DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2023 and 06/21/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14 and 17) in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 15-16) are withdrawn from consideration. It is noted that since Applicant did not provide any arguments regarding the requirement for restriction/election dated 07/15/2026, thus, Applicant’s election is being treated as without traverse.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MULTI-PASS WELDING METHOD, AND LAMINATION PATTERN CALCULATION METHOD FOR A MULTI-PASS WELD.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-14, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-14 recite “in a case where” in line 3 of claims 6, 9, 12, and in line 2 of claims 7-8, 10-11, 13-14. The phrase “in a case where” should be deleted to avoid the claims to be treated as contingent limitations.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a database” in line 4. It is noted that claim 17 depends on claim 3. Therefore, the limitation “a database” recited in claim 17 should be changed to “the database” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3 (line 3).
Similarly,
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a groove shape” in line 6. This should be changed to “the groove shape” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a groove angle” in line 6. This should be changed to “the groove angle” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a thickness” in line 6. This should be changed to “the thickness” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a step” in line 11. This should be changed to “the step” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a lamination pattern” in lines 11-12. This should be changed to “the lamination pattern” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a number of lamination layers” in line 12. This should be changed to “the number of lamination layers” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a position” in line 13. This should be changed to “the position” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodama et al. (JP 2004074212 A, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kodama discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal (weld metal is formed by beads 71, 73, 74; Kodama Fig.12) by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation (multi-pass welding includes depositing weld beads 71, 73, 74; Kodama Fig.12. Kodama Fig.12 shows the multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation) so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material (pair of base material 5 includes upper plate 5-1 and lower plate 5-2, Kodama Fig.12) constituted of an upper plate (upper plate 5-1, Kodama Fig.12) and a lower plate (lower plate 5-2, Kodama Fig.12) disposed to form a groove (groove 11, Kodama Fig.12),
wherein the weld metal (weld metal is formed by beads 71, 73, 74; Kodama Fig.12) has a plurality of layers (plurality of layers formed by beads 71, 73, 74; Kodama Fig.12) from a rear surface (rear surface, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) to a front surface (front surface, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) of the base material (base material 5 includes upper plate 5-1 and lower plate 5-2, Kodama Fig.12),
wherein the plurality of layers (plurality of layers formed by beads 71, 73, 74; Kodama Fig.12) include
a finishing layer (finishing layers including layers formed by beads 73 and 74; Kodama Fig.12) having at least two layers including an end layer (two layers formed by beads 73 and 74 including end layer formed by bead 74, Kodama Fig.12), and
a ground layer (ground layer including boundary layer formed by bead 71; Kodama Fig.12) located toward the rear surface (rear surface, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) of the base material (base material 5 includes upper plate 5-1 and lower plate 5-2, Kodama Fig.12) relative to the finishing layer (finishing layers including layers formed by beads 73 and 74; Kodama Fig.12) and including a boundary layer (boundary layer formed by bead 71; Kodama Fig.12) serving as a layer adjacent to the finishing layer (finishing layers including layers formed by beads 73 and 74; Kodama Fig.12), and
wherein the boundary layer (boundary layer formed by bead 71; Kodama Fig.12) is formed such that a position PUB of an upper-plate-side weld (position PUB of an upper-plate-side weld, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) at the boundary layer (boundary layer formed by bead 71; Kodama Fig.12) is closer to the front surface (front surface, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) of the base material (base material 5 includes upper plate 5-1 and lower plate 5-2, Kodama Fig.12) than a position PLB of a lower-plate-side weld (position PLB of a lower-plate-side weld, Kodama annotated Fig.12 below) at the boundary layer (boundary layer formed by bead 71; Kodama Fig.12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. (JP 2004074212 A, Translation is attached) in view of Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020).
Regarding claim 2, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a step for setting at least two pieces of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB based on work information,
wherein the work information at least includes information about a groove shape, a groove angle, and a thickness of the base material.
Lu teaches a multi-pass welding method (Lu Abstract & Introduction), comprising:
a step for setting at least two pieces (two pieces as shown in Lu Fig.14) of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB based on work information (It is noted that the primary reference Kodama already discloses the position PUB of the upper-plate-side weld at the boundary layer and the position PLB of the lower-plate-side weld at the boundary layer. In this case, Lu section 4.4.(2) on pages 11-12 teaches a step of calculating the position of each layer of bead, Equations (7) and (8) on page 12 calculates coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer, and Equation (9) calculates distance between those two end points; Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates. Therefore, in combination, Kodama in view of Lu teaches a step for setting at least two pieces of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB based on work information),
wherein the work information (Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates) at least includes information about a groove shape (Lu Section 4.1 and Fig.11 teach the groove geometry represented by features points A, B, C, D), a groove angle (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches groove angles extracted from the measured geometry by Equations (3) and (4)), and a thickness of the base material (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches “The plate thickness h have been manually confirmed before welding operation, or can be obtained by calculating the average thickness of steel frame plates on both sides” by Equation (1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kodama, by adding the teachings of a step for setting at least two pieces of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB based on work information, wherein the work information at least includes information about a groove shape, a groove angle, and a thickness of the base material, as taught by Lu, in order to adapt weld pass placement to the actual joint geometry and thereby improve groove coverage and reduce the risk of incomplete filing and lack of fusion.
Regarding claim 3, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a database in which work information and at least two pieces of positional information are associated with each other is provided, the work information at least including information about a groove shape, a groove angle, and a thickness of the base material, the at least two pieces of positional information being at least two pieces of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB, and the multi-pass welding method further comprises a step for setting a lamination pattern based on the database, the lamination pattern including a number of lamination layers and a position of the boundary layer.
Lu teaches a multi-pass welding method (Lu Abstract & Introduction):
wherein a database (“database”, Lu on page 10 – last paragraph) in which work information (work information includes groove geometry and plate thickness, Sections 4.1-4.2) and at least two pieces of positional information (two pieces of positional information includes coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer) are associated with each other (Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates) is provided (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches extraction of groove geometry information), the work information (work information includes groove geometry and plate thickness, Sections 4.1-4.2) at least including information about a groove shape (Lu Section 4.1 and Fig.11 teach the groove geometry represented by features points A, B, C, D), a groove angle (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches groove angles extracted from the measured geometry by Equations (3) and (4)), and a thickness of the base material (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches “The plate thickness h have been manually confirmed before welding operation, or can be obtained by calculating the average thickness of steel frame plates on both sides” by Equation (1)), the at least two pieces of positional information being at least two pieces of positional information (two pieces of positional information includes coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer) among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB (It is noted that the primary reference Kodama already discloses the position PUB of the upper-plate-side weld at the boundary layer and the position PLB of the lower-plate-side weld at the boundary layer. In this case, Lu section 4.4.(2) on pages 11-12 teaches a step of calculating the position of each layer of bead, Equations (7) and (8) on page 12 calculates coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer, and Equation (9) calculates distance between those two end points; Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates. Therefore, in combination, Kodama in view of Lu teaches positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB), and the multi-pass welding method further comprises a step for setting a lamination pattern based on the database (Lu Section 4.2 teaches matching the groove features to database welding materials, and Lu Sections 4.3-4.4 teach using welding dimensions and groove geometry to plan layers and paths), the lamination pattern including a number of lamination layers and a position of the boundary layer (Lu Section 4.4 on pages 11-12 & Fig.14 teach determining the layer number of lamination layers and position of the boundary layer (position of each weld bead and weld path are determined)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kodama, by adding the teachings of a database in which work information and at least two pieces of positional information are associated with each other is provided, the work information at least including information about a groove shape, a groove angle, and a thickness of the base material, the at least two pieces of positional information being at least two pieces of positional information among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB, and the multi-pass welding method further comprises a step for setting a lamination pattern based on the database, the lamination pattern including a number of lamination layers and a position of the boundary layer, as taught by Lu, in order to adapt weld pass placement to the actual joint geometry and thereby improve groove coverage and reduce the risk of incomplete filing and lack of fusion. Furthermore, the modification would reuse previously determined welding plans for corresponding joint geometry, thereby reducing repeated calculations and improving consistency of weld pass placement.
Regarding claim 5, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 3, Kodama also discloses the boundary layer (as explained and cited in the rejection of claim 1 above); however, Kodama does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the boundary layer is formed such that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive.
Regarding the limitation that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive (see Kodama annotated Fig.12 below where the reference Kodama teaches a certain distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a certain distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a certain difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Kodama teaches a certain distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a certain distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a certain difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB, and having a specific distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a specific distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a specific difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is not inventive according to the courts. Varying distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case, varying distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB would affect the inclination of the boundary layer, therefore influences groove filling, pass placement, and final weld profile. Thus, varying these distances affects subsequent weld pass placement and weld surface formation because they determine the amount and distribution of weld metal required for subsequent layers. Optimizing distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB would permit the finishing passes to fill the remaining groove more uniformly, thereby improving the final weld profile and reducing the risk of excessive reinforcement and overlap. Therefore, distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodama by making the boundary layer is formed such that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 10, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 discloses the method set forth in claim 3, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n),
a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached.
Kodama Embodiment Fig.15 teaches a multi-pass welding method (Kodama Fig.15):
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) (position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) (position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below),
a plurality of layers (plurality of layers includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer (predetermined layer is layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, Kodama Fig.15) of the ground layer (ground layer includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) until the boundary layer (it is noted that claim 1 of the Instant Application defines the boundary layer is included in the ground layer; thus, in this case, the boundary layer is layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4, Kodama Fig.15) is reached (Kodama Fig.15 shows plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kodama Embodiment Fig.12, by adding the teachings of in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n), a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached, as taught by Kodama Embodiment Fig.15, in order to maintain additional filling space at the lower plate for downward flowing molten metal, thereby reducing the risk of lower side overlap and improving subsequent weld layer formation.
Regarding claim 17, Kodama in view of Lu teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Kodama in view of Lu also teaches a lamination pattern calculation method for a multi-pass weld, the lamination pattern calculation method being for performing the multi-pass welding method (as explained, cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) according to claim 3,
wherein a database (“database”, Lu on page 10 – last paragraph) in which work information (work information includes groove geometry and plate thickness, Sections 4.1-4.2) and at least two pieces of positional information (two pieces of positional information includes coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer) are associated with each other (Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates) is provided (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches extraction of groove geometry information), the work information (work information includes groove geometry and plate thickness, Sections 4.1-4.2) at least including information about a groove shape (Lu Section 4.1 and Fig.11 teach the groove geometry represented by features points A, B, C, D), a groove angle (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches groove angles extracted from the measured geometry by Equations (3) and (4)), and a thickness of the base material (Lu Section 4.2 on page 10 teaches “The plate thickness h have been manually confirmed before welding operation, or can be obtained by calculating the average thickness of steel frame plates on both sides” by Equation (1)), the at least two pieces of positional information being at least two pieces of positional information (two pieces of positional information includes coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer) among positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB (It is noted that the primary reference Kodama already discloses the position PUB of the upper-plate-side weld at the boundary layer and the position PLB of the lower-plate-side weld at the boundary layer. In this case, Lu section 4.4.(2) on pages 11-12 teaches a step of calculating the position of each layer of bead, Equations (7) and (8) on page 12 calculates coordinates of two end points at opposite groove faces for selected weld layer, and Equation (9) calculates distance between those two end points; Lu Sections 4.1-4.4 on pages 9-12 teaches deriving groove geometry from measured feature points and uses that geometry and layer number to calculate endpoint coordinates. Therefore, in combination, Kodama in view of Lu teaches positional information about the position PUB, positional information about the position PLB, and relative positional information between the position PUB and the position PLB), and the lamination pattern calculation method further comprises a step for setting a lamination pattern based on the database (Lu Section 4.2 teaches matching the groove features to database welding materials, and Lu Sections 4.3-4.4 teach using welding dimensions and groove geometry to plan layers and paths), the lamination pattern including a number of lamination layers and a position of the boundary layer (Lu Section 4.4 on pages 11-12 & Fig.14 teach determining the layer number of lamination layers and position of the boundary layer (position of each weld bead and weld path are determined)).
Claims 4, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. (JP 2004074212 A, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 4, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama also discloses the boundary layer (as explained and cited in the rejection of claim 1 above); however, Kodama does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the boundary layer is formed such that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive.
Regarding the limitation that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive (see Kodama annotated Fig.12 below where the reference Kodama teaches a certain distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a certain distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a certain difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Kodama teaches a certain distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a certain distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a certain difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB, and having a specific distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and a specific distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and a specific difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is not inventive according to the courts. Varying distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case, varying distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB would affect the inclination of the boundary layer, therefore influences groove filling, pass placement, and final weld profile. Thus, varying these distances affects subsequent weld pass placement and weld surface formation because they determine the amount and distribution of weld metal required for subsequent layers. Optimizing distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB would permit the finishing passes to fill the remaining groove more uniformly, thereby improving the final weld profile and reducing the risk of excessive reinforcement and overlap. Therefore, distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB, and distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB, and difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodama by making the boundary layer is formed such that a distance DUB from the front surface of the base material to the position PUB ranges between 2 mm and 12 mm, and a distance DLB from the front surface of the base material to the position PLB ranges between 4 mm and 16 mm, and a difference between the distance DUB and the distance DLB is between 1 mm and 10 mm inclusive as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 9, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n),
a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached.
Kodama Embodiment Fig.15 teaches a multi-pass welding method (Kodama Fig.15):
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) (position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) (position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below),
a plurality of layers (plurality of layers includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer (predetermined layer is layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, Kodama Fig.15) of the ground layer (ground layer includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) until the boundary layer (it is noted that claim 1 of the Instant Application defines the boundary layer is included in the ground layer; thus, in this case, the boundary layer is layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4, Kodama Fig.15) is reached (Kodama Fig.15 shows plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kodama Embodiment Fig.12, by adding the teachings of in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n), a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached, as taught by Kodama Embodiment Fig.15, in order to maintain additional filling space at the lower plate for downward flowing molten metal, thereby reducing the risk of lower side overlap and improving subsequent weld layer formation.
Regarding claim 11, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 discloses the method set forth in claim 4, Kodama Embodiment Fig.12 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n),
a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached.
Kodama Embodiment Fig.15 teaches a multi-pass welding method (Kodama Fig.15):
wherein in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) (position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) (position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n) as shown in Kodama annotated Fig.15 below),
a plurality of layers (plurality of layers includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer (predetermined layer is layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, Kodama Fig.15) of the ground layer (ground layer includes first layer having weld beads 120-3 & 120-2, and second layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4; Kodama Fig.15) until the boundary layer (it is noted that claim 1 of the Instant Application defines the boundary layer is included in the ground layer; thus, in this case, the boundary layer is layer having weld beads 120-5 & 120-4, Kodama Fig.15) is reached (Kodama Fig.15 shows plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kodama Embodiment Fig.12, by adding the teachings of in a case where a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n), a plurality of layers with a positive difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) are formed continuously from a predetermined layer of the ground layer until the boundary layer is reached, as taught by Kodama Embodiment Fig.15, in order to maintain additional filling space at the lower plate for downward flowing molten metal, thereby reducing the risk of lower side overlap and improving subsequent weld layer formation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 6 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 6 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, Kodama in view of Lu teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 7 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 7 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 4, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 8 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 8 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) increases sequentially until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 12 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 12 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, Kodama in view of Lu teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 13 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 13 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, Kodama discloses the method set forth in claim 4, Kodama also discloses a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n).
Kodama does not disclose:
the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Additionally, the prior art Lu et al. (NPL, “Visual-Based Multi-Section Welding Path Generation Algorithm”, Published 07/11/2020) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Lu does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Furthermore, the prior art Matsumura et al. (JP H08309524 A, cited in the IDS, Translation is submitted by the Applicant) discloses a multi-pass welding method comprising forming weld metal by multi-pass welding in a horizontal orientation so as to join a pair of pieces of a base material constituted of an upper plate and a lower plate disposed to form a groove, wherein a position of the upper-plate-side weld at an n-th layer is defined as PU(n) and a position of the lower-plate-side weld at the n-th layer is defined as PL(n). However, Matsumura does not disclose the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.
Accordingly, Applicant(s)’ claim 14 encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant(s)’ claim 14 recites: “the ground layer is formed such that a difference (DL(n) - DU(n)) between a distance DL(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PL(n) and a distance DU(n) from the front surface of the base material to the position PU(n) alternates between positive and negative until the boundary layer is reached.”
Within the context of Applicant(s)’ claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art, alone or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Nishikawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,937,426 A) discloses a method for correcting the travel path of an oscillating robotic welding torch tracing a groove line defined by an upper and lower plate. A first integrated value of the welding current at the center of oscillation is compared with second and third integrated values of the welding current at opposite first and second ends of the oscillation, respectively. The travel path of the robotic welding torches adjusted towards the second end of oscillation when the second and third integrated values of the welding current are smaller than the first integrated value of the welding current. The travel path is adjusted towards the second end of oscillation when the difference between the first and average integrated values exceeds a predetermined allowable deviation value.
Shen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0008415 A1) discloses a welding system for automatically welding a welding seam includes a welding arm, a sensor and a controller. The controller includes a welding seam contour detection component, a welding seam contour calculation component, a welding trajectory point calculation component, and a welding parameter setting component. The welding seam contour detection component is used for detecting an initial welding seam contour and detecting remaining welding seam contours after welding each layer of the welding seam. The welding seam contour calculation component is used for calculating the detected welding seam contours. The welding trajectory point calculation component is used for calculating welding trajectory points based on the calculated welding seam contours.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/16/2026