DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 23 Mar. 2026—in which claim 9 is canceled, and claims 1-3, 10, 12, 24-27, 41, and 42 are amended—has been entered into the record and is fully considered herein. Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 12-15, 24-28, 31, 32, 41, and 42 remain pending.
The amendment to claim 42 overcomes the outstanding rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). Accordingly, the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)is hereby WITHDRAWN.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 12-18 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 1, 25, and 41—have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 14, 15, 24-28, 31, 32, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over US 2023/0262654 (hereinafter, “ZHANG”) in view of US 2024/0214988 (hereinafter, “SHRIVASTAVA”).
Regarding claim 1,
A paging method (¶ 0005: paging message receiving method), performed by a terminal (terminal 11 / 70; communication device 60) and comprising:
in response to reception of multicast broadcast service (MBS) paging message configuration information, determining whether to monitor a sending of an MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; and (¶ 0104: Step 31: [T]he configuration information is used to configure that in a case that the terminal meets a preset condition, the terminal monitors a paging resource at a paging occasion, or configures that in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, the terminal does not monitor the paging resource, where the paging resource is used to carry paging indication information, and the preset condition includes: the terminal is in an air interface connected state; ¶ 0049: [T]he network side configures or pre-configures whether the terminal monitors the paging resource in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, so that the behavior of the terminal can be more flexibly configured according to specific requirements; ¶ 0124: [I]f the terminal is interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal monitors the paging resource; and if the terminal is not interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal does not monitor the paging resource. The network side can obtain whether the terminal is interested in a specific service)
determining whether to receive the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; (¶ 0038: [T]he terminal . . . can also monitor the paging resource at the paging occasion to try to receive the paging message so as to avoid missing the paging message; ¶ 0069: [T]he terminal not interested in the multicast broadcast service does not try to receive the paging message, thereby saving power)
wherein the MBS paging message carries MBS service information, (¶ 0055-0056: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs)
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein determining whether to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information comprises: monitoring or starting monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHRIVASTAVA teaches:
wherein determining whether to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information comprises: monitoring or starting monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state. (Abstract: [R]eceiving a signal related with a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; in case that the UE (100) transits from the RRC connected state to one of a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state and determines to join in at least one MBS session, monitoring a message for a group notification related with the at least one MBS session on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); Fig. 3: S306, S308)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG’s paging message receiving procedure to provide paging and service request procedures as taught by SHRIVASTAVA for RRC state-specific paging monitoring for a group notification relates to an MBS session on a physical downlink control channel, so as to provide a multicast session notification with unicast paging, group paging with unicast paging occasions (POs), group paging with common POs, MCCH based notification for a UE in an RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE states. See SHRIVASTAVA, at ¶ 0012.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is specified by a protocol,
or
the MBS paging message configuration information is provided by a network device. (¶ 0103-0104: Referring to FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present application provides a paging configuration method, executed by a network side device, including: Step 31: Send configuration information)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is provided by the network device via one of system information, (¶ 0079: [T]he scheduling information of the broadcast and multicast service is provided through a system message (such as SIB_X), when the terminal receives start indication information of the broadcast and multicast service, the terminal reads the system message (such as SIB_X) that carries the scheduling information of the broadcast and multicast service, to obtain the scheduling information of the multicast broadcast service)
MBS control channel information,
or
a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information comprises:
a resource configuration of the MBS paging message; (¶ 0006: [M]onitoring a paging resource at a paging occasion, where the paging resource is used to carry paging indication information)
wherein the resource configuration of the MBS paging message comprises at least one of:
a control channel of the MBS paging message;
a time domain configuration of a data channel;
a frequency domain configuration of the data channel;
an identity of the MBS paging message; (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
a paging cycle of the MBS paging message;
a starting offset of the MBS paging message;
or
an association between a downlink beam and a control channel resource of the MBS paging message or a data channel resource.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 4. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information further comprises:
an MBS service identity corresponding to the resource configuration of the MBS paging message, (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
wherein the MBS service identity comprises one of:
a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
an MBS session identity,
or
an MBS service flow identity.
Regarding claim 10, the combination ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein determining whether to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information comprises:
not monitoring or stopping monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that the RRC connection state is a radio resource control connected state, or a currently resident cell does not provide an MBS service, or a currently resident cell does not provide an MBS service that the terminal is interested in. (¶ 0003: [O]nly a non-connected (for example, idle) terminal monitors a paging channel to receive a paging message. Since a network side device knows a location of the connected terminal in the network (for example, which base station covers the terminal), there is no need to page the terminal, and therefore the connected terminal does not try to receive a paging message)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
further comprising:
starting an MBS service reception, in case that it is determined to receive the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information. (¶ 0076: [P]reparing to receive data of the broadcast and multicast service by the terminal if the paging message carries a start indication of the broadcast and multicast service that the terminal is interested in)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein starting the MBS service reception comprises initiating a connection access process,
or
receiving a corresponding MBS service based on the resource configuration of the MBS paging message. (¶ 0071: [T]he paging message carries start indication information of a multicast broadcast service MBS1 and at the same time carries scheduling information corresponding to the multicast broadcast service MBS1 (such as a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI) or resource location information). By carrying the scheduling information in the paging message, the terminal can quickly get prepared for receiving data of the multicast broadcast service, and this avoids that because scheduling information of the multicast broadcast service needs to be obtained)
Regarding claim 24, the combination ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein determining whether to receive the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information comprises:
not receiving the MBS paging message, in case that the RRC connection state is a radio resource control connected state, or the currently resident cell does not provide an MBS service, or a currently resident cell does not provide an MBS service that the terminal is interested in; (¶ 0003: [O]nly a non-connected (for example, idle) terminal monitors a paging channel to receive a paging message. Since a network side device knows a location of the connected terminal in the network (for example, which base station covers the terminal), there is no need to page the terminal, and therefore the connected terminal does not try to receive a paging message)
or
receiving the MBS paging message, in case that the RRC connection state is the radio resource control idle state or the radio resource control inactive state, or the currently resident cell provides an MBS service, or the currently resident cell provides an MBS service that the terminal is interested in.
Regarding claim 25, ZHANG discloses:
A paging method (Fig. 3: paging configuration method), performed by a network device (network side device 12 / 80; communication device 60) and comprising:
sending multicast broadcast service (MBS) paging message configuration information; and (¶ 0124: [I]f the terminal is interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal monitors the paging resource; ¶¶ 0103-0104: Referring to FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present application provides a paging configuration method, executed by a network side device, including: [0104] Step 31: Send configuration information; ¶ 0049: [T]he network side configures or pre-configures whether the terminal monitors the paging resource in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, so that the behavior of the terminal can be more flexibly configured according to specific requirements;)
sending an MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; (¶ 0124: [I]f the terminal is interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal monitors the paging resource; and if the terminal is not interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal does not monitor the paging resource. The network side can obtain whether the terminal is interested in a specific service; ¶ 0038: [T]he terminal . . . can also monitor the paging resource at the paging occasion to try to receive the paging message so as to avoid missing the paging message; ¶ 0069: [T]he terminal not interested in the multicast broadcast service does not try to receive the paging message, thereby saving power)
wherein the MBS paging message carries MBS service information (¶ 0055-0056: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs)
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is configured for a terminal to determine whether to monitor a sending of the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; (¶¶ 0103-0104: Referring to FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present application provides a paging configuration method, executed by a network side device, including: [0104] Step 31: Send configuration information, where the configuration information is used to configure that in a case that the terminal meets a preset condition, the terminal monitors a paging resource at a paging occasion, or configures that in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, the terminal does not monitor the paging resource, where the paging resource is used to carry paging indication information; ¶ 0049: [T]he network side configures or pre-configures whether the terminal monitors the paging resource in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, so that the behavior of the terminal can be more flexibly configured according to specific requirements)
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is configured for the terminal to monitor or start monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHRIVASTAVA teaches:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is configured for the terminal to monitor or start monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state. (Abstract: [R]eceiving a signal related with a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; in case that the UE (100) transits from the RRC connected state to one of a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state and determines to join in at least one MBS session, monitoring a message for a group notification related with the at least one MBS session on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); Fig. 3: S306, S308)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG’s paging message receiving procedure to provide paging and service request procedures as taught by SHRIVASTAVA for RRC state-specific paging monitoring for a group notification relates to an MBS session on a physical downlink control channel, so as to provide a multicast session notification with unicast paging, group paging with unicast paging occasions (POs), group paging with common POs, MCCH based notification for a UE in an RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE states. See SHRIVASTAVA, at ¶ 0012.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 25. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is specified by a protocol,
or
the MBS paging message configuration information is configured. (¶ 0103-0104: Referring to FIG. 3, an embodiment of the present application provides a paging configuration method, executed by a network side device, including: Step 31: Send configuration information)
Regarding claim 27, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 26. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information is configured via one of system information, (¶ 0079: [T]he scheduling information of the broadcast and multicast service is provided through a system message (such as SIB_X), when the terminal receives start indication information of the broadcast and multicast service, the terminal reads the system message (such as SIB_X) that carries the scheduling information of the broadcast and multicast service, to obtain the scheduling information of the multicast broadcast service)
MBS control channel information,
or
an RRC connection release message.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 25. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information comprises:
a resource configuration of the MBS paging message; (¶ 0006: [M]onitoring a paging resource at a paging occasion, where the paging resource is used to carry paging indication information)
wherein the resource configuration of the MBS paging message comprises at least one of:
a control channel of the MBS paging message;
a time domain configuration of a data channel;
a frequency domain configuration of the data channel;
an identity of the MBS paging message; (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
a paging cycle of the MBS paging message;
a starting offset of the MBS paging message;
or
an association between a downlink beam and a control channel resource of the MBS paging message or a data channel resource.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 25. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS paging message configuration information further comprises:
an MBS service identity corresponding to the resource configuration of the MBS paging message, (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
wherein the MBS service identity comprises one of:
a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI)[,] (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
an MBS session identity,
or
an MBS service flow identity.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 25. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein the MBS service information comprises:
an MBS service identity or an MBS service label. (¶¶ 0055-0058: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. [0056] The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs. [0057] 3) determining the paging occasion according to a service type identifier. [0058] The service type identifier is, for example, a public multicast broadcast service identifier TMGI, that is, different services use the same common TMGI, and the public TMGI indicates that the service is a multicast broadcast service)
Regarding claim 41, ZHANG discloses:
A terminal (terminal 11 / 70; communication device 60), comprising:
a processor (Processor 710); and
a memory (Memory 79) having stored therein a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to:
in response to reception of multicast broadcast service (MBS) paging message configuration information, determine whether to monitor a sending of an MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; and (¶ 0104: Step 31: [T]he configuration information is used to configure that in a case that the terminal meets a preset condition, the terminal monitors a paging resource at a paging occasion, or configures that in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, the terminal does not monitor the paging resource, where the paging resource is used to carry paging indication information, and the preset condition includes: the terminal is in an air interface connected state; ¶ 0049: [T]he network side configures or pre-configures whether the terminal monitors the paging resource in a case that the terminal meets the preset condition, so that the behavior of the terminal can be more flexibly configured according to specific requirements; ¶ 0124: [I]f the terminal is interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal monitors the paging resource; and if the terminal is not interested in the multicast broadcast service MBS1, the network side configures that the terminal does not monitor the paging resource. The network side can obtain whether the terminal is interested in a specific service)
determine whether to receive the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information; (¶ 0038: [T]he terminal . . . can also monitor the paging resource at the paging occasion to try to receive the paging message so as to avoid missing the paging message; ¶ 0069: [T]he terminal not interested in the multicast broadcast service does not try to receive the paging message, thereby saving power)
wherein the MBS paging message carries MBS service information (¶ 0055-0056: [D]etermining the paging occasion according to a service identifier. The service identifier is, for example, a multicast broadcast service identifier Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI), and different services use different TMGIs)
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to:
monitor or start monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor, however, SHRIVASTAVA teaches:
monitor or start monitoring the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that a radio resource control (RRC) connection state is a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state. (Abstract: [R]eceiving a signal related with a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; in case that the UE (100) transits from the RRC connected state to one of a RRC idle state or a RRC inactive state and determines to join in at least one MBS session, monitoring a message for a group notification related with the at least one MBS session on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); Fig. 3: S306, S308)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG’s paging message receiving procedure to provide paging and service request procedures as taught by SHRIVASTAVA for RRC state-specific paging monitoring for a group notification relates to an MBS session on a physical downlink control channel, so as to provide a multicast session notification with unicast paging, group paging with unicast paging occasions (POs), group paging with common POs, MCCH based notification for a UE in an RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE states. See SHRIVASTAVA, at ¶ 0012.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 25. ZHANG further discloses:
A network device (network side device 12 / 80; communication device 60), comprising:
a processor (Processor 61); and
a memory (Memory 62) having stored therein a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 25. (¶ 0195: As shown in FIG. 6, an embodiment of the present application also provides a communication device 60, including a processor 61, a memory 62, and programs or instructions stored in the memory 62 and operable on the processor 61, for example, when the communication device 60 is a terminal, when the programs or instructions are executed by the processor 61, each process of the above embodiment of the paging message receiving method can be realized, and the same technical effect can be achieved. When the communication device 60 is a network side device, when the programs or instructions are executed by the processor 61, each process of the above embodiment of the paging configuration method is performed, and the same technical effect can be achieved. To avoid repetition, details are not repeated herein.)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, and further in view of US 2018/0077680 (hereinafter, “TENNY”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of ZHANG and SHRIVASTAVA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZHANG further discloses:
wherein determining whether to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message based on the MBS paging message configuration information further comprises:
selecting a resource location in one paging cycle of the MBS paging message to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that the resource configuration of the MBS paging message comprises an association between a downlink beam and a control channel resource of the MBS paging message or a data channel resource.
In the same field of endeavor, however, TENNY teaches:
selecting a resource location in one paging cycle of the MBS paging message to monitor the sending of the MBS paging message, in case that the resource configuration of the MBS paging message comprises an association between a downlink beam and a control channel resource of the MBS paging message or a data channel resource. (¶ 0005: [A] method for paging monitoring comprises hashing an identity of a UE to determine a paging frame in which a page is to be sent to the UE and to determine a position of an indicator in a bitmap to be sent to the UE, wherein a value of the indicator indicates whether a page message associated with a paging group to which the UE belongs is transmitted in a current paging cycle, identifying a beamformed beam within the paging frame in which the UE is capable of receiving a downlink transmission, monitoring the beam during the paging frame to receive the bitmap, and when the value of the indicator indicates that the page message is transmitted in the current paging cycle, receiving and decoding the page message to determine whether the UE is being paged)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZHANG’s paging message receiving procedure to provide paging and service request procedures as taught by TENNY for a value of the indicator indicates whether a page message associated with a paging group to which the UE belongs is transmitted in a current paging cycle, such that a paging algorithm is specified since the UE and network need a common awareness of when the UE will be monitoring paging. See TENNY, at ¶ 0008.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. US 2017/0086034 to AKESSON discloses at 0071, inter alia, client node 300b may, upon reception of the broadcast service announcement of the first MBMS bearer determine if the client node 300b is to monitor the first MBMS bearer for floor control messages. Hence, according to an embodiment the client node 300b is configured to, in a step S202a, determine whether to start monitoring the first MBMS bearer for floor control messages or not in response to having obtained the broadcast service announcement of the first MBMS bearer. US 2023/0082719 to RUSEK discloses at ¶ 0068, inter alia, FIG. 2 also illustrates an idle mode 202 in which the data connection 189 is released. The idle mode 202 is a possible implementation of a disconnected mode. In the idle mode 202 the data connection 189 is released also towards the CN 115. When operating in the idle mode 202, the wireless communication device 101 may be configured to monitor for WUSs and paging signals, e.g., paging indications and, optionally, paging messages. The paging signals can be transmitted in accordance with a timing of POs.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644