DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under this heading are withdrawn due to the amendments to claims.
Drawings
The previous objections under this heading are withdrawn due to the amendments to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, 16, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum et al (US 2015/0321419; herein Linthicum, already of record), in view of UltiMaker (UltiMaker: How to replace the nozzle cover; UltiMaker: How to replace the nozzle cover: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9IX-X1yPIBg ; already of record). Regarding claim 1, Linthicum teaches:
A motor having an upright drive shaft (Figure 4, stepper motor 172)
A print head adjacent the motor and having a gearbox (Figures 4 and 5, where the gears are located), a hopper having a body (Figures 4-6, the heat sink 166, hopper 130, chute 132, and associated structures as seen in the Figures), and sequentially coupled in a top-down arrangement with the body positioned adjacent the motor, the print head comprising (As seen in Figures 4-6)
A nozzle (nozzle 126)
A barrel in fluid communication with the nozzle and the hopper (barrel 116)
A screw conveyor moveably supported within the barrel such that the screw conveyor is disposed in rotatable engagement with the upright drive shaft of the motor via gearing arrangement of the gearbox (extrusion screw 124), and wherein the screw conveyor is axially retractable in relation to the nozzle, upon rotation by the upright drive shaft in a first direction, for selectively defining a positive displacement pump that controls, by stopping or reversing, a flow of feedstock output by the nozzle (paragraph 0077)
Linthicum is silent to a shroud
In the same field of 3D printer heads, UltiMaker teaches adding a shroud to the printhead (as seen as the white structure being removed from the print head to access the nozzle within, e.g. timestamp 1:16)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a shroud to the design of Linthicum, since UltiMaker teaches that doing so shields the inner workings from the exterior environment (first paragraph of video description).
Regarding claim 15, Linthicum teaches:
Wherein the barrel is configured to support at least two heating elements thereon (paragraph 0080, heater bands 164)
Regarding claim 16, Linthicum teaches:
Wherein a position of each heating element is adjustable along a length of the barrel (the bands 164 would have been adjusted to be placed as they are)
Regarding claim 18:
Wherein the screw conveyor is an elongated stepped rod having a helically threaded top portion, a trapezoidally threaded middle portion, and a helically grooved bottom portion that is slidably disposed, at least in part, within the barrel
Linthicum teaches a three region screw in Figure 11C, but does not state the middle section is trapezoidally threaded.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the needed middle shaped, since shape and design are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV B), since the screw of Linthicum provides the same function as claimed.
Regarding claim 19:
Wherein the helically threaded top portion is characterized with one of: right handed or left handed threads, and the trapezoidally threaded middle portion and the helically grooved bottom portion are each characterized with another one of: right handed or left handed threads
As seen in Figure 11C all the threads are in the same handed direction.
Regarding claim 20:
Wherein the helically grooved bottom portion of the screw conveyor is moveably positioned within at least one of the barrel in the shroud and an elongated conduit of the hopper body co-axial to, and in fluid communication with, the barrel
As previously discussed, Linthicum teaches such use in paragraph 0077.
Regarding claim 21:
Wherein rotation of the upright drive shaft and the screw conveyor facilitates a pressure drop through a control volume of the positive displacement pump defined between the screw conveyor, the nozzle and the barrel, such control volume being continuously variable with an amount of retraction and instantaneous movement between initial and final positions of the screw conveyor within the barrel and relative to the nozzle
Claim 21 is seen as the intended use of the apparatus, and since the required structure is taught by the prior art, the prior art would then be capable of such use, since no other structure is claimed that would differentiate the claimed extruder from that of the prior art. See MPEP 2112.01 I and 2114-2115.
Regarding claims 22 and 23:
Linthicum teaches such operations in paragraph 0077.
Claims 2, 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum and UltiMaker as applied above, and further in view of Womer (US 2017/0291364; already of record), Hsieh et al (US 2019/0248070; herein Hsieh, already of record), and Frank et al (US 2019/0255611; herein Frank, already of record). Regarding claims 2 and 4:
Linthicum is silent as to the location of the center of gravity of the extruder.
In the same field of endeavor Womer teaches when the extruder has the basic arrangement of the instant application and Linthicum (i.e. upside down J) the center of gravity is in good position for the printing process (Figure 10 and paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the center of gravity in a desired location, since it prevents unwanted movements and vibrations during the printing process.
Linthicum and Womer are silent to the claimed point of attachment and that the point of attachment is collocated with the center of gravity.
In the same field of endeavor Hsieh (As seen in Figures 1 and 3) and Frank (As seen in Figure 2) teach that the point of attachment can be at various locations on the printhead/extruder. Hsieh showing the point of attachment can be on the side of the housing 115, and Frank showing the point of attachment can be behind the nozzle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the point of attachment be at the claimed location, since the prior art has shown that the point of attachment is variable, and Womer discloses the need to control the center of gravity. It has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Regarding claim 5:
Linthicum teaches a hopper body with a sidewall and hopper as claimed (see Figures 3-6). The hopper would naturally counterbalance the motor in such an arrangement. Finally, the point of attachment is obvious as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6:
Linthicum teaches a fan on the printer housing (as seen in Figures 2 and 14), but does not place them on the exterior of the extruder body.
In the same field of endeavor, both UltiMaker (timestamps 2:00-2:20) and Hsieh (Figure 3, fan 114b) teach a fan on the exterior sidewall.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a fan there, since it helps dissipate heat.
Regarding claim 9:
Linthicum is silent to an outer case, a cover member, and a hat member as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor UltiMaker (as previously discussed), Hsieh (housing 115), and Frank (As seen in Figures 1, 2, and 11) teach various structures to cover extruder printhead components.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have such exterior coverings, since it has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this instance the prior art shows there are various means by which to cover internal parts of an extruder print head, thus the exact structure is obvious since the end result is the same.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, and Frank as applied above, and further in view of Bracha et al (US 2016/0279853; herein Bracha, already of record). Regarding claims 7 and 8:
Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, and Frank are silent to the claimed spacers. In the same field of endeavor Bracha teaches usings spacers 420 to space apart the structure around the nozzle (i.e. a shroud) and other portions of the extruder/printhead (Figures 3A-3C and paragraph 0060), and Bracha also teaches placing a fan in the space created by the spacers (Figure 3A, fan 275), the space acting as the vent.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have such spacing and venting, since it allows for air flow to cool the needed parts. It has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this instance the art has shown the need to cool the extruder with the fan and the means by which to connect parts to allow for space for a fan and airflow.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, and Frank as applied above, and further in view of Sharma (US 2019/0283330; already of record). Regarding claim 10:
Linthicum teaches a drive gear and a driven gear as seen in Figures 3-5B. Linthicum does not explicitly teach the bushings, but would need them since the driven gear is connected to the screw as required. Linthicum is silent to the compound gear.
In the same field of endeavor Sharma teaches a multi gear structure to drive a build material. Sharma teaches such gearing can include a drive gear, a driven gear, and a compound gear (paragraphs 0035-0038 and Figures 2A/B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to the needed gearing in order to allow for proper power transmission. It has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this instance the art has shown various gears can be used for the same purpose of transmitting power where needed, the exact nature of such gearing is obvious when the end result is the same.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, Frank, and Sharma as applied above, and further in view of Womer. Regarding claim 11:
Linthicum is silent to the weight of the gearing being at least majorly incident to the axis of the screw.
As previously discussed, Womer teaches that the upside down J arrangement leads to the best possible center of gravity to prevent unwanted motions during printing. This would be seen to include properly weighting the gearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the gearing weighted as claimed in order to prevent unwanted movement of the printhead during printing.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, Frank, Sharma, and Womer as applied above, and further in view of Groschopp (Gear Reduction | Groschopp Blog: https://www.groschopp.com/gear-reduction/ ; already of record).
Regarding claims 12-14:
Linthicum, UltiMaker, Womer, Hsieh, Frank, Sharma, and Womer are silent to the weight, size, and reduction as claimed.
In the same field of using gears Groschopp teaches that one needs to design the gears with regard to size (which can be related to weight) and reduction in order to have the needed torque and power (e.g. paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the gears as claimed in order to arrive at a desired torque and power. It has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linthicum and UltiMaker as applied above, and further in view of Skubic et al (US 2008/0213419; herein Skubic; already of record). Regarding claim 17, Linthicum is silent to:
Wherein a temperature of each heating element is individually user-selectable via a control unit of an auto feeder for providing a desired temperature profile along the length of the barrel
In the same field of endeavor Skubic teaches individual control of heating elements (paragraph 0045). As previously discussed with regards to the 112b of claim 17, the heater control is part of the controller for the entire printer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to individually control the heaters, as taught by Skubic, since doing so is based on the individual need of the heater based on a feedback loop (Skubic: paragraph 0045).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Linthicum does not teach that the screw conveyor is axially retractable as claimed. The Examiner disagrees. Paragraph 0077 of Linthicum explicitly discloses that the screw 124 is "retracted (using a stepper motor)".
"Now referring in particular to FIG. 12 and FIG. 13, the version 100 includes a shaped narrowing compression end zone or—for the purposes of this version—a conically shaped compression end zone 168 operably positioned downstream of the barrel 116 inner bore 118 and upstream of the means for dispensing the molten solidifying material or nozzle 126, wherein the conically shaped no-flight end segment 146 of the screw 124 is fitted with the conically shaped narrowing compression end zone 168 forming a compression channel 170 therebetween. The compression channel 170 acts as an inherent valve. For example, as the screw 124 is actuated, the molten print material is forced through the compression channel 170. As the molten material is forced through the channel 170, the pressure accumulation is reduced at the nozzle 126. Once the rotation of the screw 124 is stopped, then slightly reversed or retracted (using a stepper motor), there is an increase in negative pressure which immediately stops molten flow, terminating movement of the solidifying material into the nozzle 126. Thus, significantly providing increased control and precision when dispensing material via the nozzle 126."
This retraction of the screw 124 is the same as the claimed axially retraction.
The Applicant argues that the screw of Linthicum is not connected to a "upright drive shaft". Figures 3, 4, 5A, and 5B clearly show how the screw of Linthicum is connected to an upright drive shaft. Without this connection the screw of Linthicum would not be able to rotate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743