DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 24th July, 2026.
Claims 12-13 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 12-21 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-10, filed on 24th July, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sakimura’013, Sakimura’137 and Sakimura is stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakimura et al. (US 20140233013 A1, hereinafter “Sakimura’013”, modified in view of Sakimura et al. (US 20160291137 A1, hereinafter “Sakimura’137”), in view of Sakamaki et al. (WO 2021009832 A1, hereinafter “Sakamaki”).
Regarding claim 12, Sakimura’013 teaches a pulsed LIDAR system (Sakimura’013; [0042], light modulator 5 generates the pulses of the transmission seed light and add modulation of the frequency), adapted to determine a value of a Doppler effect frequency shift (Sakimura’013; [0001], detecting the Doppler shift) which is undergone by a series of radiation pulses successively emitted by the system towards a target, between portions of the pulses as received after retroreflection or backscattering on the target and said pulses as emitted by the system (Sakimura’013; [0047], the transmit-receive optical system 8 receives scattered light), and to provide, based on the value determined for the Doppler effect frequency shift, an estimate of a speed component of the target (Sakimura’013; [0034], measuring the wind speed by detecting the Doppler shift of the scattered light due to the aerosol) which is parallel to an optical direction of emission of the system,
the system comprising:
- a transmission path, configured to produce the series of pulses (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, [0035]-[0036], light source 1 and 2 pass to the optical coupler 3 [0035] and optical branching coupler 4 [0039], than pass to light modulator 5; [0042], light modulator 5 generates the pulses (with time gate [0043]) and add modulation of the frequency (f1+fM and f2+fM); [0045]-[0047], the modulated light pass to the optical fiber amplifier 6, optical circulator 7 and the transmit-receive optical system 8 to the atmosphere),
- a detection path, configured to detect the pulse portions received after retroreflection or backscattering on the target, and to produce heterodyne detection signals which correspond to the pulses of the series (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, [0047], [0053]-[0054], the transmit-receive optical system 8 receives scattered light (undergoes the Doppler shift due to the aerosol moves along the movement of the atmosphere (wind) [0051]) of the laser light, which is scattered by the aerosol in the atmosphere, to optical multiplexing coupler 9 and outputs the mixed light of the scattered light and the local oscillation light to a photodetector 10), and
- a spectral analysis module, adapted to carry out a spectral analysis of the heterodyne detection signals, so that the value of the Doppler effect frequency shift results from heterodyne detection contributions which correspond to the pulses of the series, wherein the system is adapted to provide an estimate of an air flow speed component when the system is pointed to emit the radiation pulses towards a portion of atmosphere which contains suspended particles forming the target, the particles being backscatterers for said radiation (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, [0031], a signal processing unit 11 extracts information about the target (such as the received signals, round-trip time, and doppler frequency of the scattered light) from the beat signal detected with the photodetector 10 and performs the processing of calculating motion specifications of the target (such as the distance to the target and velocity distribution) from the information about the target; [0034], the target is aerosol (particles such as dust suspended in the atmosphere), and an example will be described of measuring the wind speed by detecting the Doppler shift of the scattered light of the laser light due to the aerosol), and wherein:
- the system is adapted so that the value of the Doppler effect frequency shift which is determined by the spectral analysis module results from a combination of several heterodyne detection contributions which respectively correspond to the spectrally disjoint pulses and for which the central wavelength values are different (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, [0052], if the Doppler shift the laser light with frequency f1+fM and f2+fM, which is the transmission light, undergoes is fd1 and fd2, the frequencies of the scattered light are f1+fM+Fd1 and F2+fM+fd2, respectively; [0056], since the scattered light included in the mixed light, the photodetector 10 receives undergoes the frequency shift by the light modulator 5 and the Doppler shift involved in the movement of the aerosol, the frequencies of the beat signal detected by the photodetector 10 are fM+fd1 and fM+fd2; [0057], the processing unit 11 extracts from the beat signal the information about the target (e.g., Doppler frequency), and calculates the motion specification of the target (e.g., velocity distribution) from the information about the target),
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and
by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions, and then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift.
Sakimura’137 disclosed, in Fig. 3, [0106], laser radar device has similar configuration except there is a controller 15, driving circuits 14a 14b, optical combing coupler 16 are added; [0109]-[0115], the controller 15 operates one of the driving circuits 14a and 14b on the basis of a processed result acquired by a signal processing unit, thereby alternately switching between the CW laser light sources 1a and 1b to operate one of these CW laser light sources; [0118], reduce noise component in the optical detector such that the optical detector 11 can perform detection with high sensitivity and with a high degree of accuracy; [0119], only one of the optical modulator 3 is used such that the device can be simplified. In combine with Sakimura’013’s invention ([0052], [0056]-[0057] to detect Doppler shift), when using the controller with driving circuits 14a and 14b to alternately switching between the CW laser light source 1a and 1b, the ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the Doppler shift would be detected based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to alternatively input the CW laser light source 1a and 1b such that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint. In this configuration, a local calling light in putted to an optical detector 11 is only a component based on one of the CW laser light sources 1a and 1b which generates the transmission light. Therefore, a noise component in the optical detector 11 can be reduced, and the optical detector 11 can perform detection with high sensitivity and with a high degree of accuracy (Sakimura’137; [0109], [0118]).
However, Sakimura’013 modified in view of Sakimura’137 still not teach,
then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift.
Sakamaki disclosed in [0053], the intensity calculation unit 24 calculates the average value Vave of the first Doppler velocity V1, the second Doppler velocity V2, the third Doppler velocity V2, and the forth Doppler velocity V4, as shown in the following equation (7). Vave=(V1+V2+V3+V4)/4; [0054], the intensity calculation unit 24 outputs to the outside the actual vortex intensity calculated as a result of detecting turbulence, the actual vortex movement velocity Vds output from the vortex parameter calculation unit 23, and the actual vortex position output from the vortex parameter calculation unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is by averaging the Doppler velocity value predictably to improve SNR/accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12, wherein the transmission path is further configured so that any two successively emitted pulses are spectrally disjoint by at least 10 MHz, preferably at least 20 MHz, and at most 2000 MHz (Sakimura’013; [0022], [0070], difference between f1 and f2 is greater than the gain bandwidth of stimulated Brillouin scattering (about several tens to 100 MHz [0065]) occurring in an optical fiber).
Regarding claim 14, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12.
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
wherein the transmission path is further configured so that the series of pulses repeats a constant sequence of central wavelength values for the pulses.
Sakimura’137 disclosed, in paragraph [0109], the controller 15 operates one of the driving circuits 14a and 14b on the basis of a processed result acquired by a signal processing unit 12 (the operating states of the CW laser light sources 1a and 1b), thereby alternately switching between the CW laser light sources 1a and 1b to operate one of these CW laser light sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions; wherein the transmission path is further configured so that the series of pulses repeats a constant sequence of central wavelength values for the pulses taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to alternatively input the CW laser light source 1a and 1b. In this configuration, a local calling light in putted to an optical detector 11 is only a component based on one of the CW laser light sources 1a and 1b which generates the transmission light. Therefore, a noise component in the optical detector 11 can be reduced, and the optical detector 11 can perform detection with high sensitivity and with a high degree of accuracy (Sakimura’137; [0109], [0118]).
Regarding claim 16, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12, wherein the transmission path is further configured so that a number of different central wavelength values for the pulses in the series is between 2 and 16 inclusive (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, [0020]-[0021], light source 1 (f1) and light source 2 (f2)).
Regarding claim 21, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12, wherein at least one of the transmission path and the detection path is implemented by optical fiber technology, to interconnect components of said transmission path or detection path respectively (Sakimura’013; Fig. 1, optical fiber is defined by solid line and can been seen in the figure to connect through transmission path and detection path).
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakimura’013, modified in view of Sakimura’137, in view of Sakamaki, in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20190018115 A1, hereinafter “Schmitt”).
Regarding claim 15, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 14.
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
wherein the transmission path is further configured so that differences between the central wavelength values which relate to pairs of successively emitted pulses, within the repeated sequence, are constant.
Schmitt disclosed in paragraph [0154], a laser transmitter 12 is provided which is constructed in such a manner that it periodically emits in its continuous pulses series over a particular number M of adjacent laser pulses at a measurement frequency (which corresponds to the repetition rate of the laser) FMessung at different optical frequencies f1-fM at a frequency spacing Δfn.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions; wherein the transmission path is further configured so that the series of pulses repeats a constant sequence of central wavelength values for the pulses taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include wherein the transmission path is further configured so that differences between the central wavelength values which relate to pairs of successively emitted pulses, within the repeated sequence, are constant taught by Schmitt with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that it is provided at the same time for the overall duration of the period of the emission of these M pulses being longer than the duration between pulses at the limit frequency. This provides for the advantage that the received signals of these M adjacent transmission pulses are always different from each other by their different optical frequency in addition to their mutual time delay (phase difference) (Schmitt, [0154]).
Regarding claim 18, Sakimura’013 teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12, wherein the transmission path comprises:
- at least one modulator, arranged to modify the initial laser radiation in accordance with a modulation signal applied to at least one control input of said modulator (Sakimura’013; Fig. 4, [0042], light modulator 5 generates the pulses (with time gate [0043]) and add modulation of the frequency (f1+fM, f2+fM…) implies there is a controller to control the modulation signal); and
- a controller, connected so as to apply the modulation signal to said at least one control input (same as above),
and a reference input of the detection path, which is used for heterodyne detection, is connected to a secondary output of the transmission path which is located between the laser emission source and the modulator (Sakimura’013; [0040], the optical branching coupler 4 splits the light into two optical paths to light modulator 5 as the transmission seed light and to the optical multiplexing coupler 9 as the local oscillation light for coherent detection).
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
- a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation;
said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different,
Schmitt disclosed in Fig. 9, paragraph [0197], a lidar arrangement 10 for heterodyne reception comprising a master oscillator 24 tunable by means of an electro-optical modulator 46; [0198], the optical base frequency of the pulsed oscillator 24 is held at this frequency, but its pulse radiation is successively shifted in fixed steps f1, f2, f3, …fM at a frequency spacing Δfn [0154] using an external modulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different taught by Schmitt with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that a laser transmitter is provided to emits its continuous pulse series in which successive pulses respectively comprise a specific frequency shift to each other by using a electro-optical modulator and this can provide a higher laser repetition rate (Schmitt; [0014]-[0015]) predictably to improve the SNR.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakimura’013, modified in view of Sakimura’137, in view of Sakamaki, in view of LaChapelle (US 20200049821 A1, hereinafter “LaChapelle”).
Regarding claim 17, Sakimura’013 teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 12.
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
wherein the transmission path is further configured so that durations between successively emitted pulses vary over the course of the series of pulses.
LaChapelle disclosed in Fig. 18B, [0159], illustrates an example “chirped” pulse train with increasing intervals between successive pulses, τs, τs+Δ, to τs+3Δ. A chirped signal can have an increasing PRF or a decreasing PRF, and the interval can change according to any suitable principle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include wherein the transmission path is further configured so that durations between successively emitted pulses vary over the course of the series of pulses taught by LaChapelle with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using chirped signal to increasing/decreasing PRF, predictably to reduce the probability of cross-talk and otherwise improve reliability of detection (LaChapelle; [0159]-[0160]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakimura’013, modified in view of Sakimura’137, in view of Sakamaki, in view of Schmitt, in view of Keyser et al. (US 20070263224 A1, hereinafter “Keyser”.
Regarding claim 19, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the pulsed LIDAR system as recited in claim 18.
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
wherein the modulator is a phase modulator,
and the modulation signal is a phase modulation signal composed of temporally disjoint sequences of linear phase-shift ramps, the linear phase-shift ramps being identical and successive within each sequence and having different slopes between different sequences, and the sequences of linear phase-shift ramps corresponding one-to-one to the pulses emitted by the LIDAR system.
Schmitt as disclosed in Fig. 9, paragraph [0197], a lidar arrangement 10 for heterodyne reception comprising a master oscillator 24 tunable by means of an electro-optical modulator 46; [0198], the optical base frequency of the pulsed oscillator 24 is held at this frequency, but its pulse radiation is successively shifted in fixed steps f1, f2, f3, …fM using an external modulator. This continuously shifts the fundamental frequency of a pulse is considered that a temporally discreate modulation signal is generated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different; a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different; a temporally discreate modulation signal is generated taught by Schmitt with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using phase modulator to modulate the initial light source to successively shifted in fixed steps f1, f2, f3, …fM such that to provide a higher laser repetition rate (Schmitt; [0014]-[0015]) predictably to improve the SNR.
However, Sakimura’013 modified in view of Schmitt still not teach,
wherein the modulator is a phase modulator,
and the modulation signal is a phase modulation signal composed linear phase-shift ramps, the linear phase-shift ramps being identical and successive within each sequence and having different slopes between different sequences, and the sequences of linear phase-shift ramps corresponding one-to-one to the pulses emitted by the LIDAR system.
Keyser disclosed in Paragraph [0024], the modulator 36 uses a serrodyne modulation waveform to accomplish frequency shifting. For example, the CCW light beam from the light source 12 is phase modulated with a serrodyne signal whereby a phase ramp is applied to the input light beam. By driving the modulator 36 with a continuous and linear phase ramp, a frequency shift maybe obtained, that is proportional to the slope of the phase ramp. This disclosed how the frequency shifted of the modulated signal can be achieved by using phase modulator with linear phase ramp. In combine with Schmitt’s invention of modulating the radiation with successively shifted in fixed steps f1, f2, f3…fM using electro-optical modulator and Keyser’s invention of phase modulator to accomplish frequency shift with a linear phase ramp, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the claim limitation of “the modulation signal is a phase modulation signal composed linear phase-shift ramps, the linear phase-shift ramps being identical and successive within each sequence and having different slopes between different sequences, and the sequences of linear phase-shift ramps corresponding one-to-one to the pulses emitted by the LIDAR system” can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different; a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different; a temporally discreate modulation signal is generated taught by Schmitt, include the phase modulation signal composed of linear phase-shift ramps to accomplish frequency shifting taught by Keyser with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using phase modulator with serrodyne signal whereby a linear phase ramp is applied to the input light beam. By driving the modulator 36 with a continuous and linear phase ramp, a frequency shift maybe obtained that is proportional to the slope of the phase ramp (Keyser; [0024]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakimura’013, modified in view of Sakimura’137, in view of Sakamaki, in view of Schmitt, in view of Izutsu et al. ("Integrated Optical SSB Modulator/Frequency Shifter", November 1981, Vol. QE-17, NO. 11, IEEE J. Quantum Electronics, hereinafter “Izutsu”).
Regarding claim 20, Sakimura’013 as modified above teaches the LIDAR system as recited to claim 18.
Sakimura’013 does not teach,
wherein the modulator comprises a recombination Mach-Zehnder interferometer, and two secondary Mach-Zehnder interferometers which are arranged one each on two separate optical propagation paths of the recombination Mach- Zehnder interferometer, and comprises means for applying the following phase shifts:
- a first phase shift, which is applied between two separate optical propagation paths of a first of the two secondary Mach-Zehnder interferometers, and which is equal to a sum of pi and a first phase shift component which varies sinusoidally as a function of time;
- a second phase shift, which is applied between two separate optical propagation paths of a second of the two secondary Mach-Zehnder interferometers, and which is equal to a sum of pi and a second phase shift component which varies sinusoidally as a function of time, said first and second phase shift components which vary sinusoidally as a function of time having a common frequency and being in phase quadrature with each other; and
- a third phase shift, which is applied between the two optical propagation paths of the recombination Mach-Zehnder interferometer, and which is equal to plus or minus half of pi, the common frequency of the first and second phase shift components which vary sinusoidally as a function of time determining a difference between the central wavelength value of the emitted pulse and a wavelength value of the initial laser radiation which is produced by the laser emission source.
Izutsu disclosed in Fig. 1-3, page 2225, right column, line 1-39, a schematic diagram of the integrated light SSB modulator/frequency shifter. These modulators are divided into two pairs (mod 1, 2 and 3, 4) as balanced modulators (I and II) by setting the phase shifters to obtain an optical phase difference corresponding to one half-wavelength between the two input light waves in each pair of phase modulators (equivalent to 1st/2nd phase shift). Moreover, the two balanced modulators are fed optically and electrically in quadrature (equivalent to 1st and 2nd phase shits components being in phase quadrature with each other). Fig. 2 shows the optical spectra at several points in Fig. 1, where the angular frequencies of the input light and modulating waves are ω and Ω, respectively; 3rd phase shift is applied between two optical paths as shown in Fig. 1 with π/2. The results after phase modulators (mod 1-4) is shown in Fig. 2(e).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the pulsed LIDAR system taught by Sakimura’013 to include the transmission path is further configured so that two pulses successively emitted towards the target are spectrally disjoint and associated with respective central wavelength values which are different, and by determining an elementary value for the Doppler effect frequency shift based on each heterodyne detection spectral contribution, independently of the other heterodyne detection spectral contributions taught by Sakimura’137, include then averaging the elementary values to calculate a final value of the Doppler effect frequency shift taught by Sakamaki, include a laser emission source, adapted to produce an initial laser radiation; said modulation signal being such that the initial laser radiation is transformed by the modulator into the series of pulses in which two successive pulses are spectrally disjoint and have central wavelength values which are different taught by Schmitt, include the modulator comprises a recombination Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI), and two secondary Mach-Zehnder interferometers for applying the phase shifts taught by Izutsu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the phase modulator with a recombination MZI, and two secondary MZI for applying specific phase shifts as expected (Izutsu; in Fig. 1-3, page 2225, right column, line 1-39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuroda et al. (US 7023376 B1) disclosed in column 4, last paragraph, First, the timing control unit 12 starts instruction of the switching timings of the two oscillation frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 (Step 500). From then on, this alternately periodically gives the instruction of the switching timing of the two oscillation frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 to the modulator 24 of the transmission unit 20 and the analog circuit 33 of the reception unit 30. Therefore, from then on, the transmission unit 20 transmits the continuous waves of the two oscillation frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2 alternately, periodically, and the reception unit 30 detects the echoes from the object for each of the oscillation frequencies F.sub.1, F.sub.2. When the reception unit 30 starts the detection of the echoes from the object, the FFT unit 13A of the first frequency analysis unit 13 fetches the sampled signals 300A.sub.1, 300A.sub.2, . . . , 300A.sub.N, . . . from the A/D converter 34 of the reception unit 30 on N pieces basis by oscillation frequency, and analyzes the N pieces of the sampled signals 300A.sub.1, 300A.sub.2, . . . , 300A.sub.N, . . . into the frequency components by the Fast Fourier Transform (Step 501). Thus, after the frequency spectra of the frequency resolution 1/(NT)[1/sec] are obtained by oscillation frequency, the FFT unit 13A detects each peaks of the frequency spectra by threshold processing, and outputs the frequencies f.sub.d1, f.sub.d2 and the phases .phi..sub.1, .phi..sub.2 of each peak signals to the measurement calculation unit 15 as the information necessary for calculating the distance Range to an object and the relative velocity Rate of the object (Step502). Here, as shown in FIG. 6, the phases .phi..sub.1, .phi..sub.2 of the peaks of each frequency spectra are given by the angles formed by the real axis Real and peaks 600, 601 of each frequency spectra by the complex representation. Column 5 second paragraph, Thereafter, the measurement calculation unit 15 judges whether or not a first frequency band established to include the Doppler frequency by the transmission wave and the echoes from a moving object moving at the same speed as the radar 100 (for example, a frequency band of an appropriate bandwidth, set to include 0 Hz) includes the average value (f.sub.d1+f.sub.d2)/2 of the frequencies f.sub.d1, f.sub.d2 of the two peak signals detected by the first frequency analysis unit 13 (Step 503); the measurement calculation unit 15 judges whether or not a second frequency band established to include the Doppler frequency by the transmission wave and the echoes from a stopping object (for example, a frequency band of an appropriate bandwidth, set by a speed corresponding to the relative velocity of the stopping object to the radar) includes the average value (f.sub.d1+f.sub.d2)/2 of the frequencies f.sub.d1, f.sub.d2 of the peak signals detected by oscillation frequency by the first frequency analysis unit 13 (Step 507).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645