DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 56-67 in the reply filed on 2/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 68-75 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 56, 57, 60, 64, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yasumura et al (JP H10-170494 A).
With respect to claim 56, Yasumura teaches an apparatus for measuring concentration of a gas such as a nitrogen compound in water [Abs] which features a connection to a source (8) of water for which measurement is desired, such as a factory (in which a tank as a source is implicit or, in the alternative, at minimum an obvious option) [0016-0017], and equilibrator (21) in the form of a gas-liquid separator tank [0024], a sensor device (7) for measuring the sample using e.g. chemiluminescent NOx meter or the like [0026], and a tank (2) (or, in an alternative interpretation, (3)) connected downstream of the source and upstream of the equilibrator, which can facilitate pH adjustment [0016].
The claimed invention is therefore anticipated or at minimum rendered obvious by the device taught by Yasumura, given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to claim 57, at least under the interpretation that unit (3) represents the claimed tank, the system includes means such as pump (12) for adding a pH adjusting agent. The specific purpose of the various units is drawn to the intended use of the claimed device and does not distinguish structurally.
With respect to claim 60, Yasumura teaches added gas to the fluid phase in the separator via a balanced gas supply [0024].
With respect to claim 64, the specific streams being added by particular pumps are drawn to the intended use of the claimed device; Yasumura teaches various feed lines which may be used to add treatment agents to the mixed fluid and/or gas phases, for which pumps are explicitly taught or at minimum would have been implicit or obvious to employ. See e.g. line 20 and pump 19, which is disclosed for use with reducing agent, or line 23 for adding balanced gas; inclusion of anti-foaming agent in any of these lines would represent an intended use of the claimed device.
With respect to claim 67, Yasumura teaches that the fluid added to the equilibrator is sourced from a source such as a factory, for which a tank is implicit or at minimum an obvious option.
Claims 58, 59, 61, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumura et al in view of Miller et al (WO 2019/183411 A1).
With respect to claims 58, 61, 62, and 65, Yasumura teaches as above but is silent to a specific gas transporter, such as a closed circuit including a pipeline and pump, to mix gas with liquid in the equilibrator; as above, Yasumura does generally teach adding a balanced gas supply to the equilibrator.
However, Miller teaches a gas-liquid equilibrator [Abs] in which a carrier gas is added to a liquid to facilitate mixing and transfer of a sample gas for measurement, and in which the carrier gas is fed via a pump [000108] and a suitable nozzle arrangement (pipeline) [00091] in specific directions to drive mixing and transfer.
It would have been obvious to include a similar set of structures in the system of Yasumura to gain the benefit of improving mixing of the balanced gas from the supply with the liquid sample, to facilitate transfer of the sample gasses as in Miller.
Regarding the arrangement being horizontally or vertically arranged, see MPEP 2144.04 IV.B; changes in shape of e.g. a tank (to constitute a vertical vs. a horizontal configuration) represent obvious changes for those of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 59, Yasumura teaches a pump (27) to control outflow of liquid from the equilibrator tank in a controlled manner. However, if this is not considered sufficient for a liquid lock, see Miller which teaches that liquid outflow from an equilibrator can be controlled via the action of pumps, valves, but also U-shaped liquid traps and the like [00087] to control the rate and also to prevent air from entering the chamber in an undesired manner. It would have been obvious to include similar flow path structure i.e. trap structures to the device of Yasumura for the same reason i.e. to control outflow while preventing air intrusion.
Claims 63 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumura et al in view of Liu (WO 2017/148114 A1).
Yasumura teaches as above but is silent to a closed loop gas path to and from the sensor device, e.g. a closed circuit equipped with valves. Regarding automatic calibration at given points in time, such a limitation is drawn to the intended use of the claimed device and does not distinguish structurally.
However, Liu teaches various embodiments of measurement systems e.g. ammonium ion measurement systems for fluid systems, and teaches a detection cell 213 which is connected to a gas-liquid equilibrator (an ammonia generating pool 212) via a circuit with valves e.g. 205 and which, in embodiments [Fig. 2], may be a closed loop. This allows gas from the sensor to be returned to the generating tank [pg. 41, Experimental Example 1].
See MPEP 2143 I.B; a simple substitution of one known gas sampling arrangement for another, known to be useful in systems for measuring gas contents of liquid streams, represents an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to include a circuit and valves in the system of Yasumura because, as in Liu, these are useful for obtaining gas measurements in systems of the sort, or as a simple substitution for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777