DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 02/13/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 02/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 have been considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented arguments.-
(A) With respect to claim 19, the arguments stated Lauridsen sharing coverage availability estimates with a wireless device does not disclose "determining, based at least in part on the control signaling, one or more parameters for a power saving mode of operation of the UE," as recited in amended independent claim 19, for at least the reason that the coverage availability estimates of Lauridsen are not the same as "parameters for a power saving mode of operation of the UE," as claimed. The network-accessible service entity of Lauridsen sharing the uploaded coverage availability estimates also does not disclose "transmitting a control message to the UE in accordance with the one or more parameters," as recited in independent claim 19, for at least the reason that the network-accessible service entity of Lauridsen has not determined any such parameters. Thus, Lauridsen does not disclose at least the aforementioned features of independent claim 19. (REMARKS, Pages 9 of 14 – 10 of 14)
(B) With respect to claim 1, the arguments stated that the UE of Xu reporting a time duration for a CONNECTED state does not teach or suggest "transmitting the one or more parameters for the power saving mode of operation that correspond to the discontinuous service coverage pattern to the network entity," as recited in amended independent claim 1. For example, a time duration for a CONNECTED state is not the same as "one or more parameters for the power saving mode of operation that correspond to the discontinuous service coverage pattern," "the discontinuous service coverage pattern indicated in the service coverage assistance information," as recited in amended independent claim 1, for at least the reason that Xu makes no mention of the time duration for the CONNECTED state corresponding to an indicated discontinuous service coverage pattern. . (REMARKS, Pages 12 of 14 – 13 of 14)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
(A) With respect to claim 19, Lauridsen discloses –
[0020] In connection with a wireless communication system comprising one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes there is provided determining, at a wireless device, an availability of a connection to a mobile non-terrestrial access node and determining coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node. If the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode is entered or one or more data transmission attempts are controlled on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. The periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node facilitates determining when services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode ……. , on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates.
[0063] …… phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0065] …. the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined by a network accessible service entity and the phase 504 comprises transmitting, by the wireless device, a request for coverage availability estimates of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes to a network accessible service entity….. The coverage availability estimates shared by the network accessible service entity may have been uploaded to the network accessible service entity by the wireless device or other wireless devices.
See also Fig. 6. Box 602, Box 604, Box 606, Box 608
[0073] Phase 602 comprises receiving, at the network accessible service entity from one or more wireless devices, coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes of a communication system.
[0074] Phase 604 comprises receiving, at the network accessible service entity from a wireless device, at least one request for coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access nodes.
[0075] Phase 606 comprises determining, at the network accessible service entity, one or more coverage availability estimates of a mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a location of the wireless device.
[0076] Phase 608 comprises transmitting, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, the determined coverage availability estimates to the wireless device.
[0077] Since the network accessible service entity provides the coverage availability estimates associated with the location of the wireless device, the wireless device does not necessarily need to determine the coverage availability estimate itself … the network accessible service entity facilitates adapting operation of the wireless device according to the periodicity of the coverage provided by the mobile non-terrestrial access node. …
[0080] the phase 606 comprises transforming the coverage availability estimates indicating a likelihood of coverage into a throughput estimate. Then phase 608 comprises determining one or more time slots for a data transmission on the basis of the throughput estimate, and causing the data transmission on the determined time slots to the mobile non-terrestrial access node. In this way the data transmissions from the network accessible service entity to the wireless device may be performed, such that the number of required transmissions and/or the data rate may be kept at acceptable levels and thus supporting power saving at the wireless device.
[0081] In an example, phase 606 comprises the wireless device requesting the mobile non-terrestrial access node for one or more time slots for the data transmission and when the wireless device receives a scheduling grant for the one or more time slots, the wireless device may initiate the data transmission.
It is construed from above teaching of Lauridsen (Fig. 5, Fig. 6, [0020, 0062, 0063, 0065, 0073-0077, 0080-0081]) that, based on coverage estimate uploaded by wireless device or UE and subsequent request or a control signaling by UE, further determining periodicity of the coverage availability/unavailability or discontinuous service coverage pattern provided by the mobile non-terrestrial access node for the UE and determines time slots or time periods for transmission according to the determined periodicity of discontinuous service coverage pattern and transmits scheduling grant for the UE at 608 to support UE PSM based on which UE initiates data transmission, and correspondingly at 506 UE determines the periodicity of discontinuous service coverage pattern of the mobile non-terrestrial access node is an indication for power saving mode and time periods for data transmission.
Accordingly, Lauridsen teaches “determining, based at least in part on the control signaling, one or more parameters for a power saving mode of operation of the UE corresponding to a discontinuous service coverage pattern for the UE; and
transmitting a control message to the UE in accordance with the one or more parameters”, as required by claim 19.
Therefore, claim 19 and similarly claim 30 are rejected.
(B) With respect to claim 1, Xu discloses –
[0004] For an NTN, a discontinuous coverage scenario can happen in space and/or a time domain due to a satellite (and a UE) movement. It may lead to additional and unnecessary power consumption, which is at least essential to IoT devices. Meanwhile, the regular trajectory of NTN platforms (e.g., a LEO satellite) as well as the low mobility of IoT devices provide room for an enhancement. The present disclosure provides novel methods and apparatus for a UE's power saving and enhancements in a discontinuous coverage scenario in an NTN.
[0005] Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method, which may be performed by a UE. The method includes: determining a time; and entering a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE at the determined time, wherein the determined time is associated with: a timer relating to the PSM of the UE; and/or a coverage interruption of a network.
Fig. 3, [0037] As shown in FIG. 3, both timer T3324 and timer T3412 start when the UE leaves a CONNECTED state and enters an IDLE state. Upon timer T3324 expiration, the UE may enter a PSM as shown in FIG. 3 …..
[0108] (1) The network device configures Timer 1 for the UE, and Timer 1 expires at the end of network coverage interruption for the UE, so that UE leaves a PSM when Timer 1 expires or when both Timer 1 and Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) expire. [0109] (2) The network device configures Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3324) for the UE before the UE enters an IDLE or inactive state in a message other than a network response for an Attach or TAU/RAU procedure, so that the UE leaves the PSM when Timer 3 expires.
Fig. 8 Operation 804,
[0140] The UE may request values or report the time according to a no-coverage window (and a requesting reason) to a RAN device (if an inactive state is supported) …… The UE may change expiration rule(s) of timer T3324 or timer T3412. …. NAS may need to know the final duration of PSM ….
[0141] in operation 801, UE 810 may request to network device 820 for time value(s) of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) in a message….. in operation 801, UE 810 may report the time according to no-coverage window to network device 820. ….. UE 810 may further report a requesting reason to network device 820. For example, the requesting reason may be a PSM for a network coverage interruption.
[0142] In operation 802, UE 810 may receive the time value(s) of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) from network device 820. …… In operation 803, UE 810 may offset the received time duration of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) with its time duration being in a CONNECTED state. For example, the time to enter or leave a PSM of UE 810 is computed as “the received time duration of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412)” minus “the time duration of UE 810 being in the CONNECTED state”.
[0143] In operation 804, UE 810 may report its time duration of being in the CONNECTED state to network device 820. In operation 805, UE 810 enters a PSM when Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) expires, and UE 810 leaves the PSM when Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) expires.
It is obvious from above teaching of XU (Fig. 3, Fig. 8, [0004, 0005, 0037, 0108, 0140-0143]) that UE request to network for timers entering and exiting PSM corresponding to no-coverage window or discontinuous coverage scenario when operating in NTN, receives the timers from network, adjusts the timers according to its own PSM operation with respect to the discontinuous coverage scenario and reports the adjusted timers as final parameter for its PSM operation.
Accordingly, Xu teaches “transmitting the one or more parameters for the power saving mode of operation that correspond to the discontinuous service coverage pattern to the network entity”.
Therefore, claim 1 and similarly claim 28 are rejected by Lauridsen in view of Xu..
Dependent claims 2-18, 20-27 and 29, being dependent on claims 1, 19 and 28, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20, 22, 26-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’).
Regarding claim 19, LAURIDSEN teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity (
Fig. 1, a gNB 104 and/or non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, are in a wireless network communication with user device 100,
[0030] Fig. 1 shows a part of an exemplifying radio access network.
[0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites.), comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating that a user equipment (UE) is receiving discontinuous service coverage (
Fig. 5 , Phase 504, [0063] …… phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0065] …. the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined by a network accessible service entity and the phase 504 comprises transmitting, by the wireless device, a request for coverage availability estimates of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes to a network accessible service entity….. The coverage availability estimates shared by the network accessible service entity may have been uploaded to the network accessible service entity by the wireless device or other wireless devices.
See also Fig. 6. Box 602, Box 604,
[0073] Phase 602 comprises receiving, at the network accessible service entity from one or more wireless devices, coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes of a communication system.
[0074] Phase 604 comprises receiving, at the network accessible service entity from a wireless device, at least one request for coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access nodes.
(Construed from Fig. 5, Fig. 6, [0063, 0065, 0073-0074] that the network accessible service entity or network entity receives control information including coverage availability estimates and a request from wireless device or UE that UE, the coverage estimate indicates availability/unavailability of service coverage or discontinuous service coverage of mobile non-terrestrial access node));
determining, based at least in part on the control signaling, one or more parameters for a power saving mode of operation of the UE corresponding to a discontinuous service coverage pattern for the UE (
[0020] In connection with a wireless communication system comprising one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes there is provided determining, at a wireless device, an availability of a connection to a mobile non-terrestrial access node and determining coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node. If the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode is entered or one or more data transmission attempts are controlled on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. The periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node facilitates determining when services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.
Fig. 5, Phases 504, 506,
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode ……. , on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates.
[0065] …. the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined by a network accessible service entity ……
See also Fig. 6 Box 606, Box 608,
[0075] Phase 606 comprises determining, at the network accessible service entity, one or more coverage availability estimates of a mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a location of the wireless device.
[0076] Phase 608 comprises transmitting, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, the determined coverage availability estimates to the wireless device.
[0077] Since the network accessible service entity provides the coverage availability estimates associated with the location of the wireless device, the wireless device does not necessarily need to determine the coverage availability estimate itself … the network accessible service entity facilitates adapting operation of the wireless device according to the periodicity of the coverage provided by the mobile non-terrestrial access node. …
[0080] the phase 606 comprises transforming the coverage availability estimates indicating a likelihood of coverage into a throughput estimate. Then phase 608 comprises determining one or more time slots for a data transmission on the basis of the throughput estimate, and causing the data transmission on the determined time slots to the mobile non-terrestrial access node. In this way the data transmissions from the network accessible service entity to the wireless device may be performed, such that the number of required transmissions and/or the data rate may be kept at acceptable levels and thus supporting power saving at the wireless device.
[0081] In an example, phase 606 comprises the wireless device requesting the mobile non-terrestrial access node for one or more time slots for the data transmission and when the wireless device receives a scheduling grant for the one or more time slots, the wireless device may initiate the data transmission.
(Construed from above teaching of Lauridsen (Fig. 5, Fig. 6, [0020, 0062, 0063, 0065, 0073-0077, 0080-0081]) that, based on coverage estimate uploaded by wireless device or UE and subsequent request or a control signaling by UE, further determining periodicity of the coverage availability/unavailability or discontinuous service coverage pattern provided by the mobile non-terrestrial access node for the UE and determines time slots or time periods for transmission according to the determined periodicity of discontinuous service coverage pattern and transmits scheduling grant for the UE at 608 to support UE PSM based on which UE initiates data transmission, and correspondingly at 506 UE determines the periodicity of discontinuous service coverage pattern of the mobile non-terrestrial access node is an indication for power saving mode and time periods for data transmission.); and
transmitting a control message to the UE in accordance with the one or more parameters (
Fig. 5, Phases 504, 506,
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode ….
[0063] …… phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates ….
[0065] receiving, at the wireless device, the coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a current geographical location of the wireless device from the network accessible service entity. In this way the wireless device may utilize coverage availability estimates that are shared by the network accessible service entity.
See also Fig. 6, Box 608,
[0076] Phase 608 comprises transmitting, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, the determined coverage availability estimates to the wireless device.
See also [0080] cited above which support box 506).
Regarding claim 20, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19, wherein determining the one or more parameters comprises: receiving, from the UE or a radio access network entity, an indication of the one or more parameters (
[0065] transmitting, by the wireless device, a request for coverage availability estimates of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes to a network accessible service entity, and receiving, at the wireless device, the coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a current geographical location of the wireless device from the network accessible service entity. In this way the wireless device may utilize coverage availability estimates that are shared by the network accessible service entity. The coverage availability estimates shared by the network accessible service entity may have been uploaded to the network accessible service entity by the wireless device or other wireless devices.).
Regarding claim 22, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: transmitting the control message during an active time period indicated by the one or more parameters (
[0022] An example of a power save mode is a sleep mode after which the wireless device or a part of the wireless device wakes up to an operation mode having a higher power consumption.
[0063] the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node. Efficiency of operation of the wireless may be particularly supported by coverage availability estimates indicating a likelihood of coverage, since the transmissions may be scheduled based on the coverage likelihood estimates at time instants with the highest likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node. This is particularly useful for wireless devices with limited power sources and for which data transmission is highly deterministic such as Internet of things devices, loT -devices.
[0076] Phase 608 comprises transmitting, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, the determined coverage availability estimates to the wireless device.
(Construed that exchange of control signalling occurs during available coverage period when wireless device/UE is waked up or in active time period, since in power save mode UE sleeps)).
Regarding claim 26, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19, wherein determining the one or more parameters comprises: determining the one or more parameters based at least in part on one or more service conditions, one or more application conditions, or both, for network access (
[0060] The coverage availability estimate may indicate additionally at least some of an availability for given service quality (e.g. data rate and/or latency)…..
[0064] the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined at the wireless device on the basis of one or more measurements of at least one of signal strength and a signal quality of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.).
Regarding claim 27, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19 wherein the UE and the network entity are nodes in a non-terrestrial network (
Fig. 1, [0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites…
[0064] phase 504 that the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined at the wireless device on the basis of one or more measurements of at least one of signal strength and a signal quality of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.).
Regarding claim 30, LAURIDSEN teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (
Fig. 1, a gNB 104 and/or non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, are in a wireless network communication with user device 100,
[0030] Fig. 1 shows a part of an exemplifying radio access network.
[0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites.), comprising:
a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (
Fig. 1, a gNB 104 and/or non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes).
Further, claim 30 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 19, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-18, 21 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’) in view of Xu et al. (US 20240224176 with priority of PCT/CN2021/091495, of record, hereinafter ‘XU’).
Regarding claim 1, LAURIDSEN teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 UE 100 in a wireless network communication with a gNB 104 and/or non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes,
[0030] Fig. 1 shows a part of an exemplifying radio access network.
[0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites…), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling comprising service coverage assistance information indicating a discontinuous service coverage pattern for the UE (
Fig. 5 , [0061] Phase 504 comprises determining, at the wireless device, coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0063] phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0065] the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined by a network accessible service entity and the phase 504 comprises transmitting, by the wireless device, a request for coverage availability estimates of one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes to a network accessible service entity, and receiving, at the wireless device, the coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a current geographical location of the wireless device from the network accessible service entity. In this way the wireless device may utilize coverage availability estimates that are shared by the network accessible service entity.);
determining, based at least in part on the control signaling, one or more parameters for a power saving mode of operation of the UE corresponding to the discontinuous service coverage pattern indicated in the service coverage assistance information (
[0020] In connection with a wireless communication system comprising one or more mobile non-terrestrial access nodes there is provided determining, at a wireless device, an availability of a connection to a mobile non-terrestrial access node and determining coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node. If the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode is entered or one or more data transmission attempts are controlled on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. The periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node facilitates determining when services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode or one or more data transmission attempts to the mobile non-terrestrial access node, on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. In this way, the wireless device has information regarding when the services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.).
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose transmitting the one or more parameters for the power saving mode of operation to the network entity.
In an analogous art, XU teaches transmitting the one or more parameters for the power saving mode of operation that correspond to the discontinuous service coverage pattern to the network entity (
[0004] For an NTN, a discontinuous coverage scenario can happen in space and/or a time domain due to a satellite (and a UE) movement. It may lead to additional and unnecessary power consumption, which is at least essential to IoT devices. Meanwhile, the regular trajectory of NTN platforms (e.g., a LEO satellite) as well as the low mobility of IoT devices provide room for an enhancement. The present disclosure provides novel methods and apparatus for a UE's power saving and enhancements in a discontinuous coverage scenario in an NTN.
[0005] Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method, which may be performed by a UE. The method includes: determining a time; and entering a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE at the determined time, wherein the determined time is associated with: a timer relating to the PSM of the UE; and/or a coverage interruption of a network.
Fig. 3, [0037] As shown in FIG. 3, both timer T3324 and timer T3412 start when the UE leaves a CONNECTED state and enters an IDLE state. Upon timer T3324 expiration, the UE may enter a PSM as shown in FIG. 3 …..
[0108] (1) The network device configures Timer 1 for the UE, and Timer 1 expires at the end of network coverage interruption for the UE, so that UE leaves a PSM when Timer 1 expires or when both Timer 1 and Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) expire. [0109] (2) The network device configures Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3324) for the UE before the UE enters an IDLE or inactive state in a message other than a network response for an Attach or TAU/RAU procedure, so that the UE leaves the PSM when Timer 3 expires.
Fig. 8 Operation 804,
[0140] The UE may request values or report the time according to a no-coverage window (and a requesting reason) to a RAN device (if an inactive state is supported) …… The UE may change expiration rule(s) of timer T3324 or timer T3412. …. NAS may need to know the final duration of PSM ….
[0141] in operation 801, UE 810 may request to network device 820 for time value(s) of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) in a message….. in operation 801, UE 810 may report the time according to no-coverage window to network device 820. ….. UE 810 may further report a requesting reason to network device 820. For example, the requesting reason may be a PSM for a network coverage interruption.
[0142] In operation 802, UE 810 may receive the time value(s) of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) from network device 820. …… In operation 803, UE 810 may offset the received time duration of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) with its time duration being in a CONNECTED state. For example, the time to enter or leave a PSM of UE 810 is computed as “the received time duration of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412)” minus “the time duration of UE 810 being in the CONNECTED state”.
[0143] In operation 804, UE 810 may report its time duration of being in the CONNECTED state to network device 820. In operation 805, UE 810 enters a PSM when Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) expires, and UE 810 leaves the PSM when Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) expires.
(It is obvious from above teaching of XU (Fig. 3, Fig. 8, [0004, 0005, 0037, 0108, 0140-0143]) that UE request to network for timers entering and exiting PSM corresponding to no-coverage window or discontinuous coverage scenario when operating in NTN, receives the timers from network, adjusts the timers according to its own PSM operation with respect to the discontinuous coverage scenario and reports the adjusted timers as final parameter for its PSM operation.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 2, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises:
receiving one or more information elements indicating the discontinuous service coverage pattern from a plurality of available discontinuous service coverage patterns (
[0020] coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, …….. a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. The periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node facilitates determining when services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.
[0063] phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0065] receiving, at the wireless device, the coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a current geographical location of the wireless device from the network accessible service entity. In this way the wireless device may utilize coverage availability estimates that are shared by the network accessible service entity).
Regarding claim 3, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the one or more information elements are included in system information (
[0084] Phase 704 comprises communications between the UE and the gNB The communications may comprise signaling and/or data transmission. Examples of the signaling comprise gNB transmitting system information for facilitating synchronization for the UE to the gNB, ….. the UE establishing at least one radio resource management connection, e.g. a Radio Resource Control protocol (RRC) connection, with the gNB. Examples of the data transmission comprise the gNB transmitting ephemeris data of the gNB to the UE and the gNB transmitting coverage availability estimates of the gNB to the UE.).
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more information elements are included in system information on a broadcast channel of a serving radio cell.
XU teaches wherein the one or more information elements are included in system information on a broadcast channel of a serving radio cell (
[0052] In some embodiments, the timer relating to the PSM may include: a timer associated with the coverage interruption of the network (which may be named as CoverageInterruptionTimer or the like); a timer relating to an active time of the UE (e.g., timer T3324); and/or a timer relating to a periodic TAU procedure or a periodic RAU procedure (e.g., timer T3412). For simplicity, in the following text, the timer associated with the coverage interruption is named as “Timer 1”, the timer relating to an active time of the UE (e.g., timer T3324) is named as “Timer 2”, and the timer relating to a periodic TAU procedure or a periodic RAU procedure (e.g., timer T3412) is named as “Timer 3”.
[0053] … if Timer 1 is configured by a RAN device, the UE receives ….. a broadcast message.
[0054] In some embodiments, Timer 1 is associated with a location of the UE, a velocity of the UE, and/or coverage information received from the network. For example, the coverage information received from the network may include: a satellite ephemeris; and/or time duration of a coverage validity of the network.
(It is obvious that Timer 1 is a system information given over broadcast channel for UEs in serving cell, since Timer 1 is a common system configuration broadcasted for UEs in the cell)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 4, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the one or more parameters comprises:
transmitting the one or more parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on the discontinuous service coverage pattern
(although LAURIDSEN discloses a combination of sleep or an inactive time period and wake up or active time for the wireless device/UE associated with coverage availability estimates for power saving mode. See [0020, 0022, 0062, 0065]).
XU teaches wherein transmitting the one or more parameters comprises:
transmitting the one or more parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on the discontinuous service coverage pattern (
See Fig. 3, Fig. 8, [0004, 0005, 0037, 0108, 0140-0143] cited above for claim 1.
Fig. 8, [0140] The UE may request values or report the time according to a no-coverage window (and a requesting reason) to a RAN device (if an inactive state is supported) …… The UE may change expiration rule(s) of timer T3324 or timer T3412. …. NAS may need to know the final duration of PSM ….
[0141] …. in operation 801, UE 810 may report the time according to no-coverage window to network device 820. …
[0142] In operation 802, UE 810 may receive the time value(s) of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) from network device 820. ….. In operation 803, UE 810 may offset the received time duration of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) with its time duration being in a CONNECTED state. For example, the time to enter or leave a PSM of UE 810 …..
[0143] In operation 804, UE 810 may report its time duration of being in the CONNECTED state to network device 820 ….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 5, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the one or more parameters comprises: transmitting a registration update request message comprising the one or more parameters during an in coverage time period corresponding to the discontinuous service coverage pattern.
XU teaches wherein transmitting the one or more parameters comprises: transmitting a registration update request message comprising the one or more parameters during an in coverage time period corresponding to the discontinuous service coverage pattern (
Fig. 3, [0037] A UE can request a use of a PSM during an Attach procedure or a TAU procedure, and a network may accept the use of the PSM by providing an Active Time value for timer T3324 and/or a periodic TAU/RAU value for timer T3412. As shown in FIG. 3, both timer T3324 and timer T3412 start when the UE leaves a CONNECTED state and enters an IDLE state. Upon timer T3324 expiration, the UE may enter a PSM as shown in FIG. 3, if no PDN connection for emergency bearer services is established.
(TAU/RAU == Tracking Area Update/Registration Area Update.
See Claim 20 of XU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 7, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the discontinuous service coverage pattern based at least in part on the service coverage assistance information (
Fig. 5, Phase 504, [0065] receiving, at the wireless device, the coverage availability estimates of the mobile non-terrestrial access node associated with a current geographical location of the wireless device from the network accessible service entity).
Regarding claim 8, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the service coverage assistance information comprises ephemeris data (
[0084] the gNB transmitting ephemeris data of the gNB to the UE and the gNB transmitting coverage availability estimates of the gNB to the UE.).
Regarding claim 9, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the service coverage assistance information comprises a duration of radio cell coverage and a duration of a coverage gap (
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node….
[0063] phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
(Unavailability is construed as a duration of a coverage gap)).
Regarding claim 10, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose monitoring for one or more paging messages from the network entity during an active time period indicated by the one or more parameters.
XU teaches monitoring for one or more paging messages from the network entity during an active time period indicated by the one or more parameters (
[0052] ….the timer associated with the coverage interruption is named as “Timer 1”, the timer relating to an active time of the UE (e.g., timer T3324) is named as “Timer 2”, and the timer relating to a periodic TAU procedure or a periodic RAU procedure (e.g., timer T3412) is named as “Timer 3”.
[0112] FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary flow chart for entering and/or leaving a PSM of a UE ….. a UE may request values or report the time according to no-coverage window (and a requesting reason) to a RAN device (if an inactive state is supported) or …… No need to change NAS procedures of requesting and receiving Timer 2 or Timer 3. NAS procedures may need to know the final duration of the PSM (e.g., to avoid unnecessary paging).
(It is obvious that network knowing PSM period sends paging during active period to avoid unnecessary paging during PSM period)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 11, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the network entity, one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on the one or more parameters.
XU teaches receiving, from the network entity, one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on the one or more parameters (
Fig. 3, [0041] if configured appropriately, a UE may enter a PSM (e.g., when timer T3324 expires as shown in FIG. 3) when there is no network coverage (e.g., time instance T1 in time domain as shown in FIG. 3) to avoid unnecessary cell searching or measurement, and/or the UE may leave the PSM (e.g., when timer T3412 expires as shown in FIG. 3) in time when the network coverage restores (e.g., time instance T2 in time domain as shown in FIG. 3) for possible data reception.
[0052] the timer associated with the coverage interruption is named as “Timer 1”, the timer relating to an active time of the UE (e.g., timer T3324) is named as “Timer 2”, and the timer relating to a periodic TAU procedure or a periodic RAU procedure (e.g., timer T3412) is named as “Timer 3”.
[0075] the UE receives an additional message from the RAN device and/or the CN device, and the additional message includes a time duration offset associated with the timer relating to the PSM. The time duration offset may be represented by “a time granularity” and “a range value of the time granularity”. For example, the UE could receive additional time value of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) from the network device. The additional time value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3 may be: an offset to configured value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3; and/or an extended value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3.
(additional time value of Timers in additional message from RAN indicating one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period …. an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 12, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 11.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose starting the inactive time period upon expiry of the active time period indicated by the one or more additional parameters; and entering the power saving mode of operation during the inactive time period.
XU teaches starting the inactive time period upon expiry of the active time period indicated by the one or more additional parameters; and entering the power saving mode of operation during the inactive time period (
See Fig. 3, [0041, 0052, 0075] cited above for claim 11.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 13, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 12, exiting the power saving mode of operation upon expiry of the inactive time period (
[0020] coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, …….. a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates. The periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node facilitates determining when services of the mobile non-terrestrial access node may be utilized by the wireless device.
[0061] Phase 504 comprises determining, at the wireless device, coverage availability estimates associated with geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode.
[0063] phase 504 comprises that the coverage availability estimates indicate at least one of an availability, an unavailability and a likelihood of coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node at geographical locations of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.).
See also XU Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 14, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 11.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose wherein a duration of the inactive time period is indicated by the one or more additional parameters.
XU teaches wherein a duration of the inactive time period is indicated by the one or more additional parameters (
See Fig. 3, [0041, 0075] cited above for claim 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 15, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein a duration of the inactive time period is determined based at least in part on one or more network access conditions of one or more applications (
[0060] determining an availability metric. The availability metric may facilitate
determining coverage availability estimates indicating availability, unavailability or a likelihood of coverage at a geographical location or within a geographical area. The coverage availability estimate may indicate additionally at least some of an availability for given service quality (e.g. data rate and/or latency), availability of a selected/configured frequency band (because in NR maybe there will several frequency bands FR1, FR2, etc. used from the same satellite cell) …..
[0064] the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined at the wireless device on the basis of one or more measurements of at least one of signal strength and a signal quality of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
(Availability for given service quality or signal strength or quality are obvious indication for network access conditions of one or more applications services as known in the art)).
Regarding claim 16, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1 wherein transmitting the one or more parameters comprises: transmitting an indication that the one or more parameters are valid for a plurality of time durations (
[0062] Phase 506 comprises determining at the wireless device, if the determined coverage availability estimates indicate a periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode or one or more data transmission attempts to the mobile non-terrestrial access node, on the basis of a time period according to a periodicity of the determined coverage availability estimates.
(periodic coverage of the mobile non-terrestrial access node, a power save mode and periodicity indicates one or more parameters are valid for a plurality of time durations)).
Regarding claim 17, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the one or more parameters comprises: determining the one or more parameters based at least in part on one or more service conditions, one or more application conditions, or both, for network access (
[0060] The coverage availability estimate may indicate additionally at least some of an availability for given service quality (e.g. data rate and/or latency)…..
[0064] the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined at the wireless device on the basis of one or more measurements of at least one of signal strength and a signal quality of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.
See also LAURIDSEN teaching for claim 15.).
Regarding claim 18, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE and the network entity are nodes in a non-terrestrial network (
Fig. 1, [0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites…
[0064] phase 504 that the coverage availability estimates are at least partially determined at the wireless device on the basis of one or more measurements of at least one of signal strength and a signal quality of the mobile non-terrestrial access node.).
Regarding claim 21, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on information indicated in the control signaling.
XU teaches transmitting, to the UE, one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period, a keep alive time period, an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE based at least in part on information indicated in the control signaling (
Fig. 3, [0041] if configured appropriately, a UE may enter a PSM (e.g., when timer T3324 expires as shown in FIG. 3) when there is no network coverage (e.g., time instance T1 in time domain as shown in FIG. 3) to avoid unnecessary cell searching or measurement, and/or the UE may leave the PSM (e.g., when timer T3412 expires as shown in FIG. 3) in time when the network coverage restores (e.g., time instance T2 in time domain as shown in FIG. 3) for possible data reception.
[0052] the timer associated with the coverage interruption is named as “Timer 1”, the timer relating to an active time of the UE (e.g., timer T3324) is named as “Timer 2”, and the timer relating to a periodic TAU procedure or a periodic RAU procedure (e.g., timer T3412) is named as “Timer 3”.
[0075] the UE receives an additional message from the RAN device and/or the CN device, and the additional message includes a time duration offset associated with the timer relating to the PSM. The time duration offset may be represented by “a time granularity” and “a range value of the time granularity”. For example, the UE could receive additional time value of Timer 2 (e.g., timer T3324) and/or Timer 3 (e.g., timer T3412) from the network device. The additional time value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3 may be: an offset to configured value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3; and/or an extended value of Timer 2 and/or Timer 3.
(additional time value of Timers in additional message from RAN indicating one or more additional parameters indicating an active time period …. an inactive time period, or a combination thereof for the power saving mode of operation of the UE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting PSM parameter change by UE to network of XU to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for power saving of a user equipment (UE) and enhancements in a discontinuous service link coverage scenario in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (XU: [0001, 0004]).
Regarding claim 28, LAURIDSEN teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (
Fig. 1 UE 100 in a wireless network communication with a gNB 104 and/or non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes,
[0030] Fig. 1 shows a part of an exemplifying radio access network.
[0031] Fig. 1 shows user devices 100 and 102 configured to be in a wireless connection on one or more communication channels in a cell with an access node (such as (e/g)NodeB) 104 providing the cell.
[0042] 5G may also utilize non-terrestrial nodes 106, e.g. access nodes, to enhance or complement the coverage of 5G service, for example by providing backhauling, wireless access to wireless devices ….. The non-terrestrial nodes may comprise satellites…), comprising:
a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (
Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0045] Fig. 2 which shows a schematic block diagram of an exemplary apparatus or electronic device 50 depicted in Fig. 3.
[0046] The electronic device 50 may for example be a wireless device, mobile terminal or user equipment of a wireless communication system.
[0048] The apparatus 50 may comprise a controller 56 or processor for controlling the apparatus 50. The controller 56 may be connected to memory 58 which in embodiments of the invention may store both data and/or may also store instructions for implementation on the controller 56).
Further, claim 28 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’) in view of Xu et al. (20240224176 with priority of PCT/CN2021/091495, of record, hereinafter ‘XU’) and with further in view of Ye et al. (US 20240162976 A1 with priority of PCT/CN2021/092437, of record, hereinafter ‘YE’).
Regarding claim 6, LAURIDSEN, in view of XU, teaches the method of claim 1.
LAURIDSEN and XU do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the network entity, a message during a keep alive time period in accordance with the one or more parameters.
In an analogous art, YE teaches transmitting, to the network entity, a message during a keep alive time period in accordance with the one or more parameters (
[0030] IoT UEs can execute background applications (e.g., keep-alive messages, status updates, etc.) to facilitate the connections of the IoT network.
Fig. 2, [0059] FIG. 2 illustrates example components of a device 200 …. The components of the illustrated device 200 can be included in a UE or a RAN node.
[0079] In some aspects, the PMC 212 can control, or otherwise be part of, various power saving mechanisms of the device 200. For example, if the device 200 is in an RRC_Connected state, where it is still connected to the RAN node as it expects to receive traffic shortly, then it can enter a state known as Discontinuous Reception Mode (DRX) after a period of inactivity. During this state, the device 200 can power down for brief intervals of time and thus save power.
[0080] If there is no data traffic activity for an extended period of time, then the device 200 can transition off to an RRC_Idle state, where it disconnects from the network…
Fig. 1, [0088] Various embodiments can employ a satellite that operates in a transparent mode, forwarding signaling between a UE (e.g., 110, 400) and a gNB (e.g., 120, 400), while in other aspects (embodiments), part or all of a gNB 120, 400 can be located at the satellite node 160.
(It is obvious that UE may transmits keep alive message during a time period to maintain connectivity and implement power saving)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmitting keep-alive messages by UE to network of YE to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN and XU in order to take the advantage of a technique for maintaining network connection and performing power saving in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) and enhancing NTN communications (YE: [0030, 0079, 0085]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’) in view of Krishnamoorthy et al. (US 20180317165 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘MOORTHY’).
Regarding claim 23, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose buffering the control message in memory during an inactive time period indicated by the one or more parameters; and transmitting, from the memory, the control message during an active time period indicated by the one or more parameters subsequent to the buffering.
In analogous art, MOORTHY teaches buffering the control message in memory during an inactive time period indicated by the one or more parameters; and transmitting, from the memory, the control message during an active time period indicated by the one or more parameters subsequent to the buffering (
Fig. 4, PSM state 462, transmission 468 during state 465,
[0073] Once the station 406a and the core network 408 agree to power saving timer values and parameters, the station 406a may enter a power saving state or mode at state 462. ….. Accordingly, when there are messages directed to the station 406a while the station 406a is in the power saving state, one of the core network 408 and the access point 404 may store or otherwise save the information directed to the station 406a. Since the access point 404 and the core network 408 are aware of the negotiated timers (e.g., the idle timer and the power saving timer), both the access point 404 and the core network 408 may be aware of when the station 406a is in the power saving state.
[0074] At state 465, the station 406a may exit the power saving state. …… the core network 408 may automatically transmit, at transmission 468, a stored message 420c to the station 406a via the access point 404, which the station 406a receives at reception 469, based on the known timer duration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of buffering and transmitting messages by network to station or UE based on UE in PSM state or not of MOORTHY to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for enabling efficient and proper use of power saving modes for devices with PSM capabilities (MOORTHY: [0004]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’) in view of Ye et al. (US 20240162976 A1 with priority of PCT/CN2021/092437, of record, hereinafter ‘YE’).
Regarding claim 24, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose receiving a message from the UE during the keep alive time period indicated by the one or more parameters.
In an analogous art, YE teaches receiving a message from the UE during the keep alive time period indicated by the one or more parameters (
[0030] IoT UEs can execute background applications (e.g., keep-alive messages, status updates, etc.) to facilitate the connections of the IoT network.
Fig. 2, [0059] FIG. 2 illustrates example components of a device 200 …. The components of the illustrated device 200 can be included in a UE or a RAN node.
[0079] In some aspects, the PMC 212 can control, or otherwise be part of, various power saving mechanisms of the device 200. For example, if the device 200 is in an RRC_Connected state, where it is still connected to the RAN node as it expects to receive traffic shortly, then it can enter a state known as Discontinuous Reception Mode (DRX) after a period of inactivity. During this state, the device 200 can power down for brief intervals of time and thus save power.
[0080] If there is no data traffic activity for an extended period of time, then the device 200 can transition off to an RRC_Idle state, where it disconnects from the network…
Fig. 1, [0088] Various embodiments can employ a satellite that operates in a transparent mode, forwarding signaling between a UE (e.g., 110, 400) and a gNB (e.g., 120, 400), while in other aspects (embodiments), part or all of a gNB 120, 400 can be located at the satellite node 160.
(It is obvious that UE may transmits keep alive message during a time period to maintain connectivity and implement power saving)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmitting keep-alive messages by UE to network of YE to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for maintaining network connection and performing power saving in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) and enhancing NTN communications (YE: [0030, 0079, 0085]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (EP 3799331 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LAURIDSEN’) in view of Azizi et al. (US 20190364492 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘AZIZI’).
Regarding claim 25, LAURIDSEN teaches the method of claim 19.
LAURIDSEN does not explicitly disclose deregistering the UE based at least in part on expiry of the keep alive time period without receiving a message from the UE.
In analogous art, AZIZI teaches deregistering the UE based at least in part on expiry of the keep alive time period without receiving a message from the UE (
[0896] The data connection between terminal device 1502 and cloud service 7204 may therefore be susceptible to connection timeout at the transport layer and radio access layers. The application program of terminal device 1502 may be configured to send ‘heartbeats’ to cloud service 7204, which may be small network packets that terminal device 1502 may transmit to cloud service 7204 to notify cloud service 7204 that the TCP connection remains alive (and prevent cloud service 7204 from closing the TCP connection), which may consequently avoid TCP and radio access bearer connection timeouts. If the connection to cloud service 7204 is not alive, terminal device 1502 may re-establish the connection between the application program and cloud service 7204, thus enabling the transmission of all new and deferred push notifications.
[0897] terminal devices that would need to wake up at least every 5 minutes to send heartbeats for every open connection.
[1963] network access node 22901 may be a non-terrestrial network access node…
(heartbeats from terminal is equivalent to keepalive message and connection timeouts indicates keep alive time period without receiving a message from the UE, and UE can be in power saving mode or not in wake state during the period when there is no message transmission activity and closing connection or connection not alive causing re-establish the connection indicates deregistration of terminal device or UE by the network)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmitting keep-alive messages by terminal device or UE to network of AZIZI to the operation of the wireless device served by a mobile non-terrestrial access node of LAURIDSEN in order to take the advantage of a technique for maintaining network connection and performing power saving employing power-efficient designs to reduce battery drain and increase operation time (AZIZI: [0547, 0896-0897]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Du et al. (WO 2022160218 A1), describing DEVICE CONTROL METHOD, DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413