DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210028843 A1), hereinafter Zhou, in view of Matsumura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230189261 A1), hereinafter Matsumura.
With respect to claim 1, Zhou teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising (fig. 30, [0451], a wireless device):
at least one memory ([0240], memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ([0240], program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
receive reference signals over two channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources, wherein each CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmission point of two transmission points in a network (fig. 30, [0450-0451], wireless device receives two CSI-RS resources, TRP #0 transmits one CSI-RS resource, and TRP #1 transmits second CSI-RS resource);
receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission (fig. 39, [0473], wireless device receives a CSI reporting setting / configuration parameters of channel state information (CSI) resource configurations for a CSI report configuration. The CSI resource configurations comprise first CSI resource configurations associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP) and second CSI resource configurations associated with at least two second TRPs), and
report at least one CSI report to the network, and the at least one CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to single-TRP transmission, based on the CSI reporting setting (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473], the wireless device transmits a CSI report to the network, and the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to the first TRP, based on the CSI reporting setting).
Although Zhou teaches receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission as set forth above. Zhou does not explicitly teach based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission.
However, Matsumura teaches based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission ([0145], a PDSCH scheduled by the single DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura, based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs (Matsumura, [0010]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive two physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions ([0272]), and control resource sets (CORESETs) corresponding to the two PDCCH transmissions have different values of a CORESET pool index parameter ([0338),
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhou teaches wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a higher-layer parameter that identifies whether CSI reporting for multi-TRP transmission supports multi-DCI transmission, single-DCI transmission, or a combination thereof ([0473),
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhou teaches wherein a CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach is based on multi-DCI PDSCH.
However, Matsumura teaches is based on multi-DCI PDSCH ([0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura, is based on multi-DCI PDSCH, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs (Matsumura, [0010]).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhou teaches wherein the at least one processer is configured to cause the UE to receive two CSI reporting settings, and a first CSI reporting setting of the two CSI reporting settings triggers a first CSI report, and a second CSI reporting setting of the two CSI reporting settings triggers a second CSI report (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473]).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UE of claim 1. Zhou teaches wherein the first CSI reporting setting of the two CSI reporting settings includes an identification of the second CSI reporting setting of the two CSI reporting settings (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473]).
With respect to claim 14, Zhou teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (fig. 30, [0451], a wireless device):
receiving reference signals over two channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources, wherein each CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmission point of two transmission points in a network (fig. 30, [0450-0451], wireless device receives two CSI-RS resources, TRP #0 transmits one CSI-RS resource, and TRP #1 transmits second CSI-RS resource);
receiving a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission (fig. 39, [0473], wireless device receives a CSI reporting setting / configuration parameters of channel state information (CSI) resource configurations for a CSI report configuration. The CSI resource configurations comprise first CSI resource configurations associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP) and second CSI resource configurations associated with at least two second TRPs), and
reporting at least one CSI report to the network, and the at least one CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to single-TRP transmission, based on the CSI reporting setting (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473], the wireless device transmits a CSI report to the network, and the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to the first TRP, based on the CSI reporting setting).
Although Zhou teaches receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission as set forth above. Zhou does not explicitly teach based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission.
However, Matsumura teaches based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission ([0145], a PDSCH scheduled by the single DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura, based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs (Matsumura, [0010]).
With respect to claim 15, Zhou teaches A base station, comprising (fig. 3, [0227], a base station):
at least one memory (fig. 3, [0227], memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (fig. 3, [0227], program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
transmit reference signals over two channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources, wherein each CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmission point of two transmission points in a network (fig. 30, [0450-0451], base station transmits two CSI-RS resources, TRP #0 transmits one CSI-RS resource, and TRP #1 transmits second CSI-RS resource); and
transmit a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission (fig. 39, [0473], base station transmits a CSI reporting setting / configuration parameters of channel state information (CSI) resource configurations for a CSI report configuration. The CSI resource configurations comprise first CSI resource configurations associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP) and second CSI resource configurations associated with at least two second TRPs),
wherein at least one CSI report is reported to the network, and the at least one CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to single-TRP transmission, based on the CSI reporting setting (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473], the wireless device transmits a CSI report to the network, and the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to the first TRP, based on the CSI reporting setting).
Although Zhou teaches receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission as set forth above. Zhou does not explicitly teach based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission.
However, Matsumura teaches based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission ([0145], a PDSCH scheduled by the single DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura, based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs (Matsumura, [0010]).
With respect to claim 16, Zhou teaches A processor for wireless communication, comprising ([0240], processor):
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to ([0240], program code instructions stored in memory and executable by the at least one processor):
receive reference signals over two channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) resources, wherein each CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmission point of two transmission points in a network (fig. 30, [0450-0451], wireless device receives two CSI-RS resources, TRP #0 transmits one CSI-RS resource, and TRP #1 transmits second CSI-RS resource);
receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission (fig. 39, [0473], wireless device receives a CSI reporting setting / configuration parameters of channel state information (CSI) resource configurations for a CSI report configuration. The CSI resource configurations comprise first CSI resource configurations associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP) and second CSI resource configurations associated with at least two second TRPs), and
report at least one CSI report to the network, and the at least one CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to single-TRP transmission, based on the CSI reporting setting (figs. 30, 39, [0451, 0473], the wireless device transmits a CSI report to the network, and the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to the first TRP, based on the CSI reporting setting).
Although Zhou teaches receive a CSI reporting setting corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) transmission as set forth above. Zhou does not explicitly teach based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission.
However, Matsumura teaches based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission ([0145], a PDSCH scheduled by the single DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumura, based on single-DCI PDSCH transmission, into the teachings of Zhou, in order to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs (Matsumura, [0010]).
With respect to claim 17, this claim recites the UE of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the UE of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Matsumura, and further in view of Dinan (Pub. No.: US 20160295576 A1), hereinafter Dinan.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Zhou and Matsumura teaches the UR of claim 11. The combination of Zhou and Matsumura does not explicitly teach wherein a priority order of the first CSI report and the second CSI report is based on identification numbers of the two CSI reporting settings corresponding to the two CSI reports.
However, Dinan teaches wherein a priority order of the first CSI report and the second CSI report is based on identification numbers of the two CSI reporting settings corresponding to the two CSI reports ([0177], a priority order of the first CSI report and the second CSI report is based on ascending order of priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dinan, wherein a priority order of the first CSI report and the second CSI report is based on identification numbers of the two CSI reporting settings corresponding to the two CSI reports, into the teachings of Zhou and Matsumura, in order for the selected CSI may be transmitted on the selected PUCCH resources (Dinan, [0177]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9-10, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20220103330 A1; “LI”, ([0020])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469