DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 8-16 and 20 in the reply filed on 31 October 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that no serious search burden is present because the closest art relevant to group I would likely be the closest art relevant to groups II and III. This is not found persuasive because the instant application was determined to lack unity of invention, as detailed in the previous Office action. A U.S. national stage application filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 has different standards than U.S. restriction practice. See MPEP §1850(I) – (II).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the electronic display" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous reference to “an electronic display” which may have given proper antecedent basis to the claim. The examiner suspects the intent of the applicant was to recite this portion of the claim as “the electronic display device” and will be examined on the merits as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 11-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0251875 (hereinafter “Park”).Regarding claim 8 Park teaches a flexible display device (bendable electronic display) including a display panel (display layer) configured to display an image (abstract). Park teaches the display panel (display layer) 100 includes opposing plane sections separated by an opening angle (Figures 1-5, and paragraphs [0052], [0053], and [0074] – [0076]). Park teaches a strain gauge layer (angle sensor) 150 which senses a stress applied to the side of the display panel when folded (paragraphs [0019] – [0021], [0081] – [0085] and [0179]), which corresponds to an angle sensor configured to provide an output responsive to the opening angle. Park teaches an electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 which is configured to be compressed (deform dimensionally) under varying electrical bias (paragraphs [0062] – [0064]). Park also teaches the electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 includes two electrodes 210, 220 configured to receive the varying electrical bias (paragraph [0064]). Park teaches tensile stress values sensed by the strain gauge layer (angle sensor) 150 are supplied to a processor (drive circuit), and the processor (drive circuit) calculates the tensile stress value and applies a voltage corresponding to a required compressive force to an electrode of the electrical actuation part (paragraphs [0180] – [0184]). Park also teaches the application of the compressive force reduces the tensile stress present, which is caused by folding of the display panel (display layer) (paragraphs [0064], [0084] and [0185]). These teachings correspond to a drive circuit configured to supply the varying electrical bias to the two electrodes, thereby inducing a dimensional change in the electrodeformable layer that relieves bending strain in the display layer, wherein the drive circuit is configured to vary the electrical bias responsive to the output of the angle sensor, such that the electrical bias is dependent on the opening angle.Regarding claim 9 In addition, Park teaches tensile stress (expansion strain) occurs when the device is folded (caused by bending), and the electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 provides a compressive force (configured to contract) from a voltage provided to electrodes to reduce the tensile stress (paragraphs [0183] – [0185]), which corresponds to the bending strain is an expansion strain and the electrodeformable layer is configured to contract in response to the varying electrical bias.Regarding claim 11 In addition, Park teaches the flexible display device (bendable electronic display) further comprises a plurality of adhesive layers (one or more elastic layers) 130, which includes a flexible pressure-sensitive adhesives to alleviate bending stresses (paragraphs [0024], [0052], [0056] and [0193]).Regarding claim 12 In addition, Park teaches adhesive layers (elastic layers) 130 may be applied to attach the electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 to: the display panel (display layer) 100; and the base film 110 (paragraphs [0058] – [0059]). Park illustrates the electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 is sandwiched between the display panel (display layer) 100 and the base film 110 (Figures 1 and 3-5). These teachings correspond to two elastic layers that sandwich the electrodeformable layer.Regarding claim 13 In addition, Park teaches an embodiment where a pair of electrical actuation parts 200 are included with a pair of strain gauge sensors 150, where each strain gauge sensor 150 is located on opposite sides of the display panel 100 (Figure 20 and paragraphs [0192] – [0193]). As previously noted - Park teaches the strain gauge layer (sensor) 150 senses a stress applied to the side of the display panel (display layer) 100 when folded (paragraphs [0019] – [0021], [0081] – [0085] and [0179]), which corresponds to a sensor responsive to stress or strain in the display layer. Park teaches tensile stress values sensed by the strain gauge layer (sensor) 150 are supplied to a processor (drive circuit), and the processor (drive circuit) calculates the tensile stress value and applies a voltage corresponding to a required compressive force to an electrode of the electrical actuation part (paragraphs [0180] – [0184]), which corresponds to the drive circuit being configured to vary the electrical bias in dependence on an output of the sensor. Park also teaches the application of the compressive force reduces the tensile stress present, which is caused by folding of the display panel (display layer) (paragraphs [0064], [0084] and [0185]). The additional electrical actuation part 200 and its corresponding strain gauge layer 150 correspond to the sensor and drive circuit as presented in claim 13.Regarding claim 14 In addition, Park teaches the strain gauge layer (angle sensor) 150 measures the tensile stress applied to an adjacent layer and sends a signal to the processor (electromechanical sensor) (paragraphs [0179] – [0181]).Regarding claim 15 In addition, Park teaches the display layer may undergo in-folding or out-folding bending conditions (paragraphs [0088] and [0133] – [0137]; and Figures 1-3, 5, 11-13 and 17), which corresponds to the display layer is foldable such that the opening angle is greater than 180°.Regarding claim 16 In addition, Park teaches the processor (drive circuit) calculates the tensile stress value and applies a voltage corresponding to a required compressive force to an electrode of the electrical actuation part (paragraphs [0180] – [0184]), where the compressive force reduces tensile stress in the display layer (paragraphs [0064] and [0185] – [0186]), which corresponds to the processor (drive circuit) is a strain-relieving drive circuit. Park also teaches an embodiment where a pair of electrical actuation parts 200 are included with a pair of strain gauge sensors 150, where each strain gauge sensor 150 is located on opposite sides of the display panel 100 (Figure 20 and paragraphs [0192] – [0193]). With regard to the second electrical actuation part 200 (the flexible display device (bendable electronic display) further comprising a second electrical actuation part), Park teaches the electrical actuation part 200 comprises a lower electrode (electrically conductive support layer) 210, an upper electrode (electrically conductive sublayer) 220, and an electro-active polymer (EAP) 230 provided therebetween (paragraphs [0064]). Park teaches the EAP comprises a dielectric elastomeric material (Table 1), which corresponds to the upper electrode (electrically conductive sublayer) 220 being arranged slidably to the lower electrode (electrically conductive support layer) 210. These teachings also correspond to the EAP (dielectric layer) 230 being arranged between the lower electrode (electrically conductive support layer) 210 and the upper electrode (electrically conductive sublayer) 220. Park teaches tensile stress values sensed by the strain gauge layer (angle sensor) 150 are supplied to a processor (drive circuit), and the processor (drive circuit) calculates the tensile stress value and applies a voltage (configured to charge the electrically conductive sublayer) corresponding to a required compressive force to an electrode of the electrical actuation part (paragraphs [0180] – [0184]), which corresponds to a slack-reducing drive circuit, and urging the display layer 100 toward the lower electrode (electrically conductive support layer) 210. Regarding claim 20 In addition, Park teaches the electrical actuation part (electrodeformable layer) 200 comprises an electro-active polymer (EAP) 230 (paragraph [0064]), where the EAP includes a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (piezoelectric electroactive polymer film) (Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0155081 (hereinafter “Zeng”).Regarding claim 10 The limitations for claim 8 have been set forth above. In addition, Park teaches an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel is suitable for a flexible display panel (display layer) 100 (paragraph [0053]). Park does not explicitly teach the organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel (display layer) includes a thin-film transistor sublayer. Zeng teaches an OLED layer applied to a thin-film-transistor (TFT) substrate (thin-film transistor sublayer) (abstract and paragraph [0080]), which corresponds to a display layer including a thin-film transistor sublayer. Zeng teaches the TFT is used for driving the OLED layer (paragraph [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the OLED display panel of Park with the TFT substrate (thin-film transistor sublayer) of Zeng to provide a conventional driving means for controlling the pixels of an OLED display panel.
Conclusion
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783