DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the application filed on 11/06/2023. Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16, 24, 26-27 and 31-35 are pending and herein considered. Claims 6-7, 14-15, 17-23, 25, 28-30 and 36-45 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of oath/declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/06/2023. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 11/06/2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For Claim 1, line 5, “portion of DL data…” should read “portion of downlink (DL) data...”, lines 6-9, “deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within the region of the second FFP; and receiving the at least one portion of the scheduled DL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initialized by the derived initiator according to a reception condition” should read “deriving a channel occupancy time (COT) initiator associated with a COT within the region of the second FFP; and receiving the at least one portion of the scheduled UL data in the COT initiated by the derived COT initiator according to a transmission condition.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 34 recites the limitation "the same transport block (TB)” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 10, 11, 32 and 33, line 3 recite a number limitations with “if” conditions. Examiner submits that “if” limitations do not positively claim the subject matter, thus, the claim fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Examiner respectfully suggests to change the “if” language to “when” or “in response to” to obviate this rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, 16, 24, 26-27 and 31-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 15, 17, 24, 26-27, 29-30 and 32-35 of copending Application No. 18/559,062.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/559,336
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0244663 (Copending Application 18/559,062)
For claim 1:
1. (Original) A channel access method in an unlicensed band, executable by a user equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving from a base station a downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP),
wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of DL data within a region of a second FFP;
deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within
the region of the second FFP; and
receiving the at least one portion of the scheduled DL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initialized by the derived initiator according to a reception condition.
For claim 5:
5. (Original) The channel access method of claim 4, wherein the reception condition further comprises the base station successfully shares the COT initiated by the UE based on a channel access scheme.
For claim 9:
9. (Original) The channel access method of claim 8, wherein when the initial point of the scheduled DL data is aligned with the boundary of the second FFP, the derived COT initiator is the base station that initiates the COT; and the reception condition comprises that the base station successfully initiates the COT in the second FFP based on a channel access scheme.
For claim 12:
12. (Currently amended) The channel access method of claim [[3]] 2, wherein the DL data comprises more than one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), transmissions of the more than one PDSCH are transmitted in one or more FFPs starting from the second FFP, and the more than one PDSCH carry PDSCH repetitions of the same transport block (TB) or carry different TBs, wherein the derived COT initiator is applied to the more than one PDSCH.
For claim 16:
16. (Currently amended) The channel access method of claim 2, wherein a COT initiator of a COT within the region of the first FFP carrying the DCI is the UE.
For claim 24:
24. (Currently amended) A channel access method in an unlicensed band, executable by a base station comprising:
transmitting from the base station a downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP),
wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of DL data within a region of a second FFP; and
transmitting the at least one portion of the scheduled DL data in a channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a COT initiator within the region of the second FFP according to a transmission condition,
wherein both the first FFP and the second FFP are determined based on FFP parameters of the base station.
For claim 1:
1. A channel access method in an unlicensed band, executable by a user equipment (UE) comprising: receiving from a base station downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of UL data within a region of a second FFP; deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within the region of the second FFP; and transmitting the at least one portion of the scheduled UL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by the derived COT initiator according to a transmission condition,
wherein both the first FFP and the second FFP are determined based on FFP parameters associated with the base station that provides the DCI.
For claim 4:
4. The channel access method of claim 3, wherein the derived COT initiator is the base station; and the transmission condition comprises that the UE determines the base station has initiated the COT in the second FFP and the UE successfully shares the COT initiated by the base station based on the corresponding channel access scheme.
For claim 5:
5. The channel access method of claim 3, wherein the derived COT initiator is the UE; and the transmission condition comprises that the initial point of the scheduled UL data is aligned with a boundary of an FFP associated with the UE and the UE successfully initiates the COT based on the corresponding channel access scheme.
For claim 11:
11. The channel access method of claim 3, wherein the UL data comprises more than one physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH), transmissions of the more than one PUSCH are transmitted in one or more FFPs starting from the second FFP, and the more than one PUSCH carry PUSCH repetitions of the same transport block (TB) or carry different TBs, wherein the derived COT initiator is applied to the more than one PUSCH.
For claim 15:
15. The channel access method of claim 1, wherein a COT initiator of a COT within the region of the first FFP carrying the DCI is the UE.
For claim 24:
24. A channel access method in an unlicensed band, executable by a base station comprising:
transmitting from the base station downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP),
wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of UL data within a region of a second FFP; and
receiving the at least one portion of the scheduled UL data in a channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a COT initiator within the region of the second FFP according to a reception condition,
wherein both the first FFP and the second FFP are determined based on FFP parameters of the base station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16, 24, 26-27 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0084683 A1).
For claim 1:
Li discloses a channel access method in an unlicensed band (see Li, at least Fig. 20 and paragraph [0234]; a channel access method in an unlicensed band), executable by a user equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving from a base station a downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of DL data within a region of a second FFP (see Li, at least Fig. 20, step 2002, and paragraph [0127]; UE in a wireless communication system supporting a shared spectrum channel access receives, from a base station (BS) over a shared spectrum channel, a first downlink control information (DCI) including a channel occupancy time (COT) of the BS. Also see fig 11, paragraph [0110]; UL grant content is transmitted within a region of a first fixed frame period and scheduled UL transmission within a region of a second FFP and scheduled UL transmission configured by DCI);
deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within
the region of the second FFP (see Li, at least Fig. 20, step 2004, paragraph [0236]; the UE in step 2004 determines a first portion of the COT for a downlink transmission from the BS and a second portion of the COT for an uplink transmission to the BS, wherein the COT includes a gap between the first and second portions of the COT); and
receiving the at least one portion of the scheduled DL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initialized by the derived initiator according to a reception condition (see Li, at least Fig. 20, step [2008] and paragraph [0241]; receives, from the BS over the shared spectrum channel, the downlink transmission in the first portion of the COT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Li to have method of receiving from a base station downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of UL data within a region of a second FFP; deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within the region of the second FFP; and transmitting the at least one portion of the scheduled UL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by the derived COT initiator according to a transmission condition.
For claim 2:
In addition to rejection in claim 2, Li further discloses wherein both the first FFP and the second FFP are determined based on FFP parameters of the base station (see Li, at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0165]; the FBE NR-U UE can determine the FFP duration and starting position for each FFP associated with a serving gNB from corresponding configuration in RMSI).
For claims 3 and 26:
In addition to rejection in claims 3 and 26, Li further discloses wherein the UE derives the COT initiator based on an indication in a DCI for scheduling an UL transmission (see Li, at least paragraph [0005]-[0006]; indicate a first portion of channel occupancy time (COT) for a downlink transmission to a user equipment (UE) and a second portion of the COT for an uplink transmission from the UE, wherein the COT includes a gap between the first and second portions of the COT and [0093]; UL grant that schedules the UL transmissions).
For claim 4:
In addition to rejection in claim 4, Li further discloses wherein the derived COT initiator is the UE; and the reception condition comprises that the UE has initiated the COT in an FFP associated with the UE (see Li, at least paragraph [0128]; an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). In one instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be at most 16 μs. In another instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be more than 16 μs, and the UE needs to pass a CAT-2 LBT before the scheduled UL transmission to transmit the scheduled UL transmission).
For claim 5:
In addition to rejection in claim 5, Li further discloses wherein the reception condition further comprises the base station successfully shares the COT initiated by the UE based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least paragraph [0079]; channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a successful LBT check for FBE operation may be no greater than 95% of the FFP).
For claim 5:
In addition to rejection in claim 5, Li further discloses wherein the reception condition further comprises the base station successfully shares the COT initiated by the UE based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least paragraph [0110]; the configurations by DCI and/or higher layer parameter that can facilitate UE implicit derivation of LBT type can include the gNB COT structure, which configures the slot format for each slot within the gNB-initiated COT that contains the UL grant. In one sub-example, the COT structure can be obtained by the UE through group common (GC)-PDCCH. In another sub-example, the COT structure can be indicated by the slot format indication (SFI) for each slot within the COT, wherein the SFI may indicate the symbol within a slot of the COT is DL, UL or flexible. In another sub-example, the UE can determine the gap duration from the end of the previous DL transmission within COT to the beginning of a scheduled UL transmission based on the last DL symbol position before the starting position of the scheduled UL transmission, which can be obtained through the gNB COT structure, as well as the UL TA value and/or starting position of the scheduled UL transmission configured by DCI and/or higher layer parameter. For instance, CAT-1 LBT can be used if the gap between start of UL transmission and end of previous transmission within the COT is within 16 μs, and CAT-2 LBT otherwise.).
For claim 8:
In addition to rejection in claim 8, Li further discloses wherein the UE derives the COT initiator based on whether an initial point of the scheduled DL data is aligned with a boundary of the second FFP (see Li, at least paragraph [0128]; and figure 16; an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). In one instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be at most 16 μs).
For claims 9 and 31:
In addition to rejection in claims 9 and 31, Li further discloses wherein when the initial point of the scheduled DL data is aligned with the boundary of the second FFP, the derived COT initiator is the base station that initiates the COT; and the reception condition comprises that the base station successfully initiates the COT in the second FFP based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least Fig. 16 and paragraph [0128]; the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). In one instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be at most 16 μs. In another instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be more than 16 μs, and the UE needs to pass a CAT-2 LBT before the scheduled UL transmission to transmit the scheduled UL transmission).
For claims 10 and 32:
In addition to rejection in claims 10 and 32, Li further discloses, wherein when the initial point of the scheduled DL data is not aligned with the boundary of the second FFP, the COT initiator is the UE if the UE has successfully initiated the COT in an FFP associated with the UE and the initiated COT covers the scheduled DL data; and the reception condition comprises that the base station successfully shares the COT initiated by the UE based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least Fig. 11 and paragraph [0127]; the UE-associated FFP can be applied with the gNB FFP. In another instance, the UE-associated FFP can be different from the gNB-associated FFP. In another instance, the scheduled UL transmission can only start at the beginning of a UE-associated FFP, such that the starting positions for scheduled PUSCH transmission has a granularity of one UE-associated FFP. For example, the gNB can choose appropriate UL grant to PUSCH delay to ensure this. In another example, the UE can initiate the UL transmission in the earliest UE-associated FFP that comes no earlier than the scheduled starting position by the UL grant. In another instance, the UL grant to PUSCH delay (i.e., K2) can be interpreted with a time-domain granularity of a UE-associated FFP. For example, K2=1 indicates the scheduled PUSCH starts at the beginning of the next UE-associated FFP, and a UE needs to pass a CAT-2 LBT before the start of the UE-associated FFP to transmit the scheduled PUSCH.).
For claims 11 and 33:
In addition to rejection in claims 11 and 33, Li further discloses wherein when the initial point of the scheduled DL data is not aligned with the boundary of the second FFP, the derived COT initiator is the base station if the base station has initiated the COT in the second FFP; and the reception condition comprises that the base station successfully accesses the COT initiated by the base station based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least paragraph [0127] and Figure 11; UE-associated FFP can be applied with the gNB FFP. In another instance, the UE-associated FFP can be different from the gNB-associated FFP. In another instance, the scheduled UL transmission can only start at the beginning of a UE-associated FFP, such that the starting positions for scheduled PUSCH transmission has a granularity of one UE-associated FFP. For example, the gNB can choose appropriate UL grant to PUSCH delay to ensure this. In another example, the UE can initiate the UL transmission in the earliest UE-associated FFP that comes no earlier than the scheduled starting position by the UL grant. In another instance, the UL grant to PUSCH delay (i.e., K2) can be interpreted with a time-domain granularity of a UE-associated FFP).
For claims 12 and 34:
In addition to rejection in claims 12 and 34, Li further disclose wherein the DL data comprises more than one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), transmissions of the more than one PDSCH are transmitted in one or more FFPs starting from the second FFP, and the more than one PDSCH carry PDSCH repetitions of the same transport block (TB) or carry different TBs, wherein the derived COT initiator is applied to the more than one PDSCH (see Li, at least paragraph [0128], figure 16; an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). Li, paragraph 65 further teaches UL signals also include data signals conveying information content, control signals conveying UL control information (UCI), and RS. A UE transmits data information (e.g., transport blocks) or UCI through a respective physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical UL control channel (PUCCH). When a UE simultaneously transmits data information and UCI, the UE can multiplex both in a PUSCH or transmit them separately in respective PUSCH and PUCCH. UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information, indicating correct or incorrect detection of data transport blocks (TBs) by a UE, scheduling request (SR) indicating whether a UE has data in the UE's buffer, and CSI reports enabling a gNB to select appropriate parameters to perform link adaptation for PDSCH or PDCCH transmissions to a UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Li to have wherein the UL data comprises more than one physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH), transmissions of the more than one PUSCH are transmitted in one or more FFPs starting from the second FFP, and the more than one PUSCH carry PUSCH repetitions of the same transport block (TB) or carry different TBs, wherein the derived COT initiator is applied to the more than one PUSCH for efficient uplink transmission in frame-based equipment NR unlicensed [Li: paragraph [0041]).
For claim 13:
In addition to rejection in claim 13, Li further disclose wherein sharing information of the COT initiated by the UE is provided to the base station (see Li, at least paragraph [0128], figure 16; an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). In one instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be at most 16 μs. In another instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be more than 16 μs, and the UE needs to pass a CAT-2 LBT before the scheduled UL transmission to transmit the scheduled UL transmission).
For claim 16:
In addition to rejection in claim 16, Li further disclose wherein a COT initiator of a COT within the region of the first FFP carrying the DCI is the UE (see Li, at least paragraph [0128], figure 16; an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the scheduled UL transmission can be in the middle of the UE-associated FFP and follows other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT (e.g., CG-PUSCH or RACH). In one instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be at most 16 μs. In another instance, the gap between the scheduled UL transmission and the other UE UL transmissions that start at the beginning of the UE-initiated COT can be more than 16 μs, and the UE needs to pass a CAT-2 LBT before the scheduled UL transmission to transmit the scheduled UL transmission).
For claim 24:
Li discloses a channel access method in an unlicensed band (see Li, at least Fig. 20 and paragraph [0234]; a channel access method in an unlicensed band), executable by a base station comprising:
transmitting from the base station a downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of DL data within a region of a second FFP (see Li, at least Fig. 20, step 2002, and paragraph [0127]; UE in a wireless communication system supporting a shared spectrum channel access receives, from a base station (BS) over a shared spectrum channel, a first downlink control information (DCI) including a channel occupancy time (COT) of the BS. Also see fig 11, paragraph [0110]; UL grant content is transmitted within a region of a first fixed frame period and scheduled UL transmission within a region of a second FFP and scheduled UL transmission configured by DCI); and
transmitting the at least one portion of the scheduled DL data in a channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a COT initiator within the region of the second FFP according to a transmission condition (see Li, at least Fig. 20, step 2004, 2008 and paragraph [0241]; [0236]; the UE in step 2004 determines a first portion of the COT for a downlink transmission from the BS and a second portion of the COT for an uplink transmission to the BS, wherein the COT includes a gap between the first and second portions of the COT and receives, from the BS over the shared spectrum channel, the downlink transmission in the first portion of the COT), wherein both the first FFP and the second FFP are determined based on FFP parameters of the base station (see Li, at least Fig. 12 and paragraph [0165]; the FBE NR-U UE can determine the FFP duration and starting position for each FFP associated with a serving gNB from corresponding configuration in RMSI).
Li does not explicitly disclose multiple (first and second fixed frame period (FFP)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Li to have method of receiving from a base station downlink control information (DCI) within a region of a first fixed frame period (FFP), wherein the DCI is configured to schedule at least one portion of UL data within a region of a second FFP; deriving a COT initiator associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) within the region of the second FFP; and transmitting the at least one portion of the scheduled UL data in the channel occupancy time (COT) initiated by the derived COT initiator according to a transmission condition.
For claim 27:
In addition to rejection in claim 27, Li further disclose wherein the COT initiator is a user equipment (UE); and the transmission condition comprises that the base station determines the UE has initiated the COT in an FFP associated with the UE and the base station successfully shares the COT initiated by the UE based on a channel access scheme (see Li, at least paragraph [0126]; when an FBE NR-U UE can be the initiating device to initiate a COT, wherein an FFP can be configured for the UE and the UL transmission can be scheduled to be at the beginning of the UE-associated FFP).
Conclusion
The prior arts made or record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures. Yang et al. (U.S 2023/0064829), discloses a user equipment (UE) may obtain fixed frame period (FFP)-related information, and perform clear channel assessment (CCA) for at least one FFP starting with a UE-initiated channel occupancy time (COT) for transmission of an uplink signal.
Li et al. (U.S 2020/0314891), discloses FBE NR-U can utilize the baseline FBE channel access scheme for determining whether the initiating device can obtain channel access in the next FFP.
Li et al. (U.S 2020/0037354), discloses a FBE NR-U can utilize the baseline FBE channel access scheme for determining whether the initiating device can obtain channel access in the next FFP.
/Lan-Huong Truong/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit: 2464
02/20/2026