Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffey et al. (US Pat. No. 6204948), hereinafter referred to as Coffey in view of Sato (US Pat. No. 7742183), hereinafter referred to as Sato, and further view of Salazar et al. (US Pat. No. 5802467), hereinafter referred to as Salazar.
Referring to claim 15, Coffey discloses a control method, comprising:
in response to an electronic device receiving data in a first format while an input source device (column 2, lines 10–25 describe how the media converter receives signals in a first format (e.g., electrical signals over Ethernet)) is determined to be connected to the electronic device in a wired manner (column 1, lines 10–30, a wired connection (e.g., Ethernet, fiber optics)),
converting the data in the first format into data in a second format (column 3, lines 10–25 describe how the conversion process occurs based on the interface type (e.g., Ethernet-to-fiber conversion)),
wherein the second format is determined by the electronic device (device determines response format based on source device, processor 26, Fig. 2) based on a type of an interface that connects the input source device and the electronic device (column 5, lines 5–20 that the system determines the appropriate format for conversion based on the network interface in use.).
Sato discloses, what Coffey lacks, control data (SNMP control command packets, Fig. 3) and sending the control data in the second format (sending via address-converted IP packet, source/destination fields 601/602, Fig. 9; second network interface, 104, Fig. 1) to the input source device through the interface that connects the input source device and the electronic device (LAN connection via connector, 203, Fig. 2)
Coffey and Sato are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in the input and output field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Coffey and Sato before him or her, to modify the system of Coffey to include the data conversion of Sato.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance compatibility and adaptive communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sato with Coffey to obtain the invention as specified in the instant.
Furthermore, Salazar discloses what neither Coffey nor Sato explicitly teaches; wherein:
the electronic device comprises a processing module (control circuit, 28, Fig. 2)
and a wireless module (wireless transceiver, 22, Fig. 2),
the processing module comprises a central processing unit (microprocessor, 30, Fig. 2)
and a display processor (video processor, 38, Fig. 2),
and, the wireless module is connected to the central processing unit (wireless transceiver coupled to microprocessor, 22 to 30, Fig. 2); and
that the control data is received in a first format (control signals generated from touch screen or voice input, col. 4, lines 35–45) from a wireless external device (handset configured to transmit control signals, col. 6, lines 30–45) connected to the electronic device in a wireless manner (two-way RF/IR link between handset and base station, col. 1, lines 55–67), and then routed through a system that may include a base station for conversion and delivery to a wired input device (base station couples signals to AC power line or telephone line, col. 5, lines 5–20).
Coffey, Sato, and Salazar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in the input and output field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Coffey, Sato, and Salazar before him or her, to modify the system of Coffey to include the data conversion of Sato and the wireless control data reception and forwarding architecture of Salazar.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance compatibility, provide wireless control flexibility, and enable adaptive communication with legacy wired devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sato and Salazar with Coffey to obtain the invention as specified in the instant.
As to claim 25, Coffey discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the electronic device further comprises a microphone (audio signal handling, Col. 4, lines 20–35); and the electronic device sends audio data collected by the microphone to the input source device through the interface that connects the input source device and the electronic device (bi-directional media conversion including electrical-to-optical signal paths and vice versa, enabling transmission of audio data via the same interface, Col. 4, lines 20–35).
Claims 26 recites the corresponding limitation of claim 15. Therefore, they are rejected accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 24 and 27 - 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's amendment to claims 15 and 26 recite additional structural and functional limitations regarding the composition of the electronic device, namely that it comprises a "processing module" including a "central processing unit and a display processor," and a "wireless module" connected to the central processing unit. Applicant further argues that these amendments distinguish over the prior art of record.
However, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained for the following reasons:
The newly added limitations are still taught or rendered obvious by the combined teachings of Coffey, Sato, and Salazar (US5802467). Specifically, Salazar discloses an electronic system comprising:
A wireless transceiver connected to a microprocessor (wireless module connected to CPU, Fig. 2, elements 22 and 30);
A control circuit that includes processing logic (processing module, element 28, Fig. 2);
A video processor for display output (display processor, element 38, Fig. 2).
These elements are disclosed in the context of receiving control data via wireless communication, converting it based on interface conditions, and transmitting it over a wired connection, consistent with the original combination of Coffey and Sato.
The added limitations do not patentably distinguish the claim over the cited prior art because they merely recite conventional structural components (CPU, display processor, wireless module) commonly included in electronic control devices, as evident in Salazar.
Therefore, the amendment fails to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and the prior art combination continues to render claims 15 and 26 unpatentable.
Contact Information
/J.C.B/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184