DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Revie et al. (US 20160123850).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 11-13
Revies discloses quality control films (i.e., which would have a surface) for histopathology staining that comprise cellulose with no plasticizers (abstract, paras 0001-0003, and claims 1 and 10).
Regarding claims 6 and 9
Revie discloses that the cellulose film may be adhered to a slide using a glue (i.e., a coating that would be on at least one side) (para 0050).
Regarding claims 8 and 10
The slide may be viewed as a protective sheet and a barrier coating, given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Revie et al. (US 20160123850), as applied to claims 1-2, 6 and 8-13 above.
Regarding claims 3-5
Revie discloses that the substrate can be cellulose or gelatine (i.e., a protein) (claim 10), as such it would have been prima facie obvious to use both cellulose and gelatine in the substrate, because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Regarding claim 7
Revie discloses that the film can be 5 to 30 microns thick (para 0049). As the reference range overlaps the claimed range the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the 112 rejection over claim 7.
Applicants amendment to claim 7 overcomes the issues of indefiniteness and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Revie is silent as to the use of plasticizers. While this is correct it is not persuasive, as there is nothing that would lead the skilled artisan to think a composition included components not taught or listed, and implies that no plasticizer is present. Further, it is noted that any cellulose film with less than 2 plasticizers would anticipate claim 1.
Applicants argue that Revie does not teach the technical advantages of a cellulose film with less than two plasticizers. While this may be true it is not persuasive as applicants have presented no evidence of new or unexpected results for making a cellulose film with less than two plasticizers, and again nothing in Revie suggest the use of a plasticizer.
Applicants argue that a skilled artisan would use a plasticizer to get better quality films. This is not persuasive and while a plasticizer may give films with better qualities, it is not required to form a useful film. Further, Applicants even admit that plasticizer free cellulose films are known and would anticipate the claim even if they were used in batteries instead of histopathology staining, as long as it would be capable for the same purpose, and applicants have provided no evidence beyond opinion and conjecture that such would be the case.
Applicants argue that Revie repeatedly refers to cellophane. This is not persuasive as Revie also discloses cellulose. Further, applicants have not shown that cellophane films cannot be formed with less than two plasticizers.
Applicants argue that a pure or natural cellulose films cannot be used to create a film by itself. If this is true then it is expected that the instant invention would be inoperative for its claimed use as well.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734