DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the blood treatment device with a cassette, control unit, and pumps must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2015/0335809 to Stuva et al.
In the specification and figures, Stuva discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 2, and 11, Stuva discloses a blood treatment system 310 comprising machine 360 to be used with a disposable cassette 372, wherein the machine has a coupling region (see pump raceways 366), and a control unit 361 that carries out pressure measurements and evaluations at different times to determine the quality of the connection of the cassette to the machine 360 (see FIG 2, ¶0095, 0107, 0113-114).
With regard to claims 3, Applicant is setting forth the intended use of the claimed apparatus. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claims 4-5, Stuva discloses that the apparatus comprises multiple pumps (such as pump 14) and takes pressure measurements (Ppump) to test the connection between the pump 14 and a valve 90 to measure the decay of a connection to a return line 82 (see ¶0116).
With regard to claims 6 and 12, Stuva discloses that the pressure measurement may be carried out prior to pump operation as well as during pump operation (see ¶0108).
With regard to claim 9, Stuva discloses that the apparatus is configured to store measured values and display results (see ¶0090-0091, 0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0335809 to Stuva et al in view of US 2005/0118030 to Kline et al.
In the specification and figures, Stuva discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above).
With regard to claims 7, 8, and 13-15, Stuva does not disclose pressure measurements for a plurality of pumps and evaluation for coordination or tolerance. However, Kline discloses an extracorporeal blood treatment machine with a cassette and a testing protocol that tests the pressure at multiple pumps and a controller that determines whether the cassette is properly installed based on threshold values and controlled in a coordinated fashion (see Kline ¶0313-0320, 0153-0154). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the wet-test methods on multiple pumps as disclosed by Kline in the apparatus disclosed by Stuva, in order to ensure continuous proper connection between the cassette and the operating pumps, as taught by Kline.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0209766 Thiebaud et al.
Testing proper installation of a cassette in a medical fluid treatment system
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 12 January 2026