surgical instrument for use in any scopic surgery, col 1, In 38-39), the forceps comprising: two longitudinally extending arms (see arms 110 and 111, Fig 4) extending from a proximal pivot point (see how 110 and 111 extend from a proximal pivot point 112, Fig 4), each of the two longitudinally extending arms extend a predetermined length from the proximal pivot point to a respective distal end (see how each arm has a length to extend a predetermined length from 112 to distal ends near 120 and 121, Fig 4); and a suction hose connection point adjacent to the proximal pivot point (see a channel 118 adjacent to 112 to connect a suction hose to a suction catheter, Fig 5; channel 118 provides a path through which suction catheter 91 may pass through 110, col 5, In 54-56); one or more suction ports arranged on the distal end of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see suction ports 123 and 130 on the distal end of 110, Fig 5); wherein a flow path is operably arranged between the suction hose and the one or more suction ports (see a flow path cavity 122 in arm 110 which connects 118 and ports 123 to allow for suction communication, col 5, In 65-68; suction is also provided through port 130, col 6, In 8-10).
Regarding claim 2, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 1, wherein the flow path is integrally formed through at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see how the flow path cavity 122 is integrally formed through arm 110, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 3, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 1, wherein the distal end of each of the two longitudinally extending arms includes a tip (see how the distal end of arms 110 and 111 each include a bottom tip portion, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 3, wherein the one or more suction ports are formed on a tip of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see how suction port 130 is formed on the tip of arm 110, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 3, wherein the one or more suction ports includes a plurality of suction ports (see a plurality of ports 123 and 130, Fig 5) with at least one suction port on an exterior surface of the distal end of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see a plurality of ports 123 on an exterior surface of the distal end of arm 110, Fig 5) and at least one suction port on the tip of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see port 130 on the tip portion of arm 110, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 6, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 3, wherein the tip of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms further comprises a micro-hook blunt dissecting tip extending away from an exterior surface of the distal tip (see a small distal most hook protrusion extending from the bottom tip portions of 110 and 111, Fig 5; the multiple purpose forceps may be used for bluntly dissecting while also grasping and suctioning, col 4, In 43-45).
Regarding claim 8, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 1, wherein the one or more suction ports are arranged in a predetermined pattern along an exterior surface of the distal tip of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see the plurality of ports 123 arranged in a predetermined pattern on a left surface of arm 110 between teeth 121, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 1, wherein the one or more suction ports have a uniform cross- sectional area (see how ports 123 have a uniform cross-sectional area, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 10, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 1, wherein the one or more suction ports are linearly arranged along the predetermined length of at least one of the two longitudinally extending arms (see how ports 123 are linearly arranged along the length of the distal end of arm 110, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 18, Knoepfler discloses the microanastomosis forceps of claim 11, wherein the two longitudinally extending arms are formed of stainless steel and/or titanium (the forceps are fabricated from stainless steel, col 2, In 58-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoepfler (5,217,460).
Regarding claim 7, Knoepfler discloses a microanastomosis forceps substantially as described above with respect to at least claims 1, 3, and 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the micro-hook blunt dissecting tip extends approximately 1 millimeter (mm) away from the exterior surface of the distal tip and has a diameter of approximately 0.75 mm. Knoepfler does teach the forceps instrument is a universal surgical instrument that can serve many functions (col 1, In 37-40) and many different jaw elements may be substituted depending on the particular application or procedure (col 4, In 21-24) such as bluntly dissecting out a blood vessel (col 4, In 43-45). Further, optimizing size, shape, and angle(s) is within the ordinary skill of one in the art. Accordingly, Examiner contends it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the extension length and diameter of the micro-hook blunt dissecting tip of Knoepfler away from the exterior surface of the distal tip as claimed in order to use it for a specific microsurgical dissection application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for a general showing of the state of the art of forceps relevant to the claimed forceps.
/Ryan J. Severson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771