Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al (US 2015/0158119).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses, A method for monitoring a laser welding process (See Claim 1 and paragraphs [0038], [0071], the method comprising the steps of:
performing the laser welding process by a laser welding head (1) which irradiates a laser beam (See Abstract)) onto at least one work piece (workpiece W) for forming a weld joint, wherein the laser beam is guided along a processing path by a deflection device (14, See Paragraphs [0041], [0042]),
detecting a radiation emanating from the work piece and coupled into the laser welding head as sensor data by at least two sensors (20, 30) during the laser welding process, wherein the radiation runs at least partially superimposed with the laser beam and is decoupled from the beam path of the laser beam after passing the deflection device (mirror 14, See Paragraphs [0050]-[0052])
in order to impinge on the at least two sensors (20, 30); and
determining (S3) whether the weld joint has a defect based on the detected sensor data and at least one processing parameter of the laser welding process. (See Paragraphs [0038], [0071], [0084])
Regarding claim 2, when the defect is detected, the workpiece with the defect is removed. (See Paragraph [0097]) Regarding claim 3, Fig 1 shows the beam being irradiated on the workpiece W. Regarding claims 4 and 5, Photodiodes 23 and 33 measure the intensity of radiation in an IR wavelength range with a second diode detecting the reflected radiation intensity from the workpiece. (See Paragraphs [0057], [0062]) Regarding claim 6, the defect would be determined in real-time or after performing the process. Regarding claim 7, the defect is an underfill of the welding joint which would be an insufficient physical connection. (See Paragraph [0100]) Regarding claim 8, the defect is determined by a calculated integrated value, which would be an equation. (See Paragraph [0018]) Regarding claim 10, Fig 9 shows the laser output being controlled based on the detected intensity. (See Paragraph [0035])
A laser welding system comprising: a laser welding head for irridiating a laser beam (See Fig 1) onto at least one work piece (workpiece W) to form a weld joint, wherein the laser welding head comprises a deflection device for guiding the laser beam along (devices 14, 21 and 31 deflect the beam along a process path and deflect to sensors) a processing path at least two sensors, wherein each of the sensors is arranged to detect radiation emanating from the work piece (sensors 23, 33, or 20, 30) and coupled into the laser welding head as sensor data during the laser welding process, and a control unit (analyser 40) arranged to perform a method according to claim 1. (See Paragraphs [0038], [0050]-[0052], [0071], [0072], [0084]) Regarding claim 14, the analyzer 40 adjusts the output power of the laser. (See Paragraph [0072], [0130]) Regarding claim 15, mirrors 21 and 31 act as coupling in devices for deflecting the radiation from the workpiece to the sensors. (See Fig 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 2015/0158119) in view of Disk Laser Welding State Multi Sensory Information Fusion Analysis", Highward East et al., Journal of Welding, Vol. 36, No. 12, December 2015 as cited by applicant.
The teachings of Nakamura have been discussed above. Nakamura discloses evaluating sensor data independently as discussed above. Nakamura fails to disclose, determining whether the weld joint has a defect comprises: combining the evaluations by a logic operation, and determining whether the weld joint has a defect based on the combined evaluation.
Highward discloses, (see Abstract, Section 3):" extracting the characteristic parameters of each sensor signal separately (equivalent to analyzing the sensor data of each sensor separately in this application); feature layer fusion with fuzzy neural networks (equivalent to combining analytic processes by logical linking in this application); an accurate identification of the weld penetration state is achieved (equivalent to the determination in the present application of whether the weld connection is defective or not based on the combined analysis process). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adapt Nakamura in view of Highward to provide combining the evaluations by a logic operation, and determining whether the weld joint has a defect based on the combined evaluation for providing a more accurate analysis of a defect being present.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 2015/0158119) in view of Kanko et al (US 2017/0120337).
The teachings of Nakamura have been discussed above. Nakamura fails to disclose preprocessing by means of an FPGA. Kanko discloses detecting radiation intensity using sensor 837. (See Paragraphs [0429], [0532], [0572]). The system uses an FPGA for processing data from the photodiode 837. It would have been obvious to adapt Nakamura in view of Kanko to provide the FPGA for reducing feedback latency during processing.
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura fails to disclose the deflection device has a maximum deflection angle greater than 10 degrees, in particular 20 degrees, and/or wherein the deflection device has a scanning field whose length and/or width is equal to or greater than 50 mm. Kanko discloses controlling the angle of incidence and deflection angle to adapt to changes in the workpiece. (See Paragraphs [0565]-[0567]) It would have been obvious to adapt Nakamura in view of Kanko to provide the deflection device has a maximum deflection angle greater than 10 degrees, in particular 20 degrees, and/or wherein the deflection device has a scanning field whose length and/or width is equal to or greater than 50 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/3/2026