DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Greif et al. (DE 102011089891 A1, from the IDS of 9/17/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Greif et al. shows a heat sink comprising: a plate-shaped base 110; a plurality of pin fins 122 separately standing on the base; and a plurality of slits located between the pin fins to separate the pin fins, wherein the slits include a plurality of first slits arranged to be straight on the base and a plurality of second slits arranged to be straight on the base and intersecting the first slits (see Figure 5 below), each pin fin includes a pin-fin lower portion 122a being continuous with and standing on the base and a pin- fin upper portion 122b being continuous with and extending from the pin-fin lower portion, and the slit widths corresponding to the pin-fin upper portions are greater than the slit widths corresponding to the pin-fin lower portion (see Fig. 5 below). Regarding claim 3, the cross sections of the pin-fin lower portion and the upper portion have similar shapes. Regarding claim 4, the axial centers of the pin-fin lower portion and the pin-fin upper portion are aligned. Regrading claim 12, since the prior art shows the claimed heat sink, the method is covered by the prior art. Regarding claim 13, the block includes an area 131 where the slits are not to be formed. Regarding claims 14 and 15, a first stage cutting step is performed to form the first slits and a second stage cutting step is performed to form the second slits since the slits have different widths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greif et al. (DE 102011089891 A1, from the IDS of 9/17/2025). Regarding claim 2, the pin-fin lower portion and the pin-fin upper portion form a stepped shape. Greif et al. does not show a fin width of the pin-fin upper portion is less than a fin width of the pin-fin lower portion, however such an arrangement would have been a matter of design choice since the device will still carry out its intended functions with the modification. Regarding claim 5, the axial centers of the pin-fin lower and upper sections being shifted from each other would have involved a mere change of the shape of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art when the device will still function properly with the modification. Claims 6-11 would have involved a mere change is the size of a component of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, and the device will still function properly with the modifications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Greif does not disclose the slits include a plurality of intersecting first slits and second slits, each arranged to be straight on the base. Specifically, Applicant argues the slits of Greif are laterally offset.
As annotated below, Greif does teach wherein the first slits and second slits are straight, and intersect, and thus meets the limitations of the claim (see two intersecting slits, in this case corresponding to the upper portion of the pin fins.
For at least the reasons stated above, Applicant’s arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tibbott (US20080063524A1) teaches pin fins with a wider lower portion (see Fig. 6/8b, reproduced below)
Komazawa (US20200261869A1) teaches pin fins with a wider lower portion (see Fig. 5A/36G, reproduced below)
Tursky (DE10134187A1) teaches pin fins with a wider lower portion (see Fig. 3, reproduced below)
Matushima (JP2016004806A) teaches pin fins with a wider lower portion (see Fig. 2-4, reproduced below)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763