DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed February 13, 2026, claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-14 have been amended, claims 4 and 15 have been canceled, and claims 1-3 and 5-14 are currently pending for examination.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see Section II page 8 - page 14, filed February 13, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-12 and 14 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-12 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view Purkayastha et al. (us-provisional-application US 63047200 filed 20200701, published as US Pub. No.: 2022/0007446).
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia (VICE CHAIRMAN (NOKIA): "Report on LTE legacy, Mobility, DCCA, Multi-SIM and RAN slicing", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2104301, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. RAN WG2, no. electronic, 21 April 2021, IDS submitted 12/12/2024), and further in view of Purkayastha et al. (us-provisional-application US 63047200 filed 20200701, published as US Pub. No.: 2022/0007446).
As per claim 1, Nokia disclose A method supporting a dual connectivity (see subsection 6.5.2, UE performing DC), the method comprising:
receiving, from a master node, a first message including first information associated with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (see subsection 8.2.2.1, receiving a master node generated message/ a first message, with secondary cell group (SCG) deactivation); and
receiving, from the master node, a second message associated with SCG activation (see section 8.2.2.1, the source MN sends/sending {receiving from MN} the current SCG activation state / a second message associated with SCG activation, see also section 6.5.2, receiving TCI state indication for activation of the Scell/second information, part of the SCG);
wherein the second message includes second information on a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a primary SCG cell (PSCell) of the SCG (see subsection 6.5.2, receiving TCI state indication for Scell or PScell/second information is received),
wherein a TCI state for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception on the PSCell is indicated based on the second information (see subsection 6.5.2, the TCI is carried on the PDCCH for the SCell or PSCell, where the TCI state is activated for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ).
Examiner’s Note: Instant specification paragraph’s 0207 teaches, “In an embodiment, the UE may identify that a SCG is deactivated. For example, the UE may receive information including an indication to deactivate the SCG and identify deactivation of the SCG based on the information.”
Although Nokia disclose A method supporting a dual connectivity,
Nokia does not explicitly disclose the method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity and receiving information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell.
Purkayastha however disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. UE 120, Fig. 4, Fig.5, UE 420 ) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig.1, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig.5, see para. 0046-0047, UE 120 includes means for operating, in connection with an SCG for MR-DC ) and receiving information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell (see para. 0047, 0048, transmitting a control message to the UE indicating to activate downlink BWP configured for the PSCell for operating in the SCG activated state, see prov. para. 0005, 0045-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity and receiving information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell, as taught by Purkayastha, in the system of Nokia, so as to receive a control message associated with activating the SCG for the UE, the control message indicating a BWP switch for the UE, and switching, in connection with receiving the control message, from one of the dormant downlink BWP or the enhanced dormant downlink BWP to an activated downlink BWP in which the UE operates in an SCG activated state, see Purkayastha, paragraphs 6-8.
As per claim 5, the combination of Nokia and Purkayastha disclose the method of claim 1.
Purkayastha further disclose wherein a second information for activating the SCG is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling (see (see para. 0058, 0059, a UE transitions to an SCG activated state from an SCG deactivated state by receiving a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)).
As per claim 6, claim 6 relate to a method performed by a master node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1. Purkayastha also disclose a method performed by a master node in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig.4, Fig.5, an MN 410 (e.g., a base station 110) of an MCG may communicate with an SN (e.g., a base station 110) of an SCG and a UE 420 (e.g., a UE 120), see para. 0060).
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As per claim 9, claim 9 relate to a method performed by a secondary node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1. Purkayastha also disclose a method performed by a secondary node in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig. 4, Fig.5, para. FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example 400 associated with SCG activation by BWP for MR-DC, see para. 0060-0063).
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Purkayastha also disclose A user equipment (UE) (see Fig.1-Fig.4, UE 420 (e.g., a UE 120)) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig.1-Fig.4, UE 420 (e.g., a UE 120), dual connectivity with multiple radio access technologies (MR-DC), see para. 0046), the UE comprising: a transceiver (see Fig.2, transmit processor 264, a transceiver); and a processor coupled with the transceiver (see Fig.2, para. 0047, controller/processor 280 coupled with the transceiver).
Claims 3, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia (VICE CHAIRMAN (NOKIA): "Report on LTE legacy, Mobility, DCCA, Multi-SIM and RAN slicing", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2104301, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. RAN WG2, no. electronic, 21 April 2021), in view of Purkayastha et al. (us-provisional-application US 63047200 filed 20200701, published as US Pub. No.: 2022/0007446) and further in view of MEDIATEK (MEDIATEK INC., 'UE behavior during SCG deactivation', R2-2104160, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #l 13bise, eMeeting, 02 April 2021, IDS submitted 11/6/2023).
As per claim 3, the combination of Nokia and Purkayastha disclose the method of claim 1.
The combination of Nokia and Purkayastha however does not explicitly disclose while the SCG is deactivated, performing radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell; and transmitting, to a master node, a report of the RRM measurements.
Mediatek however disclose while a SCG is deactivated, performing radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell; and transmitting, to a master node, a report of the RRM measurements (see page 1, "MNconfigured RRM measurement/reporting procedures do not depend on the SCG activation state (deactivated or activated)", and see page 3: "Another aspect is about the reconfiguration of RRM measurement while SCG is deactivated. Since RAN2 agreed that "MN- and SN-configured measurements are supported for deactivated SCG", UE keep doing RRM measurement even if SCG is
Deactivated, to allow reconfiguration of RRM measurement no matter SCG is activated or deactivated").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of while a SCG is deactivated, performing radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell; and transmitting, to a master node, a report of the RRM measurements, as taught by Mediatek, in the system of Nokia and Purkayastha, so as to provide TCI state activation information to a UE for direct PSCell activation, see Mediatek, sections 3.1-3.2.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 14, claim 4 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia (VICE CHAIRMAN (NOKIA): "Report on LTE legacy, Mobility, DCCA, Multi-SIM and RAN slicing", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2104301, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. RAN WG2, no. electronic, 21 April 2021), in view of Purkayastha et al. (us-provisional-application US 63047200 filed 20200701, published as US Pub. No.: 2022/0007446), and further in view of MEDIATEK (MEDIATEK INC., 'UE behavior during SCG deactivation', R2-2104160, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #l 13bise, eMeeting, 02 April 2021).
As per claim 11, the combination of Nokia and Purkayastha disclose the method of claim 9.
The combination of Nokia and Purkayastha however does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the master node, a report of the radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell, the RRM measurement performed by a user equipment (UE) while the SCG is deactivated.
Mediatek however disclose receiving, from a master node, a report of the radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell, the RRM measurement performed by a user equipment (UE) while the SCG is deactivated (see page 1, "MNconfigured RRM measurement/reporting procedures do not depend on the SCG activation state (deactivated or activated)", and see page 3: "Another aspect is about the reconfiguration of RRM measurement while SCG is deactivated. Since RAN2 agreed that "MN- and SN-configured measurements are supported for deactivated SCG", UE keep doing RRM measurement even if SCG is Deactivated, to allow reconfiguration of RRM measurement no matter SCG is activated or deactivated").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receiving, from a master node, a report of the radio resource management (RRM) measurements for the PSCell, the RRM measurement performed by a user equipment (UE) while the SCG is deactivated, as taught by Mediatek, in the system of Nokia and Purkayastha, so that when the SCG is in deactivated state, the UE sends MeasurementReport messages for measurement results of SN-configured measurements embedded in the E-UTRA (if the MCG is EUTRA) or in the NR (if the MCG is NR) ULinformationTransferMRDC message via SRB1, see Mediatek, section 3.1-3.2.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (WO No.: 2021/027752, IDS submitted 11/6/2023), and further in view of Mediatek ('Report of Post 13-e][224][DCCA] TCI state indication at direct SCell activation (MediaTek)', R2-2104036, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #113bis-e, eMeeting, 02 April 2021, IDS submitted 11/6/2023).
As per claim 1, Xu disclose A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig.1, Fig.10, para. 0056, a method of dual connection performed by a UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a master node, a first message including first information associated with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (see Fig.5, 0066-0071, 0087-0091, Fig.8, 10, para. 0101-0104, the terminal deactivate the SCG, and since the SCG is deactivated, it does not need to monitor the PScell of the SCG and does not need to send uplink signal / receiving that a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated by not monitoring or sending, see also para. 0169-0171); and
receiving, from the master node, a second message associated with SCG activation (see Fig.8, Fig.10, para. 0133, 0152, a terminal receiving an activation command to activate the SCG), and
receiving an information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell (see page10-11, para. 0026, 0043-0046, 0152-0155, activating the SCG or the PSCell according to the activation command comprises activating a first uplink BWP and/or a first downlink BWP associated with the PSCell, see also claim 20).
Although Xu disclose identifying that a secondary cell group (SCG) is deactivated and activating the SCG;
Xu however does not explicitly disclose wherein the second message includes second information on a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a primary SCGcell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein a TCI state for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception on the PSCell is indicated based on the second information.
Mediatek however disclose wherein a message includes second information on a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a primary SCGcell (PSCell) of the SCG (see page 4, "MAC CE to provide TCI state" /receiving , "TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE", and "TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE" / TCI state of PSCell, where PSCell activation procedure in NR for TCI state); and wherein a TCI state for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception on the PSCell is indicated based on the second information (see page 1: "TCI state activation is required as part of the SCell activation procedure in NR", NR", and see page 2: "a TCI state activation is required in some cases (e.g. inter-band CA) in addition to the RRC activation command to complete the direct SCell activation procedure if more than one TCI states are configured", also per page 4, TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE, the PDSCH of the PScell is activated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a message includes second information on a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a primary SCGcell (PSCell) of the SCG and wherein a TCI state for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception on the PSCell is indicated based on the second information, as taught by Mediatek, in the system of Xu, so as to enable the feature to add the TCI state information via RRC for direct SCell
activation, see Mediatek, paragraphs 21-22.
As per claim 6, claim 6 relate to a method performed by a master node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1.
As per claim 9, claim 9 relate to a method performed by a secondary node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Third Rejection:
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia (VICE CHAIRMAN (NOKIA): "Report on LTE legacy, Mobility, DCCA, Multi-SIM and RAN slicing", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2104301, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), vol. RAN WG2, no. electronic, 21 April 2021, IDS submitted 12/12/2024), and further in view of Xu et al (WO No.: 2021/027752).
As per claim 1, Nokia disclose A method supporting a dual connectivity (see subsection 6.5.2, UE performing DC), the method comprising:
receiving, from a master node, a first message including first information associated with deactivation of a secondary cell group (SCG) (see subsection 8.2.2.1, receiving a master node generated message/ a first message, with secondary cell group (SCG) deactivation); and
receiving, from the master node, a second message associated with SCG activation (see section 8.2.2.1, the source MN sends/sending {receiving from MN} the current SCG activation state / a second message associated with SCG activation, see also section 6.5.2, receiving TCI state indication for activation of the Scell/second information, part of the SCG);
wherein the second message includes second information on a transmission configuration information (TCI) state for a primary SCG cell (PSCell) of the SCG (see subsection 6.5.2, receiving TCI state indication for Scell or PScell/second information is received),
wherein a TCI state for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception on the PSCell is indicated based on the second information (see subsection 6.5.2, the TCI is carried on the PDCCH for the SCell or PSCell, where the TCI state is activated for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ).
Examiner’s Note: Instant specification paragraph’s 0207 teaches, “In an embodiment, the UE may identify that a SCG is deactivated. For example, the UE may receive information including an indication to deactivate the SCG and identify deactivation of the SCG based on the information.”
Although Nokia disclose A method supporting a dual connectivity,
Nokia does not explicitly disclose the method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity and receiving information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell.
Xu however disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.1-Fig. 4, Fig.9, a UE 900) in a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity (see Fig.6, para. 0105-0124, a wireless communication system supporting a dual connectivity) and receiving information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell (see page10-11, para. 0026, 0043-0046, 0152-0155, activating the SCG or the PSCell according to the activation command comprises activating a first uplink BWP and/or a first downlink BWP associated with the PSCell, see also claim 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a second information further includes information on a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to be activated for the PSCell upon activation of the SCG, as taught by Xu, in the system of Nokia, so as to enable a UE to perform deactivation of the PSCell, including deactivating the activated bandwidth part BWP associated with the PSCell , see Xu, paragraphs 8-10.
As per claim 6, claim 6 relate to a method performed by a master node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1.
As per claim 9, claim 9 relate to a method performed by a secondary node, is rejected the same way as claim 1, the features correspond to claim 1.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US Pub. No.:2020/0351041) – see para. 0065, “… process 800 involves processor 612 applying the TCI state activation command. In some implementations, in transmitting the CSI report, process 800 may involve processor 612 transmitting the CSI report within an extended duration (Y′) after the receiving of the SCell activation command. In such cases, the extended duration (Y′) may be equal to a SCell activation delay (Y) plus the duration (D). Moreover, the SCell activation delay (Y) may be equal to a time for fine synchronization (T.sub.FineTiming) plus a time for decoding a MAC CE that contains the SCell activation command. Furthermore, the duration (D) may be more than 0 ms and up to a predefined value (e.g., 320 ms)”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469