DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a self-synchronizing mechanism” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “flow generally parallel to the probe”. Since “the probe” is a multi-dimensional structure, it is not clear what part of the probe is parallel to the flow.
Also, the limitation “generally parallel” renders the claims vague and indefinite. It is not clear how far they could deviate from parallel and still be considered in “generally” parallel. The limitation "generally" is subjective and therefore makes the claim scope unclear.
Moreover, the limitation “the vessel walls are at a distance” does not define the other reference point from “the vessel walls”. Thus, it is not clear what “a distance” is referred to.
Furthermore, it is not clear what “a diameter of a smallest diameter” is regarded.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a self-synchronizing mechanism”, which is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Upon reviewing the instant specification, it merely states that sonotrode 104 may be configured with a self- synchronizing mechanism which allows sonotrode 104 to control the temperature and pressure of the disclosed system (paragraph [0055]). However, the instant application does not provide any detailed structures regarding “a self- synchronizing mechanism” or disclose any equivalent/corresponding structures to perform the claimed functions. Therefore, it is not clear what “a self- synchronizing mechanism” is regarded.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-4, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-23 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janajreh et al (PG-PUB US 20190366297) in view of Adnan et al (PG-PUB US 20120083618).
Regarding claim 1, Janajreh et al disclose an ultrasonic generating device for treating reactants (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a converging housing 10 having at least one inlet 12 and at least one outlet (i.e., a vessel having an inlet … and an outlet …, Figures 1-2, paragraphs [0018] – [0019]);
(2) a sonotrode 14 within the converging housing 10, wherein
(i) the fluid is supplied from the inlet 12 and discharged at the outlet; and
(ii) cavitation bubbles are generated within the converging housing 10 by the sonotrode 14 (i.e., a vibrating probe …, …flow parallel to the probe, …, Figures 1-2, paragraphs [0018], & [0038]).
Janajreh teaches that (i) the converging housing 10 has a top section with a diameter about 100 to 116 mm and a bottom section with a diameter about 25 to 60 mm and (ii) the sonotrode of any size may be used (paragraphs [0019], [0033], [0036], and [0038]), but does not teach the size of sonotrode or the claimed ratio of the gap between the sonotrode and the reactor wall to the diameter of the sonotrode.
However, Adnan et al disclose an ultrasonic generating device for treating reaction mixture (ABSTRACT). Adnan teaches that the reaction mixture can be treated with ultrasonic energy generated from a sonotrode 203 having a diameter about 34 – 40 mm which is commercially available (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0019], [0023], [0026], [0032], & [0035]).
Since Janajreh taches that the sonotrode of any size may be used (paragraphs [0019] & [0038]), one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to utilize a sonotrode having a diameter about 34 to 40 mm as suggested by Adnan in order for the device of Janajreh to properly operate with a readily available sonotrode.
As such, the device of Janajreh/Adnan has a ratio of the gap between the sonotrode and the reactor to the sonotrode diameter in a range of 0.2 – 1.2.
It should be noted that the limitation of “to induce the formation of nano-sized bubbles” is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Furthermore, “a/the processing liquid” is material worked upon the device which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Moreover, since the device of Janajreh/Adnan comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it must have the same outcome (e.g., to induce formation of nano-sized bubbles).
Regarding claim 2, Janajreh teaches that the converging housing 10 has a top section with a diameter about 100 to 116 mm and a bottom section with a diameter about 25 to 60 mm for treating reactants with different flow rates (paragraphs [0033] & [0036] – [0037]). Adnan teaches that the reaction mixture with different flow rates can be treated with ultrasonic energy generated from a sonotrode having a diameter about 34 – 40 mm which is commercially available (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0007], [0019], [0022] - [0023], [0026], [0032], & [0035]).
Furthermore, the variation in the ratio may result in the dimension changes of the reactor and/or the probe. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144).
It should be noted that “a flow rate” is a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Moreover, “a/the processing liquid” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 3, Janajreh teaches a sonotrode 14 (Figures 1-2, paragraph [0018]). Adana teaches a sonotrode 203 (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Adana teaches that the sonotrode 203 may have conical tip (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Adana teaches that valves are provided along the ultrasonic flow cell for controlling the flow rate (Figure 6, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, it should be noted that “the residence time” is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 13, Adana teaches ultrasonic frequency in a range of 15 to 500 kHz (paragraph [0033]). Furthermore, it should be noted that “a frequency” is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 14, Adana teaches an amplitude in a range of 1 to 1000 microns (paragraph [0031]). Furthermore, it should be noted that “an amplitude” is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 15, Janajreh teaches that the converging housing 10 has a top section with a diameter about 100 to 116 mm and a bottom section with a diameter about 25 to 60 mm while the sonotrode of any size may be used (paragraphs [0019], [0033], [0036], and [0038]). Adnan teaches that the reaction mixture can be treated with ultrasonic energy generated from a sonotrode 203 having a diameter about 34 – 40 mm which is commercially available (Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0019], [0023], [0026], [0032], & [0035]). As such, the device of Janajreh/Adnan has a ration of the gap between the sonotrode and the reactor to the sonotrode diameter in a range of 0.2 – 1.2
Regarding claim 16, “the nano-sized bubbles” are a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, since the device of Janajreh/Adnan comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it must have the same outcome (e.g., the nano-sized bubbles).
Regarding claim 18, Janajreh teaches that reactants are supplied to the reactor through the inlet 12 (figures 1-2, paragraphs [0005], & [0019]). Adnan teaches that the effluent flows into the reactor (Figure 3, paragraph [020]).
It should be noted that “an oxidizer and/or a catalyst” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claims 19-20, it should be noted that “hydrogen peroxide” and “acidic medium” are materials worked upon the device, which do not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 21, it should be noted that “acetic acid” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115)
Regarding claim 22, “the cavitation zones produced by the probe” is not a structural limitation, rather a result of operating the device which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, since the device of Janajreh/Adnan comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it must have the same outcome
Regarding claim 23, “the processing liquid” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1, 5-7, 13-14, and 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/558,940 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprising substantially the same structures as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-16, and 18-23 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795