DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed August 4, 2026 wherein claims 1-2 and 4-6 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al (US 2018/0346768).
With regards to claim 1, Sato teaches a conductive composition (abstract) that contains a metal particle that includes tin (abstract), a resin that includes a phenoxy resin (0111), and an organic acid (0123).
With regards to claim 2, Sato teaches the addition of lead-free solders (0007 and 0059).
With regards to claim 5, Sato is silent on the use of the composition as a conductive ink. However, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, the addition of such statement adds no patentable weight.
With regards to claim 6, Sato teaches the composition to be used for a circuit (0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizowaki et al (US 2016/0194525) in view of Sato et al (US 2018/0346768).
With regards to claim 1, Mizowaki teaches an electrically conductive adhesive (abstract) that includes a conductive metallic powder including Sn (tin) (abstract), a thermosetting resin (abstract) that includes polyimide-based resin (0023), and an organic acid (abstract).
Mizowaki does not teach the resin to include one of the claimed resin components.
The disclosure of Sato is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference. Sato teaches the motivation for using this resin to be because it provides a composition with excellent film properties such as formability and handleability (0040). Sato and Mizowaki are analogous in the art of conductive compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the resin of Sato as the resin of Mizowaki, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 2, Mizowaki teaches the composition to contain a solder that is lead free (0003).
With regards to claim 4, Mizowaki teaches the volume resistivity to be 2X10-4 Ωcm (0050 table 3, example 4).
With regards to claim 5, Mizowak is silent on the use of the composition as a conductive ink. However, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, the addition of such statement adds no patentable weight.
With regards to claim 6, Mizowaki teaches the composition to be used on electronic circuits (0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-5, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-6 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the above claims with respect to USC 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-5, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 and 4-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sato et al (US 20180346768).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763