DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-7 are presented for examination. Claims 3-4 and 8-10 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Park does not teach a second receiver that accesses the push server in accordance with the download notification and receives the profile form the push server.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1), the amendment changes the scope of the invention and requires a different interpretation that the download notification and the profile are both from the push server. After further consideration, Park’s profile providing server 220 meet the claims as it provides the function to transfer a download notification (transfer profile information) via the profile information transfer server to the terminal (see steps 270 and 275); and also provides the profile for downloading by the terminal (see steps 280 and 285). This is according to the instant application specification paragraph 0066-0067 that the push server 400-3 is a function included in the SM server 400. The claims can only be interpreted according to this embodiment of the push server as a function included within SM server 400 to support the limitation of “and receive the profile from the push server”. While the applicant directed to paragraphs 0027-0028, 0048, 0052-0058 for support of the amended language, these paragraphs do not fully support that the profile is received from the push server.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (Park), EP3284274B1, published on July 31, 2019.
As per claim 1, Park teaches the invention including a terminal comprising:
A first receiver that receives from a push server (figure 2, profile providing server 220) a download notification of a profile configured in an embedded subscriber identification module (pp. 0002, 0006, 0032, 0059-0060, 0066, 0069-0075; figure 2, steps 270 and 275 where the transfer profile information is transmitted form the profile providing server 220 to the terminal 240 via profile information transfer server 230);
A second receiver that accesses the push server in accordance with the download notification and receives the profile from the push server (pp. 0075-0080, 0082-0085, 0094; figure 2 steps 280 and 285); and
A processor that configures the profile to the embedded subscriber identification module (pp. 0095-0096; figure 2 step 290).
As per claim 2, Park teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Park further teaches to comprise a transmission unit that transmits terminal information to the push server (pp. 0061, 0067, 0077-0080).
As per claim 5, Park teaches the invention including a push server comprising:
A transmitter that transmits a download notification of a profile configured in an embedded subscriber identifier module to a terminal (pp. 0002, 0006, 0032, 0059-0060, 0066, 0069-0074); and
Wherein the transmitter transmits the profile to the terminal when the terminal accesses the push server in accordance with the download notification (pp. 0075-0080, 0082-0085, 0094).
As per claim 6, Park teaches the invention including a method for controlling a terminal, the method comprising:
Receiving a download notification of a profile configured in an embedded subscriber identification module from a push server (pp. 0002, 0006, 0032, 0059-0060, 0066, 0069-0074);
Accessing the push server in accordance with the download notification and receiving the profile from the push server (pp. 0075-0080, 0082-0085, 0094); and
Configuring the profile to the embedded subscriber identification module (pp. 0095-0096).
As per claim 7, Park teaches the invention including a method for controlling a push server, the method comprising:
Transmitting a download notification of a profile configured in an embedded subscriber identifier module to a terminal (pp. 0002, 0006, 0032, 0059-0060, 0066, 0069-0074); and
Transmitting the profile to the terminal when the terminal accesses the push server in accordance with the download notification (pp. 0075-0080, 0082-0085, 0094).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yeoum et al, US 2016/0157085
Park et al, US 2019/0268765
Lalwaney, US 2017/0289788
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
March 10, 2026