DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 6/2/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-13, 19-25 and 27-28 have been amended, claims 14-18 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-13 and 19-28 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first compression element…configured to apply” in claims 1, 2 and 3 (corresponding language is “straps” [0034]).
“a second compression element…configured to apply” in claims 1, 2 and 3 (corresponding language is “straps” [0034]).
“an actuation module” in claim 3 (corresponding structure is at least a motor and motor barrel, [0004])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moomiaie-Qajar et al. (2008/0319359) in view of Johnson et al. (2017/0312161).
Regarding claim 3, in fig. 1 Moomiaie-Qajar discloses a system, comprising: an actuation module (structure in fig. 1 excluding straps 20); a first compression element (top strap 20) coupled to the actuation module and configured to apply compression to a limb when placed around the limb [0099]; a second compression element (middle strap 20) coupled to the actuation module and configured to apply compression to the limb when placed around the limb [0099]; motor barrels 18 included in the actuation module, at least one motor barrel being rotatable independently of another motor barrel ([0089] “a controller system may sequentially command a plurality of the actuators to activate”), but is silent regarding at least one sensor is configured to measure pressure applied by the first and second compression elements to the limb and rotating at least one motor barrel based on at least measured pressure. However, Johnson teaches at least one sensor that is configured to measure pressure applied by the first and second compression elements to the limb [0136] and rotating at least one motor barrel based on at least measured pressure [0136]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moomiaie-Qajar’s straps with the addition of a pressure sensor, as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of further helping to control the compression applied to the user ([0136] Johnson). The modified Moomiaie-Qajar discloses a controller ([0089] Moomiaie-Qajar) operably coupled to the at least one sensor ([0089] Moomiaie-Qajar, [0136] Johnson) and the actuation module ([0089] Moomiaie-Qajar), the controller configured to, in response to data obtained by the at least one sensor, automatically cause the first and second compression elements to apply compression to the limb up to a predetermined threshold of pressure ([0136] Johnson).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Moomiaie-Qajar discloses that the first compression element is a first strap (upper strap 20 Moomiaie-Qajar), the first strap having a first end (end that is coiled around the drum [0133] Moomiaie-Qajar) and a second end (end that is fixed [0133] Moomiaie-Qajar); and the second compression element is a second strap (middle strap 20 Moomiaie-Qajar), the second strap having a first end (end that is coiled around the drum [0133] Moomiaie-Qajar) and a second end (end that is fixed [0133] Moomiaie-Qajar).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Moomiaie-Qajar discloses the first strap is configured such that pulling the first end of the first strap while the second end of the first strap remains fixed and is configured to shorten the first strap around the limb ([0133] Moomiaie-Qajar).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Moomiaie-Qajar is silent regarding a plurality of sensors are configured to measure a rate of blood flow in the limb; and wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors such that the controller causes transition between first and second operating conditions based on measured rate of blood flow in the limb. However, Johnson teaches a plurality of sensors that are configured to measure a rate of blood flow in the limb (venous filling time and blood flow dynamics sensors [0065]); and wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the plurality of sensors such that the controller causes transition between first (higher compression) and second (lower compression) operating conditions based on measured rate of blood flow in the limb ([0140] “The number of heart beats can be selected based on the time needed for refilling the venous vessels with blood. Synchronization with the heart rate can be particularly useful to treat peripheral arterial disease by assisting the heart pump blood to the extremities”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Moomiaie-Qajar’s system with the addition of a plurality of sensors configured to measure a rate of blood flow in the limb, as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of further helping to control the compression applied to the user ([0140] Johnson).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Moomiaie-Qajar discloses the at least one sensor is configured to obtain data indicative of pressure applied by the first or second compression elements to the limb ([0136] Johnson).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Moomiaie-Qajar is silent regarding that the controller is further configured to, in response to data indicative of blood flow, analyze a blood flow pattern, and adjust operation of the actuation module to adjust compression applied by the first and second compression elements to the limb. However, Johnson teaches a controller that is configured to, in response to data indicative of blood flow (venous filling time and blood flow dynamics sensors [0065]), analyze a blood flow pattern ([0140] “The number of heart beats can be selected based on the time needed for refilling the venous vessels with blood. Synchronization with the heart rate can be particularly useful to treat peripheral arterial disease by assisting the heart pump blood to the extremities”), and adjust operation of the actuation module to adjust compression applied by the compression elements to the limb ([0140] “The number of heart beats can be selected based on the time needed for refilling the venous vessels with blood. Synchronization with the heart rate can be particularly useful to treat peripheral arterial disease by assisting the heart pump blood to the extremities”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Moomiaie-Qajar system with the addition of sensors configured to measure a rate of blood flow in the limb, as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of further helping to control the compression applied to the user ([0140] Johnson).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-13, 19 and 22-23 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 6/2/26, with respect to the rejection of claims 3 and 24-28 under Vess in view of Johnson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Moomiaie-Qajar in view of Johnson.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785