DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a feature amount extraction section,
an importance calculation section,
an image accumulation section of claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof of the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, are a computer controlling the operations of the feature amount extraction section, the importance calculation section, and the image accumulation section of claim 1 (See Applicant’s Specification at paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is directed to data structures embodied on a computer-readable medium. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable medium includes forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer-readable media. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2007). The Applicant’s specification does not limit computer-readable medium to non-transitory embodiments, and therefore claim 20 is non-statutory. The Examiner suggests amending the claims to include "non-transitory computer-readable medium” or similar language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takehara US Publication 2020/0387756 (hereafter “Takehara”).
Referring to claims 1, 19 and 20, Takehara discloses an image processing device comprising:
a feature amount extraction section that extracts an intermediate feature amount related to machine learning from an input image that is an image inside a body (paragraph 34, The classification evaluation unit 36 reads the learned model from the storage 22, and classifies the object image P by using the learned model);
an importance calculation section that calculates image importance of the input image on a basis of the intermediate feature amount (paragraph 62, The controller 26 causes the classification evaluation unit 36 to calculate the reliability for each of the candidate labels of the object image P based on the learned model (Step S16)); and
an image accumulation section that stores the input image on a basis of the image importance (paragraph 63, if the number of the object images P to which the temporary label is assigned is equal to or larger than the predetermined number (Step S26; Yes), the label assigning unit 40 determines the temporary label as the label (Step S28), and the learning data generation unit 42 adopts the temporary label and the object images P as the learning data (Step S30)).
Referring to claim 5, Takehara discloses wherein the image accumulation section stores the input image in a case where the image importance exceeds a predetermined threshold (paragraph 62, If the maximum reliability is equal to or larger than the first threshold K1 (Step S18; Yes), the classification determination unit 38 determines that the object image P is classified as the candidate label with the maximum reliability, and the label assigning unit 40 determines the candidate label with the maximum reliability as the label of the object image P (Step S20)).
Referring to claim 6, Takehara discloses wherein the image accumulation section changes the predetermined threshold at update timing of a learned model (paragraph 40, it is preferable to reduce the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of classifications, and increase the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of learned images in the learned model).
Referring to claim 7, Takehara discloses wherein the image accumulation section changes the predetermined threshold according to a number of times of update of a learned model (paragraph 40, it is preferable to reduce the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of classifications, and increase the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of learned images in the learned model).
Referring to claim 8, Takehara discloses wherein the image accumulation section decreases the predetermined threshold at timing at which the number of times of update becomes a predetermined number of times (paragraph 40, it is preferable to reduce the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of classifications, and increase the first threshold K1 with an increase in the number of learned images in the learned model)
Referring to claim 9, Takehara discloses wherein the image accumulation section stores the input image and the image importance in association with each other (paragraph 38, The classification evaluation unit 36 stores the reliability calculated as above in the storage 22 in association with the object image P).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehara US Publication 2020/0387756 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. US Publication 2024/0257509 (hereafter “Kobayashi”).
Referring to claim 2, Takehara discloses wherein the importance calculation section calculates the image importance, but does not disclose expressly calculating the importance calculation section calculation on a basis of a difference between the intermediate feature amount of the image inside the body in a first environment and the intermediate feature amount of the input image in a second environment different from the first environment.
Kobayashi discloses wherein the importance calculation section calculates the image importance on a basis of a difference between the intermediate feature amount of the image inside the body in a first environment (paragraph 246, the first learning model 310 may be a learning model trained by using training data including an operative field image imaged in a certain health institute and annotation data (ground truth data) with respect to the operative field image) and the intermediate feature amount of the input image in a second environment different from the first environment (paragraph 246, the second learning model 320 may be a learning model trained by using training data including an operative field image imaged in another health institute and annotation data (ground truth data) with respect to the operative field image).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use images of multiple environments in the calculation of image importance. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve inference by relying on knowledge from multiple sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kobayashi with Takehara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Referring to claim 3, Kobayashi discloses wherein the importance calculation section converts the difference by a predetermined conversion formula and calculates the image importance (paragraph 255, The control unit 201 compares the first score with the second score, and determines whether the first score is greater than or equal to the second score (step S810)).
Referring to claim 4, Kobayashi discloses wherein the first environment is a first hospital (paragraph 246, the first learning model 310 may be a learning model trained by using training data including an operative field image imaged in a certain health institute and annotation data (ground truth data) with respect to the operative field image), and
the second environment is a second hospital different from the first hospital (paragraph 246, the second learning model 320 may be a learning model trained by using training data including an operative field image imaged in another health institute and annotation data (ground truth data) with respect to the operative field image).
Referring to claim 10, Takehara discloses further comprising a display device (paragraph 25, The output unit is, for example, a display and is able to display a captured image or the like), but does not disclose expressly displaying the image importance.
Kobayashi discloses a display device that displays the image importance (paragraph 119, In a case where the recognition result of the loose connective tissue by the first learning model 310 and the recognition result of the nerve tissue by the second learning model 320 overlap with each other, the control unit 201 of the information processing device 200 may derive the recognition result according to the confidence, and may display the recognition result in a display mode according to the confidence. FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a display example of the recognition result according to the confidence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display the image importance. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow an operator to view the machine learning results to improve the knowledge of the operator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kobayashi with Takehara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Referring to claim 11, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device displays the input image and the image importance (paragraph 119, In a case where the recognition result of the loose connective tissue by the first learning model 310 and the recognition result of the nerve tissue by the second learning model 320 overlap with each other, the control unit 201 of the information processing device 200 may derive the recognition result according to the confidence, and may display the recognition result in a display mode according to the confidence. FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a display example of the recognition result according to the confidence).
Referring to claim 12, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device displays the input image with the image importance being superimposed thereon (paragraph 119, In a case where the recognition result of the loose connective tissue by the first learning model 310 and the recognition result of the nerve tissue by the second learning model 320 overlap with each other, the control unit 201 of the information processing device 200 may derive the recognition result according to the confidence, and may display the recognition result in a display mode according to the confidence. FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a display example of the recognition result according to the confidence).
Referring to claim 13, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device displays an image indicating that the image importance exceeds a predetermined threshold (paragraph 108, By extracting the pixel in which the probability of the label output from the softmax layer 313 of the first learning model 310 is the threshold value or more (for example, 60% or more), the control unit 201 is capable of recognizing the loose connective tissue included in the operative field image).
Referring to claim 14, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device changes a display mode of the image according to the image importance (paragraph 119, the color changes in accordance with the confidence).
Referring to claim 15, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device displays the input image with the image being superimposed thereon (paragraph 119, In a case where the recognition result of the loose connective tissue by the first learning model 310 and the recognition result of the nerve tissue by the second learning model 320 overlap with each other, the control unit 201 of the information processing device 200 may derive the recognition result according to the confidence, and may display the recognition result in a display mode according to the confidence. FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a display example of the recognition result according to the confidence).
Referring to claim 16, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device displays the input image, the image importance, and an image indicating that the image importance exceeds a predetermined threshold (paragraph 108, By extracting the pixel in which the probability of the label output from the softmax layer 313 of the first learning model 310 is the threshold value or more (for example, 60% or more), the control unit 201 is capable of recognizing the loose connective tissue included in the operative field image).
Referring to claim 17, Kobayashi discloses wherein the display device changes a display mode of the image according to the image importance (paragraph 119, the color changes in accordance with the confidence).
Referring to claim 18, Takehara discloses wherein the display device displays the input image with the image importance and the image being superimposed thereon (paragraph 119, In a case where the recognition result of the loose connective tissue by the first learning model 310 and the recognition result of the nerve tissue by the second learning model 320 overlap with each other, the control unit 201 of the information processing device 200 may derive the recognition result according to the confidence, and may display the recognition result in a display mode according to the confidence. FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a display example of the recognition result according to the confidence).
Conclusion
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682