DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540).
Regarding claim 1, Wei shows: A treadmill, comprising: a deck (10); a belt (12) having a running surface that moves around the deck; and a time-of-flight (ToF) sensor (140) configured to emit one or more light pulses and to detect a position of a user of the treadmill on the running surface by measuring the time for the one or more light pulses to reflect off the user and to return to the ToF sensor. (Wei para. 34: “The present embodiment further provides several cases for the control unit 106 to adjust the speed of the running track 12 according to the position of the user A. For example, when the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the near zone NZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to accelerate the running track 12; when the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the middle zone MZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to maintain the speed of the running track 12. When the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the far zone FZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to deaccelerate the running track 12. On the other hand, if the light sensor 106 detects that the user is located at one or both of the two rest zones 101 and 102, the control unit 106 may be configured to stop the running track 12.”). Examiner posits that Wei et al. discloses a time of flight sensor as required by the claim, but in the event that such sensor is not explicitly disclosed, Lee et al. (US PGPub. 2016/0675339), from the same field of endeavor teaches “[0015] In at least one embodiment, the camera device 11 can be a time-of-flight camera (TOF camera). The TOF camera is a camera system that creates distance data with help of the time-of-flight principle. The scene is illuminated by short light pluses and the camera measures the time taken until the reflected light reflects back to the camera. The time is directly proportional to the distance. The camera therefore provides a range value for each pixel. The time-of-flight principle is similar to that of 3D scanners with the advantage that whole scene is captured at the same time. As shown in FIG. 2, the camera device 11 can be positioned in front of a user, and can record a video of the user.”) or Potash (US Pat. 5,314,391), also from the same field of endeavor, teaches in col. 6, lines 4-12: “This device periodically or on command (from the controller 29) transmits a pulse of ultrasonic energy via the horn 23. The time needed for the pulse to travel from the transmitter, reflect from the user, or a more distant object if the user is not in the path of the ultrasonic beam, and return to the receiver provides a measure of distance. The information can enable determination of the position of the subject as well as an indication that the subject is within a prescribed position range.”) teach that it is known in the art to use a time of flight sensor to measure a user’s position on a treadmill. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Wei to use a time of flight sensor as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed, as doing so enables distance and position sensing using art-recognized techniques. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Wei shows further comprising: an upper assembly (30) that is fixed to the deck, the upper assembly including: a left sidewall; a right sidewall, wherein the left sidewall and the right sidewall extend upwards from the deck; a display (106) fixed to the left sidewall and the right sidewall; and a cross bar (30) that extends between the left sidewall and the right sidewall; wherein the ToF sensor is disposed on an outer surface of the cross bar and faces a user of the treadmill on the running surface (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wei shows further comprising: a control circuit that is communicatively coupled to the ToF sensor and operates to modify a current operation of the belt based on the position of the user of the treadmill detected by the ToF sensor (para. 34, also see teaching references Lee and Potash in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wei shows further comprising: a control circuit that is communicatively coupled to the ToF sensor and operates to modify a current speed of the belt based on the position of the user of the treadmill detected by the ToF sensor (para. 34, also see teaching references Lee and Potash in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Wei shows wherein the time-of-flight (ToF) sensor detects the position of a user within a distinct zone of multiple detection zones that are mapped to the running surface of the belt, the multiple detection zones including: a front detection zone that represents a front area of the running surface of the belt; a center detection zone that represents a center area of the running surface of the belt; and a rear detection zone that represents a rear area of the running surface of the belt (Wei para. 33: “Reference is further made to FIG. 3, which is a top view of a field of view of the light sensor according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the running zone 103 may be divided into several zones, and when the light sensor 140 identifies which zone the user A is located, the control unit 106 may control the speed of the running track 12 directly. For example, the running track 12 may be divided into three zones, near zone NZ, middle zone MZ, and far zone FZ with respect to positions on the running zone 103 along a running direction D1 of the user. It should be noted that the first row R1 and the neighboring rows correspond to a region of the running track 12 that is near the front of the treadmill M in the example of the 1D image and 2D image, such as the near zone NZ in FIG. 3. In other embodiment, the three zones could only correspond to particular rows in the captured image, such as rows R1-R3 corresponding to near zone NZ, rows R4-R6 corresponding to middle zone MZ, and rows R7-R9 corresponding to far zone FZ.”).
Regarding claim 9, Wei shows wherein the time-of-flight (ToF) sensor detects the position of a user within a distinct zone of multiple detection zones that are mapped to the running surface of the belt, the treadmill further comprising: a control circuit that is communicatively coupled to the ToF sensor and operates to modify a current operation of the belt based on the position of the user of the treadmill being within one of the distinct zones of the multiple detection zones (para. 34 and Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540) in view of Santra et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240535). Wei et al. does not show, but Santra, from the same field of endeavor, teaches:
Regarding claim 5, Santra teaches further comprising: a control circuit that is communicatively coupled to the ToF sensor and operates to modify a current incline of the deck based on the position of the user of the treadmill detected by the ToF sensor (Santra para. 74 and Figs. 9A-C).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify the incline of the deck based on user position as taught by Santra. Doing so provides the predictable result of varying the difficulty of the user’s exercise. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as taught by Santra to obtain the invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540) in view of Wei et al., herein referred to as Pixart to avoid confusion with the other Wei et al. reference cited elsewhere in the Office Action, (US PGPub. 2017/0225038). Wei et al. does not show but Pixart teaches:
Regarding claim 6, Pixart, from the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: a left sidewall and a right sidewall that each extend upwards to support an upper assembly; wherein the ToF sensor includes a left ToF sensor disposed on an outer surface of the left sidewall and a right ToF sensor disposed on an outer surface of the right sidewall (paras. 45, 68 and Fig. 1A).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include the duplicate time of flight sensors taught by Pixart on the device of Wei et al., as doing so enhances accuracy of detection. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as taught by Pixart to obtain the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Wei et al. shows further comprising: an upper assembly that is fixed to the deck via a left sidewall and a right sidewall, wherein the left sidewall and the right sidewall extend upwards to support the upper assembly (Wei et al. Fig. 1); a display fixed to the upper assembly (Wei et al. Fig. 1); and a cross bar that extends between the left sidewall and the right sidewall, wherein the ToF sensor is disposed on an outer surface of the cross bar and faces a user of the treadmill on the running surface (Wei et al. Fig. 1);
Pixart, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a left ToF sensor disposed on an outer surface of the left sidewall; and a right ToF sensor disposed on an outer surface of the right sidewall.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include the duplicate time of flight sensors taught by Pixart on the device of Wei et al., as doing so enhances accuracy of detection. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as taught by Pixart to obtain the invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 10-12,14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540).
Regarding claim 10, Wei shows: A control system for a treadmill, the control system comprising: multiple hardware modules, including: a zone detection module that accesses information captured by a time-of-flight (ToF) sensor of the treadmill (light sensor detects position of the user on the treadmill), wherein the TOF sensor is configured to emit one or more light pulses and to detect a position of a user of the treadmill on a running surface by measuring the time for the one or more light pulses to reflect off the user and return to the ToF sensor; and detects a position of a user of the treadmill being within a distinct zone of multiple detection zones that are mapped to a running surface of the treadmill based on the accessed information; and an operation modification module that modifies a current operation of the treadmill based on the detected position of the user of the treadmill within the distinct zone of the multiple detection zones that are mapped to the running surface (para. 34: “The present embodiment further provides several cases for the control unit 106 to adjust the speed of the running track 12 according to the position of the user A. For example, when the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the near zone NZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to accelerate the running track 12; when the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the middle zone MZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to maintain the speed of the running track 12. When the light sensor 140 detects that the user A is located at the far zone FZ, the control unit 106 may be configured to deaccelerate the running track 12. On the other hand, if the light sensor 106 detects that the user is located at one or both of the two rest zones 101 and 102, the control unit 106 may be configured to stop the running track 12.”). Examiner posits that Wei et al. discloses a time of flight sensor as required by the claim, but in the event that such sensor is not explicitly disclosed, Lee et al. (US PGPub. 2016/0675339), from the same field of endeavor teaches “[0015] In at least one embodiment, the camera device 11 can be a time-of-flight camera (TOF camera). The TOF camera is a camera system that creates distance data with help of the time-of-flight principle. The scene is illuminated by short light pluses and the camera measures the time taken until the reflected light reflects back to the camera. The time is directly proportional to the distance. The camera therefore provides a range value for each pixel. The time-of-flight principle is similar to that of 3D scanners with the advantage that whole scene is captured at the same time. As shown in FIG. 2, the camera device 11 can be positioned in front of a user, and can record a video of the user.”) or Potash (US Pat. 5,314,391), also from the same field of endeavor, teaches in col. 6, lines 4-12: “This device periodically or on command (from the controller 29) transmits a pulse of ultrasonic energy via the horn 23. The time needed for the pulse to travel from the transmitter, reflect from the user, or a more distant object if the user is not in the path of the ultrasonic beam, and return to the receiver provides a measure of distance. The information can enable determination of the position of the subject as well as an indication that the subject is within a prescribed position range.”) teach that it is known in the art to use a time of flight sensor to measure a user’s position on a treadmill. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Wei to use a time of flight sensor as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed, as doing so enables distance and position sensing using art-recognized techniques. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Wei shows wherein the multiple detection zones include: a front detection zone that represents a front area of the running surface of the belt; a center detection zone that represents a center area of the running surface of the belt; and a rear detection zone that represents a rear area of the running surface of the belt; and wherein the operation modification module causes movement of the running surface to speed up when the zone detection module detects that the position of the user is within the front detection zone (para. 33: “Reference is further made to FIG. 3, which is a top view of a field of view of the light sensor according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the running zone 103 may be divided into several zones, and when the light sensor 140 identifies which zone the user A is located, the control unit 106 may control the speed of the running track 12 directly. For example, the running track 12 may be divided into three zones, near zone NZ, middle zone MZ, and far zone FZ with respect to positions on the running zone 103 along a running direction D1 of the user. It should be noted that the first row R1 and the neighboring rows correspond to a region of the running track 12 that is near the front of the treadmill M in the example of the 1D image and 2D image, such as the near zone NZ in FIG. 3. In other embodiment, the three zones could only correspond to particular rows in the captured image, such as rows R1-R3 corresponding to near zone NZ, rows R4-R6 corresponding to middle zone MZ, and rows R7-R9 corresponding to far zone FZ.”).
Regarding claim 12, Wei shows wherein the multiple detection zones include: a front detection zone that represents a front area of the running surface of the belt; a center detection zone that represents a center area of the running surface of the belt; and a rear detection zone that represents a rear area of the running surface of the belt; and wherein the operation modification module causes movement of the running surface to slow down when the zone detection module detects that the position of the user is within the rear detection zone (para. 34).
Regarding claim 14, Wei shows wherein the operation modification module performs an action to modify a current speed of movement of the running surface of the treadmill (para. 34).
Regarding claim 22, Santra et al. shows wherein the multiple detection zones include: a middle detection zone that represents a middle area of the running surface of the belt; and an outer detection zone that represents an area of the running surface of the belt that surrounds the middle area of the running surface of the belt; and wherein the operation modification module modifies the current operation of the treadmill based on the detected position of the user of the treadmill being within the outer detection zone (Santra para. 77: “FIG. 9C illustrates a scenario 94o where a user 914 approaches the rear of a user safe limit 912. When the radar sensor 904 detects that the user 914 is at a third distance 942, the treadmill 902 may determine that the user 914 has moved outside of the user safe limits 912, or approached a second threshold that may be boundary of a user safe limit 912. Therefore, the treadmill 902 determines, according to the third distance 942, that the user 914 has passed second threshold 918. The treadmill 902 may then adjust the speed or incline of the belt 908, adjust a belt control program to cause the user 914 to move rearward along the belt 908, or execute an emergency stop. For example, when the user approaches the rear of the belt 908, near the second threshold 918, the treadmill 902 may lower the incline, or decrease the speed of the belt 908 so that the user 914 moves backward to the center of the belt 908 to stay within the user safe limits 912. The treadmill 902 may also determine that the user has moved too near the rear of the belt 908 and may execute an emergency stop to prevent the user from falling off the treadmill 902.”).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540) in view of Santra et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240535). Wei et al. does not show, but Santra, from the same field of endeavor, teaches:
Regarding claim 15, Santra teaches wherein the operation modification module performs an action to modify a current incline position of the running surface of the treadmill (Santra para. 74 and Figs. 9A-C).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify the incline of the deck based on user position as taught by Santra. Doing so provides the predictable result of varying the difficulty of the user’s exercise. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as taught by Santra to obtain the invention as claimed.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240540) alone.
Regarding claim 16, Wei et al does not show wherein the operation modification module performs an action to alert the user to move to a center zone of the multiple detection zones that are mapped to the running surface.
However, it is well known in the art to alert a user when an exercise machine is going to change a setting, as doing so ensures safety and makes sure the user is not caught off-balance when the change occurs. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as is known in the art for the purpose of ensuring safety.
Regarding claim 17, Wei et al. does not show wherein the operation modification module performs actions to: notify the user of an imminent modification of the current operation of the treadmill; and when the user does not move to a center zone of the multiple detection zones that are mapped to the running surface in response to the notification, modify a current speed of movement of the running surface of the treadmill.
However, it is well known in the art to alert a user when an exercise machine is going to change a setting, as doing so ensures safety and makes sure the user is not caught off-balance when the change occurs. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Wei et al. as is known in the art for the purpose of ensuring safety.
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santra et al. (US PGPub. 2019/0240535) in view of Wei et al., herein referred to as Pixart to avoid confusion with the other Wei et al. reference cited elsewhere in the Office Action, (US PGPub. 2017/0225038). Santra et al. describes the invention substantially as claimed, including:
Regarding claim 18, A method performed by a treadmill, the method comprising: tracking movement of legs of a user running on a running surface of the treadmill using one or more time-of-flight (ToF) sensors of the treadmill (sensor 140, para. 53, Fig. 3), wherein the one or more TOF sensors are configured to emit one or more light pulses and to detect positions by measuring the time for the one or more light pulses to reflect off the user and return to the one or more ToF sensors (Examiner posits that Santra et al. discloses a time of flight sensor as required by the claim, but in the event that such sensor is not explicitly disclosed, Lee et al. (US PGPub. 2016/0675339), from the same field of endeavor teaches “[0015] In at least one embodiment, the camera device 11 can be a time-of-flight camera (TOF camera). The TOF camera is a camera system that creates distance data with help of the time-of-flight principle. The scene is illuminated by short light pluses and the camera measures the time taken until the reflected light reflects back to the camera. The time is directly proportional to the distance. The camera therefore provides a range value for each pixel. The time-of-flight principle is similar to that of 3D scanners with the advantage that whole scene is captured at the same time. As shown in FIG. 2, the camera device 11 can be positioned in front of a user, and can record a video of the user.”) or Potash (US Pat. 5,314,391), also from the same field of endeavor, teaches in col. 6, lines 4-12: “This device periodically or on command (from the controller 29) transmits a pulse of ultrasonic energy via the horn 23. The time needed for the pulse to travel from the transmitter, reflect from the user, or a more distant object if the user is not in the path of the ultrasonic beam, and return to the receiver provides a measure of distance. The information can enable determination of the position of the subject as well as an indication that the subject is within a prescribed position range.”) teach that it is known in the art to use a time of flight sensor to measure a user’s position on a treadmill. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Santra to use a time of flight sensor as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed, as doing so enables distance and position sensing using art-recognized techniques. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Santra as taught by Lee or Potash to obtain the invention as claimed); and modifying operation of the treadmill
Pixart, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known in the art to modify operation of a treadmill when tracked movement represents an abnormal movement of the legs of the user (Pixart para. 62: a controller (30) determines that object A is moving slower than a treadmill belt (20) operates, and then decreases the operating speed of the treadmill belt (20) such that the treadmill belt (20) is moving at the same rate as the object A so that the object A can stay moving in the middle of the treadmill belt (20)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify Santra et al. as taught by Pixart to slow and/or stop the treadmill belt upon detection of an abnormal movement of the legs of the user, as doing so ensures safety of the user and prevents injury. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Santra et al. as taught by Pixart to obtain the invention as claimed.
Regarding claim 19, Santra et al. shows wherein tracking the movement of the legs of the user running on the running surface includes capturing position or speed or acceleration information associated with the movement of the legs of the user using one or more time- of-flight (ToF) sensors of the treadmill (Santra para. 110).
Regarding claim 20, Santra et al. does not show but Pixart teaches: wherein modifying the operation of the treadmill when the tracked movement represents an abnormal movement of the legs of the user includes: accessing a current speed of the running surface of the treadmill; comparing speed information determined from the tracked movement of the legs of the user to a baseline speed of the legs of the user at the current speed and incline of the running surface of the treadmill; and determining the abnormal movement of the legs of the user when the speed information determined from the tracked movement of the legs of the user is below the baseline speed (Pixart para. 62). See rationale in claim 18 above for combining Santra and Pixart.
Regrading claim 21, Santra et al. does not show but Pixart teaches: wherein the abnormal movement of the legs of the user includes a difference of movement of a right leg of the user with respect to a left leg of the user (Pixart Fig. 13). See rationale in claim 18 above for combining Santra and Pixart.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the Specification discloses a ToF sensor to be “small, discrete (e.g., within a glass covering and protected), have minimal ID interface and/or be integrated into the cross bar 519 (or other components of the treadmill 500)”, and that Wei does not disclose such features. Examiner notes that such features are not positively recited in claim 1. Wei meets the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claimed term “time-of-flight sensor” in the following manner
BRI of “time-of-flight sensor”
Instant Application
Wei
Spec. para. 21
The treadmill 100 can include a sensor 125, such as a time-of-flight (ToF) sensor, which emits a beam (e.g., a laser or infrared (IR) beam) 120 to detect the position of the runner.
para. 28
Furthermore, the detection module 14 may include a light emitter 140 and a light sensor 142. As shown in FIG. 1, the light emitter 142 may be fixed on the solid case 104 and emit light to cover the two rest zones 101, 102 and the running zone 103, and the light sensor 140 detects a position and a speed of the user A according to a reflected light from the user A.
Examiner note: in order for Wei to obtain position data via an emitter-detector pair, some form of time-of-flight analysis is required.
For example, the sensor 125 emits an IR beam that bounces off the runner 110 (e.g., the runner's chest, arms, midsection, legs, feet, and so on), and returns to the sensor 125, to determine how far the runner 110 is from the sensor 125.
para. 30
When an incident light travels to a part of the body of the user A, such as legs or shoes, the incident light will be scattered, diffused, and reflected, and the light sensor 140 may detect image by receiving the scattered light, diffused light, and reflected light and obtain the captured image
Spec para. 26
The ToF sensor 210 emits a laser signal (e.g., like IR, or other pulsed ranging sensor), and measures a time interval or duration for which the signals reflect off an object and back to the sensor 210.
para. 29
The light emitter 142 is further provided to enhance the light sensor 140 to detect the object image in the captured images. The light emitter 142 may be a single light source or a plurality of light sources, which may emit a uniform light or a specific pattern, such as parallel strips. Preferably, the light emitter 142 is configured to emit light in a limited angle which is substantially parallel to the running track. In one embodiment, the light emitter may be an IR LED or laser.
Based on the analysis above, Wei describes a time of flight sensor as required by the claims, when giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of that term consistent with the Specification. However, Potash and Lee explicitly teach the time of flight limitations now recited in the newly amended independent claims.
Applicant argues that the combination of Wei and another reference teaching a time of flight sensor would not be obvious because Wei’s system relies on capturing and processing full images or patterns to extract position and speed through spatial analysis and frame to frame comparison. Examiner notes that a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Wei describes a time of flight sensor, and that prior art teachings of time of flight sensors could indeed be substituted for the sensor of Wei reasonably, because both sensors are performing the function of position/distsance sensing on a treadmill, and there is a well documented history of using time of flight sensors for this purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Wei to include an art-recognized sensor for the purpose of sensing distance and or position of a user on a treadmill. Similar logic applies to Pixart and Santra as applied to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892 for cited art of interest.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNDHARA M GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784