DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed August 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 34, 35 and 37 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farber (WO 2019/018803) in view of Sheppard et al. (WO 2016/187021 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Farber discloses a method of producing a yeast-fermented beverage comprising the steps of: (a) fermenting wort (i.e., substrate) in the presence of GY7B yeast to obtain a yeast fermented beverage.
Farber disclose GY7B yeast can produce both ethanol and lactic acid (Abstract, p. 26/L2-17). Farber also disclose the GY7B yeast is related to, but genetically and phenotypically distinct from Lachancea thermotolerans (Abstract).
While Farber discloses a method of producing a yeast-fermented beverage, i.e., sour beer, the reference is silent with respect to wine.
Sheppard et al. teaches methods for producing fermented beverages including wine, cider, mead and malt beverages (e.g., beer), the method comprising fermenting at least one carbohydrate (i.e. substrate) in the presences of Lachancea thermotolerans to produce a fermented beverage (p. 9/L14-19, p. 10/L26-p.11/L4).
Sheppard et al. teaches L. thermotolerans can produce both ethanol and lactic acid (p. 46/L4-13).
Farber and Sheppard et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely producing fermented beverages using yeast that are known to produce both ethanol and lactic acid in fermentation. Given Sheppard et al. teach it was known to produce beer, wine, mead and cider using L. thermotolerans yeast that produce both ethanol and lactic acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have made a wine in the method of Farber which uses GY7B yeast that produces both ethanol and lactic acid, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 35, modified Farber discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Farber discloses the fermented beverage is fermented in the absence of an acid producing bacteria (Abstract, p. 3/L5-18). Farber also discloses the fermentation of the substrate can occur in the presence of a least one additional yeast strain selected from the group consisting of Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Saccharomyces pastor ianus, Saccharomyces paradoxus, Saccharomyces eubayanus, Saccharomyces ludwigii, Aureobasidium pullulans, Cyberlindnera saturnus, Hansensiaspora uvarum, Hansensiaspora guilliermondii, Hansensiaspora osmophila, Hansensiasporavineae, Hansenula anomala, Issatchenkia occidentalis, Issatchenkia orientalis, Pichia kluyveri, Pichia caribbica, Pichia fermentans, Pichia kudriavzevii, Pichia Membranifaciens, Rhodotorula mucilaginosa, Torulaspora delbrueckii, Candida colliculosa, Candida shehatae, Candida tropicalis, Candida ethanolica, Candida krusei, Candida magnolia, Candida milleri, Clavispora lusitaniae, Wickerhamomyces subpelliculosus, Wickerhamomyces anomalus, Zygosaccharomyces rouxii, Zygosaccharomyces bailii, Zygosaccharomyces fermentati, Zygosaccharomycesflorentinus, Kluyveromyces lactis, Kluyveromyces marxianus, Lachancea thermotolerans, Brettanomyces bruxellensis, Brettanomyces anomalus, Brettanomyces custersianus, Brettanomyces naardenensis, Brettanomyces nanus, Dekkera bruxellensis, and Dekkera anomala (p. 3/L11-12, p. 4/L19-p. 5/L8).
Regarding claim 37, modified Farber discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Farber discloses the yeast-fermented beverage has a low pH ranging from about 2.5 to about 4.5 (p. 2/L5-22, p. p. 11/L25-p. 12/L18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Farber and Sheppard et al. fail the three criteria of the KSR test. The applied references, either alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the claimed features.
Applicant submits, “[w]hile Sheppard generally describes that the fermented beverage of Sheppard "can be wine or mead" twice in the disclosure (Sheppard, page 11, line 2, and page 17, line 16), it does not provide any descriptions as to the process of making wine, using either the yeast strain of Sheppard or in general. Furthermore, Applicant submits “Sheppard repeated states that the fermented beverage of Sheppard "is not wine" (see e.g., page 9, lines 3, 10, 19, and 27, page 11, line 3, and page 17, line 17).”
While Sheppard disclose embodiments where the fermentation is not wine, the reference clearly disclose wine. Sheppard does not teach away or discourage making wine using grape juice as the substrate for Lachancea thermotolerans. Here, the claimed process requires no more than fermenting a substrate with a specific yeast, e.g., to make wine.
Applicant submits “the applied references nor the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art provides suggestions or motivations to modify or combine reference teachings to arrive at the claimed features.”
Applicant argues “[o]ne of ordinary skill in the art ascertains that the mere fact that a yeast strain is known to produce both ethanol and lactic acid and can be useful in brewing beer is not a reasonable suggestion or motivation that the strain is also suitable for winemaking.”
Sheppard et al. does not suggest yeast strains, i.e., Lachancea thermotolerans, are unsuitable for wine. Sheppard et al. teaches methods for producing fermented beverages including wine, cider, mead and malt beverages (e.g., beer), the method comprising fermenting at least one carbohydrate (i.e. substrate) in the presences of Lachancea thermotolerans to produce a fermented beverage (p. 9/L14-19, p. 10/L26-p.11/L4).
Farber and Sheppard et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely producing fermented beverages using yeast that are known to produce both ethanol and lactic acid in fermentation. Given Sheppard et al. teach it was known to produce beer, wine, mead and cider using L. thermotolerans yeast that produce both ethanol and lactic acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have made a wine in the method of Farber which uses GY7B yeast that produces both ethanol and lactic acid, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759