DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 18 November 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al. (US 2012/0178986; hereinafter “Campbell”).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell discloses an intravascular blood pump, comprising: a collapsible pump portion and an impeller disposed within the collapsible pump portion near a pump outflow (e.g. ¶¶ 51 – “The retracted position is one example of a second state enabling the impeller assembly 116 to expand to an enlarged configuration. The advanced position is one example of a first state that enables the impeller assembly 116 to be collapsed to the low profile configuration.”); and a rotatable blood mover (e.g. ¶¶ 106 – “…the diffuser 502a can rotate with the rotating hub 208…”) axially spaced from the impeller and being disposed at least partially within the pump outflow (e.g. ¶¶ 104 – “…reduce outlet flow losses”).
Regarding claim 2, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover is rotationally coupled to the impeller (e.g. Fig. 13A; ¶¶ 106 – “…the diffuser 502a can rotate with the rotating hub 208…”).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover is adapted to be collapsible and expandable (e.g. ¶¶ 109 – “the collapsible diffuser 502a, 502b can have a deployed, expanded configuration, and a retracted, collapsed configuration”).
Regarding claims 4-5, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover is not adapted to be collapsible and expandable (e.g. ¶¶ 110 – “material itself may not be significantly expandable (e.g., stretchable and/or elastic)”) and the rotatable blood mover is more rigid than the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 110 – where in this scenario the material would be more rigid and not as compressible as the impeller vanes)
Regarding claim 6, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover comprises a plurality of radially extending fins (e.g. Fig. 13B – 2 fins), and optionally includes a conical surface from which the plurality of fins extend (e.g. Fig 13B – where element 504b extends conically from element 516).
Regarding claim 7, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover has a radially outermost dimension less than a radially outermost dimension of the impeller when expanded, both relative to a long axis of a drive cable, optionally wherein the radially outermost dimension of the blood mover is less than half of the radially outermost dimension of the impeller when expanded (e.g. Fig. 13A – where 502A is clearly less than a radially outermost dimension of the impeller when expanded).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover is adapted to reduce at least one of blood recirculation or stagnation in the vicinity of the blood mover or the pump outflow (e.g. ¶¶ 104 – “optimized to control desired fluid properties such as boundary layer flow, laminar flow, and pressure gradients” – where the examiner considers these to be adaptations that would reduce at least one of blood recirculation or stagnation).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell discloses the impeller is fully disposed in the pump outflow (e.g. ¶¶ 103-106 – where the examiner considers the outlet side of the cannula to be half of the cannula towards the outlet side 54, within which the impeller resides).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell discloses the pump outflow includes a radial flow component (e.g. ¶¶ 100 – “flow path 482 continues from the distal bearing 474b radially outwardly along thrust surfaces”)
Regarding claim 11, Campbell discloses the blood mover is not in contact with the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 102 – “in other embodiments, the diffuser 502b is separate from (e.g., not connected to) the impeller hub 208”).
Regarding claims 12-13, Campbell discloses the rotatable blood mover is rotationally coupled to the impeller with a drive shaft and is part of a bearing housing that rotates when the drive shaft rotates (e.g. ¶¶ 106 – “the diffuser 502a can rotate with the rotating hub 208”).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796