Status of the claims
This office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed 10/28/2025. Claims 3, 5, and 11 have been cancelled. Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20080263909 A1 hereinafter Sahlin.
Regarding claim 1, Sahlin teaches a control system of a work machine (A method and system for automated operation of a work vehicle. Abstract) including a work device including a work tool (Fig 2. a boom 252 Paragraph [0025]) and a movable support section configured to change an orientation of the work tool (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. Paragraph [0025]), the control system comprising:
a controller (The control system 11 comprises a first cylinder assembly 10 and a second cylinder assembly 24 that provide a sensor signal or sensor data to a controller 20. Paragraph [0024]) including a storage unit configured to store at least three types of target orientations (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25), the controller being configured to:
select any one of the at least three types of target orientations based on a command signal for operating the orientation of the work tool and (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. The operator may establish or select the boom angle or target boom angular range via an entry or input into the user interface 22. For example, the operator may enter or select a desired ready height of the attachment, a default or factory setting for the desired ready height of the attachment, or a target boom angular range. The target boom angular range may be based on the desired ready height of the attachment defined by the operator. In one embodiment, the user interface 22 supports manual override, interruption, ceasing, or recall of a recently entered or in progress return-to-position command. For example, the user interface 22 and controller 20 (e.g., the override module 331) may be programmed to stop the return-to-position movement of the boom 252, attachment 251, or both upon the receipt of the operator's manual input (e.g., via the joystick or user interface) during a return-to-position movement previously or inadvertently activated by the operator. Paragraph [0038])
a detection signal indicating a current orientation of the work tool (S302, a first sensor 14 detects a boom angle of the boom 252 with respect to a support 277 near a first end 275 of the boom 252. In step S304, a second sensor 18 detects an attachment angle of the attachment 251 with respect to the boom 252. Paragraphs [0056 and 0057]), and
set the selected target orientation as a target orientation of the work tool to control the
movable support section. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
the at least three types of target orientations include a first orientation, a second orientation, and a third orientation, (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25),
the command signal includes a first command signal (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. To move the boom 252 or hold the boom 252 steady in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the first electrical control interface 13. Paragraph [0025]) and a second command signal (The second hydraulic cylinder 16 is arranged to move the attachment 251 by changing a linear position (e.g., second linear position) of a movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the second hydraulic cylinder 16. To move the boom 252 or hold the attachment 251 in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the second electrical control interface 17. Paragraph [0026]), and
the controller being configured to
in a case in which the first command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the second orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal, and (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037])
in a case in which the second command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the third orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
Examiner notes that Sahlin discloses a system that includes three stored orientations (horizontal, carry, and dump) and a controller that uses two distinct actuator signals (extension/retraction) as command inputs. These signals result in the selection of one of two orientations depending on the current implemental position.
Regarding claim 4, Sahlin teaches the system according to claim 1. Sahlin additionally discloses wherein,
the work tool is rotationally movable between a first orientation region and a second orientation region. (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. Paragraph [0037])
the first orientation region is an orientation region between the first orientation and the second orientation, (In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Paragraph [0059])
the second orientation region is an orientation region between the first orientation and the third orientation, and(In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Paragraph [0059])
the controller is configured to
in a case in which the first command signal is received and the current orientation of the work tool is in the second orientation region, select the first orientation as the target orientation, and (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037])
in a case in which the second command signal is received and the current orientation of
the work tool is in the first orientation region, select the first orientation as the target orientation. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
Regarding claim 6, Sahlin teaches the system according to claim 1. Sahlin additionally discloses wherein
the first orientation is a horizontal orientation of the work tool, (Here, the first preset position is characterized by the attachment angular range or the attachment angle 255 (.theta.) approaching zero degrees with respect to a generally horizontal axis (e.g., ground). Paragraph [0046])
the second orientation is a transport orientation of the work tool, and (in one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position Paragraph [0038])
the third orientation is a dumping orientation of the work tool or a ground contact orientation of the work tool. (in one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position Paragraph [0038])
Regarding claim 7, Sahlin teaches the control system according to claim 1. Sahlin additionally teaches wherein
a work tool operation device configured to output the command signal is a lever operable between a first control position and a second control position, (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. Paragraph [0038])
the first command signal is a signal output in a case in which the lever is operated to the first control position, and (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. Paragraph [0038])
the second command signal is a signal output in a case in which the lever is operated to the second control position. (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. Paragraph [0038])
Regarding claim 8, Sahlin teaches the control system according to claim 1. Sahlin additionally teaches wherein a work tool operation device configured to output the command signal includes a lever operable between a first control position and a second control position and as a switch, (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20 Paragraph [0038])
the first command signal is a signal output in a case in which the lever is operated in a direction of the first control position and the switch is operated, and (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. Paragraph [0038] (e.g., a command issued by the operator to return to a preset position) based on manual input from an operator via the user interface 22 (e.g., an operator's displacement of the joystick or activation of a switch). Paragraph [0063])
the second command signal is a signal output in a case in which the lever is operated in a direction of the second control position and the switch is operated. (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. Paragraph [0038] (e.g., a command issued by the operator to return to a preset position) based on manual input from an operator via the user interface 22 (e.g., an operator's displacement of the joystick or activation of a switch). Paragraph [0063])
Regarding claim 9, Sahlin teaches the control system according to claim 1. Sahlin additionally teaches wherein,
a work tool operation device configured to output the command signal includes a first switch and a second switch, (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position).
the first command signal is a signal output in a case in which the first switch is operated, and (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. Paragraph [0038])
the second command signal is a signal output in a case in which the second switch is operated. (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. Paragraph [0038])
Regarding claim 10, Sahlin teaches a control method of a work machine (A method and system for automated operation of a work vehicle. Abstract) including a work device including a work tool (Fig 2. a boom 252 Paragraph [0025]) and a movable support section configured to change an orientation of the work tool, (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. Paragraph [0025]), the control method comprising:
storing at least three types of target orientations; (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25),
selecting any one of the at least three types of target orientations based on a command signal (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. The operator may establish or select the boom angle or target boom angular range via an entry or input into the user interface 22. For example, the operator may enter or select a desired ready height of the attachment, a default or factory setting for the desired ready height of the attachment, or a target boom angular range. The target boom angular range may be based on the desired ready height of the attachment defined by the operator. In one embodiment, the user interface 22 supports manual override, interruption, ceasing, or recall of a recently entered or in progress return-to-position command. For example, the user interface 22 and controller 20 (e.g., the override module 331) may be programmed to stop the return-to-position movement of the boom 252, attachment 251, or both upon the receipt of the operator's manual input (e.g., via the joystick or user interface) during a return-to-position movement previously or inadvertently activated by the operator. Paragraph [0038]) for operating the orientation of the work tool and a detection signal indicating a current orientation of the work tool; and (S302, a first sensor 14 detects a boom angle of the boom 252 with respect to a support 277 near a first end 275 of the boom 252. In step S304, a second sensor 18 detects an attachment angle of the attachment 251 with respect to the boom 252. Paragraphs [0056 and 0057])
setting the selected target orientation as a target orientation of the work tool to control the movable support section. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
the at least three types of target orientations include a first orientation, a second orientation, and a third orientation, (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25),
the command signal including a first command signal (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. To move the boom 252 or hold the boom 252 steady in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the first electrical control interface 13. Paragraph [0025]) and a second command signal (The second hydraulic cylinder 16 is arranged to move the attachment 251 by changing a linear position (e.g., second linear position) of a movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the second hydraulic cylinder 16. To move the boom 252 or hold the attachment 251 in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the second electrical control interface 17. Paragraph [0026]), and
the controller being configured to
in a case in which the first command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the second orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal, and (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037])
in a case in which the second command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the third orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
Examiner notes that Sahlin discloses a system that includes three stored orientations (horizontal, carry, and dump) and a controller that uses two distinct actuator signals (extension/retraction) as command inputs. These signals result in the selection of one of two orientations depending on the current implemental position.
Regarding claim 12, Sahlin teaches a work machine comprising the control system according to claim 1 (Fig. 2):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahlin in view of US 20190382984 A1 hereinafter Hagiwara.
Regarding claim 2, Sahlin teaches a control system of a work machine (A method and system for automated operation of a work vehicle. Abstract) including a work device including a work tool (Fig 2. a boom 252 Paragraph [0025]) and a movable support section configured to change an orientation of the work tool (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. Paragraph [0025]), the control system comprising:
a controller (The control system 11 comprises a first cylinder assembly 10 and a second cylinder assembly 24 that provide a sensor signal or sensor data to a controller 20. Paragraph [0024]) including a storage unit configured to store at least three types of target orientations including a first orientation As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25), the controller being configured to
in a case in which a command signal for operating the orientation of the work tool is received, control the movable support section by using the first orientation as a target orientation of the work tool, and (In one embodiment, the user interface 22 comprises one or more switches for accepting a command to move to a preset position or enter a preset position state (e.g., return-to-dig position) from another position or position state (e.g., dump position, curl position, or another operational position). The command may refer to the activation or deactivation of the switch by an operator. For example, if the switch comprises a joystick controller 20, in one embodiment the command (e.g., and accompanying command data) is initiated by moving a handle of the joystick controller 20 to a defined detent position for a minimum duration. The operator may establish or select the boom angle or target boom angular range via an entry or input into the user interface 22. For example, the operator may enter or select a desired ready height of the attachment, a default or factory setting for the desired ready height of the attachment, or a target boom angular range. The target boom angular range may be based on the desired ready height of the attachment defined by the operator. In one embodiment, the user interface 22 supports manual override, interruption, ceasing, or recall of a recently entered or in progress return-to-position command. For example, the user interface 22 and controller 20 (e.g., the override module 331) may be programmed to stop the return-to-position movement of the boom 252, attachment 251, or both upon the receipt of the operator's manual input (e.g., via the joystick or user interface) during a return-to-position movement previously or inadvertently activated by the operator. Paragraph [0038])
set the selected target orientation as the target orientation of the work tool to
control the movable support section. (In step S306, the user interface 22 or controller 20 facilitates a command to move to a preset position from another position (e.g., curl position, dump position, operational position, task position, or digging position). For example, the user interface 22 or controller 20 may facilitate a command to enter the first preset position, the second preset position (e.g., FIG. 3), or another preset position. In step S308, a controller 20 controls a first hydraulic cylinder 12 (associated with the boom 252) to attain a boom angle (e.g., shifted boom angle) within the target boom angular position and controls the second hydraulic cylinder 16 (associated with the attachment 251) to attain an attachment angle (e.g., a shifted attachment angle) within a target attachment angular position associated with the preset position or preset position state (e.g., first preset position or second preset position state) in response to the command. Step S308 may be carried out in accordance with various techniques, which may be applied alternately and cumulatively. Paragraphs [0058-0059])
the at least three types of target orientations further include a second orientation and a third orientation, (As used herein, a preset position or preset position state comprise one or more of the following positions of a boom, an attachment, or both: a lower boom position, an elevated boom position, a bucket curl position, a material-carrying or level position of a bucket or attachment, a ready-to-dig position, a ready position, a return-to-dig position, a curl position of an attachment (e.g., bucket), a lower ready-to-dig position, an elevated ready-to-dig position, a lower curl position (e.g., for transportation of material in a bucket), an elevated curl position, a ready-to-dump position, a dump position, a lower dump position, and an elevated dump position, a first operational position, a second operational position, among other possibilities. Each of the preset positions may be defined by one or more of the following: a preset boom angle, a preset attachment angle, a preset bucket angle, a preset boom angular range, a preset attachment angular range, a preset bucket angular range, an attachment angle, an attachment angular range, a boom angle, and a boom angular range, a boom position, a boom position range, an attachment position, and an attachment position range. The preset position may be defined by an operator, defined as a factory setting, or programmed or reprogrammed in the field (e.g., via optical, electromagnetic, wireless, telematic or electrical communication). Various examples of preset positions will be described in greater detail in FIG. 2 through FIG. 5, for example. Paragraph [0037]. Examiner notes that the use of multiple operational positions and possibilities would include the limitation of at least three types of target orientations. Paragraph [0102] additionally supplements this by stating multiple presents / positions can be stored in the data storage device 25),
the command signal includes a first command signal (The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is associated with the boom. The first hydraulic cylinder 12 is arranged to move the boom 252 by changing a position (e.g., first linear position) of a first movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the first hydraulic cylinder 12. To move the boom 252 or hold the boom 252 steady in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the first electrical control interface 13. Paragraph [0025]) and a second command signal, and (The second hydraulic cylinder 16 is arranged to move the attachment 251 by changing a linear position (e.g., second linear position) of a movable member (e.g., rod or piston) of the second hydraulic cylinder 16. To move the boom 252 or hold the attachment 251 in a desired position, the controller 20 sends a control signal or control data to the second electrical control interface 17. Paragraph [0026]),
the controller is configured to
Sahlin does not teach in a case in which the command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within a predetermined time,
select a target orientation different from the first orientation among the at least three types of target orientations,
in a case in which the first command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the second orientation as the target orientation of the work tool, and
in a case in which the second command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the third orientation as the target orientation of the work tool.
However, Hagiwara teaches in a case in which the command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within a predetermined time, (The first operation and the second operation are operations onto shift lever 3421 of joystick 342. Therefore, the shift upper limit position can be raised to the highest gear position at once by continuously operating shift lever 3421 for a predetermined time period or longer. Paragraph [0104])
select a target orientation different from the first orientation among the at least three types of target orientations (The first operation and the second operation are operations onto shift lever 3421 of joystick 342. Therefore, the shift upper limit position can be raised to the highest gear position at once by continuously operating shift lever 3421 for a predetermined time period or longer. Paragraph [0104])
in a case in which the first command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the second orientation as the target orientation of the work tool, and (The first operation and the second operation are operations onto shift lever 3421 of joystick 342. Therefore, the shift upper limit position can be raised to the highest gear position at once by continuously operating shift lever 3421 for a predetermined time period or longer. Paragraph [0104])
in a case in which the second command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the third orientation as the target orientation of the work tool. (The first operation and the second operation are operations onto shift lever 3421 of joystick 342. Therefore, the shift upper limit position can be raised to the highest gear position at once by continuously operating shift lever 3421 for a predetermined time period or longer. Paragraph [0104])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller system of Sahlin to include a case in which the command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within a predetermined time, select a target orientation different from the first orientation among the at least three types of target orientations of Hagiwara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the system of Sahlin to handle continuous long-pressing operations as suggested by Hagiwara in paragraph [0049]
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sahlin and Hagiwara teaches a work machine comprising the control system according to claim 2 (Fig. 2 Sahlin):
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicants’ argument “Independent claims 1 and 10 recite, inter alia, that the controller is configured to in a case in which the first command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the second orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal, and in a case in which the second command signal is received, select any one of the first orientation or the third orientation as the target orientation based on the detection signal. As described in paragraph [0060], for example, in a case in which the first command signal is received, the controller selects any one of the first orientation and the second orientation as the target orientation. Additionally, in a case in which the second command signal is received, the controller selects any one of the first orientation and the third orientation as the target orientation.
Independent claim 2 recites, inter alia, the controller being configured to in a case in which the first command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the second orientation as the target orientation of the work tool, and in a case in which the second command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, determine the third orientation as the target orientation of the work tool. As described in paragraph [0082], for example, in a case in which the first command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, the controller determines the second orientation as the target orientation of the work tool. Additionally, in a case in which the second command signal is continuously and repeatedly received within the predetermined time, the controller determines the third orientation as the target orientation of the work tool.
Schoenmaker discloses a work vehicle, such as a loader 250, as shown in FIGS. 2 and
3. The loader 250 includes an attachment 251, such as a bucket, and a movable support section, such as hydraulic cylinders 12 and 16 and a boom 252. A controller 20, as shown in FIG. 1, includes a storage unit and stores a plurality of preset positions of the boom or the attachment, as described in paragraphs [0037] and [0102]. As shown in FIG. 6, for example, step S300 establishes a preset position and step S302 detects an attachment angle with respect to the boom. Step S308 controls the first hydraulic cylinder 12 to attain the preset position.
Paragraph [0025] of Schoenmaker describes the controller 20 sending a signal to
control the first hydraulic cylinder 12 to control the boom. Paragraph [0026] of Schoenmaker describes the controller 20 sending a signal to control the second hydraulic cylinder 16 to
control the attachment. These signals are alleged to correspond to the recited first and second command signals of Applicant's independent claims 1, 2 and 10.
However, as described in paragraph [0038] of Schoenmaker, a user interface includes a switch or other controller that accepts a command to move to the preset position. However, Schoenmaker does not disclose that the controller 20 selects one of the preset positions responsive to a command signal, as recited in Applicant's independent claims 1, 2 and 10. As described in step 5308 of FIG. 6, the first and second hydraulic cylinders 12 and 16 are controlled to attain the attachment angle and the boom angle associated with the preset position selected in step 5300. In other words, the controller 20 of Schoenmaker controls the boom and attachment in accordance with the selected preset position, and the controller does not select one of the preset positions. Thus, Schoenmaker does not disclose that the controller selects a first orientation or a second orientation when a first command signal is received, and selects a first orientation of a third orientation when a second command signal is received, as recited in Applicant's independent claims 1 and 10.
Applicant's independent claim 2 is amended to recite the features of original
dependent claim 5. As indicated on page 2 of the Office Action, the features of original claims 2 and 5 are not disclosed in Schoenmaker.
It is well settled under U.S. patent law that for a reference to anticipate a claim, the reference must disclose each and every element of the claim within the reference. "A claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference."Verdegaal Bros., Inc. v. Union Oil Co., 814 F.2d 628, 631 (Fed. Cir. 1987). Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claims 1, 2 and 10 are not anticipated by the prior art of record.” Filed 10/28/2025 has been fully considered but is not persuasive. (Examiner notes that Schoenmaker and Sahlin both reference the same application for purpose of the lower analysis)
Applicant argues that Sahlin does not disclose a controller that selects one of a plurality of target orientations in response to a command signal and a detection signal, and instead merely executes a preset position selected elsewhere. However, Sahlin discloses a controller configured to store multiple preset positions corresponding to different orientations of a work tool and to move the work tool to a selected preset position in response to an operator command. In order to perform the command movement, the controller necessarily evaluates the current orientation of the work tool using sensor feedback and determines which preset position to attain based on the received command. The claimed selection of a target orientation does not require an express decision tree or explicit branching logic therefore Sahlin’s disclosed control behavior teaches this limitation.
Applicant additionally argues that Sahlin does not disclose selecting different target orientations depending on whether a first or second command signal is received. However, Sahlin discloses multiple command inputs corresponding to different control signals that cause the controller to move the work tool to different preset positions. These preset positions correspond to different target orientations, and the controller’s determination of which preset position to attain is inherently based on the received command and the current detected orientation of the work tool.
Applicant’s argument with regards to 35 U.S.C section 103 (Pages 11-15 in applicants remarks) filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hagiwara is directed to transmission control and therefore is not analogous art and does nut cure the alleged deficiencies of Sahlin, however, Hagiwara is relied upon for its teaching of interpreting command inputs based on continuous and repeated operation within a predetermined time. Both Sahlin and Hagiwara relate to operator interfaces for work machines and the interpretation of user input signals, and thus are analogous art. Applicant further argues that neither Sahlin or Hagiwara discloses determining a different target orientation based on continuously and repeatedly receiving a command signal within a predetermined time. However, Sahlin discloses selecting and executing preset orientations in response to command signals and Hagiwara teaches distinguishing between short and long / repeated command inputs within a predetermined time to produce different control outcomes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control system of Sahlin to incorporate the repeated input interpretation taught by Hagiwara in order to improve operator efficiency and reduce repetitive manual operations. The modification involves the predictable use of known input handling techniques to improve an existing control system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667