DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 30, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13 have been amended, claims 4 and 10 have been canceled, and claims 14-15 have been added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections to the claims and specifications, the 112(b), 112(d), 102 and 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 1, 2026. As such, these rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed September 30, 2026 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Modified/New rejections and response to amendment are addressed below
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/061950 filed 05/04/2022 and claims foreign priority to IN 202121020313 filed 05/04/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Modified/New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcotulli (WO 2019/006262, cited in previous action) in view of Wikipedia (N,N-Diisopropylethylamine, Web, WaybackMachine, 2017, cited on PTO-892) and Spitz (WO 2019/219895, cited in previous action).
Regarding claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13: Marcotulli teaches the following reaction:
(pg. 42, lines 5-7, example 5). According to the instant specification TBA as recited by instant claim 10 is tributylamine (pg. 25, line 4). Marcotulli teaches the ratio of D-ribose tetraacetate is 1:1.1 (i.e. 1.1 equivalents of nicotinamide, pg. 42, lines 8-9 and 18). Marcotulli teaches the tetraacetate groups can be hydrolyzed in the following reaction
(pg. 43, lines, 17-20, example 6). Wherein HCl is a gas it is dry, as described in the instant specification (pg. 14, lines 1-5). Triethylamine is an organic base according to the instant specification (pg. 8, lines 16-17). Marcotulli teaches the chlorination reaction occurs between 0-5 °C (pg. 42, line 11). Marcotulli teaches the coupling reaction occurs at 15 °C and 25 °C (pg. 42, lines 19-22). Marcotulli teaches the product obtained was a pale yellow powder (i.e. amorphous form, pg. 44, lines 8-15). Marcotulli teaches that the deacetylation reaction occurs between -5 to 0 °C (pg. 43-44, bridging para.)
Marcotulli does not explicitly teach wherein diisopropylethylamine (DIPEA) is used in the nicotinamide coupling reaction.
However, Marcotulli teaches the reagent can be a trialkylamine, and demonstrates the use of tributylamine (pg. 8, lines 5-10). Marcotulli teaches the trialkylamine means a compound having the formula N(R1)(R2)(R3), wherein R1, R2, and R3 are each an alkyl group, and can be identical or different (pg. 4, lines 10-13). Exemplary trialkylamine compounds include trimethylamine, trimethylamine, triisopropylamine, tributylamine, and isopropyldimethylamine (pg. 4, lines 10-13). Wikipedia teaches diisopropylethylamine is a known trialkylamine nonnucleophilic base that was known in the art prior to the filing of the instant application (pg. 1, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the reaction of Marcotulli such that tributylamine is replaced with diisopropylethylamine (DIPEA) as suggested by Marcotulli and Wikipedia. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as the recognizes DIPEA is a trialkylamine base that is a known trialkylamine nonnucleophilic base that would be encompassed by Marcotulli. Wherein both tributylamine and DIPEA are taught as acceptable bases, it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 (II)). Additionally, given the teachings of alkylamine bases triethylamine, triisopropylamine, and isopropyldimethylamine (mixed alkyl groups), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in diisopropylethylamine being a successful base in the reaction, given that compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (See MPEP 2144.09 (II)).
Marcotulli does not teach wherein the deacetylation is performed with HCl dissolved in alcoholic solvent wherein the solvent is ethanol. Marcotulli does not teach wherein the reaction of step b) is performed at a temperature range of 0 to 10 °C.
However, Spitz teaches a comparable deacetylation reaction for the preparation of nicotinamide ribofuranoside chloride vie the deacetylation of nicotinamide-2,3,5-tri-O-acetyl ribofuranoside chloride (pg. 50, example 8, para. 00175). Spitz teaches the reaction can be accomplished in methanol solvent via the addition of HCl in ethanol at room temperature (i.e. approx. 25 °C, pg. 50, para. 00175).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Marcotulli by substituting the aqueous HCl with ethanolic HCl and performing the reaction at room temperature as taught by Spitz (pg. 50, para. 0050). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as both aqueous and ethanolic HCl are established reagents for this type of reaction and it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 (II)). Additionally, Spitz recognizes that this reaction can be performed at room temperature which falls within the claimed temperature range. Wherein temperatures as low as -5 and a high as room temperature are known in the art for this type of reaction, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcotulli (WO 2019/006262, cited in previous action), Wikipedia (N,N-Diisopropylethylamine, Web, WaybackMachine, 2017, cited on PTO-892), and Spitz (WO 2019/219895, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13 above in view of Xie (Polymer Testing, 2017, cited in previous action).
Regarding claim 2: As discussed above the prior art render obvious the process of method claim 1. Marcotulli and Spitz render obvious a method deacetylating in the presence of HCl in an alcoholic solvent. Marcotulli teaches that exemplary chlorinating agents include sources of HCl, such as HCl gas or HCl in a solvent such as ethanol or dioxane (pg. 4, lines 15-16).
They do not teach wherein step a) the chlorination reaction is performed with dry HCl in acetone.
However, Xie teaches that acetone can serve as a solvent for HCl reagents in chlorination reactions (pg. 114, col. 1, para. 5, col. 2, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that dry HCl is provided in acetone as taught by Xie. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as acetone is a known solvent in the art to facilitate reacting with HCl gas. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that acetone, a polar aprotic solvent, can serve as a reaction medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is objected to for minor informalities as discussed above and is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art following correction if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Marcotulli (WO 2019/006262, cited in previous action) as applied to claims 1, 4-11, and 13 in view of OECD SIDS (3-pyridinecarboxamide (nicotinamide), 2002, cited in previous action).
As discussed above, Marcotulli teaches the process of claim 1 wherein an in situ coupling of nicotinamide is utilized. Marcotulli does not teach wherein the process comprises in situ coupling with 3-cyanopyridine.
OECD SIDS teaches that nicotinamide can be synthesized via hydrolysis of 3-cyanopyridine in water in the presence of a catalyst (pg. 30, para. 1).
It would be improper hindsight to suggest it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reaction by coupling the chloro derivative of ribose tetraacetate with 3-cyanopyridine in situ followed by deacetylating to afford nicotinamide riboside chloride. A person of ordinary skill would lack the motivation to do so as there is no teaching in the art that such a reaction would be successful under basic conditions.
Claims 12 and 14-15 are allowed for the reasons described above for claim 3. It would be improper hindsight to suggest it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reaction by coupling the chloro derivative of ribose tetraacetate with 3-cyanopyridine in situ followed by deacetylating to afford nicotinamide riboside chloride. A person of ordinary skill would lack the motivation to do so as there is no teaching in the art that such a reaction would be successful under basic conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 30, 2026 with respect to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the newly amended claims specify that DIPEA is used as the organic base in the presence of nicotinamide.
However, the previous claim set did not specify the organic base to be DIPEA. See modified 103 rejections above which account for this limitation.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 103 rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
Claims 12, 14-15 are allowed in this action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693