DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a motor (Claim 15)” and the “a coupling part… second ferromagnetic armature… a second actuator (Claim 16)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 2, Line 14, replace “workspace,” with “workspace;”
Page 2, Line 16, replace “case,” with “case;”
Page 2, Line 19, replace “workspace,” with “workspace;”
Page 2, Line 23, replace “case,” with “case; and”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 5, replace “workspace,” with “workspace;”
Claim 1, Line 7, replace “case,” with “case;”
Claim 1, Line 10, replace “workspace,” with “workspace;”
Claim 1, Line 14, replace “case,” with “case; and”
Claim 11, Line 3, replace “its” with “the”
Claim 12, Line 3, replace “its” with “the”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “means of a coupling part” in claim 16. Structure is assigned to this element in claim 16.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “weakly magnetic material.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the term “weakly”?
Claim 1 recites “so-called sliding faces.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the term “so -called”? For purposes of examination, the phrase “so-called sliding faces” is understood to mean “
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the section of the tubular case" in Lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To overcome this rejection, replace the phrase "the section of the tubular case" with "a section of the tubular case".
Claim 15 recites “a motor configured to move the actuator.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how this motor would operate to actually move the actuator as no structure or description of operation has been provided within the originally filed disclosure.
Claim 16 recites “a coupling part… a second ferromagnetic armature… and a second actuator.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how these elements would operate to actually drive the coupling part as no structure or description of operation has been provided within the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 2,996,330 (Hutto).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 6 and 13, Hutto teaches: Claim 1 - a magnetic handling device adapted to handle an object in a workspace, the magnetic handling device comprising: a tubular case (3) made of a non-magnetic or weakly magnetic material, comprising at least two adjacent so-called sliding faces (inner surfaces of tubular case (3)), a first end of the tubular case (3) being open and in communication with the workspace, a ferromagnetic armature (7) slidably arranged in the tubular case (3) according to a longitudinal axis of the tubular case (3), a handling shaft (2) extending through the tubular case (3), the handling shaft (2) being coupled to the ferromagnetic armature (7) so as to be able to slide towards or in the workspace, an actuator (16) arranged outside the tubular case (3), comprising a plurality of magnets (31/31a) forming a magnetic system (31/31a) with the ferromagnetic armature (7), the actuator (16) being configured to make the ferromagnetic armature (7) slide according to the longitudinal axis of the tubular case (2), inner surfaces of the actuator (16) and outer surfaces of the ferromagnetic armature (7) being configured to match with the at least two sliding faces, the ferromagnetic armature (7) being configured to be pressed on the at least two sliding faces of the tubular case (2) by the magnets (31/31a), (Figure 1); Claim 3 – wherein a tool (1) for handling the object is coupled to the handling shaft (2), (Figure 1); Claim 6 – wherein the ferromagnetic armature (7) comprises a one-piece, (Figure 1); Claim 13 – wherein the actuator (16) is in the form of a sleeve (16) arranged all around the tubular case (3) and having an internal section adapted to the section of the tubular case (3), (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H06232237 (Fujita et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 13 and 14, Fujita et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a magnetic handling device adapted to handle an object in a workspace, the magnetic handling device comprising: a tubular case (2) made of a non-magnetic or weakly magnetic material, comprising at least two adjacent so-called sliding faces (inner surfaces of tubular case (2)), a first end of the tubular case (2) being open and in communication with the workspace, a ferromagnetic armature (6) slidably arranged in the tubular case (2) according to a longitudinal axis of the tubular case (2), a handling shaft (8) extending through the tubular case (2), the handling shaft (8) being coupled to the ferromagnetic armature (6) so as to be able to slide towards or in the workspace, an actuator (7) arranged outside the tubular case (2), comprising a plurality of magnets (4) forming a magnetic system (4) with the ferromagnetic armature (6), the actuator (7) being configured to make the ferromagnetic armature (6) slide according to the longitudinal axis of the tubular case (2), inner surfaces of the actuator (7) and outer surfaces of the ferromagnetic armature (6) being configured to match with the at least two sliding faces, the ferromagnetic armature (6) being configured to be pressed on the at least two sliding faces of the tubular case (2) by the magnets (4), (Figures 1-6); Claim 4 - wherein the ferromagnetic armature (6) comprises at least two wheels (5) on one face placed on one of the at least two sliding facesthe examiner notes that applicant has generically described the two “sliding faces” and that each of these faces can be any arbitrary surface within the tubular case (2)), (Figures 1-6); Claim 5 – wherein the magnetic system comprises a plurality of magnetic circuits (paragraphs [0007], [0011], [0014] and [0016], of the EPO translation, describe the interactions of the magnets (3 and 4) as forming magnetic circuits), (Figures 1-6); Claim 7 – wherein the ferromagnetic armature (6) comprises a plurality of ferromagnetic parts (3), (Figures 1-6); Claim 13 – wherein the actuator (7) is in the form of a sleeve (7) arranged all around the tubular case (2) and having an internal section adapted to the section of the tubular case (2), (Figures 1-6); Claim 14 – wherein the magnetic system is off-centered according to an axis of the ferromagnetic armature (6) with respect to its centre, (Figures 1-6).
Claim(s) 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0191155 (Scollay).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Scollay teaches: Claim 1 - a magnetic handling device adapted to handle an object in a workspace, the magnetic handling device comprising: a tubular case (680) made of a non-magnetic or weakly magnetic material, comprising at least two adjacent so-called sliding faces (inner surfaces of tubular case (680)), a first end of the tubular case (680) being open and in communication with the workspace, a ferromagnetic armature (670) slidably arranged in the tubular case (680) according to a longitudinal axis of the tubular case (680), a handling shaft (650) extending through the tubular case (680), the handling shaft (650) being coupled to the ferromagnetic armature (670) so as to be able to slide towards or in the workspace, an actuator (660) arranged outside the tubular case (680), comprising a plurality of magnets (665) forming a magnetic system (665) with the ferromagnetic armature (670), the actuator (660) being configured to make the ferromagnetic armature (670) slide according to the longitudinal axis of the tubular case (680), inner surfaces of the actuator (660) and outer surfaces of the ferromagnetic armature (670) being configured to match with the at least two sliding faces, the ferromagnetic armature (670) being configured to be pressed on the at least two sliding faces of the tubular case (680) by the magnets (665), (Figure 6A); Claim 15 – wherein the magnetic handling device further comprises a motor (655) configured to move the actuator (660), (Figure 6A).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,384,791 (Braun).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, and 14, Braun teaches: Claim 1 - a magnetic handling device adapted to handle an object in a workspace, the magnetic handling device comprising: a tubular case (2) made of a non-magnetic or weakly magnetic material, comprising at least two adjacent so-called sliding faces (inner surfaces of tubular case (2)), a first end of the tubular case (2) being open and in communication with the workspace, a ferromagnetic armature (4) slidably arranged in the tubular case (2) according to a longitudinal axis of the tubular case (2), a handling shaft (25) extending through the tubular case (2), the handling shaft (25) being coupled to the ferromagnetic armature (4) so as to be able to slide towards or in the workspace, an actuator (7) arranged outside the tubular case (2), comprising a plurality of magnets (8) forming a magnetic system (8) with the ferromagnetic armature (4), the actuator (7) being configured to make the ferromagnetic armature (4) slide according to the longitudinal axis of the tubular case (2), inner surfaces of the actuator (7) and outer surfaces of the ferromagnetic armature (4) being configured to match with the at least two sliding faces, the ferromagnetic armature (4) being configured to be pressed on the at least two sliding faces of the tubular case (2) by the magnets (8), (Figures 1-9); Claim 3 – wherein a tool (25) for handling the object is coupled to the handling shaft (25), (Figures 1-9); Claim 4 - wherein the ferromagnetic armature (4) comprises at least two wheels (5) on one face placed on one of the at least two sliding facesthe examiner notes that applicant has generically described the two “sliding faces” and that each of these faces can be any arbitrary surface within the tubular case (2)), (Figures 1-9); Claim 6 – wherein the ferromagnetic armature (4) comprises a one-piece, (Figures 1-9); Claim 11 – wherein the actuator (7) comprises rollers (15) arranged on at least two of its inner surfaces so as to be able to roll on the tubular case (2), (Figures 1-9); Claim 12 - wherein the actuator (7) comprises bearings (15) arranged on at least two of its inner surfaces, so as to be able to slide on the tubular case (2), (Figures 1-9); Claim 14 – wherein the magnetic system is off-centered according to an axis of the ferromagnetic armature (4) with respect to its centre, (Figures 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,384,791 (Braun).
Regarding Claim 2, Braun teaches the device as described above, but does not teach: wherein a section of the tubular case is square (Claim 2). However, the examiner takes the position that the claimed shape (square) is an obvious change in shape as nothing recited produces a significant change and/or result. I.e., the shape of the tubular case being square has not been related to any of the previous structure as recited (of claim 1) which would change the required operation of the previously recited structure, (See MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,384,791 (Braun) in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,781,592 (Harrold).
Regarding Claims 8-10, Braun teaches the device as described above, but does not teach: wherein the ferromagnetic armature is made of soft-iron, low-alloy steel or iron-cobalt (Claim 8); and wherein the magnets are made of neodymium-iron-boron or of samarium-cobalt (Claim 10). However, Harrold teaches: Claims 8 and 10 – wherein it is well known for magnets to be made front soft iron materials such as samarium-cobalt as described in Column 2, Lines 28-60. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Braun to have wherein the ferromagnetic armature is made of soft-iron, low-alloy steel or iron-cobalt (Claim 8); and wherein the magnets are made of neodymium-iron-boron or of samarium-cobalt (Claim 10) as taught by Harrold for the purposes of using magnets made from materials which are easy to find and manufacture.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,384,791 (Braun) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0312716 (Hunter et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Braun teaches the device as described above, but does not teach: wherein the magnets are arranged according to a Halbach matrix (Claim 9). However, Hunter et al. teaches: Claim 9 – magnets ((140) in sleeves (102)) sliding along a tubular case (210), the magnets (140) being in the form of a Halbach matrix (at least paragraph [0056]), (Figures 1A-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Braun to have wherein the magnets are arranged according to a Halbach matrix (Claim 9) as taught by Hunter et al. as it represents the simple substitution of one known element (the magnets in a Halbach matrix as taught by Hunter et al.) for another (the magnets of Braun) to obtain the predictable results of having a magnet array which is easy to find and manufacture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. NO NEW MATTER may be provided.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642