DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12, 14, 18-19, 21, 27-29, 35-38, 43-51, 53-64, 66-72 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/3/2023 and 7/18/2024 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 18-19, 27-29, 35-37, 43-46, 48-50, 53-55, 57-58, 62-63 and 66-72 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prakash et al (Prakash), US 2020/0322908.
Prakash is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, Prakash teaches the invention including a method for controlling time synchronization in a wireless network comprising a user equipment, UE, and a base station, the method, at the base station, comprising:
Determining time synchronization requirement between the UE and the base station (pp. 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120);
Providing a time synchronization control message for controlling a time synchronization process between the UE and the base station based on the determined time synchronization requirements (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Sending the time synchronization control message to the UE (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 3, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches wherein determining time synchronization requirements between the UE and the base station includes:
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required (pp. 0068-0069, 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is not required (pp. 0077); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required with propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required without propagation delay compensation (pp. 0068-0069, 0116).
As per claim 4, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches wherein providing the time synchronization control message comprises:
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be deactivated in response providing the time synchronization control signal to deactivate the time synchronization process; or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated and propagation delay compensation is to be activated and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process and propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated without propagation delay compensation and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process without propagation delay compensation (pp. 0068-0069); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is active and is to be changed and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to change the time synchronization process.
As per claim 6, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches the method to comprise:
Receiving a message from a core network entity of the wireless network,
Wherein sending the time synchronization control comprises sending the time synchronization control message after receipt of the message (pp. 0067-0068).
As per claim 8, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches the method to comprise:
Receiving a message from a core network entity of the wireless network, wherein the message includes information for indicating the time synchronization requirements between the UE and the base station, wherein determining time synchronization requirements comprise determining time synchronization requirements based on the received message (pp. 0067-0068, 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120).
As per claim 18, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches wherein the plurality of type of PDC includes Timing Advance, Round Trip Time, RTT, pre-compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 19, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message includes information for activating or deactivating propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 27, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message is a MAC Control Element, MAC-CE, message or a RRC message (pp. 0082-0084, 0090, 0092-0093, 0098, 0102, 0122).
As per claim 28, Prakash teaches the invention including a method for controlling time synchronization in a wireless network comprising a user equipment, UE, and a base station, the method, at the UE, comprising:
Receiving, form the base station, a time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Controlling a time synchronization process based on the received time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization control message includes information for controlling the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 29, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Prakash further teaches wherein controlling the time synchronization process comprises:
Activating the time synchronization process at the UE (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Deactivating the time synchronization process at the UE; or
Changing the time synchronization process at the UE by activating or deactivating propagation delay compensation.
As per claim 35, Prakash teaches the invention including an apparatus for a user equipment, UE, for controlling time synchronization between the UE and a base station of a wireless network, the apparatus comprising:
One or more processing units configured to:
Receive, form the base station, a time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Control a time synchronization process based on the received time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization control message includes information for controlling the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 36, Prakash teaches the invention including an apparatus for a base station for controlling time synchronization between a user equipment, UE, and a base station of a wireless network, the apparatus comprising:
One or more processing units configured to:
Determine time synchronization requirement between the UE and the base station (pp. 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120);
Provide a time synchronization control message for controlling a time synchronization process between the UE and the base station based on the determined time synchronization requirements (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Send the time synchronization control message to the UE (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 37, Prakash teaches the invention including a method comprising:
Generating and sending a time synchronization control message for controlling time synchronization between a UE and a base station of a wireless network, the time synchronization control message comprising information for controlling the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC (pp. 0110-0115, 0117-0120, 0122: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC),
Wherein the time synchronization control message includes a type information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0110-0115, 0117-0120, 0122: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 43, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 37. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message is a MAC Control Element, MAC-CE, message or a RRC message (pp. 0082-0084, 0090, 0092-0093, 0098, 0102, 0122).
As per claim 44, Prakash teaches the invention including a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by one or more processing unit of a base station of a wireless network, cause the one or more processing unit to:
Determine time synchronization requirement between the UE and the base station (pp. 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120);
Provide a time synchronization control message for controlling a time synchronization process between the UE and the base station based on the determined time synchronization requirements (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Send the time synchronization control message to the UE (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 45, Prakash teaches the invention including a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by one or more processing unit of a User Equipment, UE, of a wireless network, cause the one or more processing unit to:
Receive, form a base station, a time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); and
Control a time synchronization process based on the received time synchronization control message (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122),
Wherein the time synchronization control message includes information for controlling the time synchronization process with a particular type of propagation delay compensation, PDC, and wherein the time synchronization control message includes type of the information for indicating the particular type of PDC among a plurality of types of PDC for the time synchronization process (pp. 0111-0112, 0117-0120: RRT compensation sent in forms of TA, timing information, timing offset, timing difference, second TA granularity different than the first TA granularity, actual time difference between base station and UE represents different type of PDC).
As per claim 46, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Prakash further teaches wherein the controlling the time synchronization process comprises controlling the time synchronization process at the UE with the type of PDC indicated by the type information (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 48, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 28. Prakash further teaches wherein the plurality of type of PDC includes Timing Advance, Round Trip Time, RTT, pre-compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 49, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Prakash further teaches wherein controlling the time synchronization process comprises:
Activating the time synchronization process at the UE (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Deactivating the time synchronization process at the UE; or
Changing the time synchronization process at the UE by activating or deactivating propagation delay compensation.
As per claim 50, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Prakash further teaches wherein the controlling the time synchronization process comprises controlling the time synchronization process at the UE with the type of PDC indicated by the type information (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 53, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Prakash further teaches wherein the plurality of type of PDC includes Timing Advance, Round Trip Time, RTT, pre-compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 54, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 36. Prakash further teaches wherein the one or more processing units are configured to determine time synchronization requirements between the UE and the base station by:
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required (pp. 0068-0069, 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is not required (pp. 0077); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required with propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining time synchronization between the UE and the base station is required without propagation delay compensation (pp. 0068-0069, 0116).
As per claim 55, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Prakash further teaches wherein the one or more processing units are configured to provide the time synchronization control message by:
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be deactivated in response providing the time synchronization control signal to deactivate the time synchronization process; or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated and propagation delay compensation is to be activated and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process and propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is to be activated without propagation delay compensation and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to activate the time synchronization process without propagation delay compensation (pp. 0068-0069); or
Determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is active and is to be changed and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to change the time synchronization process.
As per claim 57, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 36. Prakash further teaches the one or more processing units are further configured to:
Receive a message from a core network entity of the wireless network, wherein the one or more processing units are configured to send the time synchronization control message by sending the time synchronization control message after the receipt of the message (pp. 0067-0068, 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120).
As per claim 58, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 36. Prakash further teaches the one or more processing units are further configured to:
Receive a message from a core network entity of the wireless network, wherein the message includes information for indicating the time synchronization requirements between the UE and the base station, wherein the one or more processing units are configured to determine time synchronization requirements comprise determining time synchronization requirements based on the received message (pp. 0067-0068, 0106-0108, 0110-0112, 0118-0120).
As per claim 62, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 36. Prakash further teaches wherein the plurality of type of PDC includes Timing Advance, Round Trip Time, RTT, pre-compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 63, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 63. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message includes information for activating or deactivating propagation delay compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 66, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 36. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message is a MAC Control Element, MAC-CE, message or a RRC message (pp. 0082-0084, 0090, 0092-0093, 0098, 0102, 0122).
As per claim 67, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 37. Prakash further teaches wherein the plurality of type of PDC includes Timing Advance, Round Trip Time, RTT, pre-compensation (pp. 0112-0115, 0117-0120, 0122).
As per claim 68-72, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claims 1, 28, 35-37. Prakash further teaches wherein the time synchronization control message includes a field for indicating the particular type of path delay compensation for the time synchronization process (pp. 0112-0115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11-12, 21, 38, 47, 51, 56, 59, 64, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al (Prakash), US 2020/0322908, in view of obviousness.
As per claims 5 and 56, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claims 1 and 36. Prakash does not teach wherein providing the time synchronization control message comprises determining, based on the determined time synchronization requirements, when the time synchronization process is active and is to be changed and in response providing the time synchronization control signal to change the time synchronization process, wherein the time synchronization control signal includes information for activating or deactivating propagation delay compensation or when the propagation delay compensation is active, information for changing the type of propagation delay compensation. However, it is common practice and well known in the art to utilize a subsequent control message, following the previous control message, to update and change the previous instruction, which includes switching between activation and deactivation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Prakash and further transmit subsequent synchronization control message to modify the previous commands in order to switch between propagation delay compensation activation and deactivation.
As per claim 7, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Prakash does not teach the method to further comprise:
Receiving a message from a core network entity of the wireless network, wherein the message includes a duration time value corresponding to a duration time for which a time synchronization process is to be active;
Wherein sending the time synchronization control message comprises sending a first time synchronization control message for activating the time synchronization process and on expiration of the duration time sending a second time synchronization control message for deactivating the time synchronization process.
However, it is common practice and well known in the art to send time sensitive messages in associated with instructions that are to be performed within a scheduled time period in order to perform scheduled commands. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Prakash and transmit time duration information to instruct and schedule specific commands to start performing or ending based on a preferred performance interval.
As per claims 11 and 59, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claims 8 and 58. Prakash further teaches to transmit the identity of the UE (pp. 0089, 0113, 0125) and propagation delay compensation information (pp. 0112-0115). Prakash does not teach wherein the message is a synchronization notification including information elements for indicating the time synchronization requirements between the UE and the base station, wherein the information elements includes a first information element indicating the identity of the UE to be configured, a second information element indicating whether the time synchronization process is to be active or inactive, and a third information element indicating whether propagation delay compensation is to be active or inactive. However, implementing a communication message with specific fields with specific information is well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Prakash and further implement the messages with multiple distinct fields designated for specific information for each corresponding field to be delivered to the receiving device for information access and retrieval.
As per claim 12, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Prakash does not teach wherein the message is a message associated with a Packet Data Unit, PDU, session between the UE and the base station. However, PDU communication is well known and expected in the art. Prakash provided motivation to utilize PDU session for communication (pp. 0052). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Prakash and further utilize various types of communication method, including PDU session communication, for transmitting messages between the network devices.
As per claims 21, 38, 47, 51, 64, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claims 1, 28, and 35-37. Prakash does not teach wherein the time synchronization control message includes a first field for controlling the time synchronization process and a second field for indicating whether propagation delay compensation is to be active or inactive. However, implementing a communication message with specific fields with specific information is well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Prakash and further implement the control messages with multiple distinct fields designated for specific information for each corresponding field to be delivered to the receiving device for information access and retrieval.
Claim(s) 14 and 60-61, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash et al (Prakash), US 2020/0322908, in view of Moon et al (Moon), US 2021/0099341.
As per claim 14, 61, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claims 1 and 36. Prakash further teaches the network to be a Time Sensitive Network, TSN (pp. 0067, 0069, 0124-0126) and the use of PDU session (pp. 0052). Prakash does not teach to further comprise detecting a Packet Data Unit, PDU, session for a time sensitive communication, TSC, for a Time Sensitive Network, TSN, application, wherein determining time synchronization requirement between the UE and the base station is based on time synchronization requirements of the detected PDU session for a TSC application. Moon teaches to establish a PDU session for a time sensitive communication, TSC, for a TSN, application, wherein determining time synchronization requirement between the UE and the base station is based on time synchronization requirements of the PDU session for a TSC application (pp. 0009-0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Prakash and Moon in order to utilize PDU session for time sensitive communication and transmit time synchronization requirements via the PDU session.
As per claim 60, Prakash teaches the invention as claimed in claim 57. Prakash further teaches to utilize PDU session between the UE and the base station for communication (pp. 0052). Prakash does not teach wherein the message includes one or more of:
Quality of Service, QoS, Information for indicating the QoS required for the PDU session; or
Session identity information for indicating whether the PDU session is a PDU session for Time Sensitive Communication, TSC, for a Time Sensitive Network, TSN, application.
Moon teaches wherein the message includes one or more of:
Quality of Service, QoS, information for indicating the QoS required for the PDU session (pp. 0093, 0102); or
Session identity information for indicating whether the PDU session is a PDU session for Time Sensitive Communication, TSC, for a Time Sensitive Network, TSN, application (pp. 0116: TSN logical bridge ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Prakash and Moon and include Quality of Service information and PDU session identification in the transmitted message to ensure the corresponding PDU session is meeting the required quality of service.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larsson et al, US 2023/0134036
Xiong, EP4009549B1
Fu et al, EP4213416A1
Fu, EP4087335A1
Jacobsen et al, US 2022/0070808
Singh et al, TW202123728A
Laselva et al, US 11,019,583
Fu, WO2021/056295A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
December 11, 2025