DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen et al (US 2023/0217334, hereinafter Koskinen), in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0383164, hereinafter Kim) and in view of Futaki et al (US 2025/0048444, hereinafter Futaki).
Regarding claim 1, Koskinen discloses a method for managing small data transmission (SDT) (early data transmission, Para [0032]) in a UE, the method implemented a distributed base station, the method comprising: communicating, with the UE operating in a connected state of a protocol for controlling radio resources and configured to communicate with the BS via a first bandwidth part (BWP) (a UE can be assigned a BWP in a connected mode, Para [0006], UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in connected mode, Para [0034], radio resource control, Para [0108], RRC connected mode); configuring, the UE to communicate with the BS on a second BWP when the UE is in a non-connected state of the protocol (UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in inactive mode, Para [0033], a BWP usable for early data transmission, Para [0032]); and performing, by the processing hardware via the DU, SDT with the UE operating in the non-connected state of the protocol (early data transmission within RACH MSG3 and MSG4, Para [0143], data transmission in inactive mode during random access message 3 and 4, Para [0162]); but does not explicitly the base station has a central unit and a distributed unit nor communicating and configuring via the DU. Kim discloses a base station with central unit and distributed unit and DU communicates on interface with the UE, Para [0070-71]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Koskinen in order to prevent miscommunications and allow the UE to efficiently setup a suspended RB and/or UE context; and does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the DU, a configuration for a second BWP, which the UE is to use in a non-connected state of the protocol. Futaki discloses the DU may notify the CU of the second BWP configuration information, Para [0138] and UE can continue to use second BWP in the RRC idle or inactive state, Para [0114]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Futaki in the system of Koskinen in view of Kim in order to allow reduced capability UEs to use suitable initial BWPs.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Koskinen discloses the method/CU of claim 1/15, wherein configuring the UE includes: transmitting, in a CU-to-DU message, a command to release an active connection between the UE and the distributed base station, the command including a configuration of the second BWP. Kim discloses the DU can receive from the CU, an RRC connection release message to be sent to the UE, sending it into inactive state, Para [0165]. Koskinen disclosed the UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in inactive mode, Para [0033],
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Koskinen discloses the method/CU of claim 1/15, wherein configuring the UE includes: transmitting, in a CU-to-DU message, a command to reconfigure an active connection between the UE and the distributed base station, the command including a configuration of the second BWP. Kim discloses the RRC connection resume message that may include reconfiguration indications, Para [0102].
Regarding claim 6, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second BWP at least partially overlaps the first BWP (first and second BWP overlap, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second BWP includes a downlink (DL) BWP and an uplink (UL) BWP (configuring BWP for DL and UL BWP, Para [0008]).
Regarding claims 14, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the SDT with the UE on the second BWP includes: performing a random access procedure on the second BWP (data transfer in random access, while in inactive mode, Para [0162], BWP usable for EDT and BWP usable for inactive mode, Para [0032-33]).
Regarding claim 15, Koskinen discloses a distributed base station comprising processing hardware (BS with processor, Para [1070]) and configured to: communicate, with the UE operating in a connected state of a protocol for controlling radio resources and configured to communicate via a first bandwidth part (BWP) (a UE can be assigned a BWP in a connected mode, Para [0006], UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in connected mode, Para [0034], radio resource control, Para [0108], RRC connected mode); configure, the UE to communicate with the DU on a second BWP when the UE is in a non-connected state of the protocol (UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in inactive mode, Para [0033], a BWP usable for early data transmission, Para [0032]); and perform SDT with the UE operating in the non-connected state of protocol (early data transmission within RACH MSG3 and MSG4, Para [0143], data transmission in inactive mode during random access message 3 and 4, Para [0162], the BS and UE would communicate on first BWP while in the connected mode); but does not explicitly the base station has a central unit and a distributed unit nor communicating and configuring via the DU. Kim discloses a base station with central unit and distributed unit and DU communicates on interface with the UE, Para [0070-71]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Koskinen in order to prevent miscommunications and allow the UE to efficiently setup a suspended RB and/or UE context; and does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the DU, a configuration for a second BWP, which the UE is to use in a non-connected state of the protocol. Futaki discloses the DU may notify the CU of the second BWP configuration information, Para [0138] and UE can continue to use second BWP in the RRC idle or inactive state, Para [0114]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Futaki in the system of Koskinen in view of Kim in order to allow reduced capability UEs to use suitable initial BWPs.
Claims 8-12 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen and in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Koskinen discloses a method for managing small data communication (SDT) in a UE, the method implemented in a distributed base station, the method comprising: communicating with the UE on a first bandwidth part (BWP), when the UE operates in a connected state of a protocol for controlling radio resources (a UE can be assigned a BWP in a connected mode, Para [0006], UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in connected mode, Para [0034], radio resource control, Para [0108], RRC connected mode); receiving, a configuration according to which the UE is to perform SDT in a non-connected state of the protocol, the configuration including an indication of a second BWP (UE receives limitation on BWPs from a base station, Para [0042], where a BWP is usable by the terminal in inactive mode, Para [0033], a BWP usable for early data transmission, Para [0032]); transmitting on the first BWP, the configuration to the UE and performing SDT with the UE on the second BWP when the UE operates in the non-connected state of the protocol (early data transmission within RACH MSG3 and MSG4, Para [0143], data transmission in inactive mode during random access message 3 and 4, Para [0162], the BS and UE would communicate on first BWP while in the connected mode); but does not explicitly the base station has a central unit and a distributed unit nor communicating and configuring via the DU. Kim discloses a base station with central unit and distributed unit and DU communicates on interface with the UE, Para [0070-71]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Kim in the system of Koskinen in order to prevent miscommunications and allow the UE to efficiently setup a suspended RB and/or UE context.
Regarding claim 9, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: transmitting the configuration to the UE includes transmitting a downlink (DL) Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU); the method further comprising: receiving, an RLC acknowledgement on the first BWP. Kim discloses RLC acknowledged mode, Para [0043], obvious the first BWP will be used while UE is in connected mode.
Regarding claim 10, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, on first BWP and after transmitting the configuration to the UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) related corresponding to a previously transmitted DL HARQ message. Kim discloses HARQ in response to the DL-SCH, Para [0034], HARQ is known in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: transmitting, in the DL RLC PDU, a command to release or reconfigure an active radio connection between the UE and the DU, the command associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources. Kim discloses the DU can receive from the CU, an RRC connection release message to be sent to the UE, sending it into inactive state, Para [0165].
Regarding claim 12, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 8, wherein transmitting the configuration includes: transmitting a command to release an active radio connection between the UE and the DU, when the UE is performing SDT on the first BWP. Kim discloses the DU can receive from the CU, an RRC connection release message to be sent to the UE, sending it into inactive state, Para [0165], obvious variation where the UE is transmitting data on the first BWP.
Claims 5, 13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskinen, in view of Kim, in view of Futaki and in view of Lin et al (US 2023/0292375, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Koskinen discloses the method/CU of claim 1/15, but not further comprising: receiving, from the DU, a configured grant (CG) configuration; wherein configuring the UE includes: transmitting, to the UE via the DU, the CG configuration for use on the second BWP. Lin discloses a target bandwidth used for SDT procedure, Para [0007] and the SDT procedure can include a configured grant based SDT procedure, Para [0045], obvious to one of ordinary the CG configuration is received from the BS via the DU. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Lin in the system of Koskinen in view of Kim and Futaki in order to improve methods for configuring bandwidth for performing SDT procedures.
Regarding claim 13, Koskinen discloses the method of claim 1, but not further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a CG configuration; wherein the SDT on the second BWP conforms to the CG configuration. Lin discloses a target bandwidth used for SDT procedure, Para [0007] and the SDT procedure can include a configured grant based SDT procedure, Para [0045], obvious to one of ordinary the CG configuration is received from the BS via the DU.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Koskinen discloses the CU/method of claim 18/5, but not wherein the CG configuration for use on the second BWP is for the SDT. Lin discloses a target bandwidth used for SDT procedure, Para [0007] and the SDT procedure can include a configured grant based SDT procedure, Para [0045], obvious to one of ordinary the CG configuration is received from the BS via the DU.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues neither reference suggests the CU and DU should exchange a BWP configuration. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action. The amendment is not identical from original dependent claim 4 but now includes additional limitations. Futaki discloses the DU may notify the CU of the second BWP configuration information, Para [0138] and UE can continue to use second BWP in the RRC idle or inactive state, Para [0114]. Applicant also argues over independent claim 8, stating the references do not disclose exchanging BWP information between a CU and DU in any manner. Applicant argues Koskinen does not disclose transmitting on first BWP a configuration of second BWP. In response, the limitation is a method claim, where it states “receiving, from the CU, a configuration” and does not state explicitly state a DU receives the configuration from a CU. Koskinen discloses the UE is assigned a BWP while in connected mode, so the configuration would be exchanged on that BWP when the UE is in a connected mode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461