DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz et al U.S 2001/0010023 in view of Wiley et al WO 2021/067145.
Claims 1, 15-17: Schwartz et al disclose an implant as best seen in figures 25,26, comprising: an implant body (at the bottom part, fig. 26), the implant body having an engagement surface (at the top surface that 21k extends in figures 26-27) surrounded by an edge region that is substantially perpendicular to a perimeter of the engagement surface (21k, figures 26-27); one or more sheets of bacterial cellulose (BC) applied over the engagement surface and along the edge region (insert 16k, fig. 25); and a clamp (the top part, fig. 26) securing the one or more sheets of BC between the edge region and the clamp (figures 25, 28, paragraph 130). It is noted that Schwartz discloses cartilage matrix and holding implant see paragraph 99 and the sheet can be any composition, but is silent regarding the one or more sheets of BC over the engagement surface are infiltrated with a hydrogel material to form a BC-network hydrogel. Wiley et al, in the same filed of endeavor, teaches the cartilage implant see paragraph 3 that has BS sheets infiltrated with a hydrogel material to form a BC-network hydrogel see paragraph 10 “the artificial cartilage composition can include a hydrogel with a reinforcement network of polymers, the reinforcement network includes cellulose such as bacterial cellulose” see paragraph 15. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Schartz et al with the one or more sheets of BC over the engagement surface are infiltrated with a hydrogel material to form a BC-network hydrogel as taught by Wiley et al in order to meet the particular needs of the patient.
Claims 2, 4,9, 18-19: Schwartz in view of Wiley disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the implant body is titanium, or an adhesive on one or more of the engagement surface and the edge region or curing the adhesive under pressure, or the clamp with a memory alloy shape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device that included the implant body is titanium, or an adhesive on one or more of the engagement surface and the edge region or curing the adhesive under pressure, or the clamp with a memory shape, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basic of its suitability for the intended use or as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 5, 23: Schwartz in view of Wiley disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the sheets of BC that has 3 or more sheets. However, Wiley et al do disclose the sheets see paragraph 67 and it is well known to have the device with the sheets of BC that has 3 or more sheets and further it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize as many sheets as necessary in order to provide the desired thickness of the implant.
Claims 10, 20: Schwartz in view of Wiley disclose the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the clamp is configured to apply between 100 and 500 N of retaining force. However, Schwartz discloses a clamping device see figures 25-26 and the insert with composition see paragraph 84. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement any desired clamping force through routine experiments in order to provide sufficient clamping force of the composition to be chosen for the insert.
Claims 3, 7, 22: Schwartz in view of Wiley discloses the engagement is curved (see figures 26-27), and wherein wherein the hydrogel material comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) and poly(2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic. acid (PAMPS) (see Wiley paragraphs 15, 67).
Claims 6, 21: Schwartz in view of Wiley discloses the hydrogel material comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (See Wiley paragraphs 14, 67).
Claim 12: Schwartz discloses wherein the one or more sheets of BC is cut to wrap over the edge region so that the one or more sheets of BC lays flush with a surface of the edge region (see fig. 25).
Claim 13: Schwartz in view of Wiley discloses the invention substantially as claimed but is silent regarding the engagement surface that has a non-circular perimeter. It would have been to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device with a non-circular perimeter, since the applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is anything more than selecting one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find available to substitute with the device that is with a non-circular perimeter which is known in the medical arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771