DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 3/6/26.
Claim(s) 1, 12 & 25 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 1-4,6-7,9-15,17-18,20-22 and 25-26 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-13, 15, 22, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0321372 A1 in view of Shi, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0053546 A1, and further in view of Haggis, US 2011/0234259 A1.
As to claim 1, Zhou teaches a method for configuring a transmission policy, performed by a network device and comprising:
transmitting a configuration signaling to a first terminal, wherein the configuration signaling comprises a transmission policy of an uplink channel (Zhou, page 10, paragraph 76 & 79; i.e., [0076] the UE has the capability to support the corresponding default AP CSI-RS beam rules, e.g., the UE may support a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE for the same numerology triggering and/or the different numerology triggering; [0079] a UE may apply the corresponding default CSI-RS beam rule(s) for the different numerology triggering and the same numerology triggering to set a default AP CSI-RS beam when a base station schedules an offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE),
there is a beam switching time for switching beam direction between the first transmission resource and the second transmission resource (Zhou, page 8, paragraph 64 & 67; i.e., [0064] the beam latency threshold reported by the UE (e.g., the beamSwitchTiming reported by the UE); [0067] the first symbol of the triggered AP CSI-RS resources in a non-zero-power CSI-RS resource set (e.g., in a NZP-CSIRS-ResourceSet) configured without a higher layer parameter ( e.g., trs-Info) and without the higher layer parameter repetition is smaller than the UE reported threshold ( e.g., the beamSwitchTiming)+d in PDCCH symbols. the beam switching timing delay d may be defined by the Table 1 below);
wherein the transmission policy is related to a number of symbols in a sub-slot for performing one repeated transmission in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a delay requirement in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Zhou, page 8, paragraph 67; i.e., [0067] the first symbol of the triggered AP CSI-RS resources in a non-zero-power CSI-RS resource set (e.g., in a NZP-CSIRS-ResourceSet) configured without a higher layer parameter ( e.g., trs-Info) and without the higher layer parameter repetition is smaller than the UE reported threshold ( e.g., the beamSwitchTiming)+d in PDCCH symbols. the beam switching timing delay d may be defined by the Table 1 below).
But Zhou failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the transmission policy is configured to, when using different transmitting beams in two adjacent repeated transmissions of the uplink channel to perform the transmissions toward different transmit-receive points (TRPs) of a same network device, determine a first transmission resource and a second transmission resource for performing the two adjacent repeated transmissions; the first transmission resource corresponds to a prior transmission occasion in two adjacent transmission occasions for transmissions of the uplink channel; the second transmission resource corresponds to a late transmission occasion in the two adjacent transmission occasions for transmissions of the uplink channel; in a case where the number of the symbols in the sub-slot for performing one repeated transmission in the PUCCH is less than a threshold, or the delay requirement in the PUSCH is lower than a threshold, the transmission policy is a policy for delaying a beam switching time; in a case where the number of the symbols in the sub-slot for performing one repeated transmission in the PUCCH is greater than the threshold, or the delay requirement in the PUSCH is higher than the threshold, the transmission policy is a policy for deleting the beam switching time.
However, Shi teaches the limitation wherein the transmission policy is configured to, when using different transmitting beams in two adjacent repeated transmissions of the uplink channel to perform the transmissions toward different transmit-receive points (TRPs) of a same network device, determine a first transmission resource and a second transmission resource for performing the two adjacent repeated transmissions (Shi, page 12, paragraph 195-199; page 13, paragraph 208; i.e., [0119] plurality of TRPs. Reliability of a communications link can be improved by repeatedly sending data. Therefore, the multipoint transmission technology may be used to enhance reliability of the URLLC service; [0208] In addition, "two adjacent PDSCHs" in the embodiments of this application refer to "two PDSCHs between which no other PDSCH is transmitted". "The former PDSCH in two adjacent PDSCHs" refers to "a PDSCH that has an earlier time domain position in the two adjacent PDSCHs". "The latter PDSCH in two adjacent PDSCHs" refers to "a PDSCH that has a later time domain position in the two adjacent PDSCHs"); the first transmission resource corresponds to a prior transmission occasion in two adjacent transmission occasions for transmissions of the uplink channel (Shi, page 13, paragraph 208; i.e., [0208] In addition, "two adjacent PDSCHs" in the embodiments of this application refer to "two PDSCHs between which no other PDSCH is transmitted". "The former PDSCH in two adjacent PDSCHs" refers to "a PDSCH that has an earlier time domain position in the two adjacent PDSCHs". "The latter PDSCH in two adjacent PDSCHs" refers to "a PDSCH that has a later time domain position in the two adjacent PDSCHs"); the second transmission resource corresponds to a late transmission occasion in the two adjacent transmission occasions for transmissions of the uplink channel (Shi, page 13, paragraph 208; i.e., [0208] In addition, "two adjacent PDSCHs" in the embodiments of this application refer to "two PDSCHs between which no other PDSCH is transmitted". "The former PDSCH in two adjacent PDSCHs" refers to "a PDSCH that has an earlier time domain position in the two adjacent PDSCHs").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to substitute plurality of TRPs from Shi for beamforming from Zhou to improve data transmission reliability of the terminal device (Shi, page 1, paragraph 4).
However, Haggis teaches the limitation wherein in a case where the number of the symbols in the sub-slot for performing one repeated transmission in the PUCCH is less than a threshold, or the delay requirement in the PUSCH is lower than a threshold, the transmission policy is a policy for delaying a beam switching time (Haggis, page 3, paragraph 33-35; i.e., [0033] The delay circuit can be arranged in a hierarchical structure consisting of coarse and fine delays, where adding or removing a small amount of delay to the existing delay can be performed faster than switching the entire hierarchy, thus saving R2R delay switching time); in a case where the number of the symbols in the sub-slot for performing one repeated transmission in the PUCCH is greater than the threshold, or the delay requirement in the PUSCH is higher than the threshold, the transmission policy is a policy for deleting the beam switching time (Haggis, page 3, paragraph 33-35; i.e., [0035] the timing diagram depicted in FIG. 6 does not include the delay switch period of time 306. As depicted in FIG. 6, the delay switch period of time 306 can be eliminated ( or minimized) if the delay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to substitute speed signal driving device from Shi for mMTC from Zhou adjust early signals to match the latest signal arrival (Shi, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, Zhou-Shi-Haggis teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the first terminal, wherein the RRC signaling comprises the transmission policy of the uplink channel (Zhou, page 10, paragraph 76; i.e., [0076] the corresponding default AP CSI-RS beam rules, e.g., the UE may support a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold. In response to the indicated capability, the base station may determine whether to schedule a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold).
As to claim 4, Zhou-Shi-Haggis teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting the configuration signaling to the first terminal comprises:
transmitting a first signaling and a second signaling to the first terminal, wherein the first signaling comprises at least one candidate transmission policy of the uplink channel, and the second signaling comprises indication information configured to activate a first transmission policy from the at least one candidate transmission policy, wherein the first signaling further comprises a default activated transmission policy (Zhou, page 10, paragraph 76; i.e., [0076] the UE has the capability to support the corresponding default AP CSI-RS beam rules, e.g., the UE may support a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the determine whether to schedule a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE); and
the default activated transmission policy is one of the at least one candidate transmission policies (Zhou, page 10, paragraph 76 & 79; i.e., [0076] the UE has the capability to support the corresponding default AP CSI-RS beam rules, e.g the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE. determine whether to schedule a scheduling offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE; [0079] The base station may indicate the flag to the UE in at least one of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE), and/or radio resource control (RRC) signaling. As such, if the flag is set, a UE may apply the corresponding default CSI-RS beam rule(s) for the different numerology triggering and the same numerology triggering to set a default AP CSI-RS beam when a base station schedules an offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE).
As to claim 11, Zhou-Shi-Haggis teaches the method as recited in claim 1,wherein the transmission policy comprises at least one of a policy for deleting the beam switching time a policy for delaying the beam switching time (Zhou, page 8, paragraph 67; i.e., [0067] the first symbol of the triggered AP CSI-RS resources in a non-zero-power CSI-RS resource set (e.g., in a NZP-CSIRS-ResourceSet) configured without a higher layer parameter ( e.g., trs-Info) and without the higher layer parameter repetition is smaller than the UE reported threshold ( e.g., the beamSwitchTiming)+d in PDCCH symbols. he beam switching timing delay d may be defined by the Table 1 below).
Claim(s) 12-15, 17-22 is/are directed to a method/computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-4, 6-11. Therefore, claim(s) 12-15, 17-22 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-4, 6-11.
Claim(s) 25 & 26 is/are directed to a method/computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 25 & 26 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 3, 6-7, 9-10, 14, 17-18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0321372 A1 in view of Shi, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0053546 A1, and Haggis, US 2011/0234259 A1, and further in view of Yan, US 2015/0085701 A1 .
As to claim 3, Zhou-Shi-Haggis teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Zhou-Shi-Haggis failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmitting a first signaling and a second signaling to the first terminal, wherein the first signaling comprises the transmission policy of the uplink channel, and the second signaling comprises indication information configured to dynamically update the transmission policy.
However, Yan teaches the limitation wherein transmitting a first signaling and a second signaling to the first terminal, wherein the first signaling comprises the transmission policy of the uplink channel, and the second signaling comprises indication information configured to dynamically update the transmission policy (Yan, page 6, paragraph 94; i.e., [0094] when the WLAN user policy is dynamically
updated, the upstream policy decision distribution function may be triggered to actively send an updating policy to the WLAN user policy distribution function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou-Shi-Haggis to substitute AC from Yan TCI from Zhou-Shi-Haggis provide finer service flow management for users based on the user subscription, thereby guaranteeing the user experience (Yan, page 1, paragraph 11).
As to claim 6, Zhou-Shi-Haggis-Yan teaches the method as recited in claim 3,wherein the first signaling is an RRC signaling, and the second signaling is at least one of a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling or a packet DCI signaling (Zhou, page 10, paragraph 79; i.e., [0079] The base station may indicate the flag to the UE in at least one of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE), and/or radio resource control (RRC) signaling. the same numerology triggering to set a default AP CSI-RS beam when a base station schedules an offset that is less than the beam switch latency threshold reported by the UE).
As to claim 7, Zhou-Shi-Haggis-Yan teaches the method as recited in claim 6. But Zhou-Haggis-Yan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second signaling is a DCI signaling, and the indication information is on a Newly defined DCI domain, an unused DCI bit, or a DCI reserved code point in the DCI signaling.
However, Shi teaches the limitation the second signaling is a DCI signaling, and the indication information is on a Newly defined DCI domain, an unused DCI bit, or a DCI reserved code point in the DCI signaling (Shi, page 14, paragraph 214; i.e., [0214] field in the DCI, that the M PDSCHs correspond to the same information bits. For example, if a field in the DCI indicates M scrambling identifiers (IDs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou-Haggis-Yan to substitute plurality of TRPs from Shi for beamforming from Zhou-Haggis-Yan to improve data transmission reliability of the terminal device (Shi, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 9, Zhou-Shi-Haggis-Yan teaches the method as recited in claim 6. But Zhou-Haggis-Yan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second signaling is a packet DCI signaling, and the indication information is on a DCI bit newly defined in the DCI domain corresponding to the first terminal in the packet DCI signaling.
However, Shi teaches the limitation the second signaling is a packet DCI signaling, and the indication information is on a DCI bit newly defined in the DCI domain corresponding to the first terminal in the packet DCI signaling (Shi, page 14, paragraph 214; i.e., [0214] field in the DCI, that the M PDSCHs correspond to the same information bits. For example, if a field in the DCI indicates M scrambling identifiers (IDs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou-Haggis-Yan to substitute plurality of TRPs from Shi for beamforming from Zhou-Haggis-Yan to improve data transmission reliability of the terminal device (Shi, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 10, Zhou-Shi-Haggis-Yan teaches the method as recited in claim 6. But Zhou-Haggis-Yan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second signaling is a packet DCI signaling, and the indication information is on an unused DCI code point or newly- added DCI code point in the DCI domain corresponding to the first terminal in the packet DCI signaling.
However, Shi teaches the limitation the second signaling is a packet DCI signaling, and the indication information is on an unused DCI code point or newly- added DCI code point in the DCI domain corresponding to the first terminal in the packet DCI signaling (Shi, page 14, paragraph 214; i.e., [0214] field in the DCI, that the M PDSCHs correspond to the same information bits. For example, if a field in the DCI indicates M scrambling identifiers (IDs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou-Haggis-Yan to substitute plurality of TRPs from Shi for beamforming from Zhou-Haggis-Yan to improve data transmission reliability of the terminal device (Shi, page 1, paragraph 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4,6-7,9-15,17-18,20-22 and 25-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220303796 A1 discloses threshold number of signals and time shifting.
Bolinger, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20160150041 A1 discloses dynamically update rules or policies based on learning component.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416