DETAILE ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 11/06/23 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11-12 & 14-15 are amended.
Claims 16-20 are newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 11/06/23 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
7. The drawings (Figs 4-6) are objected to because there is a lack of descriptive text legends for Figs 4-6. For example, in FIG. 4, from 414 change to “first communication 414”, from 418 change to “second communication 418”, from 420 change to “third communication” [see 37 CFR 1.83, CFR 1.84 [5(O)], MPEP § 608.02(e)].
Claims Objections
8. Claims 1-10 are objected to because of minor informalities:
9. Claim 1, in part, recites, “…a first uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier function (USS) …in line 2. It’s suggested to change it to: “a first uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier (USS) function”.
10. Claim 8 is also objected for the same reason as claim 1 above.
11. Claims 2-7 & 9-10 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-10 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaomi et al. (hereinafter referred as Xiaomi) NPL Document, “Solution on UAV controller and a UAV association” 13 August 2020 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Zhixian et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhixian) International Publication No. WO 2021/016629 A2 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 & 8: Xiaomi discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 6.X.3-1; CP NF (i.e., Session Management Function (SMF))/a method for performing a network function (See Section 6.X; UAV controller and UAV association management), the apparatus comprising:
receive a first request from a first uncrewed aerial system (UAS) service supplier function (USS) (Corresponding to UTM/USS), wherein the first request indicates to replace a first unmanned aerial vehicle controller (UAV-C) (Corresponding to changing the UAVC) of a first unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), and
the first request comprises an internet protocol (IP) address of the first UAV (Corresponding to local IP address), a requested quality of service (QOS) (Corresponding to QoS), flow descriptors identifying traffic (Corresponding to UDP source port), UAV to UAV-C pairing information (Corresponding to the UAV and UAVC pairing) (See FIG. 6.X.3-1, Page 1, 3 & 4; the UAV and UAVC pairing is determined at the UTM/USS. The UTM/USS may update the association e.g., changing the UAVC. Whenever there’s an update, it has to be determined to the 3GPP network so that the C2 connectivity is changed as well. The UTM/USS determined a new UAVC based on the events received from the CP NF and other input. The UTM/USS requests to update the C2 connectivity to the SMF. The UTM/USS determines a new UAVC based on QoS status of the UAVC. The UTM/USS subscribe to the AMF on the following events: Location report (i.e., Cell ID, UE local IP address and UDP source port)); and
Xiaomi does not explicitly discloses the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a second request to a policy control function, wherein the second request comprises a request to trigger policies to allow connectivity between the first UAV and a second UAV-C based on the UAV to UAV-C pairing information.
However, Zhixian from the same field of endeavor discloses the apparatus (See FIG. 25A; Electronic device (i.e., a network function)) comprising:
at least one memory (See FIG. 25A; Electronic device (i.e., a network function) includes a memory 2508); and at least one processor (See FIG. 25A; Electronic device (i.e., a network function) includes a processing unit 2500) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a second request to a policy control function, wherein the second request comprises a request to trigger policies to allow connectivity between the first UAV and a second UAV-C (Corresponding to UAV-C 2) based on the UAV to UAV-C pairing information (See FIG. 5 & Page 16; lines 4-27; the “UTM” performs a function in a computer network and can therefore be considered to be a network function. The network function sends a request to the 3GPP network triggering the establishment of connectivity with a replacement UAV-C while blocking connectivity to other UAV controllers. Thus, UAV A is now under UAV-C 2 controller); and
the first request comprises an internet protocol (IP) address of the first UAV, a requested quality of service (QOS), flow descriptors identifying traffic, UAV to UAV-C pairing information (See Page 33; lines 5-8; The information of the UE can include, e.g., the indication of UAV, UAV ID, associated UAV controller ID, the connectivity information of the connection between UAV and its UAV-C (e.g., IP address, QoS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmit a second request to a policy control function, wherein the second request comprises a request to trigger policies to allow connectivity between the first UAV and a second UAV-C based on the UAV to UAV-C pairing information as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 2 & 9: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus/a method, wherein the UAV to UAV-C pairing information is identified based on an address of the second UAV-C (See Page 40; lines 13-16; the pairing information includes identifiers for the UAV and UAV-C associated with the UAV or IP addresses of the UAV and the UAV-C associated with the UAV).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UAV to UAV-C pairing information is identified based on an address of the second UAV-C as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 3 & 10: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Xiaomi discloses an apparatus/a method, further comprising authorizing the first request before transmitting the second request (See Section 1; pairing between the UAV and the UAV controller for the use of UAV3 or UAV5 is authorized or even authenticated).
Regarding claims 4 & 19: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus/a method, wherein the policy control function is determined based on the IP address of the first UAV (See Page 40; lines 13-16; the pairing information includes identifiers for the UAV and UAV-C associated with the UAV or IP addresses of the UAV and the UAV-C associated with the UAV).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the policy control function is determined based on the IP address of the first UAV as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is further to cause the apparatus to transmit an acknowledgment of the first request (See Page 17; transmits authorization acknowledgment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one processor is further to cause the apparatus to transmit an acknowledgment of the first request as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 6 & 20: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus/a method, wherein the USS comprises an application function (See FIG. 5 & Page 16; lines 4-27; the “UTM” performs a function in a computer network and can therefore be considered to be a network function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the USS comprises an application function as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Xiaomi and Zhixian disclose an apparatus.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus, wherein the UAV to UAV-C pairing information comprises information indicating that connectivity from the first UAV is only allowed to the second UAV-C (See FIG. 5 & Page; UAV-C 1 507 transmits a request to switch UAV-C of UAV A 505 (event 522). The request to switch UAV-C may be sent to UTM 513. UTM 513 parses the UAV-to-UAV-C pairing table to identify an alternate UAV-C, e.g., UAV-C 2 509, for UAV A 505).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UAV to UAV-C pairing information comprises information indicating that connectivity from the first UAV is only allowed to the second UAV-C as taught by Zhixian in the system of Xiaomi for enhancing unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) management using a wireless network (See Technical Field; lines 2-3).
14. Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhixian, in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred as Zhang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0321468 A1.
Regarding claims 11 & 15: Zhixian discloses an apparatus (See FIG. 25A; Electronic Device (i.e., UTM))/a method for performing a third network function, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (See FIG. 25A; Electronic Device (i.e., UTM) includes a memory 2508 ); and at least one processor (See FIG. 25A; Electronic Device (i.e., UTM) includes a processing unit 2500) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receiver to receive a second request from a first network function, wherein the second request comprises a request to trigger policies to allow connectivity between a first UAV and a second UAV-C (See Page 16; lines 4-27; the “UTM” performs a function in a computer network and can therefore be considered to be a network function. This function sends a request to the 3GPP network triggering the establishment of connectivity with a replacement UAV-C, provides that such a replacement is allowed. The query is performed by transmitting the query to the 3GPP network entity 511. The UTM request UAV-C 2 509 to establish a C2 data connection with UAV A 505, by transmitting a request to 3GPP network entity 511, for example (event 530) (trigger request)) while blocking connectivity to other UAV controllers (Corresponding to UAV-C 1 507) (See Page 16; lines 17-25; The C2 connection may be paired with UAV A 505. The 3GPP network entity 511 tears down the C2 connection between UAV A 505 and UAV-C 1 507 (event 538). Additionally, the pairing relationship between UAV A 505 and UAV-C 1 507 may be eliminated);
determine first policy rules for the first UAV based on the second request, wherein the first policy rules allow user plane connectivity between the first UAV and the second UAV-C (See Page 16; lines 22-25; The 3GPP network entity 511 establishes the C2 connection for UAV-C 2 509 (event 536). The C2 connection may include a timer associated with the start of the C2 connection or the expiration of the C2 connection. The C2 connection may be paired with UAV A 505. 3GPP network entity 511 tears down the C2 connection between UAV A 505 and UAV-C 1 507 (event 538). Additionally, the pairing relationship between UAV A 505 and UAV-C 1 507 may be eliminated);
Zhixian discloses a system 1200 with a 5G core (5GC) and enhanced functions for UAV management. System 1200 includes a 5GC 1205 comprising a policy control function (PCF) 1207, a UDM 1209, a AMF 1211, a SMF 1213, and an authentication function (AUSF) 1215. PCF 1207 communicates with other nodes or functions in system 1200 using a variety of interfaces (See FIG. 12 & Page 23; lines 28-32), but does not explicitly discloses identify a second network function serving the first UAV; and transmit a third request to the second network function, wherein the third request comprises the first policy rules.
However, Zhang from the same field of endeavor discloses identify a second network function serving the first UAV (See Para. 0052 & 0104; an unmanned aerial vehicle control apparatus and an unmanned aerial vehicle apparatus that belong to a same unmanned aerial vehicle communication system can implement pairing and connection, so that the unmanned aerial vehicle control apparatus controls the unmanned aerial vehicle apparatus. the first terminal apparatus and the second terminal apparatus belong to a same unmanned aerial vehicle communication system); and transmit a third request to the second network function, wherein the third request comprises the first policy rules (See FIG. 6B, Para. 0112-0115 & 0131-0133; The PCF sends the session management policy of the first session to the SMF, wherein the such a policy comprises at least one rule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include identify a second network function serving the first UAV; and transmit a third request to the second network function, wherein the third request comprises the first policy rules as taught by Zhang in the system of Zhixian for exchange address information between an unmanned aerial vehicle controller and an unmanned aerial vehicle in a 3GPP network (See Para. 0005; lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 12 & 16: The combination of Zhixian and Zhang disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus/a method, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine policy and charging rules for a first device, and the policy and charging rules comprise information that connectivity from the first device is only allowed to the second UAV-C (See FIG. 5 & Page; UAV-C 1 507 transmits a request to switch UAV-C of UAV A 505 (event 522). The request to switch UAV-C may be sent to UTM 513. UTM 513 parses the UAV-to-UAV-C pairing table to identify an alternate UAV-C, e.g., UAV-C 2 509, for UAV A 505).
Regarding claims 13 & 17: The combination of Zhixian and Zhang disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhang discloses an apparatus/a method, wherein the second network function comprises a session management function (See FIG. 6B, Para. 0112-0115 & 0131-0133; The PCF sends the session management policy of the first session to the SMF, wherein the such a policy comprises at least one rule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second network function comprises a session management function as taught by Zhang in the system of Zhixian for exchange address information between an unmanned aerial vehicle controller and an unmanned aerial vehicle in a 3GPP network (See Para. 0005; lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 14 & 18: The combination of Zhixian and Zhang disclose an apparatus/a method.
Furthermore, Zhixian discloses an apparatus/a method, further comprising receiving a third response, and the third response comprises an acknowledgement of the third request (See Page 17; transmits authorization acknowledgment).
Conclusion
15. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Kalhan et al. 2008/0279168 A1 (Title: System and method for broadcasting overhead parameters in pool….) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Laitinen et al. 2006/0182280 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for providing…) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Atkinson et al. 2016/0320819 A1 (Title: Power state control signal) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469