DETAILED ACTION
This application is a 371 of PCT/US22/28134.
The amendment filed on August 4, 2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse of Group I with a species election of (1) sortase A with SEQ ID NO:24 having point mutations selected from T156S, D176E, and D170E as the sortase, (2) Protein G Htb1 domain as the antibody binding domain, and (3) SEQ ID NO:1 (LPXTG) as the sortase recognition motif in the reply filed on March 4, 2026.
Claims 4 and 7-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 4, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-29 are pending.
Claims 4 and 7-29 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3 are under examination.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification has been amended to recite sequence identifier for the sequences. Therefore, the objection to the drawings and the specification have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see Section 1 at page 8 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 3 has been amended to recite the sequence identifier for the sortase. Therefore, the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Sections 2 and 3 at pages 8-9 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 6, 30, and 32 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claims 6, 30, and 32 have been cancelled. Therefore, the rejections of claims 6, 30, and 32under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Applicant's arguments, see page 9-10 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, and 30-32 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the fusion protein comprises sortase A having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24 and Protein G subdomain (AbBD) has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23. Applicant' s argument that the specification provides numerous examples to support the claimed genus has been found persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, and 30-32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 9-10 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, and 30-32 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the fusion protein comprises sortase A having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24 and Protein G subdomain (AbBD) has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23. Applicant's argument that the specification provides guidance to make the claimed fusion protein without undue experimentation has been found persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, and 30-32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack enablement has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11 of the Remarks, filed August 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-2, 5-6, and 31 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to recite point mutations for the sortase A variant, which is not taught by Tsourkas (US 2018/0344871 - form PTO-1449 and US 11,123,440 – form PTO-892). Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsourkas (US 2018/0344871 - form PTO-1449 or US 11,123,440 – form PTO-892. US 2018/0344871 is used for specific portions of Tsourkas) and Liu (US 2024/0077502 – form PTO-892) and evidenced by Dasgupta (Isopeptide ligation catalyzed by quintessential sortase A: mechanistic cues from cyclic and branched oligomers of indolicidin. J Biol Chem. 2011 Jul 8;286(27):23996-4006 – form PTO-1449) and Emidio (Sortase-mediated labeling: Expanding frontiers in site-specific protein functionalization opens new research avenues. Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2024 Jun;80:102443. – form PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Tsourkas discloses a composition for producing an antibody conjugate comprising a fusion protein comprising (1) a sortase A having the LPXTG recognition motif and (2) an antibody binding domain (AbBD) that binds to an antibody (Figures 1 and 29, [0010], [0023], [0051], [0073]-[0074], [0112], and [0150]). Tsourkas discloses that the antibody binding domain (AbBD) is a variant of a Protein G subdomain having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, wherein the variant has an amino acid replacement at A24 ([0074]). The Protein G subdomain of SEQ ID NO:2 of Tsourkas has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below). Therefore, the variant having a single point mutation has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application.
Tsourkas does not teach a sortase A having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24, having a D112E (D170E full length) amino acid substitution.
Liu discloses wildtype S. aureus sortase A having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% sequence identity to the sortase A of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application ([0061]). Liu discloses a variant of wildtype S. aureus sortase A, wherein the Sortase A variant has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, which has at least 80% sequence identity to the sortase A of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses evolved sortase A variants having a D170E amino acid substitution relative to the sortase A of SEQ ID NO:2, which corresponds to D112E of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application ([0091] and [0112]). Liu discloses that the evolved sortase A variants recognize a motif other than LPXTG and allows for a broader application of sortase A ([0003]). Liu discloses that the evolved sortase A variant recognizes LMVGG (abstract and [0004]).
The property of having isopeptide ligation activity is inherent to the evolved sortase A variant of Liu. S. aureus sortase A recognizes LPXTG motif and has isopeptide ligation activity, see Dasgupta (abstract and page 23996). Evolved Sortase A variant also recognize LMVGG motif also have isopeptide ligation activity, as evidenced by Emidio (page 2 and Figure 1). MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”.
Therefore, in combining the above references, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the sortase A comprised in the composition of Tsourkas by introducing the D112E amino acid mutation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to broaden the application of the Sortase A comprised in the fusion protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Tsourkas discloses a composition comprising a fusion protein comprising of sortase A and an antibody binding domain and Liu discloses a S. aureus sortase A variant having the D112E amino acid substitution. See MPEP 2143.
Therefore, the above references render claims 1 and 3 prima facie obvious.
The applied reference (US 11,123,440) has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are not obvious over Tsourkas and Liu because (1) claim 1 has been amended to recite that the sortase A has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24, has D112E amino acid substitution, and catalyzes an isopeptide ligation reaction and (2) Tsourkas and Liu do not disclose that sortase A having the function of catalyzing an isopeptide ligation reaction.
This is not found persuasive.
The property of having isopeptide ligation activity is inherent to the evolved sortase A variant of Liu. S. aureus sortase A recognizes LPXTG motif and has isopeptide ligation activity, see Dasgupta (abstract and page 23996). Evolved Sortase A variant also recognize LMVGG motif also have isopeptide ligation activity, as evidenced by Emidio (page 2 and Figure 1). MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”.
Hence the rejection has been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,123,440 (reference patent) in view of Tsourkas (US 2018/0344871 – form PTO-1449) and Liu (US 2024/0077502 – form PTO-892) and evidenced by Dasgupta (Isopeptide ligation catalyzed by quintessential sortase A: mechanistic cues from cyclic and branched oligomers of indolicidin. J Biol Chem. 2011 Jul 8;286(27):23996-4006 – form PTO-1449) and Emidio (Sortase-mediated labeling: Expanding frontiers in site-specific protein functionalization opens new research avenues. Curr Opin Chem Biol. 2024 Jun;80:102443. – form PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are directed to a fusion protein comprising a sortase A and an antibody binding domain.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1 and 10 of the reference patent recite a composition for producing an antibody conjugate comprising a fusion protein comprising (1) a protein and (2) an antibody binding domain (AbBD), that binds to an antibody. Claim 1 of the reference patent recites that the antibody binding domain is Protein G variant. Claim 1 of the reference patent recites that Protein G subdomain has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, wherein the variant has an amino acid replacement at A24. The Protein G subdomain of SEQ ID NO:2 of the reference patent has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below “Tsourkas”). Therefore, the variant having a single point mutation has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application.
The claims of the reference patent do not recite a fusion protein comprising sortase A or sortase A having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24 and having a D170E amino acid substitution.
Regarding claim 1, Tsourkas discloses a composition for producing an antibody conjugate comprising a fusion protein comprising (1) a sortase A having the LPXTG recognition motif and (2) an antibody binding domain (AbBD) that binds to an antibody (Figures 1 and 29, [0010], [0023], [0051], [0073]-[0074], [0112], and [0150]). Tsourkas discloses that the antibody binding domain (AbBD) is a variant of a Protein G subdomain having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, wherein the variant has an amino acid replacement at A24 ([0074]). The Protein G subdomain of SEQ ID NO:2 of Tsourkas has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below). Therefore, the variant having a single point mutation has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application.
Tsourkas does not teach a sortase A having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24, having a D112E (D170E full length) amino acid substitution.
Liu discloses wildtype S. aureus sortase A having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which comprises an amino acid sequence having 100% sequence identity to the sortase A of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application ([0061]). Liu discloses a variant of wildtype S. aureus sortase A, wherein the Sortase A variant has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, which has at least 80% sequence identity to the sortase A of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses evolved sortase A variants having a D170E amino acid substitution relative to the sortase A of SEQ ID NO:2, which corresponds to D112E of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application ([0091] and [0112]). Liu discloses that the evolved sortase A variants recognize a motif other than LPXTG and allows for a broader application of sortase A ([0003]). Liu discloses that the evolved sortase A variant recognizes LMVGG (abstract and [0004]).
The property of having isopeptide ligation activity is inherent to the evolved sortase A variant of Liu. S. aureus sortase A recognizes LPXTG motif and has isopeptide ligation activity, see Dasgupta (abstract and page 23996). Evolved Sortase A variant also recognize LMVGG motif also have isopeptide ligation activity, as evidenced by Emidio (page 2 and Figure 1).MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the fusion protein of the claims of the reference patent by using sortase A as the protein and introducing the D170E amino acid mutation into S. aureus sortase A. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to broaden the application of the Sortase A comprised in the fusion protein. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since the claims of the reference patent recites a composition comprising a fusion protein comprising of protein and an antibody binding domain, Tsourkas discloses a composition comprising a fusion protein comprising of sortase A and an antibody binding domain and Liu discloses a S. aureus sortase A variant having the D170E amino acid substitution Therefore, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims are patentable over the reference patent because (1) claim 1 has been amended to recite that the sortase A has at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:24, has D112E amino acid substitution, and catalyzes an isopeptide ligation reaction and (2) the claims of the reference patent, Tsourkas and Liu do not disclose that sortase A having the function of catalyzing an isopeptide ligation reaction.
This is not found persuasive.
The property of having isopeptide ligation activity is inherent to the evolved sortase A variant of Liu. S. aureus sortase A recognizes LPXTG motif and has isopeptide ligation activity, see Dasgupta (abstract and page 23996). Evolved Sortase A variant also recognize LMVGG motif also have isopeptide ligation activity, as evidenced by Emidio (page 2 and Figure 1). MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”.
Hence the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-32 are pending.
Claims 4 and 7-29 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3 are under examination.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG D PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Sequence alignment between the Protein G subdomain of SEQ ID NO:23 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the Protein G subdomain of SEQ ID NO:2 of Tsourkas (“Db”)
US-15-573-757-2
Sequence 2, US/15573757
Publication No. US20180344871A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: THE TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA
APPLICANT: TSOURKAS, Andrew
APPLICANT: HUI, James Z.
TITLE OF INVENTION: COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS FOR MAKING ANTIBODY CONJUGATES
FILE REFERENCE: P-78910-US
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/573,757
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2017-11-13
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/160,130
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2015-05-12
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US16/32221
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2016-05-12
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 16
SEQ ID NO 2
LENGTH: 56
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Staphylococcal aureus
Query Match 100.0%; Score 290; Length 56;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 56; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTFKLIINGKTLKGEITIEAVDAAEAEKIFKQYANDYGIDGEWTYDDATKTFTVTE 56
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTFKLIINGKTLKGEITIEAVDAAEAEKIFKQYANDYGIDGEWTYDDATKTFTVTE 56
Sequence alignment between the Sortase A of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the Sortase A of SEQ ID NO:1 of Liu (“Db”)
US-18-271-650-1
Filing date in PALM: 2023-07-10
Sequence 1, US/18271650
Publication No. US20240077502A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: The Broad Institute, Inc.
APPLICANT: President and Fellows of Harvard College
APPLICANT: The Brigham and Women's Hospital, Inc.
TITLE OF INVENTION: AMYLOID PROTEIN MODIFYING SORTASES AND USES THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: B1195.70120US01
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/18/271,650
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2023-07-10
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2022/011897
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2022-01-11
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 63/136,186
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2021-01-11
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 105
SEQ ID NO 1
LENGTH: 206
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Staphylococcus aureus
Query Match 99.4%; Score 768; Length 206;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 147; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 QAKPQIPKDKSKVAGYIEIPDADIKEPVYPGPATPEQLNRGVSFAEENESLDDQNISIAG 61
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 60 QAKPQIPKDKSKVAGYIEIPDADIKEPVYPGPATPEQLNRGVSFAEENESLDDQNISIAG 119
Qy 62 HTFIDRPNYQFTNLKAAKKGSMVYFKVGNETRKYKMTSIRDVKPTDVEVLDEQKGKDKQL 121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 120 HTFIDRPNYQFTNLKAAKKGSMVYFKVGNETRKYKMTSIRDVKPTDVEVLDEQKGKDKQL 179
Qy 122 TLITCDDYNEKTGVWEKRKIFVATEVK 148
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 180 TLITCDDYNEKTGVWEKRKIFVATEVK 206
Sequence alignment between the Sortase A of SEQ ID NO:24 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the Sortase A variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of Liu (“Db”)
Title: US-18-559-333-24
Perfect score: 773
Sequence: 1 MQAKPQIPKDKSKVAGYIEI..........YNEKTGVWEKRKIFVATEVK 148
Scoring table: BLOSUM62
Gapop 10.0 , Gapext 0.5
Searched: 1 seqs, 206 residues
Total number of hits satisfying chosen parameters: 1
Minimum DB seq length: 0
Maximum DB seq length: inf
Post-processing: Minimum Match 0%
Maximum Match 100%
Listing first 50 summaries
Database : US-18-271-650-2.fasta:*
SUMMARIES
%
Result Query
No. Score Match Length DB ID Description
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 701 90.7 206 1 US-18-271-650-2 AMYLOID PROTEIN MO
ALIGNMENTS
RESULT 1
US-18-271-650-2
Query Match 90.7%; Score 701; DB 1; Length 206;
Best Local Similarity 91.8%;
Matches 135; Conservative 5; Mismatches 7; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 QAKPQIPKDKSKVAGYIEIPDADIKEPVYPGPATPEQLNRGVSFAEENESLDDQNISIAG 61
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||:||||| |||||||||||||:|
Db 60 QAKPQIPKDKSKVAGYIEIPDADIKEPVYPGPATREQLDRGVSFVEENESLDDQNISISG 119
Qy 62 HTFIDRPNYQFTNLKAAKKGSMVYFKVGNETRKYKMTSIRDVKPTDVEVLDEQKGKDKQL 121
|| ||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||| ||||||||||||||
Db 120 HTAIDRPNYQFTNLGAAKKGSMVYFKVGNETRKYKMTSIRNVKPTAVEVLDEQKGKDKQL 179
Qy 122 TLITCDDYNEKTGVWEKRKIFVATEVK 148
||:|||||| :||||| ||||||||||
Db 180 TLVTCDDYNVETGVWETRKIFVATEVK 206