DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12, 19, 27, 34-37, 39 and 41 are currently pending in the instant application. Applicants have amended claims 1, 9, 12, 19, 27, 34, 35 and 37 in an amendment filed on April 27, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 36 are rejected, claims 7, 11, 34, 37, 39 and 41 are objected and claims 12, 19, 27 and 35 are considered allowable in this Office Action.
I. Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicants’ amendment, filed on April 27, 2026, has overcome all of the pending rejections and objections in the previous Office Action. All previous rejections and objections have been withdrawn.
II. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 27, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
III. Rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiwer, et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 22 (2012) 1822-1826). The instant invention claims
The Weiwer, et al. reference teaches piperazine containing compounds such as
(See page 1825, table 4) wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are both unsubstituted phenyl; X is piperazine; Y is CO and R is oxazole substituted with methyl and a second substituent (i.e, -NO2). This species of compound anticipates the genus compound of the instant invention, wherein the genus structure and its definitions are stated above.
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song, et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. 16 (2008) 4035-4051). The instant invention claims
The Song, et al. reference teaches piperazine containing compounds such as
(See page 4040, table 1) wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are both substituted phenyl with halogen(s); X is piperazine; Y is CO and R is cyclohexyl or cyclobutyl both unsubstituted. This species of compound anticipates the genus compound of the instant invention, wherein the genus structure and its definitions are stated above.
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar, et al. (European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 44 (2009) 1223-1229). The instant invention claims
The Kumar, et al. reference teaches piperazine containing compounds such as
(See page 1225, table 1) wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are both unsubstituted phenyl; X is piperazine; Y is SO2 and R is phenyl substituted or unsubstituted. This species of compound anticipates the genus compound of the instant invention, wherein the genus structure and its definitions are stated above.
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada, et al. (WO 2011/148888 A1). The instant invention claims
The Okada, et al. reference teaches piperazine containing compounds such as
(See page 1225, table 1) wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are both substituted phenyl with F; X is piperazine; Y is CH2 and R is pyridine substituted with an alkoxycarbonyl. This species of compound anticipates the genus compound of the instant invention, wherein the genus structure and its definitions are stated above.
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rotta, et al. (European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 90 (2015) 436-447). The instant invention claims
The Rotta, et al. reference teaches piperazine containing compounds such as
(See page 1225, table 1) wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are both unsubstituted phenyl; X is piperazine; Y is SO2 and R is unsubstituted phenyl. This species of compound anticipates the genus compound of the instant invention, wherein the genus structure and its definitions are stated above.
IV. Objections
Dependent Claim Objections
Dependent Claims 7, 11, 37, 39 and 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected based claim. To overcome this objection, Applicant should rewrite said claims in an independent form and include the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 ais objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 34 is missing a period at the end of the claim. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period (MPEP 608.01 (m)). Claim 34 has structures numbered 4-19 that are small and difficult to read. Applicants are suggested to make these structures larger to overcome the objection. Appropriate correction is required.
V. Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on April 27, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWQUIA JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626