DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 15-16 are pending in the application. In response to Applicant's amendments, Examiner withdraws the previous objections; withdraws the previous rejections under 112 and 101; and maintains the previous rejections of claims 1-3, 6-13, and 15-16 under 103. Examiner notes that all previous objections and rejections pertaining to canceled claims 4, 5, and 14 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1-3, 6-13, and 15-16, Applicant’s arguments submitted on 05/22/2026 have been considered, but they are not persuasive.
Upon further consideration, Mannari ‘720 does disclose determining a position of the spreader from received lidar data based on paragraphs [0029-0030], [0038], [0042-0043], [0056], and [0071-0072].
Applicant states, “Mannari ‘720 fails to disclose stopping a loading process upon detection of movement around the spreader itself” (underline in original, Applicant’s Remarks, page 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation “around the spreader” does not have a defined border. Thus, the vehicle, a person getting out of the vehicle, traffic lane, load, and crane itself are all in the area “around the spreader.”
In fact, both Mannari ‘720 and Stocker detect the position of the spreader and objects around the spreader. In Mannari ‘720, the lidar follows reflectors placed on the spreader as a load is lowered and sends the distance measurement data (position data) of the spreader to the processing unit; see [0029-0030], [0042-0043], and [0070-0072]. Mannari ‘720 further discloses monitoring “a vehicle, vehicle door, person, load, transport means [which includes the spreader], fastening points or reflectors” [0053] and operations such as “hoisting a load, lowering a load, transporting a load in the horizontal direction, transporting a load in the vertical direction and driving the load handling equipment in its operating area,” which occur around the spreader [0054]. In Stocker, laser scanner 45 (lidar) provides data on the location of the spreader 30 and objects below the spreader 30; see [0012-0013] and [0023-0025]. Both Mannari ‘720 and Stocker disclose a large field of view: “A 3D laser scanner may be implemented with a two-dimensional (2D) laser scanner to which a motor is connected in such a way that operating the motor allows the direction of the laser scanner to be turned…in the direction that is the most interesting at the current moment with regard to the structure and the handling of the load, such as at a vehicle, vehicle door, person, load, transport means, fastening points or reflectors” (Mannari ‘720, [0053]) and “Laser scanner 45 employed in this invention can scan beneath it both ahead and behind its perpendicular position above ground level by approximately 90 degrees in each direction for a total arc of 180 degrees” (Stocker, [0013]). Examiner further notes that the detection speed of conventional lidar (i.e., the speed of light) is significantly faster than any crane, vehicle, or human movement, so the turning does not limit the monitoring/detection of movement. With such a large field of view available via turning the lidar and/or by using more than one lidar (Mannari ‘720, [0061], [0085], [0102]), the vehicle would be visible. There is no contradiction as asserted on page 9 of Applicant's Remarks, and the motivation to combine Mannari ‘720 and Stocker is valid.
Mannari ‘720/Stocker teaches “monitoring movement around the spreader using the one or more lidars” and the rest of the claim limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of claim 1, and for similar reasons, claims 2-3, 6-13, and 15-16, under 103 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “receiving, by a computer system” should read “receiving, by the computer system” because a computer system is previously recited in the claim.
In claim 11, “a computer system” should read “the computer system” because a computer system is previously recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannari et al. (US 20180170720 A1; hereafter “Mannari ‘720”) in view of Stocker and Bartel (US 20110076130 A1; hereafter “Stocker”).
Regarding claim 1, Mannari ‘720 discloses
providing one or more lidars that are… comprised in a gantry crane such that the one or more lidars provide a field of view that enables detection of a spreader and a load that is located beneath the spreader (See “the load handling equipment of FIG. 1 may be a gantry crane” [0035]. See trolley 108 and spreader 106 of the gantry crane in Fig. 1. In Fig. 1, distance-measuring device 116 is a laser scanner (lidar) on the gantry crane [0025]. See “In the laser scanner… there may be a motor, and controlling this motor allows the fan to be turned… In this way, the laser scanner fan can be directed at… the transport means 106 [spreader] and/or the load 102” [0038]. Therefore, the laser scanner, at least with turning of the fan, has a field of view that enables detection of the spreader 106 and a load 102. See also Fig. 1 where a possible direction 118a of distance-measuring device 116 indicates that distance-measuring device 116 can detect load 102 beneath spreader 106 and, if lowered, spreader 106. See also [0028] and [0036].);
providing a computer system (See “a computer or a processing unit which is positioned in the load handling equipment” (crane) [0051]. See also [0035], [0049-0052], [0054], and Fig. 5.);
receiving, by a computer system, data from the one or more lidars… (Distance-measuring device 116 is a laser scanner (lidar) [0025]. Receiving data: measurement data is sent to processing unit 504 from a laser scanner 502 (lidar) in steps 605, 615, and 619b of Fig. 6; see [0064], [0066], and [0071-0072]. See also [0028], [0036], and [0038], as well as laser scanners 216, 316, 416, and 417 in Figs. 2-4B.);
determining, by the computer system, based on the received data, a position of the spreader comprised in the gantry crane and configured to be moved by the trolley (See “The laser scanner is mounted on the support structure in such a way that the laser scanner can generate distance measurement data on… a reflector and transport means for moving a load” [0029]. The transport means includes the spreader (“the laser scanner fan can be directed at… the [spreader:] transport means 106” [0038]), and additionally, “rod-like reflectors may be positioned in the spreader 106” [0043]. The distance measurement data is received position data in the coordinate system of the laser scanner; the position of the spreader is known/determined from the received data [0030]. See Fig. 1: the spreader 106 is comprised in the gantry crane 100. The trolley 108 moves the load, and therefore moves the spreader attached to the load: “The load is fastened to the transport means by means of the spreader” [0036] and “The directions of motion of the load may comprise horizontal and/or vertical motion. …Horizontal motion can be generated by means of rails along which the trolley moves” [0037]. See also [0042-0044], [0048], [0053-0054], [0056], [0058], and [0068-0072].); and,
monitoring, using the computer system, the environment around the spreader during loading or unloading the load that the spreader is capable of gripping to (See “the turning direction of the fan forms at least a small angle relative to the spreading direction of the fan, which allows the laser scanner to carry out 3D measurements related to monitoring the operations in the volume. …A narrow sector is oriented in the direction that is the most interesting at the current moment with regard to the structure and the handling of the load, such as at a vehicle, vehicle door, person, load, transport means, fastening points or reflectors” [0053]. “The volume” is the region in the field of view of the laser scanner over time, which includes the spreader and the environment around the spreader. The operations monitored include “hoisting a load, lowering a load, transporting a load in the horizontal direction, transporting a load in the vertical direction and driving the load handling equipment in its operating area,” which are involved in loading and unloading a load [0054]. Gripping: see “The corners of a spreader are provided with special turnable twist-locks enabling a container to be gripped” [0004]. Computer system: see [0049-0052] and [0054]. See also [0036], [0047], [0064], [0066], [0068-0072], [0090], and [0096] for more details on monitoring and the spreader.);
monitoring movement around the spreader using the one or more lidars; detecting movement based on the received data (See [0061-0064] for monitoring/detecting motion of a vehicle by the processing unit using the laser scanner: “The measurement results [data from the laser scanner] are sent 605 to the processing unit where, on the basis of the measurement results, the position of the vehicle is located 606 on the traffic lane… the vehicle's motion status, i.e. whether it is in motion or has stopped, can be determined from the moving of the position of the front and/or rear of the vehicle in the measurement results” [0064]. In Fig. 1, the vehicle is around the spreader 106. Additionally, see “In FIG. 4b, the load handling equipment comprises a laser scanner 417 directed at a vehicle door 421. …A fan [of the laser scanner] directed at the vehicle door enables the opening [movement] of the door to be observed” [0047]. The laser scanner monitors the motion of the load attached to the spreader: “When the load is being moved, the laser scanner may follow 622 the load, whereby the laser scanner fan remains directed at the load” [0070]. See also [0029], [0047], [0049-0054], [0068-0072], and [0085-0090].); and
based on movement being detected, provide an indication and stop a loading process (See “If 808 the result of the comparison [of data from the laser scanner to reference data] indicates that the door is open and/or a person is getting out of the vehicle, an alarm can be given 812… As a result of the alarm message, the control system of the load handling system may give an alarm and/or stop the load handling on the basis of the received data” [0089]. A person getting out of a vehicle is movement, and the alarm is an indication of detected movement. Load handling processes include a loading process: “Distance measurements are obtained 804 from the vehicle door. Distance measurements are obtained at least from the period when the vehicle is being loaded” [0087]. The determination of movement is based on the obtained/received measurement data: “On the basis of the measurement results, the state of the vehicle door and/or whether there is a person getting out of the vehicle is determined 806” [0088]. See also a loading process in which laser scanner measurement data is received and processed in [0060-0076]. See also [0029], [0041], [0065], and [0086].).
However, Mannari ‘720 does not explicitly teach “providing one or more lidars that are installed on a trolley comprised in a gantry crane” and “receiving, by a computer system, data from the one or more lidars that are installed on the trolley.”
Stocker, in the same field of endeavor (crane monitoring systems), teaches
providing one or more lidars installed on a trolley comprised in a gantry crane such that the one or more lidars provide a field of view that enables detection of a spreader and a load that is located beneath the spreader (See “at least one laser scanner 45 functioning as a transceiver mounted on trolley 20” in Fig. 1 [0011]. See “Whenever the crane is in service, laser scanner 45 emits pulses towards target 50 and the ground at 225 and receives pulses reflected from the ground and objects below spreader 30 at 230” [0012]; “objects residing below spreader 30 includ[e] the ground [and] target loads” [0013]. See also [0023-0025].); and
providing a computer system; receiving, by a computer system, data from the one or more lidars that are installed on the trolley (See in claim 1, a method comprising “continuously emitting transceiver pulses downward from the trolley across an arc along the known path; …continuously transmitting data representing the time lapse between emitted and received pulses and the angle from the perpendicular of each emitted pulse to the computer; …further continuously constructing a dynamic third digital two-dimensional representation in the X and Z axes of the location of the first digital representation relative to both the trolley and the second digital representation from data received by the computer from the transceiver and storing that third digital representation in computer memory.” Therefore, the computer receives transmitted data from the transceiver, which is a lidar (laser scanner 45) mounted on trolley 20 of a gantry crane [0011]; see Fig. 1. See also [0012] and [0022-0025].);
determining, by the computer system, based on the received data, a position of the spreader comprised in the gantry crane and configured to be moved by the trolley (See the computer “further continuously construct[s] a dynamic third digital two-dimensional representation… from data received by the computer from the transceiver and storing that third digital representation in computer memory” [claim 1]. The third digital representation contains the position of the spreader: “at 245, the position of spreader 30 at all times relative both to trolley 20 and to the path profile in the X and Z axes is calculated as a third digital representation and then stored in memory at 250. Note that both the path profile and the spreader position are determined by use of a single laser scanner” [0013]. The spreader 30 is comprised in the gantry crane [0011] and configured to be moved by the trolley: “As the motor controlling trolley 20 initiates forward movement and increases velocity along boom 15, trolley 20 travels somewhat ahead of spreader 30 since spreader 30 is connected to trolley 20 by flexible wire ropes 40 or the like, and a potential for swaying motion in the X axis is imparted to spreader 30” [0014]. See also [0012], [0023-0025], and claims 4 and 8.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the crane-monitoring method of Mannari ‘720 with lidars placed on the trolley of the crane as taught by Stocker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the lidars placed on the trolley would have a larger detection area: “Laser scanner 45 employed in this invention can scan beneath it both ahead and behind its perpendicular position above ground level by approximately 90 degrees in each direction for a total arc of 180 degrees although this arc may be made smaller if desired. Furthermore, laser scanner 45 has a range of approximately 80 meters down including up to about 20 meters below the waterline of a vessel within a ship hold” (Stocker, [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
wherein the method further comprises determining based on the received data a target landing position for the load (The processing unit 504 determines the locations of the fastening points, which define the target landing position on the vehicle, from the received measurement data: “Of the stopped vehicle, the fastening points of the load are located 616 for loading the vehicle. Locating the fastening points can be achieved by generating, by means of a laser scanner 3D, measurement results about the vehicle having stopped on the traffic lane. …The 3D measurements may be sent 615 to the processing unit to be used in locating 616 the fastening points” [0066]. See also Figs. 6 and 7 and [0065] and [0080].).
Regarding claim 6, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
further comprising providing the received data to a monitoring system (See Fig. 6: in steps 605 and 615, measurement data from laser scanner 502 is provided to/received by the processing unit 504. The monitoring system (equipment 500) shown in Fig. 5 includes the processing unit 504 and the control system of the load handling equipment 508 [0049]. This equipment is a monitoring system because it may receive an alarm or stop load handling if improper movement is detected [0089] and because it generally monitors the environment around the crane. See also Fig. 6, [0053-0054], and [0064-0066].).
Regarding claim 8, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
wherein the method further comprises detecting one or more containers from the received data (See “When the load is being followed, the processing unit may receive 619b measurement data on the load from the laser scanner and compare the measurement data obtained on the load with the position data on the fastening points. On the basis of the position data on the fastening points and the measurement data obtained on the load, the load can be controlled 618a towards the fastening points” [0071]. The load is a container; see “Loads handled by the spreader are typically containers” [0036]. See also [0029], [0038], [0045], and [0068-0072].).
Regarding claim 9, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
wherein the method further comprises detecting corner castings and/or twistlocks of the load based on the received data (See “Although the above embodiments have been described with reference to loading a vehicle, the above embodiments are also applicable to unloading a vehicle. In such a case, instead of the fastening points of the vehicle, the fastening points of the load are located, and instead of the load, the transport means are followed which are moved to fetch the load from the vehicle” [0098]. Detecting the fastening points is based on received data: “Locating the fastening points can be achieved by generating, by means of a laser scanner 3D, measurement results about the vehicle …the fastening points can be identified by comparing the received measurement results with predetermined data on one or more fastening point profiles” [0066]. These fastening points are corner castings: “Loads handled by the spreader are typically containers to which the spreader is fastened by means of lock mechanisms corresponding to corner castings of the container” [0036]. See also [0004] and [0045].).
Regarding claim 10, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
wherein the method further comprises detecting an open door based on the received data (See “On the basis of the measurement results, the state of the vehicle door and/or whether there is a person getting out of the vehicle is determined 806. The state of the vehicle door may be open or closed” [0088]. The measurement data is from a laser scanner [0086-0087]. See also [0047].).
Regarding claim 13, Mannari ‘720 discloses
A gantry crane comprising a trolley; a spreader (See “the load handling equipment of FIG. 1 may be a gantry crane” [0035]. See trolley 108 and spreader 106 of the gantry crane in Fig. 1. See also [0036].);
one or more lidars… such that the one or more lidars provide a field of view that enables detection of a spreader and a load that is located beneath the spreader (In Fig. 1, distance-measuring device 116 is a laser scanner (lidar) [0025]. See “In the laser scanner… there may be a motor, and controlling this motor allows the fan to be turned… In this way, the laser scanner fan can be directed at… the transport means 106 [spreader] and/or the load 102” [0038]. Therefore, the laser scanner, at least with turning of the fan, has a field of view that enables detection of the spreader 106 and a load 102. See also Fig. 1 where a possible direction 118a of distance-measuring device 116 indicates that distance-measuring device 116 can detect load 102 beneath spreader 106 and, if lowered, spreader 106. See also [0028] and [0036].); and
wherein the gantry crane further comprises a computer system (See “a computer or a processing unit which is positioned in the load handling equipment” (crane) [0051]. See also [0035], [0049-0052], [0054], and Fig. 5.) configured to:
receive data from the one or more lidars… (Distance-measuring device 116 is a laser scanner (lidar) [0025]. Receiving data: measurement data is sent to processing unit 504 from a laser scanner 502 (lidar) in steps 605, 615, and 619b of Fig. 6; see [0064], [0066], and [0071-0072]. See also [0028], [0036], and [0038], as well as laser scanners 216, 316, 416, and 417 in Figs. 2-4B.);
determine, based on the received data, a position of the spreader comprised in the gantry crane and configured to be moved by the trolley (See “The laser scanner is mounted on the support structure in such a way that the laser scanner can generate distance measurement data on… a reflector and transport means for moving a load” [0029]. The transport means includes the spreader (“the laser scanner fan can be directed at… the [spreader:] transport means 106” [0038]), and additionally, “rod-like reflectors may be positioned in the spreader 106” [0043]. The distance measurement data is received position data in the coordinate system of the laser scanner; the position of the spreader is known/determined from the received data [0030]. See Fig. 1: the spreader 106 is comprised in the gantry crane 100. The trolley 108 moves the load, and therefore moves the spreader attached to the load: “The load is fastened to the transport means by means of the spreader” [0036] and “The directions of motion of the load may comprise horizontal and/or vertical motion. …Horizontal motion can be generated by means of rails along which the trolley moves” [0037]. See also [0042-0044], [0048], [0053-0054], [0058], and [0068-0072].); and
monitor the environment around the spreader during loading or unloading the load that the spreader is capable of gripping to (See “the turning direction of the fan forms at least a small angle relative to the spreading direction of the fan, which allows the laser scanner to carry out 3D measurements related to monitoring the operations in the volume. …A narrow sector is oriented in the direction that is the most interesting at the current moment with regard to the structure and the handling of the load, such as at a vehicle, vehicle door, person, load, transport means, fastening points or reflectors” [0053]. “The volume” is the region in the field of view of the laser scanner over time, which includes the spreader and the environment around the spreader. The operations monitored include “hoisting a load, lowering a load, transporting a load in the horizontal direction, transporting a load in the vertical direction and driving the load handling equipment in its operating area,” which are involved in loading and unloading a load [0054]. Gripping: see “The corners of a spreader are provided with special turnable twist-locks enabling a container to be gripped” [0004]. See also [0036], [0047], [0049-0052], [0054], [0064], [0066], [0068-0072], [0090], and [0096] for more details on monitoring and the spreader.);
monitor movement around the spreader using the one or more lidars; detect movement based on the received data (See [0061-0064] for monitoring/detecting motion of a vehicle by the processing unit using the laser scanner: “The measurement results [data from the laser scanner] are sent 605 to the processing unit where, on the basis of the measurement results, the position of the vehicle is located 606 on the traffic lane… the vehicle's motion status, i.e. whether it is in motion or has stopped, can be determined from the moving of the position of the front and/or rear of the vehicle in the measurement results” [0064]. In Fig. 1, the vehicle is around the spreader 106. Additionally, see “In FIG. 4b, the load handling equipment comprises a laser scanner 417 directed at a vehicle door 421. …A fan [of the laser scanner] directed at the vehicle door enables the opening [movement] of the door to be observed” [0047]. The laser scanner monitors the motion of the load attached to the spreader: “When the load is being moved, the laser scanner may follow 622 the load, whereby the laser scanner fan remains directed at the load” [0070]. See also [0029], [0047], [0049-0054], [0068-0072], and [0085-0090].);
based on movement being detected, provide an indication and stop a loading process (See “If 808 the result of the comparison [of data from the laser scanner to reference data] indicates that the door is open and/or a person is getting out of the vehicle, an alarm can be given 812… As a result of the alarm message, the control system of the load handling system may give an alarm and/or stop the load handling on the basis of the received data” [0089]. A person getting out of a vehicle is movement, and the alarm is an indication of detected movement. Load handling processes include a loading process: “Distance measurements are obtained 804 from the vehicle door. Distance measurements are obtained at least from the period when the vehicle is being loaded” [0087]. The determination of movement is based on the obtained measurement data: “On the basis of the measurement results, the state of the vehicle door and/or whether there is a person getting out of the vehicle is determined 806” [0088]. See also a loading process in which laser scanner measurement data is received and processed in [0060-0076]. See also [0029], [0041], [0049-0052], [0054], [0065], and [0086].).
However, Mannari ‘720 does not explicitly teach “one or more lidars that are installed on the trolley” and “receive data from the one or more lidars that are installed on the trolley comprised in the gantry crane.”
Stocker, in the same field of endeavor (crane monitoring systems), teaches
one or more lidars installed on the trolley such that the one or more lidars provide a field of view that enables detection of a spreader and a load that is located beneath the spreader (See “at least one laser scanner 45 functioning as a transceiver mounted on trolley 20” in Fig. 1 [0011]. See “Whenever the crane is in service, laser scanner 45 emits pulses towards target 50 and the ground at 225 and receives pulses reflected from the ground and objects below spreader 30 at 230” [0012]; “objects residing below spreader 30 includ[e] the ground [and] target loads” [0013]. See also [0023-0025].); and
wherein the gantry crane further comprises a computer system configured to: receive data from the one or more lidars that are installed on the trolley comprised in the gantry crane (See in claim 1, a method comprising “continuously emitting transceiver pulses downward from the trolley across an arc along the known path; …continuously transmitting data representing the time lapse between emitted and received pulses and the angle from the perpendicular of each emitted pulse to the computer; …further continuously constructing a dynamic third digital two-dimensional representation in the X and Z axes of the location of the first digital representation relative to both the trolley and the second digital representation from data received by the computer from the transceiver and storing that third digital representation in computer memory.” Therefore, the computer receives transmitted data from the transceiver, which is a lidar (laser scanner 45) mounted on trolley 20 of a gantry crane [0011]; see Fig. 1. See also [0012] and [0022-0025].);
determine, based on the received data, a position of the spreader comprised in the gantry crane and configured to be moved by the trolley (See the computer “further continuously construct[s] a dynamic third digital two-dimensional representation… from data received by the computer from the transceiver and storing that third digital representation in computer memory” [claim 1]. The third digital representation contains the position of the spreader: “at 245, the position of spreader 30 at all times relative both to trolley 20 and to the path profile in the X and Z axes is calculated as a third digital representation and then stored in memory at 250. Note that both the path profile and the spreader position are determined by use of a single laser scanner” [0013]. The spreader 30 is comprised in the gantry crane [0011] and configured to be moved by the trolley: “As the motor controlling trolley 20 initiates forward movement and increases velocity along boom 15, trolley 20 travels somewhat ahead of spreader 30 since spreader 30 is connected to trolley 20 by flexible wire ropes 40 or the like, and a potential for swaying motion in the X axis is imparted to spreader 30” [0014]. See also [0012], [0023-0025], and claims 4 and 8.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the crane that monitors movement around the spreader of Mannari ‘720 to place the lidars on the trolley of the crane as taught by Stocker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the lidars placed on the trolley would have a larger detection area: “Laser scanner 45 employed in this invention can scan beneath it both ahead and behind its perpendicular position above ground level by approximately 90 degrees in each direction for a total arc of 180 degrees although this arc may be made smaller if desired. Furthermore, laser scanner 45 has a range of approximately 80 meters down including up to about 20 meters below the waterline of a vessel within a ship hold” (Stocker, [0013]).
Regarding claims 15, these claim limitations are significantly similar to those of claim 1; and, thus, are rejected on the same grounds. See also [0051] of Mannari ‘720.
Regarding claim 16, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 13 as addressed above, and Mannari ‘720 additionally discloses
wherein the gantry crane is a rubber tyred gantry crane or an automatic stacking crane (See “the load handling equipment of FIG. 1 may be a gantry crane, such as a rubber-tyred gantry crane RTG” [0035].).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannari ‘720 in view of Stocker, and further in view of Mannari and Paasikivi (US 20200017318 A1; hereafter “Mannari ‘318”).
Regarding claim 3, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 2 as addressed above. However, Mannari ‘720/Stocker does not explicitly teach “wherein the target landing position is determined continuously when the load is being landed.”
Mannari ‘318, in the same field of endeavor (crane monitoring systems), teaches
wherein the target landing position is determined continuously when the load is being landed (As in claim 2 above, the locations of the fastening points define the target landing position on the vehicle. See “Simultaneously with lowering down of the container 210 it may be monitored… that the transport platform 220 [of a vehicle] does not move longitudinally… Preferably, with the same optical detection devices 130 the position of the lock pins [fastening points] 222 is followed for the docking and the staying immobile of the transport platform 220” [0081]. This simultaneous “following” is continuous monitoring and determination of the target landing position from data from optical detection devices 130 in optical detection equipment 100. The optical detection devices 130 are lidar sensors [0085]. See also Fig. 8, [0059], and [0080-0083].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the crane-monitoring method of Mannari ‘720/Stocker to include continuously determining a load’s target landing position as taught by Mannari ‘318. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for docking a container with a vehicle “with sufficient accuracy,” particularly if the vehicle moves on contact with the container (Mannari ‘318, [0081-0082]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannari ‘720 in view of Stocker, and further in view of Avitan et al. (WO 2021229576 A2; hereafter “Avitan”). Avitan, published 11/18/2021, claims priority to US provisional application 63024729, filed 05/14/2020. Citations of Avitan below refer to the page and line number in WO 2021229576 A2 of each quotation and the corresponding paragraph number in US 63024729 where support for that quotation is found.
Regarding claim 7, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above. However, Mannari ‘720/Stocker does not explicitly teach “wherein the method further comprises calculating optimized trajectories in 3D based on the received data.”
Avitan, in the same field of endeavor (crane automation), teaches
wherein the method further comprises calculating optimized trajectories in 3D based on the received data (See “processing module 242 may… determine one or more routes for delivering the cargo between the origin point and the designation point by the tower crane based on the 3D model. …processing module 242 may select an optimal route of the one or more determined route(s). The optimal route may be, for example, the shortest and/or fastest and/or safest route of the determined one or more routes” [page 17, line 28 to page 18, line 5; paragraph 0095]. The 3D model determined by processing module 242 is based on a received LIDAR dataset [page 16, lines 18-25; paragraph 0089]. In Fig. 3, data from the sensing (LIDAR) units is an input to 3D model 308, which is an input to determined route 312. See also page 19, lines 12-22, [00100] and page 21, lines 9-23, [00112-00115].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of crane loading and unloading of Mannari ‘720/Stocker with optimized 3D trajectories as taught by Avitan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “automatically control the… crane based on one of the determined route(s) (e.g., a route selected by the user or optimal route) and the determined real-world geographic location data” (Avitan; page 18, lines 10-22; [0097]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannari ‘720 in view of Stocker, and further in view of Feng et al. (CN 111830526 A; hereafter “Feng”). Citations of Feng refer to the paragraph numbers of the English translation.
Regarding claim 11, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above, and Stocker further teaches
wherein a side profile… of the spreader is stored in a memory of a computer system (See “at 210 the computer system constructs a first digital representation of an initial default two-dimensional rectangular protective envelope, discussed in greater detail below with reference to FIG. 5, which equals, in the X axis, the width of spreader 30 plus the width of the load, if any, attached to spreader 30 and, in the Z axis, the height from the top to the bottom of spreader 30 plus the height of the load” [0012] and “at 245, the position of spreader 30 at all times relative both to trolley 20 and to the path profile in the X and Z axes is calculated as a third digital representation and then stored in memory at 250” by a computer based on the first and second representations [0013]. Looking at the X and Z axes in Fig. 1, the first representation is a side profile of a long side of the spreader [0012]. The computer’s storage is “512 MB of RAM and at least 5 GB of memory on a hard drive or other similar device” [0012]. The data comes from laser scanner 45 attached to trolley 20 [0011]. See also claim 1 and [0004].).
However, Mannari ‘720/Stocker does not explicitly teach “a side profile of a short side of the spreader.”
Feng, also solving positioning of a target using lidars on a crane, teaches
a side profile of a short side… (See “Step 103: Obtain the contour of the top surface or side surface of the target container according to the edge points of the top surface or side surface of the target container to determine the center point and heading angle of the target container, thereby determining the position of the target container” [0045]. The side contour is obtained from “point cloud data from at least two multi-line laser radars” [0043]. Looking at the orientation of containers in Fig. 7 and the trolley and sling in Fig. 8, the “top surface” is a long side, and the “side surface” is a short side. See also “By using two groups of short side edge point data simultaneously, the side profile of the target container can be obtained more accurately” when the target container is partially occluded [0061].).
In combination, Mannari ‘720/Stocker/Feng teaches “wherein a side profile of a short side of the spreader is stored in a memory of a computer system.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of monitoring crane operations of Mannari ‘720/Stocker with obtaining a side profile of a short side as taught by Feng. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of achievable “accurate positioning of the target container… even when part or all of the top surface of the target container cannot be obtained” (Feng, [0026]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannari ‘720 in view of Stocker, and further in view of Fiegert et al. (DE 102006044187 A1; hereafter “Fiegert”). Citations of Fiegert refer to the paragraph numbers of the English translation.
Regarding claim 12, Mannari ‘720/Stocker discloses the limitations of claim 1 as addressed above. However, Mannari ‘720/Stocker does not explicitly teach “wherein the method further comprises calibrating values representing the position of the spreader based, on at least partly, an automated cycle.”
Fiegert, in the same field of endeavor (crane monitoring systems), teaches
wherein the method further comprises calibrating values… based, on at least partly, an automated cycle (As opposed to the manual calibration method described in paragraph [0028], “Fig. 2 illustrates an automatic calibration of the sensor units 11 to 14” in which “the optical sensor unit is calibrated by comparing it with at least one mechanical component of the transport device” [0026]. These optical sensor units 11-14 are implied to be laser scanners; see [0016-0020].).
Since Stocker determines the position of the spreader from data received from a laser scanner (see the rejection of claim 1 above), the combination of Mannari ‘720, Stocker, and Fiegert teaches the measured values of the position of the spreader are calibrated based on an automated cycle. Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of monitoring crane operations of Mannari ‘720/Stocker with the automatic calibration method of Fiegert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid the “time-consuming” manual calibration “process that can significantly disrupt the operation of a crane system and result in major production losses” (Fiegert, [0028]).
Conclusion
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658