DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 3, 9, 12, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended.
Claims: 4-8, 11, 13-14, 16 and 20 have not been amended.
Claims: 2, 10, 18 and 21-28 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The examiner notes that the previous claim objections indicated on pages 2-3 of the office action filed on 12/02/25 has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s current amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11-14, 16-17 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0070649 herein after referenced as Sahin) in view of SPEICHER et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0209327 herein after referenced as Speicher).
Regarding claim 1, Sahin discloses:
A method for transmitting network selection information, performed by a first communication node, comprising: sending the network selection information to a second communication node; (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0192]-[0193] discloses via communications 830, the VSPN AMF sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message to the served communication device user equipment and the VSPN AMF (i.e. reads on to a second communication node) includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information received (i.e. reads on transmitting network selection information and reads on reads on sending the network selection information) from the UDM (i.e. reads on performed by a first communication node) and discloses upon receiving the steering of roaming information including identities of one or more candidate wireless networks available in list 855 to provide the communication device wireless connectivity to the remote network, the communication device performs such as in operation 840 one or more operations such as a security check on the list of preferred SNPN/access technology combinations; Sahin, [0006] discloses the UDM initiates signaling such as communication of roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks in which to connect towards the UE so that the UE may try to select/roam into a more appropriate SNPN wireless network as per the SoR data list of candidate wireless networks; Sahin, [0004] discloses the UDM may initiate so-called SoR Steering of Roaming signaling towards the UE User Equipment).
wherein the network selection information indicates at least one stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) for reselection by a terminal; (Sahin, [0008] discloses using the so-called SoR type mechanism and SoR data notification such as roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks (i.e. reads on network selection information indicates at least one SNPN network) as described herein enables a PLMN/SNPN operator service provider to control their subscribers to what roaming SNPN network that they should select/reselect (i.e. reads on for reselection) during 5G registration and at any time after registration based on the type of services; Sahin, [0055] discloses the first private wireless network is a so-called serving stand-alone non-public network SNPN).
and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN (Sahin, [0178] discloses if the UE has a list of available SNPNs (i.e. reads on second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN) in the area and based on this list the UE determines that there is a higher priority SNPN (i.e. reads on a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN) than the currently camped on chosen VSNPN and the UE is in automatic network selection mode, then the UE attempts to obtain service on a higher priority SNPN by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired after the release of the N1 NAS signaling connection).
Sahin discloses transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN but fails to explicitly disclose the network selection information includes an SNPN group with a corresponding priority and therefore fails to disclose “and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN.”
In a related field of endeavor, Speicher discloses:
and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication (i.e. reads on network selection information comprises) of the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0065]-[0066] discloses the SNPN roaming hub may generate and/or configure an SNPN roaming group (i.e. reads on wherein the at least one SNPN group) for an SNPN (i.e. reads on comprises at least one SNPN) and discloses the UE may be permitted to access an SNPN that broadcasts or transmits an RGID associated with an SNPN roaming group; Speicher, [0081] discloses the one or more SNPNs may broadcast and/or otherwise transmit SNPN roaming group identifiers e.g., RGIDs and/or SNPN identifiers; Speicher, [0063] discloses an SNPN roaming group may reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN e.g., a V-SNPN and an SNPN roaming group may be identified by a roaming group identifier RGID and may be configured to include a plurality of networks e.g., home SPs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin to incorporate the teachings of Speicher for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN (Speicher, [0063]) and reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like (Speicher, [0070]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN, wherein the network selection information also indicates an SNPN group and a priority of the SNPN group as taught by Speicher) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN (i.e. as taught by both Sahin & Speicher) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the network selection information further comprises: first network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication of the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 4, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
receiving a request message for acquiring the network selection information sent by the second communication node (Sahin, [0153] discloses the VSNPN AMF also invokes Nudm_SDM_Subscribe service operation such as via communications 840 to the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM to subscribe to notification of changes of the subscription data received in step 4 including notification of updates of the steering of roaming information included in the Access and Mobility Subscription data; Sahin, [0006] discloses the UDM initiates signaling such as communication of roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks in which to connect towards the UE so that the UE may try to select/roam into a more appropriate SNPN wireless network as per the SoR data list of candidate wireless networks).
Regarding claim 5, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the network selection information further comprises feedback indication information, and the feedback indication information is configured to instruct the terminal to send feedback information after receiving the network selection information (Sahin, [0191] discloses if the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM decided that the communication device is to acknowledge successful security check of the received steering of roaming information, the Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation also contains an indication that the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM requests an acknowledgement from the communication device as part of the steering of roaming information; Sahin, [0173]-[0174] discloses if the UDM has requested an acknowledgement from the UE and discloses the UE verified that the steering of roaming information has been provided by the HPLMN/HSNPN in step 7, the UE sends the REGISTRATION COMPLETE message via communications 880 to the serving AMF with an SOR transparent container including the UE acknowledgement; Sahin, [0159] discloses if the UDM has not requested an acknowledgement from the UE, the UE communication device sends the REGISTRATION COMPLETE message without including an SOR transparent container).
Regarding claim 8, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the network selection information is comprised in one of steering of roaming (SoR) information (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0193] discloses upon receiving the steering of roaming information including identities of one or more candidate wireless networks available in list 855 to provide the communication device wireless connectivity to the remote network, the communication device performs such as in operation 840 one or more operations such as a security check on the list of preferred SNPN/access technology combinations. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or user equipment (UE) parameter update (UPU) information”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 9, Sahin discloses:
A method for transmitting network selection information, performed by a second communication node, comprising: receiving the network selection information sent by a first communication node; (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0192]-[0193] discloses via communications 830, the VSPN AMF sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message to the served communication device user equipment and the VSPN AMF (i.e. reads on performed by a second communication node) includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information received (i.e. reads on transmitting network selection information and reads on receiving the network selection information) from the UDM (i.e. reads on sent by a first communication node) and discloses upon receiving the steering of roaming information including identities of one or more candidate wireless networks available in list 855 to provide the communication device wireless connectivity to the remote network, the communication device performs such as in operation 840 one or more operations such as a security check on the list of preferred SNPN/access technology combinations; Sahin, [0006] discloses the UDM initiates signaling such as communication of roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks in which to connect towards the UE so that the UE may try to select/roam into a more appropriate SNPN wireless network as per the SoR data list of candidate wireless networks; Sahin, [0004] discloses the UDM may initiate so-called SoR Steering of Roaming signaling towards the UE User Equipment).
wherein the network selection information indicates at least one stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) for reselection by a terminal; (Sahin, [0008] discloses using the so-called SoR type mechanism and SoR data notification such as roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks (i.e. reads on network selection information indicates at least one SNPN network) as described herein enables a PLMN/SNPN operator service provider to control their subscribers to what roaming SNPN network that they should select/reselect (i.e. reads on for reselection) during 5G registration and at any time after registration based on the type of services; Sahin, [0055] discloses the first private wireless network is a so-called serving stand-alone non-public network SNPN).
wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN (Sahin, [0178] discloses if the UE has a list of available SNPNs (i.e. reads on second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN) in the area and based on this list the UE determines that there is a higher priority SNPN (i.e. reads on a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN) than the currently camped on chosen VSNPN and the UE is in automatic network selection mode, then the UE attempts to obtain service on a higher priority SNPN by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired after the release of the N1 NAS signaling connection).
Sahin discloses transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN but fails to explicitly disclose the network selection information includes an SNPN group with a corresponding priority and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN.”
In a related field of endeavor, Speicher discloses:
wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication (i.e. reads on network selection information comprises) of the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0065]-[0066] discloses the SNPN roaming hub may generate and/or configure an SNPN roaming group (i.e. reads on wherein the at least one SNPN group) for an SNPN (i.e. reads on comprises at least one SNPN) and discloses the UE may be permitted to access an SNPN that broadcasts or transmits an RGID associated with an SNPN roaming group; Speicher, [0081] discloses the one or more SNPNs may broadcast and/or otherwise transmit SNPN roaming group identifiers e.g., RGIDs and/or SNPN identifiers; Speicher, [0063] discloses an SNPN roaming group may reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN e.g., a V-SNPN and an SNPN roaming group may be identified by a roaming group identifier RGID and may be configured to include a plurality of networks e.g., home SPs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin to incorporate the teachings of Speicher for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN (Speicher, [0063]) and reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like (Speicher, [0070]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN, wherein the network selection information also indicates an SNPN group and a priority of the SNPN group as taught by Speicher) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN (i.e. as taught by both Sahin & Speicher) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 11, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, further comprising: (see claim 9).
sending the network selection information to the terminal (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0192] discloses via communications 830, the VSPN AMF sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message to the served communication device user equipment and the VSPN AMF includes in the DL NAS TRANSPORT message the steering of roaming information received from the UDM; Sahin, [0006] discloses the UDM initiates signaling such as communication of roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks in which to connect towards the UE so that the UE may try to select/roam into a more appropriate SNPN wireless network as per the SoR data list of candidate wireless networks).
Regarding claim 12, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, wherein the network selection information further comprises: (see claim 9).
first network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication of the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 13, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, further comprising: (see claim 9).
receiving a network registration request message sent by the terminal; and sending a request message for acquiring at least the network selection information to the first communication node (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0132]-[0134] discloses via communications 805, the UE communication device initiates initial registration, emergency registration or mobility registration update procedure to the VSNPN AMF by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the registration type IE indicating “initial registration”, “emergency registration” or “mobility registration updating” and discloses upon receiving the REGISTRATION REQUEST message, the VSNPN AMF executes a registration procedure and as part of the registration procedure and discloses if the VSNPN AMF does not have subscription data for the UE, the VSNPN AMF invokes Nudm_SDM_Get service operation to the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM to get amongst other information the Access and Mobility Subscription data for the UE; Sahin, [0152] discloses HPLMN/HSNPN UDM sends a response such as via communications 835 to the Nudm_SDM_Get service operation to the VSNPN AMF, which includes the steering of roaming information within the Access and Mobility Subscription data).
Regarding claim 14, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the network selection information further comprises feedback indication information, and the feedback indication information is configured to instruct the terminal to send feedback information after receiving the network selection information (Sahin, [0191] discloses if the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM decided that the communication device is to acknowledge successful security check of the received steering of roaming information, the Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation also contains an indication that the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM requests an acknowledgement from the communication device as part of the steering of roaming information; Sahin, [0173]-[0174] discloses if the UDM has requested an acknowledgement from the UE and discloses the UE verified that the steering of roaming information has been provided by the HPLMN/HSNPN in step 7, the UE sends the REGISTRATION COMPLETE message via communications 880 to the serving AMF with an SOR transparent container including the UE acknowledgement; Sahin, [0159] discloses if the UDM has not requested an acknowledgement from the UE, the UE communication device sends the REGISTRATION COMPLETE message without including an SOR transparent container).
Regarding claim 16, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the network selection information is comprised in one of steering of roaming (SoR) information (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0193] discloses upon receiving the steering of roaming information including identities of one or more candidate wireless networks available in list 855 to provide the communication device wireless connectivity to the remote network, the communication device performs such as in operation 840 one or more operations such as a security check on the list of preferred SNPN/access technology combinations. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or user equipment (UE) parameter update (UPU) information”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 17, Sahin discloses:
A method for transmitting network selection information, performed by a terminal, comprising: receiving the network selection information sent by a second communication node; (Sahin, [0006] discloses the UDM (i.e. reads on second communication node) initiates signaling (i.e. reads on transmitting and reads on receiving) such as communication of roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks in which to connect (i.e. reads on network selection information indicates at least one network for selection) towards the UE so that the UE (i.e. reads on by a terminal) may try to select/roam into a more appropriate SNPN wireless network as per the SoR data list of candidate wireless networks; Sahin, [0004] discloses the UDM may initiate so-called SoR Steering of Roaming signaling towards the UE User Equipment).
wherein the network selection information indicates at least one stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) for reselection by the terminal; (Sahin, [0008] discloses using the so-called SoR type mechanism and SoR data notification such as roaming information including a list of candidate wireless networks (i.e. reads on network selection information indicates at least one SNPN network) as described herein enables a PLMN/SNPN operator service provider to control their subscribers to what roaming SNPN network that they should select/reselect (i.e. reads on for reselection) during 5G registration and at any time after registration based on the type of services; Sahin, [0055] discloses the first private wireless network is a so-called serving stand-alone non-public network SNPN).
and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN (Sahin, [0178] discloses if the UE has a list of available SNPNs (i.e. reads on second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN) in the area and based on this list the UE determines that there is a higher priority SNPN (i.e. reads on a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN) than the currently camped on chosen VSNPN and the UE is in automatic network selection mode, then the UE attempts to obtain service on a higher priority SNPN by acting as if timer T that controls periodic attempts has expired after the release of the N1 NAS signaling connection).
Sahin discloses transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN but fails to explicitly disclose the network selection information includes an SNPN group with a corresponding priority and therefore fails to disclose “and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN.”
In a related field of endeavor, Speicher discloses:
and wherein the network selection information comprises second network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN group and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group, (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication (i.e. reads on network selection information comprises) of the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups (i.e. reads on and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN group), SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
wherein the at least one SNPN group comprises at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0065]-[0066] discloses the SNPN roaming hub may generate and/or configure an SNPN roaming group (i.e. reads on wherein the at least one SNPN group) for an SNPN (i.e. reads on comprises at least one SNPN) and discloses the UE may be permitted to access an SNPN that broadcasts or transmits an RGID associated with an SNPN roaming group; Speicher, [0081] discloses the one or more SNPNs may broadcast and/or otherwise transmit SNPN roaming group identifiers e.g., RGIDs and/or SNPN identifiers; Speicher, [0063] discloses an SNPN roaming group may reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN e.g., a V-SNPN and an SNPN roaming group may be identified by a roaming group identifier RGID and may be configured to include a plurality of networks e.g., home SPs).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin to incorporate the teachings of Speicher for the purpose of providing the system with a means to reduce the complexity and increase the scalability of maintaining lists of supported home SPs for an SNPN (Speicher, [0063]) and reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like (Speicher, [0070]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN, wherein the network selection information also indicates an SNPN group and a priority of the SNPN group as taught by Speicher) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of transmitting network selection information that indicates an SNPN and a priority of the SNPN (i.e. as taught by both Sahin & Speicher) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 17, (see claim 17).
wherein the network selection information further comprises: first network selection information, configured to indicate at least one SNPN and a priority of selecting the at least one SNPN (Speicher, [0079] discloses the indication of the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs may further identify a priority order for the SNPN roaming groups, SNPNs, and/or PLMNs and in this case, if the UE is capable of accessing a plurality of SNPNs and/or PLMNs, the UE may select and access the SNPN and/or PLMN associated with the highest ranked SNPN roaming group, SNPN, and/or PLMN, or using other rules and/or parameters that are based at least in part on the priority order; Speicher, [0070] discloses provide a combined list of one or more SNPNs and one or more roaming groups according to a priority order and this may reduce consumption of memory and/or processing resources that would otherwise be used for multiple lists, reduce a complexity of V-SNPN selection by the UE, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 20, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 17, further comprising: (see claim 17).
sending a network registration request message to the second communication node (Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0132]-[0134] discloses via communications 805, the UE communication device initiates initial registration, emergency registration or mobility registration update procedure to the VSNPN AMF by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message with the registration type IE indicating “initial registration”, “emergency registration” or “mobility registration updating” and discloses upon receiving the REGISTRATION REQUEST message, the VSNPN AMF executes a registration procedure and as part of the registration procedure and discloses if the VSNPN AMF does not have subscription data for the UE, the VSNPN AMF invokes Nudm_SDM_Get service operation to the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM to get amongst other information the Access and Mobility Subscription data for the UE; Sahin, [0152] discloses HPLMN/HSNPN UDM sends a response such as via communications 835 to the Nudm_SDM_Get service operation to the VSNPN AMF, which includes the steering of roaming information within the Access and Mobility Subscription data).
Claim(s) 6-7 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0070649 herein after referenced as Sahin) in view of SPEICHER et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0209327 herein after referenced as Speicher) and further in view of BAEK et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0201593 herein after referenced as Baek).
Regarding claim 6, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
Sahin in view of Speicher discloses that the UDM notifies the AMF regarding changes to the SNPN network information but fails to explicitly disclose that the UDM performs a determination as to whether the UDM has been updated or changed and therefore fails to disclose “further comprising one of: determining that the network selection information is not updated; and determining that the network selection information carries a predetermined identifier; or determining that the network selection information is not updated; and determining that a field indicating the network selection information is set to a predetermined value.”
In a related field of endeavor, Baek discloses:
further comprising one of: determining that the network selection information is not updated; and determining that the network selection information carries a predetermined identifier; (Baek, [0064] discloses the UDM identifies whether the NPN subscription data of the UDR needs to be updated and for example, when the NPN subscription data received from the UDR through step 3 is different from the NPN subscription data received from the NEF, the UDM identifies that the UDR is to be updated or does no perform step 3 or identifies that the UDR is updated with the NPN subscription data received from the NEF regardless of information received in step 3; Baek, [0075]-[0077] discloses another method of recognizing, by the UDM, that NPN subscription data has been updated, if an NPN subscription data change indicator is included in subscription data of the UE, the UDM may recognize that the NPN subscription data has been updated and discloses the UDM notifies the AMF that NPN subscription data has been changed and transmits an Nudm_SDM_Notification Notify message in order to transmit the changed NPN subscription data and discloses the AMF that has received the updated NPN subscription data recognizes that a UE configuration needs to be updated, and transmits a UE configuration update command message to the UE; Baek, [0049] discloses an NPN subscription data change indicator. That is, the indicator indicates that NPN subscription data for a serving AMF or a UE needs to be updated because the NPN subscription data has been changed; Baek, [0032] discloses a diagram illustrating private communication network architecture having a standalone NPN SNPN form. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the UDM determines that the NPN data is updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is included and determines that the NPN data is not updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is not included. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or determining that the network selection information is not updated; and determining that a field indicating the network selection information is set to a predetermined value”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin in view of Speicher to incorporate the teachings of Baek for the purpose of providing the system with various different means to determine and recognize as to whether or not data has been updated (Baek, [0064] & [0075]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed, wherein the UDM determines whether or not data has changed based on a determination as to whether or not an NPN subscription data change indicator is included as taught by Baek) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed (i.e. as taught by Sahin & Baek) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 7, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein sending the network selection information to the second communication node further comprises: (see claim 1).
(Sahin, Fig. 8 & [0191] discloses via communications 820, the UDM notifies the changes of the user profile to the affected AMF by the means of invoking Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation and the Nudm_SDM_Notification service operation contains the steering of roaming information that needs to be delivered transparently to the UE; Sahin, [0153] discloses the VSNPN AMF also invokes Nudm_SDM_Subscribe service operation such as via communications 840 to the HPLMN/HSNPN UDM to subscribe to notification of changes of the subscription data received in step 4 including notification of updates of the steering of roaming information included in the Access and Mobility Subscription data).
Sahin in view of Speicher discloses that the UDM notifies the AMF regarding changes to the SNPN network information but fails to explicitly disclose that the UDM performs a determination as to whether the UDM has been updated or changed and therefore fails to disclose “determining that the network selection information is updated;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Baek discloses:
determining that the network selection information is updated (Baek, [0064] discloses the UDM identifies whether the NPN subscription data of the UDR needs to be updated and for example, when the NPN subscription data received from the UDR through step 3 is different from the NPN subscription data received from the NEF, the UDM identifies that the UDR is to be updated or does no perform step 3 or identifies that the UDR is updated with the NPN subscription data received from the NEF regardless of information received in step 3; Baek, [0075]-[0077] discloses another method of recognizing, by the UDM, that NPN subscription data has been updated, if an NPN subscription data change indicator is included in subscription data of the UE, the UDM may recognize that the NPN subscription data has been updated and discloses the UDM notifies the AMF that NPN subscription data has been changed and transmits an Nudm_SDM_Notification Notify message in order to transmit the changed NPN subscription data and discloses the AMF that has received the updated NPN subscription data recognizes that a UE configuration needs to be updated, and transmits a UE configuration update command message to the UE; Baek, [0049] discloses an NPN subscription data change indicator. That is, the indicator indicates that NPN subscription data for a serving AMF or a UE needs to be updated because the NPN subscription data has been changed; Baek, [0032] discloses a diagram illustrating private communication network architecture having a standalone NPN SNPN form. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the UDM determines that the NPN data is updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is included and determines that the NPN data is not updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is not included. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or determining that the network selection information is not updated; and determining that a field indicating the network selection information is set to a predetermined value”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin in view of Speicher to incorporate the teachings of Baek for the purpose of providing the system with various different means to determine and recognize as to whether or not data has been updated (Baek, [0064] & [0075]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed, wherein the UDM determines whether or not data has changed based on a determination as to whether or not an NPN subscription data change indicator is included as taught by Baek) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed (i.e. as taught by Sahin & Baek) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 15, Sahin in view of Speicher discloses:
The method according to claim 9, further comprising: (see claim 9).
Sahin in view of Speicher discloses that the UDM notifies the AMF regarding changes to the SNPN network information but fails to explicitly disclose that the UDM performs a determination as to whether the UDM has been updated or changed and therefore fails to disclose “determining that the network selection information is not updated, and that the network selection information carries a predetermined identifier; or determining that the network selection information is not updated, and that a field indicating the network selection information is set to a predetermined value.”
In a related field of endeavor, Baek discloses:
determining that the network selection information is not updated, and that the network selection information carries a predetermined identifier; (Baek, [0064] discloses the UDM identifies whether the NPN subscription data of the UDR needs to be updated and for example, when the NPN subscription data received from the UDR through step 3 is different from the NPN subscription data received from the NEF, the UDM identifies that the UDR is to be updated or does no perform step 3 or identifies that the UDR is updated with the NPN subscription data received from the NEF regardless of information received in step 3; Baek, [0075]-[0077] discloses another method of recognizing, by the UDM, that NPN subscription data has been updated, if an NPN subscription data change indicator is included in subscription data of the UE, the UDM may recognize that the NPN subscription data has been updated and discloses the UDM notifies the AMF that NPN subscription data has been changed and transmits an Nudm_SDM_Notification Notify message in order to transmit the changed NPN subscription data and discloses the AMF that has received the updated NPN subscription data recognizes that a UE configuration needs to be updated, and transmits a UE configuration update command message to the UE; Baek, [0049] discloses an NPN subscription data change indicator. That is, the indicator indicates that NPN subscription data for a serving AMF or a UE needs to be updated because the NPN subscription data has been changed; Baek, [0032] discloses a diagram illustrating private communication network architecture having a standalone NPN SNPN form. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the UDM determines that the NPN data is updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is included and determines that the NPN data is not updated when the NPN subscription data change indicator is not included. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or determining that the network selection information is not updated, and that a field indicating the network selection information is set to a predetermined value”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sahin in view of Speicher to incorporate the teachings of Baek for the purpose of providing the system with various different means to determine and recognize as to whether or not data has been updated (Baek, [0064] & [0075]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed as taught by Sahin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed, wherein the UDM determines whether or not data has changed based on a determination as to whether or not an NPN subscription data change indicator is included as taught by Baek) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of the UDM notifying the AMF when NPN subscription data has changed (i.e. as taught by Sahin & Baek) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645