DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/03/2023 have been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to EP21172422.4 filed 5/6/2021
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are under examination.
Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1: Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are directed to a method, so a process.
Step 2A Prong One: Identification of an Abstract Idea
The claim(s) recite(s):
1. determining the Faecalibacterium prausnitzil (Fprau) status in a subject, as in claims 1, 6 and 8.
The step reads on a mental process such as decision making and is therefore an abstract idea.
2. providing recommendations to improve or maintain Fprau status in the subject; providing recommendations of a personalized fiber composition, as in claims 1, 6 and 8.
This step can be performed by the human mind through a mental process and is therefore an abstract idea.
3. wherein the determination is by a food frequency questionnaire to determine nutrients intake, as in claim 2.
This step can be performed by the human mind or with the aid of paper/pen by presenting questions and retrieving answers. The step is therefore an abstract idea.
4. wherein the determination is by a biological sample to quantify the microbiome diversity in the subject, as in claim 3.
The limitation broadly sets forth the origins of the information used to determine the Fprau status and is therefore part of the abstract idea.
5. wherein the method involves evaluation of feature parameters related to gut Fprau status as low, medium or high, as in claim 5.
This step of evaluating parameters reads on a mental process and is therefore an abstract idea.
6. Dependent claims 9 and 10 are drawn to listing the type of dietary recommendations and therefore the claims are also part of the abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Consideration of Practical Application
The claims result in determining a dietary recommendation and delivering a personalized nutritional recommendation (claim 6) or applying the dietary intervention to the subject (claim 8). The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into an abstract idea. The “delivering” reads on extra solution activity of outputting information as described in MPEP 2106.05(g). The “applying” a dietary intervention reads on the equivalent of just “apply it” as described in MPEP 2106.05(f) and is not a step of administering a particular treatment that integrates the abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not meet any of the following criteria:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than
a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2B: Consideration of Additional Elements and Significantly More
The claimed method also recites "additional elements" that are not limitations drawn to an abstract idea. The recited additional elements are drawn to:
1. implementation of a computer to perform the method, as in claims 4 and 6.
2. delivering a personalized nutritional recommendation.
4. applying the dietary intervention to the subject.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because delivering dietary recommendations and applying personalized nutritional recommendations is routine, conventional and well understood. It is well known to apply and adjust personalized diets based on the evaluated health status of a subject.
Other elements of the method include implementation of a computer which is a recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea recited in the instantly presented claims into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-2nd paragraph
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the recommendations” (line 2) which lacks antecedent basis support. Claim 1 from which claim 9 depends recites providing a plurality of “recommendations.” It is therefore unclear if “the recommendation” is referring to the plurality or one specific recommendation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Apte et al. (US 2018/0122510).
Apte et al. teach (Abstract) generating a microbiome dataset for biological samples, processing the dataset and performing a diet-related characterization process for one or more diet-related conditions.
Apte et al. teach performing a characterization of diets based on microbiome features of Faecalibacterium prausnitzii (par. 0078) sampled at a gut site (par. 0092)(i.e. determining the gut Fprau status is a subject), as in claims 1, 6 and 8.
Apte et al. teach (par. 0028) generating diet-related characterizations and recommended health supporting measures (i.e. providing recommendations to improve or maintain status in the subject), as in claims 1, 6 and 8.
Apte et al. teach (par. 0128) that health supporting measures can include promoting fiber (i.e. personalized fiber composition), as in claim 6, step (ii)
Apte et al. teach (par. 018 and Figure 1A item S180) monitoring effectiveness of the health supporting measure (i.e. delivering nutritional recommendation and applying the dietary intervention to the subject), as in claim 6, step (iii) and 8, step (ii).
Apte et al. do not teach providing recommendation to specifically improve Fprau status in the subject, as in claims 1, 6 and 8.
However, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Apte et al. for performing a diet- related characterization process where monitoring microbiome composition is performed over time (par. 0018) with the teaching of measuring features of Fprau as a characterization of diet (par. 0078) and providing health supporting recommendation for a diet related condition (par. 0027). The combination of teachings of Apte et al. would give a predictable result of providing recommendations to improve or maintain Fprau status in a subject.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5 and 9-10
Regarding claim 2, Apte et al. teach monitoring microbiome composition over time along with any other suitable options (par. 0018). Apte et al. also teach generating an association between diets and health condition (par. 0019) which suggests a questionnaire about diet. While Apte et al. do not specifically teach a food frequency questionnaire, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Apte et al. for monitoring gut microbiome composition over time with the teaching of asking about diet to associate the diet with gut microbiome condition.
Apte et al. teach sample processing (par. 0012), as in claim 3.
Apte et al. teach computer technology (par. 0028), as in claim 4.
Apte et al. teach (par. 0030) teach modifying microbiome composition and function in a subject and quantitating microbiome composition (par 0035) including a characterization process of determining features to be high or low (par. 0056) which suggests determining a quantitative status of the bacteria (i.e. low, medium, high), as in claim 5.
Apte et al. teach (par. 0128) promoting health supporting measure by recommending foods, nutritional supplements and consumables for Mediterranean diets and Atkins diets (par. 0019), as in claims 9 and 10.
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635