DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6481973 (Struthers hereinafter) in view of DE 4120665 (Vile hereinafter) and further in view of JP 2018-109415 (Chao hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Struthers teaches a submersible pump system that discloses a motor case configured to accommodate an electric motor that supplies a rotational force to an output shaft (Figures 1 and 3, motor case 14 with motor 12 and output shaft 48); a pump case including a discharge pipe and configured to accommodate a first impeller provided on the output shaft (Pump housing for centrifugal pump 54 with impeller 62 in Figure 3 with inherent inlet and outlet); and an inverter case configured to accommodate an inverter device that controls the electric motor (Case of 16 for the controller with the inverter 30 per Figures 1 and 2).
Struthers is silent with respect to that the inverter case is disposed between the pump case and the motor case, and wherein the inverter case is disposed higher than the pump case and lower than the motor case.
However, Vile teaches a pump-motor assembly that discloses placing a control part of the motor-pump body between the equivalent motor and pump cases (Figure 2 with motor housing 2, pump housing 4, and control housing surrounding 3), and wherein the inverter case is disposed higher than the pump case and lower than the motor case (Evident of Figure 2 of Vile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the control/inverter casing of Struthers with the location taught by Vile since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Struthers, per Vile, is silent with respect to a mechanical seal case configured to accommodate a mechanical sealing portion that rotatably seals the output shaft and a lubricating liquid that lubricates the mechanical sealing portion, wherein the inverter case is disposed between the mechanical seal case and the motor case, and wherein the mechanical seal case and the inverter case are divided from one another in a liquid-tight manner. Struthers does disclose a seal (Figure 3, seals 50 and seal made by bearing 52 per Column 4 Lines 3-7).
However, Chao teaches a submersible pump system that discloses a mechanical sealing portion that rotatably seals the output shaft and a lubricating liquid that lubricates the mechanical sealing portion (Figure 4, mechanical seal 71 as applied to the shaft of Struthers). The resultant combination would have the inverter case disposed between the mechanical seal case and the motor case (Chao shows the chamber where 7/71 resides as being open and this would read on the inverter case of Struthers and Vile), and wherein the mechanical seal case and the inverter case are divided from one another in a liquid-tight manner (Mechanical seal case being the area around 71 and the inverter seal case being the case for 16 of Struthers are fluid-tight from one another as shown in Figure 2 of Vile showing a sealed off inverter/control area as well as Chao Figure 4 showing a fluid routing path to ensure fluid is retained by 71 and sent back towards oil chamber 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump system and sealings of Struthers with the mechanical seal of Chao to ensure that fluid leaks do not occur during operation.
Regarding claim 5, Struthers teaches a submersible pump system that discloses a motor case configured to accommodate an electric motor that supplies a rotational force to an output shaft (Figures 1 and 3, motor case 14 with motor 12 and output shaft 48); a pump case including a discharge pipe and configured to accommodate a first impeller provided on the output shaft (Pump housing for centrifugal pump 54 with impeller 62 in Figure 3 with inherent inlet and outlet); an inverter case configured to accommodate an inverter device that controls the electric motor (Case of 16 for the controller with the inverter 30 per Figures 1 and 2).
Struthers is silent with respect to a mechanical seal case configured to accommodate a mechanical sealing portion that rotatably seals the output shaft and a lubricating liquid that lubricates the mechanical sealing portion.
However, Chao teaches a submersible pump system that discloses a mechanical sealing portion that rotatably seals the output shaft and a lubricating liquid that lubricates the mechanical sealing portion (Figure 4, mechanical seal 71 as applied to the shaft of Struthers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump system and sealings of Struthers with the mechanical seal of Chao to ensure that fluid leaks do not occur during operation
Struthers is silent with respect to wherein the inverter case is disposed between the mechanical seal case and the pump case, and wherein the mechanical seal case and the inverter case are divided from one another in a liquid-tight manner.
However, Vile teaches a pump-motor assembly that discloses placing a control part of the motor-pump body between the equivalent motor and pump cases (Figure 2 with motor housing 2, pump housing 4, and control housing surrounding 3). The resultant combination would have the inverter case disposed between the mechanical seal case and the motor case (Chao shows the chamber where 7/71 resides as being open and this would read on the inverter case of Struthers and Vile), and wherein the mechanical seal case and the inverter case are divided from one another in a liquid-tight manner (Mechanical seal case being the area around 71 and the inverter seal case being the case for 16 of Struthers are fluid-tight from one another as shown in Figure 2 of Vile showing a sealed off inverter/control area as well as Chao Figure 4 showing a fluid routing path to ensure fluid is retained by 71 and sent back towards oil chamber 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the control/inverter casing of Struthers with the location taught by Vile since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Struther’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Struthers, Vile, and Chao would further disclose that the output shaft includes a second impeller that is disposed inside the mechanical seal case and that causes the lubricating liquid to flow toward the inverter case (Pump 81 in Figure 4 of Chao).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6481973 (Struthers) in view of DE 4120665 (Vile) in view of JP 2018-109415 (Chao) and further in view of US 2020/0006197 (Hart hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Struther’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the inverter device is disposed in contact with a lower partition wall of the inverter case.
However, Hart teaches the cooling of a semi-conductor (¶ 23) that discloses a semi-conductor device disposed in contact with a lower partition of the surrounding case (Figure 5 where the semi-conductors are in indirect contact with all portions of the surrounding contact in terms of thermodynamics for cooling). The resultant combination would be such that the inverter device is disposed in contact with a lower partition wall of the inverter case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the inverter of Struthers and Vile with the location and cooling properties of Hart to increase the cooling of the inverter of Struthers.
Regarding claim 3, Struther’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the inverter device is disposed apart from an upper partition wall and a lower partition wall of the inverter case.
However, Hart teaches the cooling of a semi-conductor (¶ 23) that discloses a semi-conductor device disposed apart from a lower partition and an upper partition wall of the surrounding case (Figure 5 shows the semi-conductors attached along the sides and away from the equivalent upper and low surfaces with ¶ 87). The resultant combination would be such that the inverter device is disposed in contact with a lower partition wall of the inverter case.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the inverter of Struthers and Vile with the location and cooling properties of Hart to increase the cooling of the inverter of Struthers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination would teach away from the Struthers reference in that Struthers places the inverter atop the motor so that the liquid being pumped can carry heat away from the inverter (Column 9 Lines 52-56 of Struthers). Figure 1 of structures shows that the housing 14 has a cavity 23 filled with dielectric oil and the use of a heatsink 18 to drawn heat away form the inverter 16 and motor 12. The ability to transfer heat away from the inverter would be maintained in the combination with Vile and Chao. The oil in Chao is pathed through an intermediate location which features the mechanical seal 71. This intermediate space would feature the inverter case of Struthers as moved by Figure 2 of Vile to be underneath the motor. In some manner, the oil in Chao would have the ability to absorb heat from any heat generating component within the intermediate space/area surrounding the inverter case. The combination as set forth would still allow for heat to be transferred away from the inverter and therefore the combination would not tach away from the primary reference of Struthers. Applicant further argues that the combination would fail to disclose “wherein the mechanical seal case and the inverter case are divided from one another in a liquid-tight manner”. However, as described above, the mechanical seal case being the area immediately around and including 71 of Chao would block fluid from entering the inverter case of Struthers/Vile due to Chao Figure 4 clearly routing the oil back to the oil chamber 5 and not letting oil pass through 71. The Examiner is viewing the structure shown by Chao as being in a fluid-tight manner. Therefore, for at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762