DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2026 and 05/15/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final on 02/11/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-20 are pending in this application. Claims 3-4 and 6 have been cancelled by applicant.
Claim Interpretation
Complete TMA response is defined as simultaneous hematologic and renal improvement in patients with TMA, with platelets and LDH being the most frequent variables used for evaluating response in patients with aHUS (specification, page 60, lines 7-15).
The term “baseline” is not specifically defined in the specification. For the purposes of applying art, “baseline” will be interpreted as the respective parameter value in a subject with aHUS prior to administration of any treatment, in accordance with the guidance in the specification (e.g. page 16, lines 7-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS – previously cited); in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93 – previously cited) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding claims 1-2, Adams discloses their compounds of Formula I below, as inhibitors of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams specifically discloses Iptacopan (page 175) and iptacopan HCl (page 176). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
(I)
(iptacopan HCl)
While Adams does not teach: (i) wherein their patients are vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (claim 1); (ii) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of lactate hydrogenase (LDH) to below the upper limit of normal (claims 7-8, 10-11, and 20); (iii) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12); (iv) wherein treatment increases hemoglobin by about 0.5 g/dL or more (claim 13); (v) wherein treatment stabilizes or improves eGFR (claim 14); the teachings of Fakhouri and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade’s iptacopan HCl treatment to a subject with aHUS who has received a vaccination against Neisseria meningitidis and is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Adams discloses iptacopan HCl as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creatine levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Adams discloses their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan HCl, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points) – reading on about 0.5 g/dL or more.
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is advised that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05-II.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 14, Adams discloses methods of treating glomerulonephritis by administering their compounds, which would be expected to improve reduced glomerular filtration rates (GRF) (page 51, para. 2, lines 9-12). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expect an improvement in GRF after treatment with Adam’s iptacopan HCl. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of Adam’s teachings above.
Regarding claim 15, Adams teaches that compounds in their invention may inherently or by design form solvates with solvents (including water); and that it is intended that their invention embrace both solvated and unsolvated forms, such as hydrates (page 30, lines 11-17). Furthermore, Adams discloses their iptacopan HCl is prepared from a water/ acetonitrile medium (see page 176). While Adams doesn’t specifically disclose a monohydrate salt of their iptacopan HCl, a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2143(E) KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Adams and Fakhouri.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS – previously cited); in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93 – previously cited) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Adams in view of Fakhouri’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Adams in view of Fakhouri teach iptacopan HCl for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15; in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding claims 1-2, Adams discloses their compounds of Formula I below, as inhibitors of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams specifically discloses Iptacopan (page 175) and iptacopan HCl (page 176). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
(I)
(iptacopan HCl)
While Adams does not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Haemophilus influenzae infections; (ii) treatment of a subject who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy (claim 5); (iii) wherein the platelet count is normalized to the claimed range (claims 9 and 19); (iv) wherein the subject is has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); or (iv) a genetic mutation (claim 18); the teachings of Zhang and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches ongoing complement activity in atypical HUS results from a failure of complement regulation. Complement regulatory proteins may be impaired in their action by loss-of-function mutations (CFH, CFI, CD46, and THBD) or acquired antibodies (specifically to complement factor H). Conversely, potentiation may be augmented by gain-of-function mutations in CFB or C3 (reading on claim 18) (page 62, col. 2, para. 2). Zhang discloses aHUS involves the following features: i) MAHA with hemoglobin levels below 10 g/dL, elevation of serum lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) level, notable decrease of serum haptoglobin level, and the presence of schistocytes on a peripheral blood smear; ii) thrombocytopenia with platelet counts less than 150 K/mcL and; iii) acute kidney injury (AKI) (defined as serum creatinine levels at least 1.5 times the upper limit of the age- and sex-specific pediatric reference range (page 63, col. 1, para. 1). The first-line treatment of patients with aHUS is eculizumab, by interdicting with the hemolytic process and rescuing native kidney function hence dramatically changing the prognosis of this potentially fatal syndrome (page 64, col. 1-2, last para.). Zhang discloses that treated patients experienced improvements in renal function, such as increase in GFR (page 64, col. 2); and teaches that treatment with eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections; that eculizumab carries a black box warning, advising vaccination against Neisseria meningitidis, and in non-immune individuals, consideration could also be
given to vaccination against Haemophilus influenzae (page 64, col. 3). Zhang teaches relapse is common after discontinuation of treatment, and that early detection of TMA recurrence and
prompt retreatment with eculizumab seem to be efficient in controlling of TMA and restoration of kidney functions. Zhang discloses initial treatment of aHUS with a course of therapeutic plasma exchange is reasonable while awaiting ADAMTS-13 activity level results in a new patient (reading on treatment naïve) (conclusions).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Haemophilus influenzae, as taught by Adams in view of Zhang and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Haemophilus influenzae; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Adams and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches initial treatment with a course of therapeutic plasma exchange is reasonable while awaiting ADAMTS-13 activity level results in a new patient (reading on treatment naïve) to diagnose TPP or aHUS (conclusions). Zhang teaches eculizumab as the first-line treatment of patients with aHUS (page 64, col. 1-2, last para.); and discloses that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections; and teaches relapse is common after discontinuation of treatment.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Adams, Zhang, and Slade’s iptacopan HCl to a subject with aHUS who has been vaccinated against Haemophilus influenzae, who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Adams discloses iptacopan HCl as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang teaches that in new patients (treatment naïve), plasma exchange is reasonable while awaiting ADAMTS-13 activity level; further because Zhang discloses that while eculizumab has become a first-line treatment for patients with aHUS, considerable work remains to be done, and points to emerging complement-directed therapeutics as alternatives for the future.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhang teaches that aHUS involves platelet counts less than 150 k/ µL (= 150 x 109 /L) (page 63, col. 1, line 11). Zhang also teaches that treatment with a complement inhibitor normalized hemolytic markers and platelet count in 90% of patients with aHUS refractory to plasma exchange (page 64, col. 2). Therefore, Adam in view of Zhang suggests that treatment with Adams’ complement inhibitor will result in platelet counts higher than 150 x 109 /L, reading on the instantly claimed range.
Applicant is reminded that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19); and that that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. Further because Adams discloses their complement inhibitor compound, effective for the treatment of aHUS; and Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches ongoing complement activity in atypical HUS results from a failure of complement regulation. Complement regulatory proteins may be impaired in their action by loss-of-function mutations (CFH, CFI, CD46, and THBD) or acquired antibodies (specifically to complement factor H). Conversely, potentiation may be augmented by gain-of-function mutations in CFB or C3 (page 62, col. 2, para. 2). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Adams and Zhang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,603,363 B2 (US ‘363); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 16, US ‘363 claims a crystalline hydrate form of iptacopan HCl (instantly claimed as Form HB – claim 16), wherein the hydrate is a monohydrate (US ‘363’s claims 1 and 7). US ‘363 discloses their compound as a complement inhibitor (abstract)
While US ‘363 does not claim: (i) their compound in a method of treating aHUS; (i) wherein their patients are vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (claim 1); (ii) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of lactate hydrogenase (LDH) to below the upper limit of normal (claims 7-8, 10-11, and 20); (iii) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12); (iv) wherein treatment increases hemoglobin by about 0.5 g/dL or more (claim 13); or (v) wherein treatment stabilizes or improves eGFR (claim 14); the teachings of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Adams discloses iptacopan HCl, as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
(iptacopan HCl)
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2 and 16, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by US ‘363 and Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because US ‘363 claims a crystalline hydrate form of iptacopan HCl (instantly claimed as Form HB); Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of US ‘363, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer US ‘363 and Adams’ iptacopan HCl to a subject with aHUS who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘363 and Adams disclose iptacopan HCl and pharmaceutical compositions thereof as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer US ‘363 and Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creating levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘363 and Adams disclose their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan HCl, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points) – reading on about 0.5 g/dL or more.
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is reminded that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of US ‘363, Adams and Fakhouri.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,603,363 B2 (US ‘363); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-16, and 18-20; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of US ‘363, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While US ‘363, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject is has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer US ‘363 and Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘363 and Adams teach iptacopan HCl for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
Claims 1-2 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,726 B2 (US ‘726); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 14-15, US ‘726 claims a method of treating intravascular hemolysis in a subject, comprising administration of iptacopan benzoate (US ‘726’s claim 1). US ‘726 discloses their compound as a complement inhibitor (abstract). US ‘726 claims their method wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (US ‘726 claim 24).
Regarding instant claim 13, US ‘726 discloses their method, wherein treatment normalizes hemoglobin levels by about 2 g/dL (US ‘726 claim 2), and wherein treatment efficacy is determinded based on hemoglobin levels compared to a baseline (US ‘726 claim 25).
While US ‘726 does not claim: (i) their method for the treatment of aHUS; the teachings of Adams are relied upon for these disclosures.
Adams discloses iptacopan HCl, as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
(iptacopan HCl)
Therefore, regarding claims 1-2 and 13-15, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer US ‘726’s iptacopan benzoate (or Adams’ iptacopan HCl) to a subject suffering from aHUS who’s been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of US ‘726’s disclosure of their complement inhibitor compound, being administered to subjects who’ve been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; further in view of Adam’s disclosure that iptacopan HCl can be administered as part of a method of treatment for aHUS.
Claims 5, 7-12, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,726 B2 (US ‘726); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); as applied to claims 1-2 and 13-15; further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”).
The teachings of US ‘726 and Adams are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding instant claims 10-11 and 20, US ‘726 claims wherein their method reduced levels of LDH (US ‘726 claim 8-9).
While US ‘726 and Adams don’t specifically teach: (i) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20); (iv) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12).
Fakhouri teaches HUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer US ‘726 and Adams’ iptacopan to a subject with aHUS who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘726 and Adams disclose iptacopan as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer US ‘726 and Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creating levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘726 and Adams disclose their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is advised that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of US ‘726, Adams and Fakhouri.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,726 B2 (US ‘726); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of US ‘726 and Adams are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While US ‘726 and Adams do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject is has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer US ‘726 and Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US ‘726 and Adams teach iptacopan for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-16, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 20-22 of copending Application No. 18/569,432 (Copending ‘432); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding instant claims 1-2 and 15-16, Copending ‘432 claims a method of treating autoimmune hematological conditions (reading on aHUS), comprising administration of an iptacopan salt thereof, specifically claiming Form HB (Copending ‘432 claims 1 and 20-22).
While Copending ‘432 does not claim: (i) their compound in a method of treating aHUS; (i) wherein their patients are vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (claim 1); (ii) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of lactate hydrogenase (LDH) to below the upper limit of normal (claims 7-8, 10-11, and 20); (iii) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12); (iv) wherein treatment increases hemoglobin by about 0.5 g/dL or more (claim 13); or (v) wherein treatment stabilizes or improves eGFR (claim 14); the teachings of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Adams discloses iptacopan HCl, as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2 and 16, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by Copending ‘432 and Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Copending ‘432 claims a crystalline hydrate form of iptacopan HCl (instantly claimed as Form HB); Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Copending ‘432, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘432 and Adams’ iptacopan HCl to a subject with aHUS who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘432 and Adams disclose iptacopan HCl and pharmaceutical compositions thereof as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘432 and Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creating levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘432 and Adams disclose their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan HCl, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points) – reading on about 0.5 g/dL or more.
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is reminded that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Copending ‘432, Adams and Fakhouri.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 20-22 of copending Application No. 18/569,432 (Copending ‘432); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-16, and 18-20; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of Copending ‘432, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While Copending ‘432, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject is has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘432 and Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘432 and Adams teach iptacopan HCl for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/689,933 (Copending ‘933); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding instant claims 1-2 and 15, Copending ‘933 claims a method of treating AMD, comprising administration of an iptacopan salt thereof (Copending ‘933 claim 1).
While Copending ‘933 does not claim: (i) their compound in a method of treating aHUS; (i) wherein their patients are vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (claim 1); (ii) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of lactate hydrogenase (LDH) to below the upper limit of normal (claims 7-8, 10-11, and 20); (iii) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12); (iv) wherein treatment increases hemoglobin by about 0.5 g/dL or more (claim 13); or (v) wherein treatment stabilizes or improves eGFR (claim 14); the teachings of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Adams discloses iptacopan HCl, as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by Copending ‘933 and Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Copending ‘933 claims a crystalline hydrate form of iptacopan HCl; Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Copending ‘933, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘933 and Adams’ iptacopan HCl to a subject with aHUS who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘933 and Adams disclose iptacopan HCl and pharmaceutical compositions thereof as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘933 and Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creating levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘933 and Adams disclose their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan HCl, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points) – reading on about 0.5 g/dL or more.
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is reminded that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Copending ‘933, Adams and Fakhouri.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/689,933 (Copending ‘933); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of Copending ‘933, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While Copending ‘933 and Adams do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘933 and Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘933 and Adams teach iptacopan HCl for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/843,599 (Copending ‘599); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”).
Regarding instant claims 1-2 and 15, Copending ‘599 claims a method of treating AMD, comprising administration of an iptacopan salt thereof (Copending ‘599 claim 1).
While Copending ‘599 does not claim: (i) their compound in a method of treating aHUS; (i) wherein their patients are vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (claim 1); (ii) wherein treatment comprises achieving complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMS) response, or normalization of lactate hydrogenase (LDH) to below the upper limit of normal (claims 7-8, 10-11, and 20); (iii) wherein TMA response comprises improving kidney function and reducing serum creatinine by about 10% or more as compared to a baseline (claim 12); (iv) wherein treatment increases hemoglobin by about 0.5 g/dL or more (claim 13); or (v) wherein treatment stabilizes or improves eGFR (claim 14); the teachings of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are relied upon for these disclosures.
Adams discloses iptacopan HCl, as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, regarding instant claims 1-2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by Copending ‘599 and Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Copending ‘599 claims a crystalline hydrate form of iptacopan HCl; Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Copending ‘599, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Regarding claim 5, Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘599 and Adams’ iptacopan HCl to a subject with aHUS who is naïve to complement inhibitor therapy. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘599 and Adams disclose iptacopan HCl and pharmaceutical compositions thereof as a complement inhibitor effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri teaches treatment of subjects with their first TMA manifestations, all of whom achieved complete TMA response.
Regarding claims 7-8, 10-12, and 20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘933 and Adams’ treatment until complete thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) response was observed in terms of: (i) normalization of platelet count (claims 7-8 and 20), (ii) level of LDH being reduced to below ULN (claims 7, 10-11, and 20), (iii) reducing creating levels by about 10% or more compared to baseline (claims 7, 12, and 20). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘599 and Adams disclose their alternative and complement pathway inhibitor, iptacopan HCl, as effective for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses their primary end point for treating aHUS (to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects) was complete TMA response, which they define by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL (reading on claims 7-8 and 20) and LDH ≤ ULN (reading on claims 7, 10-11, and 20)) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline (reading on claims 7, 12, and 20)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fakhouri teaches hematologic normalization of platelet count to ≥ 150 x 103/ µL to ensure improvement in hematologic, renal, and quality of life of subjects (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points) – reading on about 0.5 g/dL or more.
Regarding the claimed ranges of platelet counts, LDH levels, creatine levels, and hemoglobin levels, as recited in claims 7-13 and 19-20, Applicant is reminded that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The courts have also found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Fakhouri discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject with aHUS that has been determined to have the claimed mutations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the teachings of Copending ‘599, Adams and Fakhouri.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/843,599 (Copending ‘599); in view of Adams et al. (WO 2015/009616 A1 – Cited in IDS); further in view of Fakhouri et al. (Am. J. Kidney Dis. 2016, 68: 84-93) (“Fakhouri”); and Slade et al. (N. Engl. J. Med. 369, 17, 2013, 1667-1669) (“Slade”); as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, and 18-20; further in view of Zhang et al. (Hematology Reports, 2017; 9:7053) (“Zhang”).
The teachings of Copending ‘599, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
While Copending ‘599, Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade do not specifically teach: (i) wherein the subject is has been or is currently being treated with complement inhibitor therapy, immunosuppressive therapy, or other therapy for aHUS (claim 17); the teachings of Zhang are relied upon for these disclosures.
Zhang teaches 16 patients with aHUS with eculizumab-induced remission stopped treatment after a median of 4.3 months and home monitoring ensued. Five patients experienced relapse within 6 months of discontinuation and remission was successfully reinduced with immediate return to eculizumab therapy (page 65, col. 1, lines 12-19). Zhang teaches that eculizumab is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections (page 64, col. 2, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Copending ‘599 and Adams’s complement pathway inhibitor to an aHUS patient who has previously received treatment for aHUS, such as eculizumab, in view of Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Copending ‘599 and Adams teach iptacopan HCl for the treatment of aHUS; further because Zhang discloses that after complete remission due to eculizumab, patients experienced relapse after 6 months and were able to achieve remission after returning to treatment. One would have been further motivated to find alternative treatment options to eculizumab because Zhang teaches that eculizumab treatment is expensive, and predisposes patients to meningococcal infections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Claims
Claim amendments are acknowledged and have been entered. No new matter has been introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of claim amendments, the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claim 1 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections is raised herein in view of claim amendments.
Applicant argues that Fakhouri and Zhang relate to terminal complement inhibitors, which require vaccination against Neisseria meningitidis, not factor B inhibitors (alternative complement inhibition), and that therefore, one of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to vaccinate subjects prior to administration of iptacopan HCl, since factor B and terminal complement inhibitors are different. Applicant cites post-filing reports to allegedly support their conclusion; however, this is not persuasive.
As an initial matter, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Adams discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitors of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B (abstract). Adams discloses that their invention provides methods of treating a complement related disease or disorder, such as atypical hemolytic uremic syndrome (aHUS), comprising administration of an effective amount of one of their compounds (para. bridging pages 50-51).
Fakhouri teaches aHUS is a rare genetic life-threatening disease of chronic uncontrolled complement activation leading to thrombotic microangiopathy (TMA) and severe end-organ damage. Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis (page 85, col. 2, para. 1). Fakhouri discloses a study of eculizumab for aHUS; patients 18 years or older with aHUS (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL,hemoglobin ≤ lower limit of normal, lactate dehydrogenase ≥ 1.5 x upper limit of normal [ULN], and serum creatinine ≥ ULN) were included in this multicenter multinational study. Fakhouri discloses their primary end point was complete TMA response within 26 weeks, defined by hematologic normalization (platelet count ≥ 150 x 103/ µL and LDH ≤ ULN) and preservation of kidney function (< 25% serum creatine increase from baseline) (abstract). Fakhouri teaches 73% of their subjects were included during their first TMA manifestation – reading on treatment naïve subjects (abstract – Results). Fakhouri teaches complete TMA response was also characterized by improvement in hemoglobin levels by ≥ 2 g/dL (page 85, col. 2, End Points). Fakhouri also discloses aHUS patient reported gene mutations, which include C3, CFH, MCP, etc. (Table 1, page 87).
Slade teaches Factor B deficiency in a subject confirms the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms (page 1668, col. 2) and that upon administration of a pneumococcal vaccine, a subject with Factor B deficiency has not shown any further severe infections.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a subject suffering from aHUS by administering iptacopan HCl, wherein the subject has been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis, as taught by Adams in view of Fakhouri and Slade. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Adam’s discloses iptacopan HCl as an inhibitor of the complement alternative pathway and Factor B and their specific disclosure that their compounds can be administered for the treatment of aHUS; further because Fakhouri discloses that their patients were required to have been vaccinated against Neisseria meningitidis; and Slade teaches the crucial role of factor B in activation of the alternative complement pathway and in protection against infection by encapsulated organisms. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosures of Adams, Fakhouri, and Slade.
Double Patenting
Applicant requests non-statutory double patenting (NSDP) rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. This is not persuasive. Claims stand rejected under NSDP rejections of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627