DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-15 are pending and hereby under examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the inclusion of legal phraseology . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Objections Claim s 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 13, line 2, there should be a comma after “pores”. In claim 15, line 1, “a subject” should read “the subject”. In claim 15, line 3, “a flexible patch” should read “the flexible patch”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. “ means of attachment ” first recited in claim 1; “ means of regulating the flow-rate ” first recited in claim 1; “ means of releasing the air ” first recited in claim 1; and “ means of measurement ” first recited in claim 14. The identified structure for the corresponding claim limitations are as follows: “ means of attachment ” is identified as “ When the first layer includes an adhesive lower face, the face acts as a means of attaching the device to the skin of the user ” (page 8, lines 23-24). “ means of regulating the flow-rate ” is identified as “ According to a first aspect, said means of regulating the flow-rate include a microfluidic channel coming out at said perspiration-collecting aperture and at said transfer opening formed in said first layer ” (page 6). “ means of releasing the air ” is identified as “ The means of releasing the air contained in said absorbent layer towards the outside of said device can include at least one air-permeable layer which is in contact with said absorbent layer and/or a channel open to the outside of said device and which communicates with said absorbent layer ” (page 6) . “ means of measurement ” is identified as “ Such means of measurement can be integrated into a mobile telephone such as a smartphone . Advantageously, said reading means further include a remote power supply relay for said chip at a given frequency and said optical information is also able to start, when read by said optical reader, the power supply to said chip by means of said power supply relay at said given frequency ” (page 12). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation s "said patch" in line 3 and “said absorbent layer” in lines 13, 15, and 16 . There are insufficient antecedent bas e s for th ese limitation s in the claim. It appears Applicant intends to claim “said flexible patch”, and that the flexible patch is multilayered (claim 1, line 4). For examination purposes, it will be interpreted such that “patch”, “flexible patch”, and “multilayered patch” are the same. It also appears Applicant intends to claim “said hydrophilic absorbent layer”. Applicant should clarify the relationship differences, if any, between the different patches and, separately, the absorbent layers in claim 1 and throughout the dependent claims. Claims 2-15 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 1. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the lower face” of the first layer and the patch; however, it is unclear which lower face is being referred to in line 5. Examiner suggests stating “ a lower face of the first layer ” in line 5 to clarify that the lower face of the first layer forms at least partially the lower face of said patch. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim s 1 and 10 , it is unclear what it means by the “absorbent layer communicating with said first layer” or the hydrophilic absorbent layer “ communicating with the exterior environment”. Communicating would imply some type of data transfer or physical element transfer (i.e., fluid communication via perspiration, etc.). It appears Applicant intends to claim that the layers are in direct contact with each other, similar to the language used in claim 1, line 7 , and the hydrophilic absorbent layer is “exposed” to the exterior environment”, similar to the language used on page 13, line 3 of the specification. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim 1 , it is unclear what said device “being of the type comprising …” means. It appears Applicant intends to claim “said device comprising …”. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim 1 , it is unclear what it means when the film “can be transparent , if appropriate ”. Is it transparent , and when is it appropriate for it to be transparent ? For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted in that the film is transparent. Regarding claims 2 and 4 , it is unclear what is means when the microfluidic channel is “provided in the first layer”. The language “provided in” appears as a method step in that the channel is placed in the first layer. It appears Applicant intends to claim that the channel is “arranged in” the first layer, similar to the language used on page 12 of the specification, or that the first layer includes the channel, similar to the language used on page 17. For examination purposes, that is how the claims will be interpreted. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the stacked layers" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim s 6 and 8 recite the limitation " said collecting aperture " i n lines 2 and 6, respectively . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears Applicant intends to recite the “perspiration-collecting aperture”. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim 8 , it is unclear what is meant when the transfer opening “is opposite or corresponds to” the perspiration-collecting aperture. Is the transfer opening and the perspiration-collecting aperture atop one another, a specific distance away from each other, or directly opposite of each other on the device? For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as it appears in Fig. 1, wherein the aperture 611 and transfer opening 41 have a distance between them . Regarding claim 8 , it is unclear how the means of regulating flow-rate includes an intermediate layer. It appears Applicant intends to claim that the means of regulating flow-rate is included/ arranged in an intermediate layer. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim 9 , it is unclear how the means of regulating flow-rate includes a first sublayer. It appears Applicant intends to claim that the means of regulating flow-rate is included/arranged in an a first sublayer. For examination purposes, that is how the claim will be interpreted. Regarding claim 9 , it is also unclear how the means of regulating the flow-rate is both in the intermediate layer (claim 8) and the first sublayer (claim 9). It appears applicant intends to claim that the first sublayer is a sublayer of the intermediate layer, similar to the language used in claim 10. That is how the claim will be interpreted. Applicant should clarify how the different sublayers are arranged and where the means for regulating the flow-rate is located. Regarding claim 10, it is unclear which lower face is being referred to in line 8. It appears Applicant intends to claim the “lower face of the third sublayer”, and that is how the claim will be interpreted. Claim 12 recites the limitation "said first sublayer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Regarding claim 12, it is unclear what “when present” is referring to. Is the first sublayer optional? Should claim 12 depend on claims 9 or 10 for proper antecedent basis of claim 12? For examination purposes, it will be interpreted such that the antenna surrounds the absorbent layer. Regarding claim 14 , it appears Applicant intends to recite a Markush group but does not indicate the element(s) is “selected from the group consisting of : …” . Applicant should amend the claim to recite “at least one item of information selected from the group consisting of :” in lines 5-6, and “at least one compound or ion selected from the group consisting of :” in line 7. Regarding claim 13 , it is unclear what “according to the thickness of said layer” is claiming. Is the layer the hydrophilic absorbent layer? Does the thickness vary across the entirety of the patch? For examination purposes, it will be interpreted such that the absorbent layer has pores . Regarding claim 14 , it is unclear if the “means of measurement”, which is interpreted to mean a mobile phone such as a smart phone according to the 112(f) interpretation above, is a part/element of the device or if the “means of measurement” communicates or otherwise is used with the device. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted such that the “means of measurement” is a separate device from the claimed device for collecting a fraction of the perspiration and that the means of measurement interacts/communicates with the claimed device for collecting a fraction of the perspiration. Regarding claim 15 , the claim preamble recites a method; however, the claim is written like a device claim. Examiner suggests updating the language to state to recite a method step , for example in line 3, “affixing the flexible patch to the skin of the subject” . Claim 15 recites the limitations “said transparent film”, “said exposed absorbent layer”, “said transparent film”, “the diffusion of perspiration”, “the surface”, “the color gradient”, “the spot”, “the zone”, “the perspiration diffusion front”, “the colors”, “the density”, “the surface areas”, “the data”, “the database”, and “the concentration”. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Regarding claims 2 and 3 , in light of the interpretation of the “means of regulating flow-rate” and the “means of releasing air” as described above, the claims fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1. The interpretation of these elements are interpreted in claim 1 as including the structural elements claimed in claims 2 and 3. Claims 4-5 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows: Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability , 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 15 positively recites “the subject”, which is understood to be a human . Thus, the claim is directed to or encompassing a human organism. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1- 7, 11-1 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaffari (US 20170296114 – cited by Applicant) and Irina (US 20120165626 – cited by Applicant). Regarding claim 1 , Ghaffari disclos es a device for collecting a fraction of the perspiration excreted by a subject, said device being of the type comprising a flexible patch (Paragraph 0029, “ The sensor patch 100 can be constructed of individual layers of stretchable and/or flexible polymeric biocompatible materials ”) , which comprises a lower face and means of attachment of said patch on the skin of said subject (Paragraph 0030, “ A biocompatible adhesive layer can be used to adhere the sensor patch 100 to the skin ”) , characterized in that said patch is a multilayer patch (Fig. 1B, layers 102, 104, 106, 108) and in that the patch includes: a first layer (Fig. 1B, bottom layer 104) , the lower face of which forms at least partially the lower face of said patch (Fig. 1B, bottom layer 104 forming bottom of patch 100; Paragraph 0033, “ the adhesive layer 102 can be considered a separate and distinct layer from the sensor patch 100”) , said first layer including at least one perforation defining a perspiration-collecting aperture able to be brought into direct contact with the skin of the subject (Fig. 1B, inlet port 105) , and a transfer opening (Fig. 2B, inlet port 122) ; a n absorbent layer arranged above said first layer and communicating with the exterior environment (Fig. 1B, top layer 106; Paragraph 0039) , said absorbent layer communicating with said first layer through said transfer opening (Fig. 2C, port 124) ; a film, which can be transparent (Paragraph 0026, t he sensor patch 100 as a whole, or one or more layers of the sensor patch 100, can be formed of a transparent material that enables the user to see the color change through the top of the sensor patch 10), if appropriate, and impervious to water and vapor, covering at least the upper face of said absorbent layer; and in that said device further includes means of regulating the flow-rate of liquid and/or vapor perspiration penetrating into said absorbent layer (Fig. 2B, perspiration volume (and rate) sensing channel 120) and means of releasing the air contained in said absorbent layer to the outside of said device ( Fi g. 1B, vent port 107) . While Ghaffari discloses certain parts of the sensor patch including absorbent, hydrophilic materials, Ghaffari fails to explicitly disclose wherein the top layer 106 is hydrophilic. However, Irina teaches a device for measuring analytes in a body fluid wherein an absorbent layer comprises hydrophilic material (Fig. 2E, wicking layer 254; Paragraph 0060, “ may be composed of any appropriate absorbent material or materials, such as hydrophilic treated polycarbonate or polyester, or any other material or materials that may provide for relatively efficient fluid transfer from membrane ”). Irina discusses this material is useful for efficient fluid transfer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top layer of Ghaffari to incorporate the teaching of hydrophilic material of Irina for efficient fluid transfer between layers. Regarding claim 2 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein the means of regulating the flow-rate includes: - a microfluidic channel coming out at said perspiration-collecting aperture and at said transfer opening provided in said first layer (Fig. 2B, perspiration volume (and rate) sensing channel 120 and inlet port 122 ; Paragraph 0025, wherein inlet port 122 collects perspiration and is in communication with perspiration volume sensing channel 120) Regarding claim 3 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein the means of releasing air contained in said absorbent layer towards the outside of said device include at least one air-permeable layer, which is in contact with said absorbent layer and/or a channel open to the outside of said device and which communicates with said absorbent layer (Fig. 1 B, vent 107 connected through top layer 106 ; Paragraph 0042) . Regarding claim 4 , Ghaffari further discloses where in that said microfluidic channel is provided in the thickness of said first layer (Fig. 2B, perspiration volume sensing channel in layer 104 ). Regarding claim 5, Ghaffari further discloses characterized in that said microfluidic channel has a buffer zone for storing liquid perspiration and in that said buffer zone communicates with said transfer opening (Paragraphs 0026-0027, wherein the volume of perspiration is collected within channel 120). Regarding claim 6 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein the collecting aperture is arranged at a distance from said transfer opening, in a plane substantially horizontal and parallel to the stacked layers of said patch (Fig. 2B, inlet port 122 and inlet ports 105) . Regarding claim 7 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein the means of releasing air include a vent channel which emerges laterally outside of said patch and which connects a vent opening provided in said first layer and which communicates with said absorbent layer (Fig. 1B, vent layer 107 through all layers; Figs. 2A-D, ports 103, 105, 107). Regarding claim 11 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein absorbent layer contains a reagent able to react chemically with perspiration by changing the color or by changing the electrical resistance of said absorbent layer (Fig. 1B, colorimetric assay or color sensitive material 136; Paragraph 00 2 8, “ changes color in response to the presence of a biochemical component, such as sodium ions, chloride ions, glucose, lactate, alcohol, potassium, or in response to a property of the perspiration, such as the pH of the perspiration. Other colorimetric assays, such as for detecting illegal drugs or biomarkers indicative of illegal drug use can also be used ”). Regarding claim 12, Ghaffari further discloses flexible metal circuit forming an antenna and a writable chip such as an NFC connected to said antenna (Fig. 1A, NFC chip 110 with NFC antenna 112) , in that said antenna surrounds said absorbent layer in that both ends of said antenna are electrically connected to opposite edges of said absorbent layer ( Fig. 4, NFC antenna 412 ) . Regarding claim 13 , Ghaffari further discloses wherein said absorbent layer has open pores the cross-section of which varies according to the thickness of said layer (Fig. 2C, vent ports 107; Paragraph 0042, wherein the ports can be in a range of 50 to 250 micrometers ; Paragraph 0048, wherein the top layer has printed indicia, color reference marks ). Regarding claim 14 , Ghaffari further discloses that the device includes means of measurement of the surface and/or the color of the spot formed by perspiration on the surface of said absorbent layer ( P aragraph 00 52 and Fig s . 6- 7, smart device 610 such as a smart phone ; Fig. 7, boxes 702, 704, 706) , under said impervious film and in that said means of measurement makes it possible to correlate the surface of the spot and/or the change of color and/or of intensity of said colors of said spot with at least one item of information selected from: the volume of perspiration excreted by the subject (Paragraphs 0053-0055) . Regarding claim 15 , Ghaffari further discloses a method for determining the amount of sweat excreted by a subject, wherein: - a flexible patch according claim 1, is affixed to the skin of the subject (Fig. 6, patch 100 on skin) , - the subject is made to perspire until the appearance of a visible spot through said transparent film (Paragraph 0052, inducing perspiring) , - the surface of said exposed absorbent layer is photographed through said transparent film (Paragraph 0052, imaging the sensor; Paragraph 0048, “ the sensor patch 500 can include printed indicia in the form of registration and color reference marks 152, 542, 554, 556, 558 on the top surface (e.g., the top layer 106 or 108) of the sensor patch 500 that are printed in predefined locations and provide location reference marks and/or color calibration reference marks”) , - a calibrated image of said absorbent layer is produced (Paragraph 0049 , “ The application can use the color reference marks 152, 154 to calibrate the image ” ), - said calibrated image is binarized so as to be divided into pixels (Paragraph 0049, “ The application can use the color reference marks 152, 154 to calibrate the image for white balance and color intensity for the ambient light and then analyze the calibrated image to determine quantitatively the components of the user's perspiration ”) , - the color gradient of each pixel in the RGB system is calculated so as to identify the spot formed by the diffusion of perspiration in the absorbent layer (Paragraph 0055, “For the sensing chambers 130, the location of each chamber can be determined in the calibrated image and a color value (e.g., in RGB or color value, hue, and saturation) can be determined for each location of each sensing chamber 130”) , - the colors of said zone are determined in the RGB system (Paragraph 0055, “ a color value (e.g., in RGB or color value, hue, and saturation) can be determined for each location of each sensing chamber 130”) and the surface area (Paragraph 0054) , - t he surface area values and the color obtained are compared with the data contained in a database so as to determine the amount of sweat excreted and, if appropriate, the concentration of lactates when said absorbent layer contains at least one coloring agent able to change color when the pH of the perspiration is changed due to lactates, the spot then comprising a plurality of colors (Paragraph 0022, wherein the amount of sweat, the pH, and other biochemical elements of the sweat can be detected; Paragraph 0055). Ghaffari is silent on measuring the density of the pixels for this analysis. However, Irina discloses measuring concentrations of analytes in the sweat by using ImageJ analysis on a colorimetric membrane for optical density (Paragraph 00146, “ The six cropped images were analyzed with the ImagJ program (NIH) for optical density (pixel value of zero for total darkness, and 255 for maximum brightness) ”). Claim s 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaffari (US 20170296114 – cited by Applicant) and Irina (US 20120165626 – cited by Applicant). Regarding claim 1 , Ghaffari discloses a device for collecting a fraction of the perspiration excreted by a subject, said device being of the type comprising a flexible patch (Paragraph 0029, “ The sensor patch 100 can be constructed of individual layers of stretchable and/or flexible polymeric biocompatible materials ”) , which comprises a lower face and means of attachment of said patch on the skin of said subject (Paragraph 0030, “ A biocompatible adhesive layer can be used to adhere the sensor patch 100 to the skin ”) , characterized in that said patch is a multilayer patch (Fig. 1B, layers 102, 104, 106, 108) and in that the patch includes: a first layer (Fig. 1B, adhesive layer 102) , the lower face of which forms at least partially the lower face of said patch (Fig. 1B, bottom layer 102 forming bottom of patch 100) , said first layer including at least one perforation defining a perspiration-collecting aperture able to be brought into direct contact with the skin of the subject (Fig. 2A, hole or opening 101 ) , and a transfer opening (Fig. 2 A, inlet ports 103 ) ; a n absorbent layer arranged above said first layer and communicating with the exterior environment (Fig. 1B, bottom layer 10 4 with vent 107 ) , said absorbent layer communicating with said first layer through said transfer opening (Fig. 2B, inlet ports 105/122 ) ; a film, which can be transparent (Paragraph 0026, t he sensor patch 100 as a whole, or one or more layers of the sensor patch 100, can be formed of a transparent material that enables the user to see the color change through the top of the sensor patch 10), if appropriate, and impervious to water and vapor, covering at least the upper face of said absorbent layer; and in that said device further includes means of regulating the flow-rate of liquid and/or vapor perspiration penetrating into said absorbent layer (Fig. 2B, perspiration volume (and rate) sensing channel 120) and means of releasing the air contained in said absorbent layer to the outside of said device (Fi g. 1B, vent port 107) . While Ghaffari discloses certain parts of the sensor patch including absorbent, hydrophilic materials, Ghaffari fails to explicitly disclose wherein the top layer 106 is hydrophilic. However, Irina teaches a device for measuring analytes in a body fluid wherein an absorbent layer comprises hydrophilic material (Fig. 2E, wicking layer 254; Paragraph 0060, “ may be composed of any appropriate absorbent material or materials, such as hydrophilic treated polycarbonate or polyester, or any other material or materials that may provide for relatively efficient fluid transfer from membrane ”). Irina discusses this material is useful for efficient fluid transfer. Regarding claim 8, Ghaffari further discloses wherein the transfer opening is opposite or corresponds to said perspiration-collecting aperture ( Fig . 2 A , opening or hole 101 and inlet ports 103 ) and in that said means of regulating the flow-rate include at least one intermediate layer arranged between said first layer and said absorbent layer (Paragraph 0040, “ wherein the bottom layer 104 can be formed by combining two or more layers of material ” , wherein a layer is added between the adhesive layer 102 and bottom layer 104 with perspiration volume sensing channel 120 ) and which includes an intermediate opening (Fig. 2B, inlet ports 105) , having a surface area smaller than the surface area of said perspiration-collecting aperture (Fig. 2B, wherein inlet ports 105 are smaller than opening or hole 101), said intermediate opening being opposite collecting aperture, and in that said intermediate layer is permeable to air and allows air to be released from said absorbent layer to the exterior environment (Fig. 1B vent ports 107 ) . While Ghaffari is silent in that the vapor diffusion coefficient of the first layer being greater than the water vapor diffusion coefficient of the intermediate layer , Ghaffari discloses that the adhesive layer may be formed of a hydrophilic material (Paragraph 0036) and the other layers, such as the intermediate layer or bottom layer 104 may be formed from another material (Paragraph 0029, wherein PDMS, polyimide, polyurethane are hydrophobic ). Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaffari and Irina as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Rogers (US 20200155047). Regarding claim 9, Ghaffari further discloses the first layer has secondary perforations opening out under said patch (Fig. 2 A , inlet ports 10 3 ) and in that said means of regulating the flow-rate further include at least a first sublayer made of watertight material (Paragraph 0029, wherein PDMS, polyimide, polyurethane are hydrophobic ) , arranged between said first layer and said intermediate layer (Paragraph 0040, “ wherein the bottom layer 104 can be formed by combining two or more layers of material ”, wherein a layer is added between the adhesive layer 102 and bottom layer 104 with perspiration volume sensing channel 120 ) , in that said first sublayer includes a drainage which connects said secondary perforations with the outside of said patch (Fig. 1B and Fig. 2B , vent port 107 and inlet ports 105 connecting to vent ports 107 in Figs. 2C-D). While Ghaffari discloses that these vent ports are for air escape and reducing back pressure (Paragraphs 0042), Ghaffari fails to disclose wherein the drain is to remove perspiration. However, Rogers teaches a microfluidic system to monitor biofluid, wherein the device comprises a draining system (Paragraph 0474), which Rogers indicates is useful for multiple uses of the device without requiring a new one (Paragraph 0474). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ghaffari to incorporate the teachings of Rogers to include a draining system to allow multiple uses of the same device. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaffari and Irina as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of King (US 20240148281). Regarding claim 10, while Ghaffari discloses the multi-layered patch and that the bottom layer 104 may be comprised of more than one layer as discussed above , Ghaffari fails to disclose the three sublayers of the intermediate layer . However, King teaches a disposable device for measuring sweat wherein the device includes at least three sublayers (Fig. 5, layers 502 b , 504, 506) , a first sublayer made of watertight material and having a main perforation arranged above the transfer opening of said first layer (Fig s . 5 and 6A , substrate 502 with impermeable layer 502b and inlets 501 ) , a second sublayer which is also watertight, arranged on said first sublayer and forming a storage circuit for perspiration, in that said storage circuit is isolated from the outside of said patch and brings said main perforation provided in said first sublayer in communication with the lower surface of a third sublayer (Fig. 5, sweat collector element 504 between layers 502 and 506 ; Paragraph 0122, wherein the sweat collector element 504 can be formed with non-porous, non-soluble material ; Paragraph 0109, wherein inlets 501 are in communication with sweat collector 504; Paragraph 0124, wherein the plurality of apertures 507 are in communication with the sweat collector element 504 ) , in that said third sublayer is also made of a watertight material at least on the lower face thereof, in that said third sublayer has at least one main perforation which puts said storage circuit in communication with the lower face of said absorbent layer (Fig. 5, blocking layer 506 with impermeable polymer 506b; Fig. 6C, with plurality of apertures 507/509) . Ghaffari , Irina, and King are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of measuring sweat. A ll the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ghaffari and Irina to incorporate the teachings of King. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT NOAH MICHAEL HEALY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-5534 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:30pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Jason Sims can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7540 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NOAH M HEALY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /RENE T TOWA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791