DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5-7, and 9-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12708096 B2 in view of Di Vuolo (IT 201800001009 A1).
Instant application
Reference application
Claim 1. Equipment for the production of stuffed cheese, particularly burrata cheese, wherein it comprises:
at least one base frame;
supporting means of at least one cheese (C) of the fresh “pasta filata” type associated with said base frame;
gripping means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to retain at least one portion (P) of said cheese (C);
filling means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to inject a stuffing inside said cheese (C) through said portion (P) to obtain a stuffed cheese (S);
at least one mutual movement unit between said supporting means and said gripping means; and
at least one mutual movement assembly between said gripping means and said filling means;
wherein said supporting means comprise at least a first container element defining a first housing adapted to contain said cheese (C) and
at least a second container element defining a second housing adapted to contain said stuffed cheese (S), wherein said housings have a relative radius of curvature, the radius of curvature of said second housing being greater than the radius of curvature of said first housing.
Claim 1. An equipment (1) for the production of stuffed cheese, particularly burrata cheese, wherein said equipment (1) comprises:
at least one base frame (2);
supporting means (3) for a cheese (C) of the fresh “pasta filata” type associated with said base frame (2);
gripping means (6) for said cheese (C) associated with said base frame (2) and adapted to retain at least one portion (P) of said cheese (C);
filling means (7) of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame (2) and adapted to inject a filling into said cheese (C) through said portion (P) to obtain a stuffed cheese (S);
at least one mutual movement unit (20); wherein said mutual movement unit (20) is adapted to move at least one of either said supporting means (3) or said gripping means (6) with respect to the other alone an axis of travel (A1) perpendicular to said supporting plane (4);
at least one mutual movement assembly (21) …wherein said mutual movement assembly (21) is adapted to move at least one of either said gripping means (6) or said filling means (7) with respect to the other along an axis of sliding (A2) perpendicular to said supporting plane (4).
wherein said supporting means (3) comprise at least one container element (5) for supporting said cheese (C) associated with said supporting plane (4) and adapted to accommodate said cheese (C);
Claim 1 in view of claim 3 does not disclose at least a second container element defining a second housing adapted to contain said stuffed cheese (S), wherein said housings have a relative radius of curvature, the radius of curvature of said second housing being greater than the radius of curvature of said first housing.
Di Vuolo discloses a machine for making burrata (abstract) wherein there are two different sets of moulds with different sizes (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 to incorporate the teachings of Di Vuolo and provide moulds with different radius of curvatures or sizes. Doing so would have the benefit of producing burrata cheeses with different sizes.
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 3
Claim 9
Claim 9 in view of Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 1-2 and 5-6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of the U.S. application 18/281,333 in view of Di Vuolo (IT 201800001009 A1).
Instant application
Reference application
Claim 1. Equipment for the production of stuffed cheese, particularly burrata cheese, wherein it comprises:
at least one base frame;
supporting means of at least one cheese (C) of the fresh “pasta filata” type associated with said base frame;
gripping means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to retain at least one portion (P) of said cheese (C);
filling means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to inject a stuffing inside said cheese (C) through said portion (P) to obtain a stuffed cheese (S);
at least one mutual movement unit between said supporting means and said gripping means; and
at least one mutual movement assembly between said gripping means and said filling means;
wherein said supporting means comprise at least a first container element defining a first housing adapted to contain said cheese (C) and
at least a second container element defining a second housing adapted to contain said stuffed cheese (S), wherein said housings have a relative radius of curvature, the radius of curvature of said second housing being greater than the radius of curvature of said first housing.
Claim 1. An equipment for the production of stuffed cheese, comprising:
at least one base frame;
supporting means of a cheese (C) of the fresh “pasta filata” type associated with said base frame;
gripping means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to retain at least one portion (P) of said cheese (C);
filling means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame (2) and adapted to inject a stuffing inside said cheese (C) through said portion (P) to obtain a stuffed cheese (S);
at least one mutual movement unit between said supporting means and said gripping means; and
at least one mutual movement assembly between said gripping means and said filling means;
Claim 3. Equipment according to claim 1, wherein said supporting means comprise a plurality of said container elements associated with said supporting plane and adapted to house a plurality of wheels of cheese (C).
Claim 1 in view of claim 3 does not disclose at least a second container element defining a second housing adapted to contain said stuffed cheese (S), wherein said housings have a relative radius of curvature, the radius of curvature of said second housing being greater than the radius of curvature of said first housing.
Di Vuolo discloses a machine for making burrata (abstract) wherein there are two different sets of moulds with different sizes (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claim 1 to incorporate the teachings of Di Vuolo and provide moulds with different radius of curvatures or sizes. Doing so would have the benefit of producing burrata cheeses with different sizes.
Claim 2
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 2
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Equipment for…” it should be –A equipment for--.
Claim 2-10 recites “Equipment for…” it should be –The equipment for--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
A review of the specification shows that the following claim limitations appear to have the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Supporting means: the supporting means 3 comprise at least one row of container elements F (par. 61)
Gripping means: The gripping means 6 comprise at least one gripping frame 8 associated with the base frame 2 and at least one diaphragm device 9, associated with the gripping frame 8 and closable around the cheese C to retain the portion P and openable to release the stuffed cheese S. (par. 65)
Filling means: The filling means 7 comprise at least one filling frame 15 associated with the base frame 2 and at least one injector device 16 associated with the filling frame 15 and adapted to inject the stuffing into the cheese C. (par. 86)
Mutual movement unit: The mutual movement unit 20 comprises a driving unit 22 operationally connected to the gripping frame 8 and a guidance unit 23 associated with the base frame 2 and extending along the axis of travel Al. (par. 104)
Mutual movement assembly: The mutual movement assembly 21 comprises a motor assembly (par. 109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase " particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites “the radius of curvature of said first housing” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “said housing” it is unclear if it is referring to the first housing, second housing, or both. Additionally, it is unclear what it means that the housings have a relative radius of curvature. It is unclear what “relative radius” means and what structural limitation it imparts on “said housings.”
Claims 3 and 4 recite “said supporting plane” and “said direction of forward movement” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites “said direction of forward movement” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites “said rows of containers” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10 recite “said injector device,” “said tank,” “said filling frame,” and “said direction of forward movement” which all lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Signoracci (IT 201800002766 A1) in view of Young (US 20140322414 A1) and Di Vuolo (IT 201800001009 A1)
Claim 1) Signoracci discloses the equipment for the production of stuffed cheese (production of burrata, title), particularly burrata cheese, wherein it comprises:
at least one base frame (2, Fig. 1);
supporting means of at least one cheese (C) of the fresh “pasta filata” type associated with said base frame (roller 3);
gripping means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to retain at least one portion (P) of said cheese (C) (closing and cutting device 10, Fig. 1);
filling means of said cheese (C) associated with said base frame and adapted to inject a stuffing inside said cheese (C) through said portion (P) to obtain a stuffed cheese (extruder 7, Fig. 1);
at least one mutual movement unit between said supporting means and said gripping means (cylinder piston unit 32, Fig. 3); and
at least one mutual movement assembly between said gripping means and said filling means (actuation means 18, Fig. 2, claim 3);
wherein said supporting means comprise at least a first container element defining a first housing adapted to contain said cheese (plurality of hollow seats 4) and at least a second container element defining a second housing adapted to contain said stuffed cheese (plurality of hollow seats 4), wherein said housings have a relative radius of curvature (hollow seats have a radius of curvature, Fig. 8)
Signoracci does not disclose the supporting means wherein there is at least one row of container elements F (see 112f interpretation).
Young discloses a plurality of molds (12, Fig. 2) with a plurality of injectors (48, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Signoracci to incorporate the teachings of Young and use the mold housings and plurality of injectors disclosed by Young. Doing so would have the benefit of producing a plurality of a burrata at the same time.
Signoracci in view of Young does not disclose the radius of curvature of said second housing being greater than the radius of curvature of said first housing.
Di Vuolo discloses a machine for making burrata (abstract) wherein there are two different sets of moulds with different sizes (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Signoracci in view of Young to incorporate the teachings of Di Vuolo and provide moulds with different radius of curvatures or sizes. Doing so would have the benefit of producing burrata cheeses with different sizes.
Claim 2. Signoracci in view of Young and Di Vuolo discloses the Equipment according to claim 1, wherein said supporting means comprise a supporting plane of said container elements movable on said base frame along a direction of forward movement (molds sit on a wheel that rotates, par. 20, Young).
Claim 4. Signoracci in view of Young and Di Vuolo does not disclose the Equipment according to claim 1, wherein said supporting means comprise at least one row of container elements (F) comprising a plurality of said first container elements and a plurality of said second container elements associated with said supporting plane and arranged alternately in sequence along said direction of forward movement (D).
Young discloses a plurality of mold housings in rows and Di Vuolo discloses different containers of different sizes.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the first and second containers in different patterns, since the placement of the different containers is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). MPEP 2144.04.VI.C.
Claim 5. Signoracci in view of Young and Di Vuolo discloses the equipment according to claim 1, wherein said gripping means comprise at least one gripping frame associated with said base frame (48 and 50, Fig. 3) and at least one diaphragm device (51, Fig. 3) associated with said gripping frame and closable around said cheese (C) to retain said portion (55) and openable to release said stuffed cheese (ring shaped 51 closes on the burrata and can be released, par. 71-74).
Claim 9. Signoracci in view of Di Vuolo discloses the equipment according to claim 1, wherein said filling means comprise:
at least one filling frame associated with said base frame (upper fixing end 14, Fig. 1);
at least one injector device associated with said filling frame and adapted to inject said stuffing into said cheese (dispensing end 25, Fig. 1); and
at least one tank adapted to contain said stuffing, connected in a fluid-operated manner to said injector device (hot pasta filata comes from a feeder not shown through the supply connection 27, par. 55, Fig. 1).
Claim 10. Signoracci in view of Di Vuolo does not disclose the equipment according to claim 1, wherein said filling means comprise a plurality of said injector devices (48, Fig. 2, Young) connected in a fluid-operated manner to said tank, associated with said filling frame and arranged side by side along at least one operating direction (G) transverse to said direction of forward movement, each adapted to inject said stuffing into a respective cheese (plungers 48 inject cheese into the molds and moves in a direction that is perpendicular to the rotational movement of the wheel, Fig. 2, par. 23, Young).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose separate loading, stuffing, gripping, receiving, and unloading stations. Nor does it disclose a plurality of gripping elements associated with said gripping frame, arranged along a circumference and mutually movable in rotation around respective axes of rotation (R) between at least one working position, wherein they are approached to the center of said circumference to intercept said cheese (C) and retain said portion (P), and a home position, wherein they are moved away from said center to release said stuffed cheese (S); and rotational means for the rotation of said gripping elements between at least said working position and said home position, comprising at least one connecting element associated with said gripping elements and at least one actuating body operatively connected to said connecting element by means of a gear wheel adapted to mesh on a respective toothed portion defined on said connecting element, the rotation of said gear wheel in the two ways of rotation thus causing the movement of said gripping elements between said working position and said home position.
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761