Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 11/06/23, including preliminary amendments filed on 11/06/23, has been entered.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claim 15 has been canceled.
Claims 18-21 have been added.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 18-19, 21, 4-5, 20, 6-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US 20210050936 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a method for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [par. 0010-11], the method comprising:
determining at least one of one or more specified control resource sets (CORESETs) or one or more pieces of specified beam information (CORESET(s) and beam info [par. 0010-11]), wherein a terminal needs to monitor a plurality of PDCCHs at an overlapping occasion (The terminal monitors the CORESET when its PDCCH monitoring occasions overlap (i.e., PDCCHs overlap (i.e., monitor plurality of PDCCHs at overlapping occasion)) [fig. 12]); and
monitoring a PDCCH of the one or more specified CORESETs and a PDCCH of another CORESET with same beam information as the one or more specified CORESETs at the overlapping occasion, or monitoring a PDCCH of a CORESET with beam information being the same as the specified beam information at the overlapping occasion (The terminal monitors the PDCCH of any other CORESET using the same reception beam as that of the first CORESET (i.e., same beam info at overlapping occasion) [par. 0017, 167-168]).
Regarding claim 16, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Seo further discloses a device [fig. 19] for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), comprising: a processor [fig. 19 no. 2310]; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor [fig. 19 no. 2330].
Regarding claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in CRM claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Seo further discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions [fig. 19 no. 2330], wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor of a terminal [fig. 19 no. 2310].
Regarding claim 2, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein the at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information are determined based on at least one piece of the following information:
serving cell indexes of CORESETs corresponding to a plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion;
information on whether CORESETs corresponding to a plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion comprise a common search space (CSS) set (CSS [par. 0007]);
an index of the CSS set comprised in CORESETs corresponding to a plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion (Lowest index [par. 0008-09]);
an index of a UE-specific search space (USS) set of CORESETs corresponding to a plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion [par. 0188, 190]; or
a number of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states configured by CORESETs corresponding to a plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion (TCI state used when CORESET index not equal to 0 [par. 0120]).
Regarding claim 3, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises at least one of:
determining, based on at least one of the serving cell indexes, whether the CSS set is comprised, the index of the CSS set, the index of the USS set, or the number of TCI states, one or more specified CORESETs among the CORESETs corresponding to the plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion; or
determining one or more pieces of beam information of the one or more specified CORESETs as the one or more pieces of specified beam information (TCI state is used as a parameter for determining Rx beam (i.e., specified beam info) [par. 0108, 176]).
Regarding claim 18, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
selecting a CORESET that comprises a CSS set among the CORESETs corresponding to the plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion [par. 0014-15];
selecting a serving cell with a smallest serving cell index among serving cells of the CORESET that comprises the CSS set [par. 0016]; and
determining a CSS set with a smallest CSS set index in the serving cell with the smallest serving cell index, and performing at least one of: determining a CORESET corresponding to the CSS set with the smallest CSS set index as the specified CORESET [par. 0110, 119], or determining beam information of a CORESET corresponding to the CSS set with the smallest CSS set index as the specified beam information.
Regarding claim 19, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
selecting a CORESET that comprises a USS set among the CORESETs corresponding to the plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion [par. 0014-15, 150];
selecting a serving cell with a smallest serving cell index among serving cells of the CORESET that comprises the USS set [par. 0150]; and
determining a USS set with a smallest USS set index in the serving cell with the smallest serving cell index, and performing at least one of: determining a CORESET corresponding to the USS set with the smallest USS set index as the specified CORESET [par. 0150], or determining beam information of a CORESET corresponding to the USS set with the smallest USS set index as the specified beam information.
Regarding claim 21, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein each specified CORESET in the one or more specified CORESETs is configured with one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states [fig. 15].
Regarding claim 4, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
selecting a CORESET that comprises a CSS set among the CORESETs corresponding to the plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion [par. 0014-15];
selecting a serving cell with a smallest serving cell index among serving cells of the CORESET that comprises the CSS set [par. 0016]; and
determining a CSS set with a smallest CSS set index in the serving cell with the smallest serving cell index, and performing at least one of: determining a CORESET corresponding to the CSS set with the smallest CSS set index as the specified CORESET [par. 0110, 119], or determining beam information of a CORESET corresponding to the CSS set with the smallest CSS set index as the specified beam information.
Regarding claim 5, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
selecting a CORESET that comprises a USS set among the CORESETs corresponding to the plurality of PDCCH candidates that need to be monitored at the overlapping occasion [par. 0014-15, 150];
selecting a serving cell with a smallest serving cell index among serving cells of the CORESET that comprises the USS set [par. 0150]; and
determining a USS set with a smallest USS set index in the serving cell with the smallest serving cell index, and performing at least one of: determining a CORESET corresponding to the USS set with the smallest USS set index as the specified CORESET [par. 0150], or determining beam information of a CORESET corresponding to the USS set with the smallest USS set index as the specified beam information.
Regarding claim 20, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein each specified CORESET in the one or more specified CORESETs is configured with one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states [fig. 15].
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein each specified CORESET in the one or more specified CORESETs is configured with one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states [fig. 15].
Regarding claim 7, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
determining one specified CORESET, wherein the one specified CORESET is configured with one TCl state [fig. 15].
Regarding claim 8, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein one piece of the specified beam information is determined based on the one TCl state (TCI state is used as a parameter for determining Rx beam (i.e., specified beam info) [par. 0108, 176]).
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
determining a plurality of specified CORESETs, wherein each specified CORESET among the plurality of specified CORESETs is configured with one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states [fig. 15].
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein the one or more pieces of specified beam information are determined based on the one or more TCl states of each specified CORESET among the plurality of specified CORESETs (TCI state is used as a parameter for determining Rx beam (i.e., specified beam info) [par. 0108, 176, fig. 15]).
Regarding claim 11, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein determining at least one of one or more specified CORESETs or one or more pieces of specified beam information comprises:
determining one specified CORESET, wherein the one specified CORESET is configured with a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (One of the provided TCI states for the CORESET [par. 0120]).
Regarding claim 12, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses:
wherein the one or more pieces of specified beam information are determined based on the plurality of TCI states of the one specified CORESET [par. 0167-168].
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein at least one of the following conditions is satisfied between a plurality of specified CORESETs:
the plurality of specified CORESETs respectively correspond to different transmission and reception points;
the plurality of specified CORESETs correspond to different CORESET pool indexes;
the plurality of specified CORESETs correspond to different physical cell identities [par. 0109-110]; or
beams corresponding to the plurality of specified CORESETs are beams that the terminal may receive simultaneously, and/or beams received by different panels of the terminal [par. 0167].
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Seo further discloses wherein beams corresponding to the pieces of specified beam information are at least one of:
beams that the terminal may receive simultaneously, or beams received by different panels of the terminal (Simultaneously or different panels [par. 0167]).
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465