DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “are provided” is stated in lines 1-2. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-17, 20, 21, 23-25, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities: the quotation marks (“”) should be removed from claim 1, line 4 and claim 17, line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 14, 15, 17, 20, 21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by THURSTON (US 3820381 cited by applicant).
With respect to claim 1, THURSTON discloses a fastener (see figures 1-3) comprising a load bearing body 39, wherein the load bearing body encloses an inner volume filled with fluid 12, and a fluid sensor 15 configured to detect the presence of the fluid within the inner volume (see col. 3, lines 25-43), the fluid sensor being further configured such that in the event of detecting the fluid, a "fluid present" state is activated (see col. 3, lines 25-43, a pressure sensor is suitable for sensing leaks, and hence also indicates the "fluid present" state, i.e. when no leak is present).
With respect to claim 9, THURSTON teaches wherein the fluid is held under higher than atmospheric pressure in the inner volume of the load bearing body. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 23.
With respect to claim 10, THURSTON teaches wherein the fluid is a liquid. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 23.
With respect to claim 11, THURSTON teaches wherein the fluid is a gas. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 23.
With respect to claim 12, THURSTON teaches the fastener comprising a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is mechanically joined to the second part. See col. 2, lines 18-27.
With respect to claim 14, THURSTON teaches wherein the first part and second part comprise the load bearing body. See col. 2, lines 18-27.
With respect to claim 15, THURSTON teaches wherein one or both of the first part and second part define the inner volume of the load bearing element. See col. 2, lines 18-27.
With respect to claim 17, THURSTON discloses a fastener as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 explanation above), comprising a plurality of inner volumes (see Fig. 1) and at least one corresponding fluid sensors 15 configured to detect the presence of the fluid within the inner volumes, the at least one fluid sensor being further configured such that in the event of detecting the fluid, a "fluid present" state is activated. (see
col. 3, lines 25-43, a pressure sensor is suitable for sensing leaks, and hence also indicates the "fluid present" state, i.e. when no leak is present).
With respect to claim 20, THURSTON teaches wherein the plurality of inner volumes are in fluid communication. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 23.
With respect to claim 21, THURSTON teaches wherein the plurality of inner volumes are distinct inner volumes that do not connect with each other. See col. 2, line 64 – col. 3, line 23.
With respect to claim 23, THURSTON discloses a method of detecting a crack in a load bearing body of a fastener according to claim 1 (see claim 1 explanation above), the method comprising the steps of observing the fastener, in the event of observing the fastener is not in the fluid present state, activating an alarm signal (see col. 3, lines 25-50, the indication of an impairment of the integrity of the fastener system is regarded as an
alarm and also the identification of a defective part. Even further, the inspection can be done from a remote or inaccessible location).
With respect to claim 24, THURSTON teaches wherein the alarm signal causes a visible or audible alarm to be triggered (see col. 3, lines 25-50, the indication of an impairment of the integrity of the fastener system is regarded as an
alarm and also the identification of a defective part. Even further, the inspection can be done from a remote or inaccessible location).
With respect to claim 25, THURSTON teaches wherein the alarm signal causes a notification to be sent to a control unit or a smart device (see col. 3, lines 25-50, the indication of an impairment of the integrity of the fastener system is regarded as an
alarm and also the identification of a defective part. Even further, the inspection can be done from a remote or inaccessible location).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 16, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THURSTON alone.
With respect to claim 2, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the fluid sensor is wired to an external control unit, however from the suggestions of (Figs. 1-3), one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use wired (or wireless) control or power supply as desired.
With respect to claim 3, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the fluid sensor is wired to an external power supply, however from the suggestions of (Figs. 1-3), one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use wired (or wireless) control or power supply as desired.
With respect to claim 4, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the fluid sensor is wirelessly connected to an external control unit, however from the suggestions of (Figs. 1-3), one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use wired (or wireless) control or power supply as desired.
With respect to claim 5, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the fluid sensor is wirelessly connected to an external power supply, however from the suggestions of (Figs. 1-3), one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use wired (or wireless) control or power supply as desired.
With respect to claim 6, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the fastener comprises an internal power supply connected to the fluid sensor, however from the suggestions of (Figs. 1-3), one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use wired (or wireless) control or power supply as desired.
With respect to claim 16, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein one of the first part and second part comprise the fluid sensor. However, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide for a fluid sensor located within or outside of the fastener as designed.
With respect to claim 31, THURSTON may not explicitly teach wherein the alarm signal causes a shutdown of a machine including the fastener. However, it can be inferred from the teaching of THURSTON that it can be observed and controlled remotely. See col. 3, lines 23-50, the system is manifolded to provide rapid check of an entire bolted system. It would be considered an obvious expedient to provide for the shutdown of equipment once the alarm indicates failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0005862 teaches a method for detecting surface cracks in components joined by a fastener assembly having a fastener element that passes through holes in the components, the method comprising: [0015] providing a sensor comprising a body portion having a first surface; a cavity that opens onto the first surface, and a throughway that extends through the body portion and provides fluid communication between the cavity and a second surface of the body portion; [0016] providing a sealing system that is operable between the first surface and the outer surface; [0017] locating the sensor within the fastener assembly such that the first surface is adjacent the outer surface with the cavity adjacent the outer surface; [0018] tensioning the fastener assembly to exert a compressive load on the sensor wherein the sealing system establishes the substantially hermetic seal between the first surface and the outer surface on opposite sides of the cavity; and [0019] monitoring fluid flow through the cavity.
/ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 3/13/2026