Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is in claim format and contains legal phraseology, e.g. “comprises”.. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MacArthur (US Pub. No. 2002/0141833).
Regarding claim 1, MacArthur discloses a cutting tool comprising: a tool body having first end and a second end; a shank (5) extending from the first end to a cutting portion (6) located on the second end side of the tool body, the cutting portion including a high feed axial cutting face (46) provided at a distal tip of the second end and a circle segment-cutting portion extending from the high feed axial cutting face towards the shank (see figure A below).
Regarding claim 2, MacArthur discloses wherein the shank (5) is cylindrical in shape defined by a shank diameter (figure 1).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure A)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Regarding claim 3, MacArthur discloses wherein the high feed axial cutting face is convex (see figure B below).
Regarding claim 4, MacArthur discloses axial cutting face comprises a plurality of teeth (figure 1).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Figure B)]
Regarding claim 5, MacArthur discloses a plurality of flutes helically extending along the cutting portion, each of the flutes defining a circle segment cutting edge (see figure A above).
Regarding claim 6, MacArthur discloses wherein circle segment portion includes a curved cutting edge (see the dashed circle in figure A above).
Regarding claim 8, MacArthur discloses further comprising an intermediate portion (4) arranged between the shank portion (5) and the cutting portion (6) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, MacArthur discloses wherein the intermediate portion (4) is cylindrical in shape having a second diameter (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, MacArthur discloses wherein the second diameter (disclosed as neck diameter) is less than the shank first diameter (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, MacArthur discloses a corner radius portion (45) positioned between the circle segment cutting portion and the high feed axial cutting face, wherein the corner radius portion is defined by a corner radius (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacArthur (US Pub. No. 2002/0141833) in view of Stanbach et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0258616).
MacArthur discloses all aspects of the claimed invention as set forth in the rejection above. MacArthur is silent about the helix angle (i.e. does not disclose wherein at least one cutting edge has a variable helix angle). Stanbach discloses varying helix angle (paragraph 20). It should be noted that varying helix angle along the axial length of the flute will have varying lead geometry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the helix angle/lead geometry of MacArthur’s cutting edge, as taught by Stanbach for the purpose reducing chatter and producing better results by changing both the timing and angle at which the cutting edge contacts the workpiece (paragraph 20).
Claims 7, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacArthur (US Pub. No. 2002/0141833) in view of Flynn et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0118411).
MacArthur discloses all aspects of the claimed invention as set forth in the rejection above. MacArthur is silent about the helix angle (i.e. does not disclose wherein at least one cutting edge has a variable helix angle/lead geometry nor the helix angle increasing from the distal tip toward the shank). Flynn discloses varying helix angle as well as the helix angle increasing from the distal tip toward the shank (paragraphs 9 and 38). It should be noted that varying helix angle along the axial length of the flute will have varying lead geometry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the helix angle/lead geometry of MacArthur’s cutting edge, as taught by Flynn for the purpose of having smoother cut, better shearing and chip evacuation thus reducing chatter (paragraph 9).
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 1/16/25