DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jung does not teach the time information indicating when to return response information. However, the claimed limitation is “time information configured to indicate to return response information” not “when to return response information.” Nowhere in the specification or drawings further explain what it meant by “to indicate to return response information.” Therefore, the time information can be read as the time to acquire response information that will be returned to the core network device.
In contrast to applicant’s assertions, Jung teaches in paragraph 246, 262, 264 and 290, the positioning duration time is a time for the UE to measure the position. Once the time is ended, the UE reports the measurement result back to the network. Which reads on the claimed “time information configured to indicate to return response information.”
Applicant further argues that Jung does not teach “a positioning method, performed by an access network device.”
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 8. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “performed by an access network device” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Applicant further argues that Jung discloses interactions between the UE and the network, rather than interactions between the core network device and the access network device.
In contrast to applicant’s assertions, for a network to send a message to a UE, the message is first sent to the eNB or access network device then to the UE. Therefore, the eNB would send the same message to the UE as the network indicated in Fig. 17 of Jung.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2015/0148063 A1).
Consider claim 1, Jung teaches a positioning method, performed by a core network device (abstract) and comprising:
sending a positioning message, wherein the positioning message comprises time information configured to indicate to return response information (Fig. 17, step S1710 and paragraph 277, the network sends measurement configuration/positioning configuration to the UE which includes positioning duration time information).
Consider claims 8 and 15, claims 8 and 15 having similar limitations as claim 1, therefore, claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Jung additionally teaches the MME performs location service procedure with the UE and LMU and SMLC in Fig. 14 and the descriptive text for Fig. 14.
Consider claim 2, Jung also teaches wherein sending the positioning message comprises: sending the positioning message to an access network device; or sending the positioning message to a terminal device (Fig. 17, step S1710 and paragraph 277, the positioning configuration is sent to the UE).
Consider claims 3, 9 and 16, Jung also teaches wherein the time information is any one of: a moment or a time duration (paragraph 277, a time duration).
Consider claims 4 and 12, Jung also teaches wherein the positioning message is one of: a terminal device capability request message; a positioning measurement result request message; a positioning information request message; or a positioning activation request message (paragraph 277, the positioning configuration triggers the UE to measure the report position).
Consider claim 5, Jung also teaches receiving a positioning request message, wherein the positioning request message comprises a predetermined position time; and determining the time information according to the predetermined position time (paragraph 277, a time duration is received for determine the position).
Consider claim 6, Jung also teaches wherein determining the time information according to the predetermined position time comprises: determining the time information according to the predetermined position time and a moment when the positioning request message is received (paragraph 277).
Consider claim 7, Jung also teaches, wherein determining the time information according to the predetermined position time comprises: determining the time information according to the predetermined position time and a type of the positioning message (paragraph 277).
Consider claims 10 and 17, Jung also teaches wherein the time information is the moment, and the method further comprises: returning the response information before the moment (paragraph 180, 257-259 and 262, the UE reports position measurement when in RRC connected state before a timer expires).
Consider claims 11 and 18, Jung also teaches, wherein the time information is the time duration, and the method comprises: in response to receiving the positioning message, starting a first timer; and returning the response information before a timing value of the first timer reaches the time duration (paragraph 180, 257-259 and 262).
Consider claim 13, Jung also teaches wherein the positioning message is the positioning information request message, and the method further comprises: within a time indicated by the time information, returning uplink positioning reference signal configuration information corresponding to a specified terminal device, wherein the specified terminal device is a terminal device indicated in the positioning information request message (paragraph 220-221, 226-227 and 231-233, the location of a specific UE can be requested and provided).
Consider claim 14, Jung also teaches wherein the positioning message is the positioning activation request message, and the method further comprises: within a time indicated by the time information, returning a positioning activation response message (paragraph 277).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and further in view of Edge (US 2018/0054796 A1).
Consider claim 19, Jung does not teach wherein the positioning message is a terminal device capability request message, and the method further comprises: within a time indicated by the time information, returning positioning capability information of the terminal device.
Edge further teaches wherein the positioning message is a terminal device capability request message, and the method further comprises: within a time indicated by the time information, returning positioning capability information of the terminal device (paragraph 121-123, the LPP request include a response time and positing request and the UE respond to the LPP request within the response time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and utilize the above teachings for the purposes of effectively obtaining the positioning information of the UE for better network management.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 2/26/26